Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa das Pipas / Quinta do Portal

Celeirós do Douro, 5060-909 Sabrosa, Portugal

#1 of 3 hotels in Sabrosa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    You need to stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed for my boyfriend was a bit too hard for me was ok!

    Staff is very kind and welcoming. We loved everything about the place, it was over our expectations! The free wine tour and testing was very informative, the dinner at the restaurant amazing! The pool very fun and the view is just stunning!! You need to stay here! Is a quiet gem in the Douro Valley!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing break in the middle of the Duoro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recommendations by the staff of things to do. The link to the adjacent winery and restaurant meant that we had great opportunities to same local produce and wine/port on our doorstep The pool was clean and refreshing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely cosy B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really close to anything else so you need a car to get around.

    Casa Das Pipas is a lovely place to stay, comfy, and with all the facilities you need including a great pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The surroundings are beautiful and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings are beautiful and quite. The atmosphfere at bothe the guest house and the restaurant were professionel, calme and humble. We felt so relaxed and well received by the staff. Thank You for at great stay:) Regards Ole og Maibritt Denmark

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful - in a magnificent setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the beds to be very hard but this might suit others. Other than that, this is a magnificent place to stay.

    The stunning location in the Duoro Valley - we so enjoyed walking near by the accommodation. The magnificent casa/hotel itself with it's tasteful furnishings and warm cozy fire which we appreciated on the cold evening we were there. The staff were helpful. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant. It was lovely to stroll into the nearby village. Whilst we were there pruning of the vines had just begun which was very interesting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Visit Casa das Pipas - you will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved our stay! The wine tour was interesting. The wine was DELICIOUS! And I would recommend making dinner or lunch reservations as the food was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Great food and setting, but accommodation is not up to expectation vs other offerings in the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to small details Hard bed, uncomfortable. Lack of rubbish bin in the bedroom No tissues in the room or barhroom No extra pillows, only one for each person Tiny tv, my laptop has a bigger screen Poor choice at breakfast

    Location is stunning Restaurant is excellent, the wines that match each dishes are supperb. If you enjoy food and drink this is the right place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Tranquil retreat in Sabrosa, Alto Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the mattress too firm, however I realise this is a personal preference. There is also no 'room service' as such, although we were able to get a very good baguette when we asked.

    The staff were all extremely helpful, which we found throughout Portugal. Also, the 'honour bar' system was very welcome! The buffet breakfast was extremely good; tea and coffee are available all day (although I would have appreciated the option of milk to go in the coffee) Lovely setting amongst the vineyards, and an excellent swimming pool - very useful as we were there during the recent heatwave... The restaurant attached to the winery next door also provides a 'degustation' meal, paired with wines, for a very good price (about 38 Euros, I recall).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Gem in the Wind Country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous! Great food, service and beautiful setting. Could have stayed here for several days! Big, comfortable rooms. Main building is quite charming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    This place exceeded our expectations, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place exceeded our expectations, the location is stunning, the swimming pool next to vineyard is stunning, onsite restaurant was excellent and we really enjoyed vineyard tour and tasting. I hope to go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and picturesque location in the heart of vineyards. Perfect for romantic stay. Fantastic restaurant with creative chef surprises you with a new menu everyday. Nice place for wine & dine. Mr. Manuel Januario is a highly attentive director who is always ready to help in unpredictable circumstances. Very energetic and positive Person.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit cold

    We had a fantastic stay here - the hotel is located in the middle of the vineyards and our room had a balcony with a beautiful view. The pool looked great but was too cold for a swim when we were there. The set menu dinner was incredible and such good value with the wine pairings. Our booking also included a tour and tasting which was excellent. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    If you want beauty off the beaten track for great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a very firm mattress which was ok with us but the pillows were too hard. The staff was so nice that I am sure they could have helped us out but we didn't realize the problem until late at night.

    Beautiful location although you do have to be willing to drive up a windy mountain road. You will be rewarded by the view and the quiet beauty of the locale, far removed from any crowds. Once you drive the road once, you'll get used to it. Very nice breakfast with choices of cereals, yogurt, fruit, rolls/bread etc. and you could ask for eggs any style. Did not get to have dinner here. The staff were very accomodating and spoke excellent English. They even gave me a bag of ice for my sprained ankle ( would not recommend jumping off stone walls in the vineyards around the place where you can hike!) Also can take a tour of the associated winery, Quinto do Portal, which has some nice wine and port. It was included with our room ( not sure if that's true for all rates.) The room rate was excellent value, and I would absolutely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous place, really helpful staff. Milton, the chef in the restaurant produces the most fantastic food every night. Wonderful wines from the vineyard, matched to each course also included. What's not to like.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.3
    Failed to impress for the money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, cold and feeled damp. Not heated swimming pool

    Location is superb, between the vineyards and close to the Douro. Restaurant is close by (bit pricey though) Swimming pool Abundant parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    A slice of paradise among the vines.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warmer pool at this time of year. Perhaps a solar panel to warm up the pool water?

    We enjoyed the selection available at breakfast- especially the fruit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Good place in Douro Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drive to and From Casa Das Pipas at night is not easy, and it's a bit far from other places of interests in the area.

    Great place to stay in Sabrosa. A bit far from Pinhao and many other Quintas in the region. The place is great with a lot of facilities. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Excellent service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional service and the restaurant was divine. 5 courses accompanied with wines from vineyard, the food was divine Highly recommend hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved the house and the wine!!!!! So great! Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed 🛏

    I loved the house it was so so beautiful and relaxing! The views were amazing , the pool was gorgeous! I loved our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Perfect vineyard experience with every luxury item you might...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect vineyard experience with every luxury item you might require.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not love the tour of the winery as much as we loved the service as the hotel.

    Great hotel and service!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    The Host Manuel was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Host Manuel was very kind.... the Hotel is amazing !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Birthday with Friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine tour, very basic.

    Warm & friendly staff, made us feel at home. The house is glorious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful landscape, great location, good hotel.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could be more modern.

    The landscape is simply beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    We loved this place. Perfect for families to come and stay. The staff is very accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard.

    The staff was fantastic and so helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    The Style of the property.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in the room!

    The Style of the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.5
    Beautiful location, dinner paired with wine was excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, dinner paired with wine was excellent, best dessert I've had in ages!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and quiet. Friendliness of staff. Food and wine was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Vineyard, wine and cellar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Beautiful Vineyard, delicious foods and wine. Artistic Cellar by Alvaro Siza.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    very good dinner at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of signage on arrival.

    very good dinner at the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Food was fabulous, tour and staff excellent and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ???

    Food was fabulous, tour and staff excellent and a lovely peaceful house

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very welcoming and the food and wine were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and the food and wine were wonderful .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    My idea for this vacation was to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My idea for this vacation was to relax...at Casa das Pipas you have more than just relax! You can enjoy the peacefulness of the vineyard and have a great food and wine tasting experience. It's worth the trip and the cost! Really raccomended!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were the first guests to arrive so the house was a lillte cold a but they fixed it in a few hours. No hairdryer.

    Location is perfect. Staff is amazingly friendly!! The rooms are very nice. The house is very welcoming and comfortable. You can help yourself to drinks just by noting on a book. Dinner is made by a chef harmonizing food and wines!! A great experience!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Couldn't fault a thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Couldn't fault a thing about this hotel. It was a lovely property in a great location to explore the Douro. The staff were extremely helpful and we even met the owners who were very friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.5
    Peaceful, impressive vineyards, beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Manager entered into our locked room in the night while we were sleeping - without knocking. The appology given the next day was confusing and no token of compensation was offered. Most staff poor in English.

    Peaceful, impressive vineyards, beautiful area

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    The winery is lovely, the vineyards are very impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, in comparison to others. Also, we went in July 15, it was very hot. We were told dinner was to be served in the gourmet restaurant, and no one told us the cost. Even asking for the check after dinner, we were told we can pay at check out. It was very strange, and at checkout the next day, we were told it cost Eur 35 each. I barely eat, and wouldn't have spent that amount on dinner.

    The winery is lovely, the vineyards are very impressive.. We don't know the region and didn't know other vineyards in better locations were available.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful house and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have more diversity and options.

    Beautiful house and surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.9
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Excellent quality of service, courtesy and food and wine,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were no negatives !!

    Excellent quality of service, courtesy and food and wine, all provided in a very attractive setting.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    mooie locatie;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mooie locatie;heerlijk diner (zeker doen)

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: