Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa das Penhas Douradas Design Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Penhas Douradas, 6260 - 200 Manteigas, Portugal

#4 of 15 hotels in Manteigas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 568 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (Veranda room) was a bit small, especially the shower

    This beautiful small mountain hide-away is located on the top of a mountain with great views and lots of possibilities for walks and hikes. The hotel is furnished with great attention to detail and makes it almost impossible not to feel instantly relaxed. There are several lounges which are very inviting and cosy. The Spa area (pool, sauna and Spa facilities) is nice and small and we had it mostly to ourselves as the hotel does not have too many rooms. The veranda rooms have a small veranda to sit outside and a great view towards east to see the sun rise above the mountains, but the bathroom, especially the shower, is quite small. Breakfast offers a great variety of fresh and local food. Breakfast and an afternoon snack is included in the room rate. There is also the option to have lunch and dinner. All dishes we had were very good and prices are reasonable. The staff is very attentive and friendly and made us feel at home, the service was impeccable. This hotel is a perfect choice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didn´t snow :)

    Amazing hotel, staff is always available and very welcoming. Everything is prepared and anticipated in detail. The restaurant has an impressive variety of food and quality, the room has everything that is needed and the common areas are very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the spa pool seemed a little cool.

    The hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the mountains, the snow and the silence. The design of the rooms and the hotel overall is unusual and different, and this made for a very interesting and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pressed to find anything that we didn't like as it was so good. We were maybe a bit surprised by how many families with young children were there - it's so tranquil and relaxing so if you're going there and wouldn't want to have a lot of kids around you might be out of luck. It's adults only in the pool after6pm but there are no adult only living room areas and the cocktail hour/restaurant could be a bit chaotic at its busiest. Our room was right next to a room kids were staying in (their parents in a different room) and it was quite loud unfortunately. I think our rooms were adjoining so not sure if the noise bleed is like that for all rooms or just ours.

    This was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel cosy with an amazing atmosphere. It's the first hotel I've ever been to with public areas that actually make you want to use - and live in - them. The breakfast and afternoon tea was great and we had the full dinner both nights. Cannot recommend enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Snow would be recommended. Without snow, the surroundings don't seem so interesting

    Great variety of bread, jams, and cheese for breakfast. Very comfortable warm spaces

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting rooms more luxurious considering the price. The shower is very small, impossible for two people.

    Great staff. Small details that made the stay unforgettable. They left us a little treat while we were having dinner. Excellent food. Very cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could give more information about nearby hikes and trails. They recommended us to go to the CISE center to get information, which was fine, but it would have been more convenient to get all the info directly at the hotel.

    Wonderful breakfast and dinner, with a great wine list. Loved the indoor pool and sauna! Beautiful place, great to relax for a few days. Staff was very welcoming and polite!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So relaxing! Clean and comfortable rooms. Great amenities. Delicious food and great wine. A staff that takes great care of the guests. They really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, right up the mountain with incredible views, quiet and peaceful. You can do day drives easily to visit nearby places. Quite a few walking trails with different grades of difficulty. The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxed; you never have to dress up - although you can if you want to. The 5 course dinners were delicious and nicely presented. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable - with lots of storing space. And the bed amazingly comfortable. WiFi very good. Fresh water and fruit in our room. If you love nature you will love to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame we only stayed one night, could easily stay at least for a weekend.

    Fabulous mountain boutique hotel very tastefully decorated with modern design. Lovely spacious rooms, delicious food and amazing views over the Sierra. Great staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good but if you want a really quiet break it is probably quieter mid-week than weekends.

    Lovely comfortable communal areas. Comfortable beds although bedroom and bathroom were quite small especially shower area. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice and we had dinner in the restaurant on one night which was very good. Nice area for a quiet break in the mountains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location! Perfect hotel for relaxing. The hotel has a very nice architecture and Interiors! Great lunch, breakfast and afternoon snacks. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This has been one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Great location, super-friendly and efficient staff, nicely designed, well-thought through. For us, it was simply perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it is just about perfect.

    Superb location in the hills above Manteigas which has simply stunning scenery. Very quiet hotel, immaculately clean, professional staff and absolutely amazing food. The pool and sauna were very welcome too. Well worth walking through the surrounding countryside and huge rocks that are scattered about just to get a sense of where you are. Literally the top of Portugal. Nice to have complimentary drink and snacks on arrival. Would recommend driving further up the hill and along the road for a few kilometres as there is an amazing reservoir, Represa de Vale Rossim which is set amongst the hills where you can wild swim and chill out on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be a tiny bit bigger, if you really wanted to be picky!

    Everything was truly amazing! Super friendly staff, fantastic dinner with pre dinner cocktail, indoor pool, great views over the mountain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel restaurant. A little pricey but probably the best food you will find in the area. Great pillows on the bed. Amazing scenic area with great hiking and a nearby lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very cramped

    Beautiful setting, very attentive staff. Pleasant room, a picturesque drive to village even if a bit windy and far, but this is part of the charm

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were very nice and very efficient. It is a beautiful location with spectacular hikes to do around it. The heated pool was very welcome after a 5 hour hike. The restaurant was excellent. The rooms are very comfortable. The first day was very sunny but the weather changed afterwards. It was nice to have a cocktail in the evening beside the log fire! If you have some room in your suitcase, visit the wool factory belonging to the hotel. Even if you don't have room, the visit is fascinating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't appreciate was being given a cocktail before dinner that was subsequently added to our bill - it was not explained it was anything other than complimentary but I can forgive this as all else was so wonderful.

    Everything about this hotel was fabulous - food, comfort, quirky interior, staff, location. Unless you are looking for night life this is a wonderful place to take rest, treatment and walks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for a place where people do the utmost to make you feel welcome and at ease, this is the right place to stay!! Fantastic nature surrounding the modern, well insulated building. Absolutely gorgeous food and creative kitchen. The cook passes every evening by the tables to get a feedback first hand. We had the evening menue on 3 occasions and each plate was just a dream! The swimming pool is nicely set with big windows overlooking the valley. Nice spa where we can recommend the massage with natural herbs oil. In the afternoons you can help yourself with delicious cakes or snacks and all is included in the room rate. Well decorated interior whit wool products produced in the nearby village of Manteigas. Don't miss a visit to the Burrel factory where they even make a coat to your size within 24 hours. The reception will explain you how to get there. Cosy fireplace where you can enjoy the aperitive. Thanks to all the wonderful team for caring so well for your guests! It's a rare experience to find such devoted people! We hope to come back soon!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - nothing bad

    - hotel super comfy and well decorated - excellent facilities - in the middle of the mountains - bed very confortable - excellent spa and pool, and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A jacuzzi would been a plus ( only swimming pool and sauna available). The restaurant has a predifened menu. It would been nice if there were two options to choose from (although the chef was available to make you an alternative dish if you didn't like something).

    Excellent design hotel. Very quiet, comfortable, cozy and beautifully decorated with local products. Excellent for relaxing. Friendly staff, very thoughtful. Nice massage at the spa. Would deffinetly come back!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why are the swimming caps for the pool obligatory nowadays?

    Restaurant service was extraordinary for the "above the sea level", friendly and competent staff. A kind of alpine experience in the portugese style - snow storm in march!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive next day to Mantigas in rain and fog. Nothing to do with the casa.

    A drive to reach but worth it. Gorgeous scenery and nice hike. Loved the pool and dinner really excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a tricky drive up and down the mountain, but the benefits of staying up so high are worth it.

    The location is stunning and the walks from the hotel are really worth the effort.The staff were consistently pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well designed.The food is very good although you are limited to a fixed menu. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant felt quite sterile - needed a bit more ambience, surprising considering other common areas are very welcoming and good ambience. Take a swim cap!

    Excellent food, very comfy beds, stunning views, great walks. Excellent staff - very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been nice to have had a children's bike for hire.

    Great location on top of a mountain ridge with a network of hiking paths around the hotel. The staff were without exception helpful. The breakfast buffet was superb and set us up nicely for the day. The set evening meal was also great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the extra's, € 150 is a little overpriced for the small bedroom and bathroom.

    Great 4* hotel in the fantastic setting of Penhas Douradas. Friendly staff, nice extras like welcome drink and evening chocolate & liquor. Perfect restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first night we had booked the most basic room...the sound-proofing was so bad that when our neighbours returned home one night we thought somebody was breaking into the room! It was like sleeping in a tent! Go for a better room :) Other points to bear in mind: - Manteigas village is a 20-30 minute drive away, which can be a blessing and a curse :) - don't forget your compulsory swimming cap for the pool - the hotel charges 5 Euros for them - the hot water in the shower took a long time to heat up - breakfast was hit and miss - the hiking trails nearby are quite overgrown, and bring insect repellent!

    If you want to be away from it all, this is a great hotel. The staff were absolutely fantastic throughout! We were upgraded on our second night and it made a huge difference to our stay - the room was comfortable, the bed nice and large and most importantly the room was quiet... We also loved the free coffee and the drinks by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boutique clearly has many meanings, rooms very small and thus a little claustrophobic in tone, glad I left the cat at home as no room to swing it. limited food options yet miles from much in the way of alternatives.

    hotel in quiet location "away from it all" good views excellent walking from the door !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms could be a litle bit bigger

    fantastic meals. regional and fresh products

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of furniture a little shabby

    Lovely location for walking - very good food Off the beaten track Enjoyed the spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views. Amazing staff. Beautiful interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks and restaurant a bit expensive.

    bed really comfy . very nice friendly staff. i liked the leisure rooms and loved the overall ambience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great, just the perfect place for winter, snowy days. The common areas with the fireplaces give a warm and cozy feeling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, superb location, superb staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luis the host was very kind and provided some very good wine tastes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the swiming pool could be higher

    Nice place, people and food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was on the small size

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Superb location, delicious food, great walks and helpful staffthe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was not as good as expected

    Excellent food, beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself below standard, especially the bathroom.

    Food, service and surroundings very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was overwhelming nice and careful. The heated pool and sauna were really good. The room was very cozy with a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise between rooms

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. The food was wonderful and the walks in the area were superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish rooms were a bit bigger.

    Very cosy place. The food is great! Very friendly staff. Located at amazingly beautiful place!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acoustics in the dining room, food exzellent but too expensive, beds very small

    Very friendly staff, location, free rich snacks in the afternoon

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very special place!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely mountain retreat with all the facilities. Very nice food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort Design de lhotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was totally like a cloud, the food was incredible, and so many spaces to read and take time to relax. The staff were excellent. Thanks team! Burel factory was An incredible experience also--

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are very comfortable, but they could be a little bit bigger. Reminded me of a cruise cabin. The road leading up to the hotel makes for a tense drive.

    Amazing breakfast, the best in our trip. We had all our meals here, everything was very good. Great staff, very attentive. Everyone made us feel right at home. Amazing views, good facilities. Loved the design and decor of the hotel, great for exploring to see every detail. Worth visiting the Burel factory, which is owned by the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all that's worth mentioning. Could improve slightly the spa services. Weren´t bad but there´s room for improvement.

    Loved the staff, the amazing food, the location and the care for the place and detail. Nice decoration. Very inteligent the way the hotel was built in terms of structur, landscape architectural integration and functionality. Really enjoyed how they valued and integrated the local gastronomic and cultural patrimony in a very tastefull way. In one word: amazing. You can see the owner really cares for his business and guests. Staff looks happy to work there which is also worth mentioning nowadays. A special mention to the lovely ladies from housekeeping that keep the rooms super tidy and clean all day and spoil the guests! A place to come back to again and again :)

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very far and the constant fog means that it takes a long time to reach. Even Manteigas, the closest town is far and the road is not easy in bad weather.

    The inside and outside environment. Staff is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Great place to relax and enjoy the Serra da Estrela views. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is excellent! It is worth the value Facilities are great: they even provided a baby robe

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very very quiet, perfect if you want a place to relax and enjoy the surrounding nature - for some can be a tiny bit too isolated. Very complete breakfast. A nice touch is the free afternoon snack/tea time, complete with croissants, milk, and a good selection of teas. Very nice and helpful staff! All around, one of the best stays since using Booking :)

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charge for compulsory swimming caps

    Superb location. Well designed with generous patios and comfy chairs. Good snacks and drinks available free of charge all day with honesty box for alcoholic drinks.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I had to choose one thing, I didn't realize how far the hotel is to get to. In the end though, it is worth it.

    The modern architecture, the friendly staff, the food, the view

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No car park shade. The 30 Euro set menu dinner main course of pork was served cold and flavourless. The starter was similar although less bad. Too many badly lit steps/corridors. Had to return to room from spa twice to get the sauna turned on.

    the location and the spa facilities

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We changed room because the room with balcony is too small.

    The general atmosphere of the hotel. The possibility of having a coffeebreak throughout the day. The quality of the food.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    can't remember ;)

    The Hotel, the location, the "everyday little things" that were left in our room and made us feel very welcome and special

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Design of the hotel, beauty of the environment, quietness. Especially the mountain lake was fantastic and a very positive surprise. The diner had star quality.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of the hotel is perfect and the fact that they have 3 living rooms with a fire place each, makes it real homey. The design of the hotel gives it a real exclusive feeling. Also the surrounding nature makes it really tranquil and perfect for hiking and cycling.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish we could have stayed longer .

    From the moment we checked in we were treated superbly well by all the staff . Food in the restaurant was exceptional and the best we had during our tour of Portugal . Outstanding views from our room.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    The pool. We liked the simple atmosphere, Scananavian style and design. The food was absolutely delicious and we appreciated the personal attention to our dietary needs. Fantastic staff!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say.

    Location is peaceful and beautiful. The facilities within the hotel are more than I expected and will certainly not forget this place.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the best experiences we've had! Working in turism, we stay in many hotels, the service here is better then in most 5* hotels. A fantastic attention to detail, in service as well as the food and decoration of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The service was outstanding, the food was exquisite, it was very homely and very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just that we would like to have a couple massage but there were no staff for that

    The food was exceptional

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location, the decor, the vibe, the incredible food and above all: the staff. My son asked me if we could stay there forever...that sums it all.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only bad thing was that we stayed only one night. I hope to get there again!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was completely wonderful, an idyllic mountain retreat. Impeccable service in beautiful, relaxed surroundings. Superb evening meal!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a greAt place to stay with everything there--swimming pool, hiking trails, fabulous meals, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charging for coffees. Rooms are very small for the price

    Funky building in a great location high in the mountains.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: