Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dom Dinis Marvão 3 stars

Largo de Santa Maria, 7330-121 Marvão, Portugal

#1 of 16 hotels in Marvão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1281 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Go there by car is a bit tricky because of narrow streets. Do not use Google for navigation. In general you have to keep driving by the wall.

    Nice small hotel in a castel. Clean and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good !

    The location, along the city wall, was awesome. We enjoyed drinks on the patio overlooking the wall, castle, and valley. The location could not be improved upon. This was also the best overall value we experienced during our 2 week trip in Portugal! The hotel was quaint while still being comfortable and the city was easily walkable. PS. You can drive your car all the way to the hotel even though the cobblestone streets are narrow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like! Pretty steep and narrow streets, but that is the charm.

    The location is magnificent - right at the top of the beautiful, picturesque village with a stunning view of the countryside. It also has a charming outdoor deck with a hot tub overlooking this amazing view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. Service was excellent. Comfortable rooms ( although expect they will be small given the location and size of the average home in that location ). Staff offered to help with baggage up the stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful small traditional hotel within the walled city of Marvao, with tricky access by car climbing through the narrow pedestrian filled streets – we have trust in our GPS. On-street parking is available near the hotel. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean, the and the staff were very welcoming. Marvao is an enchanting medieval walled village and castle with a commanding presence high on a small ridge top, our stay here was one of the highlights of our travels in this region of Portugal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was like a typical continental breakfast with a Portuguese spin. Doesn't need to change the only think I could thinking about which I was disappointed with Dom Dinis Marvão. The hotel should give a map to guests to show how they should drive to the hotel. When we used google maps, it directed us through the city which seemed impossible. Luckily someone from the hotel spotted us and gave us instructions to use the street along the wall which was much easier.

    Location is amazing. Loved the terrace, which gives you such amazing view of the valley below. My #1 tip: Don't miss the sunset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to improve on this one

    We had a room with a terrace which had fabulous views. Room had plenty of space and an electric jug. Beautifully renovated historic building. A very warm welcome from the staff who were locals and gave us lots of great information. Lovely breakfast and choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. Free parking next to the hotel. And the hotel's position in the beautiful old town (nearest accommodation to the castle)!!! Remember to book the 'room with terrace'.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the evenings, the temperature drops in Marvão, so be sure to bring extra layers. There were spare blankets in the room, although we did not need them.

    I really enjoyed this hotel. The bed was comfortable and we had a kettle and minibar fridge in the room. The hotel is located by the castle end of town. The breakfast was the best we have had in Portugal, with yogurt, granola, pastries, bread, cheeses, meat and coffee/tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place to stay with awesome view from the terrace. The city itself is also very beautiful. All the staff were extra friendly and the little cafe/bar Castelo across the street is convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located right at the heart of the town. George was brilliant at making sure we were comfortable and sorted with what to do and where to go. We loved Marvão and staying at this hotel really helped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are super friendly and helpful. The room was super clean, roomy, comfortable. Loved the terrace overlooking the valley below. The view was outstanding. We really loved everything about this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant but this is not a negative as there is a bar/cafe next door and several other restaurants in the area.

    The rooms were comfortable and the staff were excellent!! Very informative about the area. Fantastic location to explore the village and castle at night as well as during the daytime. Lovely place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard but that seems to be a common theme in other places we've stayed.

    The staff were always friendly and ready to help. The bar across the road had great drinks and snacks. The location at the top of the hill meant easy access to the views. It was a relaxing and peaceful setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location, wonderful staff, nice breakfast, incredible views and the bar (across the street) a lovely surprise. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was out while we were there to go heavy winds knocking out the lines the night before. The hot tub is also unavailable until closer to summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Nothing is too much for them. It feels like family. Great breakfast, very tastefully presented, a lot of attention to detail. We had an upgrade because very quiet period and terrible weather. Lucky to have a jacuzzi/bathtub. Wonderful! Plenty of gorgeous gels/creams supplied. Fuffy towels. Lovely linen and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Casa Dom Dinis is a small hotel perched against the town walls near the impressive castle of Marvão. The staff were welcoming and the smorgasbord breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Our room was comfortable, clean with a small balcony with views of the plains below. Casa Dom Dinis is fabulous accommodation in the beautiful town of Marvao.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to be able to have breakfast earlier, but the food and choices were good.

    The host were extremely helpful and very friendly. The heated towel rack was very nice. Now I want one in my house!!! Great coffee house/bar very close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place to relax from the road. Lovely village. Amazing views. Even the narrow streets one must struggle up to get there are an exciting experience. Wonderful breakfast. Top place to stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor point - the bathroom sink didn't empty very well.

    Friendly staff, superb view from our bedroom window (make sure you get a room with a view). Marvao is a lovely old walled village. You can park wither outside the main gate or, via very narrow lanes, next to the B&B (seek guidance from the staff who offered to accompany me in the car). Breakfast was vey good. Room was clean and well furnished. Loved seeing the night sky, thousands of stars glittering against a velvet black background. Walk around the walls if you have a head for heights, the scenery is great. Check out Marvao castle and the nearby site of the ancient Roman town of Ammaia. It might not be Pompeii but the Ammaia site museum contains some of the best preserved Roman glass I've ever seen. Honestly you could put it on your own table and people would think it was new!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second visit to Marvao and to Dom Dinis. I love everything about this little cosy hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are so clean, and you have everything that you need for a comfortable stay. Thank you very much for your hospitality. I will definitely be back to Marvao and to Dom Dinis.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - it is not really related to the property but.. I have to explain. The restaurant serving dinner associated with the hotel (Alentejo) have good good and nice prices BUT the worst service we ever saw in Portugal. The manager or owner make you feel like you are stupid if you don’t understand one word in its poor english, is not kind, etc. We skipped desert and finish our dish the more quick we could to not see him... the good thing about it is there are other restaurants in the village !

    - excellent breakfast, better then the other places we did in Portugal - very charming village - staff was very kind and helpfull (activities, restaurants, help with the car if needed in the narrow streets, etc) - very clean and comfort bed - good air clim/heater and wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got "the last room" with a tiny window and no view. Shower was very poor, no hang, water all over the bathroom.

    Perfect location. Lovely staff! Nice bed. Great bar next door with a good variety of beers from Marvão and the world.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only two things to mention here: an absolutely misplaced jazzuci on the roofterrace (I like bubblebaths, but there is a time and place for everything, and this is not it ...) Took up a lot of room on this otherwise great terrace. And a likewise misplaced minibar with lukewarm drinks.

    Great place. Extraordinary views from the roofterrace. Nice and helpfull staff and an exellent breakfast, probably the best hotel-breakfast we had on our trip. When we arrived half the town was taken over by a market, but I think it doesn't occure to often. The last day the expirence of the town was that their were only few tourists this day in October. One of our best experiences was watching the sun rise from the castel next door - dont miss it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room very small.

    This is the second time in a rolling year that we have visited this place. Love the views from the room, breakfast was continental, but bread was very fresh. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small but adequate for the one night.

    Staff were very helpful. Fortunately we ran into the owner while looking for the hotel as it is a bit tricky to find due to the very narrow streets in Marvao. The GPS had us going in circles. The room was in a good location, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. Bar around the corner was very convenient. The restaurant we ate in was also very nice. Marvao was very beautiful, well worth an overnight stop. We visited the castle first thing in the morning and were the only ones there for a while.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No doubt it's a very lovely place, furthermore, Teresa was very kind to help and acctually saved us from our car that stuck in one of the narrow alley. Beautiful view from the terrace in both sunset and sunrise, love it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue due to a festival in town

    Location of hotel was perfect to all min attractions in town - staff (especially George was extremely friendly and their cafe across street was enjoyable for an evening wine and snacks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only real irritation was the poor provision of electrical sockets to charge up phones and camera. We found one, but it was behind a chest of drawers.

    Only a small thing but the shelf in the shower was perfect for leaving my glasses on safely! All too often there is nowhere to put them or the shampoo etc other than on the floor. Also, decent coffee at breakfast time, an absolute rarity!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice small hotel in an amazing location, next to the garden and castle. Parking was next door in public spaces. Dinner was a walk across the street and the wonderful local museum was a few steps away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs internet wasn't very good. The rest of the building was fine, though.

    George and family were so accommodating and friendly. We had booked one night and when we arrived found that there was a fiesta happening in the village. We asked to stay and they found a way to make this happen. The fiesta was a lot of fun with booths of local food, artisans and performers. There was stage acts and a finale on the castle ramparts that included fireworks. We would have missed it all. Malvao is a must see when you are visiting Portugal and Dom Dinis Marvao is the place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives - breakfast could have been a little better organised but really it was ok.

    We loved the view. We booked the room with the terrace which faces the sunset. Gorgeous!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quaint hotel in an amazing location on top of a mountain, next to a castle. Rooms are small, but adequate. Clean, and very quiet! Back terrace was magical in the evening, and a small cafe right outside the front entry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room with luxurious bathroom (jacuzzi bathtub), lovely view, super friendly staff. The location could not be better (a minute walk to the castle)! Very good breakfast. Nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, Location, Location! We spent one night in Marvao and were so glad we did as this allowed us to savour this lovely hilltop village at leisure, after and before its daytime visitors filled the streets. The location of the guesthouse is just perfect. The castle is a few yards away and well worth exploring. We visited the much vaunted Obidos later in our our trip and could only think of being back in Marvao for its tranquillity, views and a wonderful sunset. The guesthouse is rustic, comfortable and simple accommodation. The room was snug. The parking was free and right next to the property. This is not a luxury 5* hotel but that is not the point as it is the surroundings, the simplicity and the friendly welcome from our hosts that made this a highlight of our 2 weeks in Portugal!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location at the top of the town - views are amazing. Practically next door to the medieval castle. Very small town so everything is close by. Hotel has a cafe across the road which has a shaded garden and seves snacks, wine, beer, ice cream! Great for chilling - it was really hot when we were there in August! Hotel has a terrace looking out across the countryside with a hot tub.. The sunset is stunning! Family rooms are available. The streets are unbelievably narrow and you initially think you can't get through - hold your nerve!! Great experience when you're used to motorways and dual carriageways! Owner and staff were brilliant - we'll be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    FAntastic location, great rooms, great breakfast unique location high in mountain town is walled and posada right next to the castle, Incredible sunsets and sundowns and jacuzzi, Not to be missed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road was scary! It was very narrow and you weren't sure if another car would be coming towards you.

    The view was spectacular. It's located at the very top of a mountain. You must drive through very narrow roads to reach the hotel. We weren't sure we were in the right place so just keep on driving, up, up, up. It is within walking distance of a castle. You can walk to the restaurant and the food was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and friendly! The breakfast was usual Spanish breakfast, breads, cured meats, cheese, plus cereal, fruit and yoghurt. Great terrace and jacuzzi to watch the sunset in. The hotel had plenty of character, and felt like a traditional house. Highly recommended and would stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there are restaurants in walking distance they were of variable quality. Drive through the town gate and up the narrow cobbled streets took some getting used to.

    The staff were very helpful and determined that we should have an enjoyable stay. The location and the view were amazing. We had the room with the terrace, which was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location adjacent to a spectacular castle ruins, a garden and on the top of a hill where you could see for miles in every direction; beautiful sunset too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite small and a little run down, but it's a great option considering the few hotels in the town.

    Amazing location with a breathtaking view! Also the staff in the reception were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roads within walls extremely narrow and better instructions as to route to take by car to top would have prevented us getting stuck !

    Location in an old walled city unspoiled by modern developments very peaceful. beautiful views over valley below.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect, although we need to use the stairs. Remember to take the right road into the fortress. We took a left road by mistake, which is actually for pedestrians, and it turned out to be a terribly exciting experience of driving!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location and staff made it. They went the extra mile! Helped us drive into the village, packed us a pcinic lunch when we were leaving early the next day and even sold us one of their breadspread!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Characteristic and cosy hotel (only 9 rooms) within the walls of Marvao, within walking distance from the ruins of the castle. The staff is amazing!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Everything was just perfect.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent , the views , breakfast was plentiful ,a super room, a great little bar right opposite the hotel, and the staff fantastic. a super little town to roam about 3 excellent restaurants ,a walk around the town walls is a must.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location in the hilltop fortress of Marvao. Very helpful and amiable staff. We were in what was, in effect, the executive suite with its own porch, astounding views, and nearby jacuzzi (which was shared) and it was still very reasonably priced. No restaurant but a cafe across the way owned by the hotel with good snacks. Nice breakfast. Easy to park but quite an adventure driving inside the castle walls to the very top, which is where the hotel is, at the foot of the fortifications. Given the location, a pup tent would have sufficed, but this hotel made the experience that much better. The sunset from the porch is unreal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the terrace and with the hot tub right next door, we couldn't enjoy the terrace with everybody using it. Otherwise it was spectacular!!!

    The view, the town. Hotel was small and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this boutique hotel set in the beautiful Castle of Marvao. The hotel is cozy the rooms are good, clean and nice bathrooms. Breakfast was good and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no much space in the room to do our morning stretches/excrcises. Warn guests no to follow Google maps directions to get there.

    Proximity to Castelo. View from the terrace was outstanding. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were not very comfortable.

    The hotel is located next to the castelo at the top of the town. The views from there are amazing. The parking lot is next to the hotel and accessible via some narrow streets. Jorge is a wonderful host and he made sure that we were comfortably settled down in our family room. A buffet breakfast is included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast is fantastic, and the view from rooftop is awesome. you can book the time enjoying Jacuzzi on the rooftop, which is our best memory in Marvao. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like.

    What a charming family B&B. There was no one at reception, so went over the road to the cafe and she called the owner for us. He came running and was very attentive and friendly. Facilities were warm and cosy and they bring wine and cheese over to the balcony for you. Parking was easy right next door. Interesting drive up through the one way cobblestone streets!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head in the shower was very low down. Would have been fine for a child of perhaps 6 or 7 years of age, but it was around chest height for an adult. The air conditioning seemed to be set to 21 degrees C, and we could not get it down to 19 degrees C, which we would have preferred.

    Wonderful location, and the room and facilities were generally very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are being a little picky in such a wonderful setting, but the bed was a little hard for our liking. However, this was a minor inconvenience compared to what we experienced at Dom Dinis in Marvao.

    What a magnificent place to spend a couple of days. The rooftop spa was a pleasant way to unwind after a long drive before arriving. The room was very comfortable and had plenty of room for us. It was a wonderful place to just wander around the lanes and it was a picture at every turn once up on the castle walls. A must destination if you are planning a holiday to Portugal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress is really hard, so your back can hurt a bit. Please change the mattress. Also: breakfast is ok but there is no real coffee (buhhh) and orange juice is just too watery. It's fine but my suggestion would be to improve quality or not do it at all (and use the bar instead).

    Best location in Marvao...great view on the hills and castle is just few steps away. The staff is super welcoming, and there is also a super nice bar where you can drink great Marvao beer. Room is clean and has all the comforts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dom Dinis has a few rooms with amazing views make sure you have one of these. Rooms cool, airy and very comfortable, decor is traditional, a thoroughly lovely place to stay. You always have a great welcome from Jorge, who is very helpful. Looking forward to staying again one day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked very much the view from the little terrace and the extra-helpfulness with the bikes: they stored them in an extra space. The decor is also very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent. We were within a block of the castle gates. We were able to drive right up to our hotel and park for the night without any problems. The views from the terrace of the surrounding countryside were spectacular! And the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this place to anyone touring in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Louis was very helpful during check-in, and the room was nicely done up and comfortable. The location is excellent - just next to the castle, and there is convenient parking right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is only a few meters from the castle, inside the town wall. It was a bit intimidating to drive inside because of the narrow streets but there are places to pull over if you meet an oncoming car. There is easy parking by the hotel. The view is stunning. It was cold outside but the room was cozy and a robe and slippers were provided. Jorge, in reception was very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi is a bit spotty and had to be reset a couple of times. If you are uncomfortable driving small narrow streets or don't have a GPS the location will be a problem. There are no elevators & narrow stairs which was not a problem for us but if you have mobility problems it would be.

    The hotel is located within the old town right on the defensive wall with a good view over the countryside. The room we had (Superior Double with Terrace) was compact but that was to be expected as it is in an historic building. The terrace was a nice touch. Public parking was right next to the hotel and the castle was close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to find the hotel was a real chore, the GPS instructions misleading and the streets to the hotel very narrow and twisty. Apart from a small snack bar by the hotel all the restaurants don't seem to open until 8 pm. so if you want to bed down early be warned.

    Nicely located with lovely views, close to castle/fort, interesting winding streets with many shops and restaurants. Room was very comfortable and clean with a good bathroom and small balcony. Breakfast was typical, fresh and tasty. Free parking close beside the hotel was much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be even better if there were a kettle in the room.

    What a beautiful place and location. We had a room with view on the mountains. Loved the room, it was cosy and efficient at the same time. The bathroom was fantastic, had a bath with a hottubbutton. The breakfast was good, loved the panoramic terrace. The staff was helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Marvao is a spectacular place to visit and the Dom Dinis is in the heart of it. The castle and gardens are a stone's throw from the front door. Stylishly decorated rooms with a very modern bathroom, including high end fixtures. Breakfast was excellent-guests can take their coffee and pastries outdoors and enjoy it on the hotels' private patio overlooking the town wall and the valley 2,000 feet below. Driving a car on the narrow cobblestone ways inside the town walls is a memorable experience to say the least. Check with the hotel ahead of time to see if there's parking available. There was no problem getting a space in March when we visited. Strongly recommend the Dom Dinis.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvao is a very original walled town high in the hills. The Dom Dinis is an old stone built property completely in keeping with it's surroundings. Good parking nearby. A very tricky drive up through narrow cobbled streets adds to the fun. If you like quaint and rustic this place is a 10. They have a café diner with two other restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was perfect, I´d come back again, same place, no questions asked.

    Best place in Marvao, easy parking and right on the edge of the mountaintop village - its why you´d come to Marvao, to stay at Dom Dinis

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is a little above average, but really good value for money.

    D. Dinis stays at the top on Marvão with a great view and right next to the castle. There is a common balcony where we brought our food and had dinner. Staff was nice and kind making efforts to help us with everything. The next door bar was confortable and was opened until 2am. Room was clean and bathroom was quite beautiful. For Breakfast nothing was missing. Overall its a great place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that Google Map directions are wrong; you will be routed up a very steep, narrow cobblestone road through old stone archways that become impassable. Be sure to ask the hotel for directions.

    We had the family suite, which was two separate rooms each with its own bathroom. Great setup. The location in Marvao is fabulous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very simple affair. Could have had a boiled or scrambled egg added. Basically just very fresh bread, cheese and ham. Some cake portions were also available.

    The view from this Hotel was amazing down to the valley if you had the room with the patio. The sunset was fab. The cafe / bar with woodburning stove was very welcoming and had a great range of drinks and tapas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvao is the most amazing small town. The best place to visit in portugal. Dom Dinis is right next to the castle. When you arrive the staff is very informative and very keen to help. Rooms are buce and big and clean. Everyone should visit this town and Dom Dinis!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent 2 night stay. The views are amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good. The only real problem was they were fully booked and we couldn't extended our stay! Will be revisiting in the future.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing!

    We both loved our stay at Dom Dinis. Location and patio spectacular. Easy parking, terrific breakfasts, room and bed. The hosts were very helpful with suggestions on dining, local sites, & directions to locations near.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very basic.

    Marvao is the most amazing place and this little gem has superb views from the rooms we had. Rooms were clean and Louis was ever so helpful explaining everything clearly and recommending restaurants nearby. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: