Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa de Sezim

Rua de Sezim, 4811-909 Guimarães, Portugal

#4 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Guimarães

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all it was just perfect.

    The staff were brilliant. The gardens were spectacular. The food excellent. We couldn't fault it at all. A wonderful experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The house was very well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house was very well decorated. They had a brilliant terrace where you could have their nice wine, also breakfast and dinner. And the swimming pool was fantastic surrounded by green. Great place for chilling. Not to forget, their dog was super cute!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning (even though I didn’t really miss it - there is a fan). Unfortunately the cook was off, so we could only order a simple meal like a (huge) cheese platter, salad, sandwiches or omelet....which we enjoyed with a great bottle of wine.

    The setting and room transfers you back in time. The building alone is already worth the visit. Beautiful room in an historic setting, but with a modern bathroom. A complementary bottle of their own (award winning) wine was served on the veranda overlooking the gardens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Scenery of the estate and the building, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scenery of the estate and the building, and great hospitality. Beautiful rural area. Excellent place if you wish to relax. Good food. Very special to be there! The best is their own produced ‘vinho verde’.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Inspiring - fantastic - hidden gem
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would just improve the breakfast and maybe the welcome procedure. It would be nice to make it a bit more individual and tell the story of the house!

    This was one of the most inspiring stays I ever had. It is like living in a museum. Quite, clean, nice pool, nice interieur. Definitely will come back. Places like these have to be rescued by visiting and therefore help them to survive. Will do everything to recommend in my network and bring more people! Will write a blog about it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding place! Very friendly environment with an helpful and caring staff. Traditional house that allows you to embrace the best of the regions culture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Want to feel and be treated like royalty? Come to Sezim!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything to improve our stay

    Magnificent and stylish house, lush gardens with pool and shady lunge chairs, classy rooms: veeeeeeery relaxing. Incredibly friendly and personal staff. Enjoy the breakfast in the shade on the sunny veranda with lovely views over the lush gardens.... aaaaahhhhhh And for those looking for complete relaxation: here there's no necessitity to lock up stuff. Though doors could be locked, the tendency is that the whole place is open and no intruders or anything of that kind.... not your ordinary place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Living in an antique country house - Perfect break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * Staff could have been a bit more courteous !

    * Beautiful sprawling property * An antique property, originally built in 1300's.! Splendid artifacts not just in the room but also in dining area! * Property surrounded by a vineyard. * Fantastic trails, great breakfast, big swimming pool with a view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in a beautiful mansion house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Faultless.

    We felt extremely privileged to have been able to stay in this beautiful mansion house will delightful garden and grounds. Very welcoming, friendly staff. Lovely breakfast served on terrace overlooking gardens. Very conformable bed, especially the pillows. Huge room with modern facilities and large shower. Very relaxing atmosphere. We felt at home but very pampered!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A fully charming old farm house is an astonishing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the walls are 1 meter deep, in may we had to put the heat on... but in summer time i suppose it is an advantage. The pool was not yet ready in our early season.

    An amazing view, charming hosts, in an old and charming former farm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no dinner that night due to the holiday.

    The Casa and the grounds were stunning. Wonderful just to stroll the garden and the house and sit on the terrace with the owner’s friendly dog.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect in all ways--much better than expections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly impossible to find. My wife and I spent two hours trying to find it but once there, we forgot the ordeal quickly.

    Beautiful villa--really it was unbelievable. Everything was first class. Also the grounds and gardens are so impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    It is a superb domain. I would advise to visit it and surely taste their homemade wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the owner The room was not clean The property was not well maintained

    Historical house ! Great. Only not well maintained which you can notice everywhere even in the garden. Owner was even discussing with Chinese people to sell it, sadly enough. Breakfast was more than various and delicious, with fresh fruit, eggs done as you wish. Room is very rustic. But clean. Bathroom is basic, and not clean at all. Location is excellent. Historical and nearby Guimaraes. Staff is more than warm full and kind The terrace is a nice place. Garden is not well maintained. A shame as it is a big space and well designed initially. Great swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    A very relaxing and enjoyable stay in this historical house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better variety of food

    Excellent wine-good and friendly service-excellent away from it all location-being able to sit on the verandah and drink the wine and dine.also being welcomed by a loveable hound.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great people, great service and so peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were served wine on the terrace outside our room. We had the best room in the house. The gardens were spectacular. Breakfast was great. We had dinner there and were pleased with that too. We had been travelling pretty hard before we got there and stayed an extra day because it was so peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Historical estate with 18th century painted wallpaper;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Historical estate with 18th century painted wallpaper; large rooms filled with antiques; outstanding gardens; a bottle of wonderful estate bottled wine as a welcome drink. Best stay among 12 hotels during three weeks of Spain and Portugal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Romantic rondezvous or wine holiday weekend perfect getaway destination for two or twenty of your cl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be updated.

    Lovely luxurious property steeped in history and radiating charm, friendliness and relaxation. Spend time with owner and host, Jose and experience an original manor home dating back to the 15th century. Here historical facts meet modern fantasy the moment you arrive. An historic winery in its own right, Casa de Sexim specializes in white grape varietals and upon settling in a bottle of their reserve vintage sports on the lovely veranda with tasty treats to tantalize and set the tranquil mood. The grounds are filled with garden paths, fruit trees,ornamentals, cascading grape vines, pebbled paths, fountains and a lovely pool with a view of Guimaraes and surrounding villages. The historic home is inviting, friendly and comfortable as if your Aunt and Uncle invited you to spend time with them. Ask for anything and it will be provided Service with a smile and the stories that estate will reveal through a close inspection of the rooms, objects and furnishings. Although a bit remote it provides just a touch of separation from the ancient town well worth a full day or more of exploring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Property and even Better Wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was well maintained with lots of history and charm. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The attached winery makes the best white wine I had during my 2 weeks in Portugal. The welcome bottle of wine was also a very nice touch. The main sitting area was a great place to relax at the end of the day, especially with the large stone fireplace and honor bar!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful stay in a heritage building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only ok, croissants not very nice though bread rolls fresh and tasty and fresh orange was lovely. Never really sure what was available and when. We had been told it wasn't possible to have dinner but while we were there another party did seem to be dining one evening. Our host, who remained nameless, could have been a little more attentive.

    Staying in a classic Manor House with many original features - painted walls, antiques furniture and creaky but highly polished wooden flooring. Lovely big log fire in the evening in a splendid sitting room. Only a few kilometres from Guimaraes which is one of Portugal's oldest towns.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful house with a fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house with a fantastic service. A great fireplace made staying here wintertime extremely cosy. Even though we actually were the only guests for the night the whole house were opened up for us and we were very well attended to.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    Memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't use satnav to guide you in. We were literally driving through a vineyard before deciding to turn around and call the hotel!

    The house is amazing, a very old traditional aristocratic residence with courtyard, huge living rooms and a beautiful terrace overlooking lovely gardens. Very helpful competent host and very friendly resident dog, Guri. Our October weather was not good enough for a swim, but the pool in the gardens was a tempting spot. Would love to come again in the summer; but then again, we really appreciated the huge fireplace and cosy log fire in the living area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice stay but beds are awfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed mattrass is way too hard. There is a lot to do to bring the estate in the condition it used to have. The English will love the grandeur it used to have . Sounds from one room to another are disturbing.

    Breakfast is perfect. Setting en location are fine. We had a nice introduction around the house.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    superb. will probably book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    superb gardens and buildings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charm. The location. The quietness. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Ancient but Fabulous !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you go to Portugal and don't experience this hotel, you are missing out!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    good Service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good Service; beautiful old house with history; nice garden; original furniture; a highlight

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic character property with very friendly owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic old property with original family member still living there. Great playful dog has free range. Gardens and pool first class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peace, wonderful wine from their vineyards, fantastic staff, delicious lunch with salad from the grounds. Fabulous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice place and poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    The garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Very Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps into bathroom

    Historical and quiet, breakfast on the veranda right outside our room was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    lovely stay in a comfortable historic house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for us, we liked everything

    Liked it all, especially the delicious breakfast served on the sunny terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    time travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    luxury bed, excellent food, wonderful breakfast on the terrace, excellent pool and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic house, delicious food and friendly fun and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    wonderful place, excellent stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful place, excellent stuff. Very ineresting conversation and wine tating with manager of the winery at the site: excellent wite wines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very nice and helpful, and the pool was wonderful on a hot day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Truly old family nest producing perfect vines.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome drink!!! Atmosphere of trust and respect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for great wine, grand environment, with a stillness away from this mad world...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect hideaway vacation location. A place of stillness away from the worlds madness... Oh, And fantastic wines and lunches.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff! The rooms beatifully decorated, especially, the residential part!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    The whole ambience of the place and the history, gardens and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If being " picky" , the loo roll holder was rather low .

    The whole ambience of the place and the history, gardens and lovely reception and wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    6.7
    Nice historic building with antique wallpapers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no hot water for the shower, and the water was yellow due to the mud..... which apparently the owner knew before and had been an issue for a while. Breakfast was minimal (tea and yogurt from lidl, 2 slices of ham for a family of 5, no cereals.... but orange juice was fresh). We got a discount for the water issue but even with that we were a bit disappointed. Given the price, we were expecting something much better (and got something much better for the same price in Porto and Lamego)

    Nice historic building with antique wallpapers

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic historic place a family run Quinta and winery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic historic place a family run Quinta and winery. Beautiful gardens and historic antiques and amazing painted wall paper. better than a museum and all to yourselves

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    9.2
    A living History lesson, in the same family since the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    GPS had a problem with address but a nice person lead us there. Beds a little stiff.

    A living History lesson, in the same family since the 1300's, make sure you ask to see the history rooms and gardens, breakfast very good, Jose and staff excellent. The dog never stops. Quiet and relaxing, very nice town to visit.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    We were initially going to spend 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were initially going to spend 2 nights. We ended up spending 4 nights because of the uniqueness of this property. Casa de Sezim is a very special place. Jose (the owner) and his staff do a remarkable job on making their guests feel at home. The house (villa) was built around 1376 and has been in the same family for 30 generations. The library and living room has art that is museum quality. The grounds and winery are spectacular. It really isn't possible to write enough positive things about Casa de Sezim. We will be coming back and spending even more time.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful historic villa at a winery outside Guimaraes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful historic villa at a winery outside Guimaraes. Service was impeccable. Staff friendly. Setting perfect. Delicious breakfast and wine produced there.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    Fascinating decor, lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had trouble finding the place. Do not rely on Google maps.

    Fascinating decor, lovely grounds. Like a trip back in time, it had a time-worn aspect that we found very charming. Owner spoke perfect English and was very helpful and informative.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Loved the feel of the place, very relaxing, and our 9 year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing I didnt like, but there could have been slightly more flexibility with feeding our son 1 evening when the cook was off eg give him pasta that he liked and we had brought - but he coped with the omelete and sandwich he was offered.

    Loved the feel of the place, very relaxing, and our 9 year old son liked the facilities eg pool, dog to play with, and pool. A wonderful atmosphere to the place.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Quietely Enjoying the morning from the gorgeous veranda...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can be difficult to find

    Quietely Enjoying the morning from the gorgeous veranda looking at the lovely garden while having the most fantastic homemade breakfast was the perfect start of the day

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    The beautiful, atmospheric house and grounds;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing we didn't like. Googlemaps needs to update its directions the house, though - be warned that it currently takes you into the middle if the vineyards on a rutted dirt road.

    The beautiful, atmospheric house and grounds; the warm hospitality; the generous and delicious breakfast served on the gorgeous terrace.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Picture perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can see and hear the highway at the property. Nevertheless, with all this beauty around even I forgot the presence of the way. At night you don't hear anything because of the thick walls of the house.

    Picture perfect. Stunning house and gardens, beauty everywhere you look and in every detail. Great historic and romantic atmosphere. Very friendly and helpfull owner. Very sweet and helpfull staff. Lovely meals at the veranda. Everyday good lunch available. Good wifi at the veranda. Nice swimmingpool. Lovely little town Guimaraes nearby. Nice surroundings and interesting places to visit nearby. Our best stay in Portugal, and one of our best stays ever.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    We loved the untouched original interiour and especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We loved the untouched original interiour and especially the antique wallpapers, the beautifully kept garden, wonderful outside terrace, and of course the adorable dog!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The Casa was an experience similar to living in a museum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Casa was an experience similar to living in a museum filled with antiques, family memorabilia and enchanting rooms to wander through at our leisure. The meals were superb, the bedrooms finely decorated and the gardens divine. Jose, the manager, was informative, helpful-to the point of lending us his GPS, checking each day to see if we were happy and a true asset to the Casa.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    The property was very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was very beautiful.!! The hammock on the terrace outside our room was the perfect place to relax after we had strolled by the pool. Our room was large and comfortable. Thesittingrooms were incredible. It was an experience we would recommend to our friends at home.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    8.8
    We spent a most pleasant and relaxing weekend in this superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent a most pleasant and relaxing weekend in this superb historic house on its wine estate. We loved our evenings in front of the log fire supping the estate vinho verde! We were the only guests and felt like the Lord and Lady in a Portuguese Downton Abbey!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.5
    Beautiful old building, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No TV in the rooms.

    Beautiful old building, attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.8
    peacefull and trouble-free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    somewhat distant from oldtown

    peacefull and trouble-free easy parking enjoy antique premises

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    The best stay in a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best stay in a long time. Very classy, historical and yet comfy facilities. Extremely friendly staff and guided tour by the owner. Just perfect!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful property with large pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful property with large pool. Excellent dinner on the terrace. Very helpful staff, especially Carla.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    best service and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything was OK

    best service and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    It's a really uniques place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's a really uniques place. Wonderfull house. Excellent service. An experience.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Casa de Sezim traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: