Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Calhau Grande

Caminho do Massapez nº 10, Arco Da Calheta, 9370-077 Arco da Calheta, Portugal

#3 of 24 hotels in Arco da Calheta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 47 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps a microwave in the kitchen as there was not an oven.

    We loved everything about Calhau Grande, The cottage Palhau was spacious, clean, rustic interior which was very appealing, a lovely balcony and private garden with seating. Very well equipped kitchen. Beautiful views overlooking the sea, perfect for watching the sunrise/set. The hosts were very charming and warm from the minute we arrived to the moment we left. Would highly recommend this tranquil piece of paradise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing much we didn't like but I will just say to guard your steaks on the BBQ or you will loose them to the local cats !! Also maybe a little more info how to get into the place from the parking space late in the evening in the dark

    The welcome, the quiet and peace, the comfortable bed, beautiful gardens and view The discrete maintenance staff The ethos of the place, restoration of these lovely cottages, the simple decor and furnishing, the encouragement to recycle and use local produce

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    This is a very special place. You feel like you are the only one staying there. We loved the characterful cottage and the daily visits from the Calhau cats! Madeira is a stunning destination, we couldn't believe how beautiful and breath taking the scenery is. We can't wait to go back in the Summer. We stayed in December and it was cold and very windy thank god the cottage had a heater!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly owners. Amazing ocean view from private garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can be slightly cold in winter.

    Beautiful ocean views. Nice private garden. Comfortable apartments. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi connection. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It would be nice to have some tea or coffee and sugar in the kitchen before arrival.

    Our cottage had a great view, sunrises and sunsets were great. The beds were comfortable, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The place overall is very well maintained, the garden, the pool area, plans and cottages. Wifi works great, Internet is fast. Location is great, beach is 10 min drive, air is clear and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of cats come uninvited into the cottage at every opportunity so it was difficult to have the windows open. Had no hot water for 2 days. When trying to report it phone calls were either not answered or the phone was immediately put down. Emails went unanswered. In the end we put a note under the office door (it was always unmanned when we went out in the morning and when we returned.) The double bed looked out through double french windows in the cottage. These were the only windows. The town is very quiet. The drive up to the property is very steep and parking is awkward. They took days to acknowledge receipt of payment although they were quick enough to ask for it.

    Beautiful sea views. Very pretty gardens. Private.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed was a bit hard. Smell of fresh paint.

    Beautifully renovated old buildings, tasteful furnishings, lovely gardens, plenty of space, friendly welcome, love of detail.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One must be prepared to drive on very steep, narrow roads, but that goes for the whole of Madeira! The parking space of Calhau Grande is an adventure in itself, I would not have been able to do it without a second pair of eyes :)

    The family running Casa Calhau Grande are generous, helpful and down-to-earth. We had a bad experience with our rental car breaking down on the way from the airport to Calheta, and Sophia made us feel so well taken care of when we finally arrived, many hours too late. Our cottage, Eira, was everything we ever dreamed. We wanted something secluded, and even though there were guests inhabiting all the other cottages (as well as one being renovated!) we sometimes felt we were the only people there!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    what a lovely place. small scale tourism at its best. we had our own private house on the property with a nice ocean and garden view. very clean, specious and relaxed athmosphere. a most go if you are seeking relaxation, silence and a natural environment away from the busy allday life.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Great location, fantastic views, comfy appartments, a lot of privacy, and friendly staff. We visited Calhau Grande for 5 nights, and it was a delight, really relaxed stay. We should have booked a couple of days extra.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no toiletries in the bathroom and we had to buy our own toilet paper.

    The view from our cottage,Eira, was spectacular. The family that runs the cottages were very helpful and willing to assist in anything we needed. We could use the herbs in the garden for our teas and meals. We liked the environmentally friendly approach of the hotel, re-using materials and composting. There is a mini market about 200-300 meters from the cottages and the supermarket is a 10 minute drive. Funchal is a 30min drive.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    View, beautiful garden

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The layout and views

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The house, the view, parkingspace, the hospitality, the warm reception

Showing 1 - 15

Browse Calhau Grande traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: