Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux 5 stars

Largo do Paço, 6, 4600-017 Amarante, Portugal

#5 of 17 hotels in Amarante

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving through the entrance gates! The staff at breakfast were somewhat sullen at times, not letting people sit at the tables in the window for no obvious reason!

    The breakfast. Overall feel of the property. Great views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel. It was such a delight to eat the wonderful breakfast in the gorgeous dining room every morning - it looks like a jewel box! Very comfortable bed and fantastic and friendly staff. One of the best values of our entire 3 week stay in Portugal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the rooms window was not so great. Nonetheless, it is not a surprise or a fault, since we booked the cheapest room available.

    Beautiful and confortable building and facilities. Excellent value for money, Amazing restaurant. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was like a mausoleum. Zero atmosphere and the menus stupidly expensive and complex. Breakfast was tricky. Trying to get a coffee ordered was a real struggle. This needs to be simplified .

    the room was terrific, the bed the most comfortable. Secure parking was welcome. Proximity to town centre was important. Staff were polite and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be much better, it is not the kind of breakfast you expect from a 5 stars hotel. Rooms way too hot on arrival, it felt like a sauna inside. Beds not very comfortable. Bathroom a little old.

    Beautiful and large hotel, very nice staff, good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in the heart of Amarante. Excellent, efficient and friendly service from all staff. The golf course is 10 minutes by car, and is quite challenging.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi connexion is terrible. The valet parking is compulsory but when I wanted to take my car in the morning the valet was not present and the receptionist explained me that she didn't know how to drive an automatic car. Therefore I had to cross employees areas and drive my car out of the parking by myself. This is incredible for a 5 star hotel...

    Nice equipment and decoration. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of a indoor pool and sauna.

    Service is top notch! The restaurants the hotel is amazing!! Definitely worth the entire experience. On topo of that, the city of Amarante is a nice little city for one to explore.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC.. temperamental and difficult to adjust to best temperature.Lighting in room was terrible.... low wattage in lamps and ceiling lighting tooooo bright and not helpful.

    Dinner was delicious. Highly rated restaurant lived up to expectations. Despite the Micheline rating, we found the servers to be very friendly and helpful..Beds very comfortable. Bathroom roomy and well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    The property was gorgeous and the staff were delightful. But the best of all was the restaurant. The chef outdid himself. The food was absolutely fabulous. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. They also have their vineyard on the property and their wines are very good. Excellent overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting the car up the hill (not being experts in European driving!) was tricky. Otherwise, super.

    We loved our stay. Beautiful room and views. We went for our honeymoon and the staff went above and beyond to take care of us. It was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely everything. The staff were so helpful and professional, the atmosphere was perfect, so restful. The beds were very comfortable, the grounds, the pool and all the facilities were wonderful, an oasis of calm!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything! Great front desk staff - well-informed and extremely helpful. Our room! The superb quality of the restaurant (both breakfasts and dinners). Beautiful pool. The overall excellence of the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a Relais & Chateaux offering so it conforms very much to their ‘brand styling’. Having a Michelin started restaurant as part of the property is obviously a key part of their offering (but it was booked out) but the restaurant the staff recommended to us was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee was very weak, and not hot. In fact the worst coffee we had on our entire trip.

    Everything apart from the coffee was excellent. The perfect location and service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt it should be adults only as would have been wonderful to enjoy peacefulness in pool and relaxing by pool area without children.

    Absolutely everything and Michelin star ⭐️ restaurant was amazing. We have stayed in many many places worldwide and this bowled us over. Service was supreme.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor signage to find entrance to the hotel

    Secluded property right in the heart of town, charming building, obliging staff, fabulous food, nice pool and grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-liked it all!

    This hotel was formerly a Manor House and although it had been extended over the years, the room decor was in keeping with the beautiful public rooms. The grounds were beautiful as was the town centre of Amarante, on the river. The staff were very courteous and we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine from their own vineyards!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small details: the pankakes are bad, please upgrade them, it's so easy to make the pancake recipe.

    Great service right at the level of 5* hotel, amazing breakfast, really nice pool, very comfy bed,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly small but still comfortable.

    Extremely comfortable, perfect location, friendly staff, welcome drink,nice pool area, good (as opposed to excellent) breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Executive Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is the property i universally LOVED. Nothing was too much for the Staff and they did it with pleasure. Manuel was super ! Also for arrangements out of the hotel. The property radiated pure QUALITY. If there was an 11it would qualify. Nothing short of perfection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point - We were parked in the front of the hotel and the trees emitted a fine sap which covered the car - but it easily washed off.

    Excellent location in a beautiful setting, with a lovely pool area. The staff & service at this hotel is exemplary. A festival was on for three days during our stay, which we thoroughly enjoyed - returning each night to a oasis of calm right in the middle of the festivities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dimly lit and darkly painted room. Lack of facilities for a Relais & Chateau property.

    Comfortable hotel in lovely town. Probably known more for its Michelin starred restaurant which was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very steep access on foot to front door if one had been out for a walk in town.. Narrow ancient and beautiful entrance to front courtyard might be daunting in a hired car when tired and hot-suggest get transfer.

    Exquisite vegetarian food available on tasting menu. Sparkling wine gratis on arrival. Staff very friendly but discreet. Excellent wine list. Beautiful views from garden pool area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was below standard for a Relais & Chateau property. We had better or at least equivalent breakfasts at the other hotels we stayed in our trip to Portugal. In addition, there was no English TV reception at check in. We called the front desk and they said they'd investigate. There was no call back from the front desk so we followed up with them at which time they advised us that satellite reception was out and there was nothing that could be done. When we returned to our room around 11pm, we asked the front desk for a status update at which time they advised that satellite service was restored. To us the hotel should have been proactive in advising clients about the problem at check in as well leaving a voice mail with the status when it was fixed at every room.

    The room was large and luxurious. The location is ideal, right in the middle of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with River and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little dated. They could use some newer pillows. Or a selection of pillows.

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting overlooking the town and the river. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor thing that boderd us was that there are no vegetables at breakfast, but there are a lot other things including gluten free cakes

    It was amazing expirance staying here. The stuff very nice. The decoration is very uniqe and the view on amarnte church and river is amazing. The breakfast also very good and in high quelity. You can ask for made to order eggs or coffee. We booked 3 nights and got upgraded to a suite(i liked that the man at reception said-if we can why not) if staying in amarnte-stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the morning was very weak. We were never offered the option of an expresso or cappuccino. If you love a strong cup of coffee in the morning you will be disappointed.

    Fabulous stay in a small and lovely town In the Douro Valley. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast amazing. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were curt; there were misunderstandings which could have been handled with more professionalism and customer friendly service.

    The restaurant staff were informative, and provided 5 star service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unseasonably warm yet the heating was on!

    Right in the middle of the Roman town of Amarante. Splendid view of Igreja de São Gonçalo. Really enjoyed the 1 Michelin star restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We regretted ordering the chef's tasting menu-too gimmicky. We are foodies, but this was food was pretty rather than extraordinarily tasty.

    Amarante is a beautiful small town-perfect for a couple of days R&R after a busy week with family in Porto. The hotel is perfectly situated, the staff cordial & efficient, and the room comfortable, spotless and in all ways befitting a Relais & Chateau. The pool area is gorgeous-what views!!! The hotel is a bargain!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gate at the entrance to the hotel is very tight, so be careful when entering.

    Beautiful old building with professional service from all the staff. Our car was parked for us when we arrived and brought to the front of the hotel when we wanted to go out traveling. We did not try the hotel restaurant on this occasion for lunch or dinner, but the breakfast was very nice with a good variety to choose from. Stunning views from the lounge terrace, bar staff friendly and efficient. Swimming pool great to cool off. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of hotel was excellent . Staff very helpful and polite. Swimming pool area wonderful. Breakfast could have been better organised, but food was good. Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing whatsoever not to like

    Our fourth visit, staff all friendly especially Annabella ( dining room) & Maria ( pool waitress ) Surroundings ... Paco De Largo 1st class

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. People asked why we chose to visit Amarante (because it is not a high tourist spot), it was mainly the stay in the chateaux, however the old town was very pleasant to walk through.

    The beautiful ambience of the old chateaux, the very warm welcome and our lovely room, and our 5 star dinner which will always be remembered.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did have problem with service at bar - but management took care of it promptly.

    Executive lunch at restaurant was fabulous. Breakfast had good selection and variety.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing was not good

    Location and restaurant were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight entrance to the hotel in a car!

    Rooftop pool is so relaxing. Lovely breakfast. Calm atmosphere..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not brilliant

    Fabulous food and breakfast- staff couldn't have been more caring

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room windows were mansard so had a narrow vew

    excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superlative service throughout, but especially the lady controlling the restaurant area at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Michelin Restaurant is beautiful and the food and service was first class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a free upgrade to the executive room, great terrace with river and church view...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    staff very friendly and professional,always ready to help and give advice on tje area.Breakfast one of the best I ever had in Portugal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit hard, no options

    Comfy beds, beautiful views, helpful staff, close to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great winter deal great food wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Douche in bad

    Ambiance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant one Michelin star. Great staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dark room, not enough lighting

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was beautiful. Good quality food and an excellent choice. The breakfast room had an amazing view looking over Amarante.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much to see near the hotel

    excellent breakfast. location was good. staff was attentive. rooms very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel in great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well situated in relation to the scenic part of Amarante.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Executive Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly, forniture badly kept, and the room was not clean (with spider webs)!!!!!!

    Hotel the exterior is amazing and the position fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom eg bath/shower bit dated

    Had an excellent dinner a "degustation menu with wines" Quite outstanding

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was amazing. Breakfast buffet outstanding and dinner was a special,experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Executive Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Estava um calor intenso e a piscina estava indisponível

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi speed was prehistoric. Almost like AOL dialup:(

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast with good variety of items and everything was very fresh.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is terrible. The people in the reception didnt learn how to smile and to give service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Executive Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need to be update ,too many tour groups

    location,parking,great views of town across river,friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Michelin* restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of the dining room too heavy

    Thé warm welcome when checking in And all along our stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor food selection on bar menu

    Lovely river & church view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle

    Treated like royalty Professional Perfect really

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I enjoyed the room, the bar and the restaurant which was a very positive surprise and well deserved 1 michelin star. The food was delicious and service very attentive. Location of the hotel is also very good and for sure i will be back in Amarante for short break.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The high tea. Should not be classed as high tea with scones as it is misleading to uk travelers. Just give it another name and do not mention scones. The tea was very good and the biscuits were delicious

    The ambiance the location. The staff. In fact everything

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely comfortable hotel in stunning location. Opulent room with a balcony overlooking the famous bridge and church. Very attentive staff. Michelin starred restaurant very good value

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is such a shame that this is not an adult- only hotel as we had planned to use the pool area on the second (and last) day we were there but changed our mind as two families with young children completely monopolised it and were very, very noisy with no respect for the other guests. We were also due to eat in the restaurant that evening but discovered that one of the families was also booked in so we cancelled (who takes 2 young children to a Michelin starred restaurant??!). Perhaps there could be two sittings so that families could eat earlier? However, we were quite glad we had cancelled as the restaurant is quite large and far too bright and impersonal for dinner (especially for the price). It should be noted that the restaurant choice in Amarante is very limited, especially on a Sunday night!

    Wow, this hotel is amazing and was definitely one if the highlights of our stay in Portugal. It is in a fantastic location in beautiful Amarante - great view over the church, monastery and bridge. We were given a free upgrade on arrival and so had an executive suite with a room over the river. The room was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. The outside terrace was great for a pre-dinner cocktail with lovely views over the river. The staff were all fantastic and the breakfast buffet was the best we had in Portugal by far. A beautiful hotel and definitely great value for money. Fairly expensive (for Portugal) but definitely worth it. They also produce lovely wines - the sparkling was especially good.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room for improvement with breakfast - hot food should be freshly made to order for such a fancy hotel . Had great difficulty finding hotel due to one way system around the town and no sat nav

    Fabulous location - beautiful room with a view.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A grand luxury hotel. Perfectly located by the old Bridge across the old church and river. Great views from the window. Great atmosphere and ambiance. Great outdoor pool. Superb restaurant. Breakfast was with large selection. Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic breakfast - one of the responsible for the breakfast room was systematically not happy, a bit of a bad mood to start the day while on vacation ! Lack of comfy common areas.

    The personnel (in particular Luis) will make everything to make you feel at home - resourceful, informative, kind reception desk !

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was a little slow sometimes. It felt like they could have done with more staff.

    It was a perfect spot - beautiful surroundings, relaxing and quiet without being dull.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The driveway is daunting, to say the least, and the rooms could be freshened up just a bit. But overall, this is a wonderful hotel and I highly recommend it.

    The restaurant was fantastic for both breakfast and dinner. And the pool, while chilly, was lovely

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel rooms some what tired. Restaurant menu very avant-garde with no concessions to anyone just wanting a straight forward meal. Lack of signage to hotel Expensive for what you get on comparison with other "top end" hotels in area.

    suite was good size, WiFi OK,

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: