Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa da Capelinha 4 stars

Sitio do Terreiro, 9240-121 Ponta Delgada, Portugal

#2 of 6 hotels in Ponta Delgada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    We like the swimming pool settled in the middle of a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a ground floor studio that was dark, the bed was fairly nearow and short for us. The wardrobe smell was really unpleasant and sometimes we heard voices from next apartman devided only by a thin door.

    We like the swimming pool settled in the middle of a nice hotel areal. Staff was nice and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Very quiet place with outstanding staff and owners who are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very quiet place with outstanding staff and owners who are very friendly and willing to help every time. The restaurant serves excellent food and is open to fulfill all your requirements. Great pool for both children and adults. Spacy and clean rooms. We would definitely recommend to friends and would like to return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Extremely warm welcome and hospitality throughout our stay! Even though I booked self catering room, it was cleaned every day and the towels were changed daily. The view from our room was the most mind and soul relaxing one. And the apartment was spacious and well furnished! I loved the tiles, the granite and the soft wooden/parquet floor at the bedroom. The room was made easy to clean and give great comfort. We loved it! It was quite and peaceful. The food was fantastic! The kids enjoyed the pool and the play room with the snooker table! I can highly recommend it for families with children as it is small hotel and it can never be overcrowded. We loved it! We are going back again! Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    very good price/performance ratio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    well from outside it is a super nice area.its a little bit better looking then the rooms inside.but for the price we payed it was a super good offer and we would come again.

    a really nice pool to use.great view.delicious and fresh food and we are really picky on this.and the owner are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    We prefer smaller owner directed hotels, also Maria done all for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Here we have no negative comment.

    We had every evening a dinner in the hotel. We were very happy to choose between several possibilities, starter, main dish and deserts. All was done with love for us. Very friendly staff, they are really motivated to do the best for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    If you are looking for a cozy and homely hotel on the northern coast of Madeira, then we recommend s
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights

    Everything was great!

    Hello Maria and Carlos We stayed in your hotel for four weeks in February 2018. The holiday in this hotel was very pleasant for us. The hotel is small and lovely. The hotel staff is very helpful and helpful, and the other one is looking for! Thank you for a pleasant holiday! Silva and Utah

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    We travel around all Madeira 10 days and stay every night at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel around all Madeira 10 days and stay every night at different places: hotels, villas, apartment. At Casa Capelinha we stay beginning our trip and in the and of it we choose it for 3 days because Casa Capelinha was the most comfortable for us among all our places! Recommend it from all heart!:) beautiful view from balcony, cosy apartment, nice and responsive hosts, and Ponta Delgada is so beautiful and calmness for couple!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Good for a quiet holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The narrow and winding mountain road from Funchal. The nearest supermarket is 30 minutes away by car. Weather is very cloudy In this part of island (because of the North) but we had rented car, so no problem to get to the South on the beach. Hairdryer would be useful.

    This is quiet and relax area in the north part of Madeira island. We had a really big apartment with magnificent view on the Atlantic Ocean and mountain. The sound of the Ocean was superb. Our Apartment was exceptional – very clean, large living room with balcony and bedroom with comfortable beds. There was fully equipped kitchen (fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, kettle) The staff speak excellent English and is super helpful. WiFi is OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, superb accommodation and service! Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Hairdryer would be useful, but we had our own anyway. 2 extra teaspoons would help. Not important in the overall picture.

    We just loved absolutely everything about that property during our 9 day stay there! We were upgraded to a bigger apartment, with a wonderful sea & mountain view. The staff speak excellent English and are super helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Apartment cleaned every day, beds made up, fresh towels, kitchenette well equipped. They even done our washing for us, as there is no public launderette. Swimming pool open till late. Gardens are very well maintained. Restaurant on-site, portions are huge! Supermarket close by (with very helpful staff and a lovely cat Tininiu). Highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    quiet area for proper relax far away from peoples and noise,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing at all.....wi fi signal was upgraded and there is no problem anymore....

    quiet area for proper relax far away from peoples and noise, good area for mountain walkers, very good sleeping -- sea sound, not many tourist.....if you are after party, peoples, busy town its a wrong adress......if you stressed a lot, you need relax with lots of walking-beach or mountain or book reading with a views its a bang on. We just combine it with car travel to south and when we back we had v good temperature for sleep and recharge batteries ....comfortable big rooms, not busy swimming pool and sea view is excellent....food in hotel is served later on, but there is local shop with few restaurants around and its ok. car is a must- transfer is most of 1 week car rent price.peak walks, catamaran dolphin watching, Funchal visit is a must .......

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good view - ocean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the poorest WiFi we have ever met - there is a need to improve the situation; in a modern world it is impossible to have no WiFi; There was a lack of kitchenware, but we could stand that - the Internet was more important

    Very good view - ocean! The rooms were large with a balcony - a lot of air and sun. Very clean badsheets, everyday room cleaning. There was possible to park the car in a small yard and outside as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    A grower if you let it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa was not comfortable, but the bed was and the rooms were spacious.

    Early evening light and once you appreciate that this side of PD is quiet then learning simply relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At this location was very cloudy weather, because of the North, but we had rented car, so no problem to go on the South to the beach.

    Very nice quiet place. We appreciated cleanliness, staff is working on it every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Excellent apartment, small hotel, great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been even better if we had stayed longer - our stay was too short, and I'd love to return!

    We stayed in an apartment which had a fabulous sea view. It was very well equipped and very clean. The pool area was lovely, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was good value, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    For tranquility seekers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote area, not much too do outside the hotel, difficult to reach without a car, weak wifi

    Spacious well equipped apartments, nice pool, lovely views, quiet area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.7
    The view from the apartment is simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment is a bit dull and there ware quite a few ants running around.

    The view from the apartment is simply amazing. They have a decent restaurant and a bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been good if the kitchenette had been stocked with some cooking oil and condiments.

    Beautiful location in one of the nicest villages on the more unspoiled northern coast of Madeira. Easy to get to due to being only a few miles from the main road through the centre of the island and sign-posted from the centre of town (along with the piscina, which is just below it) when you get there. Rooms overlook the very pretty pool and the sea beyond as hotel is no more than a few minutes walk from the sea front. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant food was good quality and not expensive - we ate there three times. The village has a supermarket, restaurants, petrol station and a cash point. It is surrounded by high, lush hills, has a pretty parish church and a small harbour.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    The apartment was big, comfortable and clean, with a balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the check in, I couldn't see any staff to ask questions. However, numbers were provided to call if there was an emergency.

    The apartment was big, comfortable and clean, with a balcony that overlooked the pool and ocean. Beautiful location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.3
    Clean and OK appartment, but be carreful it is out in nowere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There is so much different between North and south of the Ireland so be aware of that this place is directly out to the Atlantic oasen. It is cold and windy. The place was more or less closed down for the winter. It should be runnet from April to October not in the winter time.

    This is a very quiet place especially in the winter time as it is at the moment. You can not stay there without a rente car. There is nothing to do in Ponta do Delgada. The Family how owns the place is very kindly, but we did not have much help from them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Very nice area, quiet, the owner really kind, gave us good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no water kettle, it was ok, but would have been nice. Also as this is an appartment, do not expect shampoo, shower gel in the bathroom.

    Very nice area, quiet, the owner really kind, gave us good advice about sights and trips, thank you!!! We loved sitting outside in the evening watching stars and that cool tunnel ;-) Try the restaurant too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    The swimming pool was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't very clean. And there was a living cockroach in our room.

    The swimming pool was very nice. De location is good. You have a good view from the hotel. The staff is nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 People)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wi fi connection

    Staff, food, pool, location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, inc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff, inc. owners and regular employees. Swimming pool, sea view. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Everything was 100% ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was 100% ok. Maria, her husband and the staff Made us feel very welcome and at home. Great swimmingpool and nice restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The installations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too isolate

    The installations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too hard for my liking. I had to sleep on the sofa.

    Excellent pool. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent apartment, very friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent apartment, very friendly owner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Beatiful place, pleasant staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beatiful place, pleasant staff ....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay a lot!
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    nice location, all new, very nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not realy don't like, but we have new towels every day.. it wasn't necessary to change them so often😁

    nice location, all new, very nice pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Maria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Very good place, good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had an awful smell, we couldn’t sleep in it

    Very good place, good view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Balcony was somewhat small

    Being welcomed heartily in the middle of the night (2:00 am) plus having a restaurant with friendly staff on the premises.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. Apartments with a special view on the ocean. Staff really friendly. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay could have been longer - were there only one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything it was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything it was ok! Good food and cleaning in the room done everyday!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful and beautiful. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Perfect location at the north of the island. Great ocean view from studio appartments. Own swimming pool. Small restaurant with a decent selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect and very nice owners. :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location, facilities a bit old but acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, facilities a bit old but acceptable. Apartment spaciuos, nice view on a bay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful stay in a lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame the pool was operational, but I understand it is drained for the winter

    Friendly staff and beautiful location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.8
    Tranquil, nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place to rest in tranquil scene. If you want tune out from crowd its perfect place. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Romantic Retreat !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfection !!

    Setting spectacular , accommodation perfect and staff wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.8
    Very nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    plumbing leaking (but that was the same in both places where we stayed in Madeira, so maybe it is the normal way there...).

    Very nice view. Nice place. Very reasonable price for the housing.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    Very spacious and nice apartment, it was cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was little bit cold in Ponta Delgada in May.

    Very spacious and nice apartment, it was cleaned every day. Beautiful view from the balcony. Very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.2
    The swimming pool was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast provided or good breakfast options near by

    The swimming pool was nice. The sea view at the restaurant was great, the food is the best we have had in Madeira! And the apartment is tastefully renovated from a 17th century house.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Really nice spacious apartments with sea and pool view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not working correclty at the time we were there. But I believe it was temporary. We have seen some ants in our apartment.

    Really nice spacious apartments with sea and pool view.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    We had a great time because the location is so peaceful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beda were quite hard, it gave us sore backs!

    We had a great time because the location is so peaceful and quiet. With car you can get everywhere in an hour. The restaurant has good food and good prices.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    The owners care a lot about the visitors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need some improvements in the quality of the food in the restaurant, but it is not critical for two reasons: 1 - you can cook by yourself in the apartment kitchen 2 - you have a lot of excellent restaurants nearby

    The owners care a lot about the visitors! They recognized the problems in the kitchen (new cooker) and did not charge for the food that was not good.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Had an absolutely fantastic time here with my family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds a bit hard but you get used to them.

    Had an absolutely fantastic time here with my family. We wanted to stay in a quiet and peaceful place and this was ideal. Clean apartment, daily maid service, lovely staff, fantastic view. Car hire a must. Easy to get to other parts of the island. Weather was amazing too!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Nice quiet place with a high comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice quiet place with a high comfort. A great view on the Ocean from a living room and a balcony. You can see a sunrise from your living room and a sunset from great view points 5 minutes from the hotel. You can see all thing on photos - reality is much better. A guest is on the first position and he can feel totally relaxed and free. Staff take care about garden, swimming pool and of course guests extraordinarily well.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic sea view , attractive gardens and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited sun on balcony of 1st floor apartments but always a sunny spot in the gardens and pool.Ground floor apartments have larger lawned patio with more sun but less privacy.

    Fantastic sea view , attractive gardens and pool. Friendly welcoming staff. Clean modern apartment with huge glass patio doors onto balcony. Good food at restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    6.7
    Location was very quiet and close to the sea, many nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lots of ants in the kitchen everywhere. It was impossible to store food because the ants would get in, this was very inconvenient for our self-catering holiday. Swimming pool is not heated, water was freezing in April.

    Location was very quiet and close to the sea, many nice walks around, but they were not suitable for young children.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    The holiday was a great success due to the wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The holiday was a great success due to the wonderful apartment and the greeting bu the family.Would definitely go again.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Value Clean,comfortable spacious room with kitchenette.Friendly helpful staff the hotel is close to the centre of town with excellent WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Cleaning. Ok kitchen.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: