Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casa do Tua 2 stars

Avenida da Estação, 5140-133 Foz Tua, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Foz Tua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 501 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is located directly on the banks of the beautiful Duoro River. Most rooms have a view of the river. The hotel also offers boat tours on the river (to Pinhao and return). Hotel Casa do Tua is 1 minute from the Tua railway station. On the other side of the railway line, there is Liliana's bar offering tapas and local wines, at very reasonable prices. Phantastic! On Saturday and Sunday afternoons, friends of historic railways run a historic train from Regua to Tua and return. Unfortunately, this is not hauled by a steam locomotive at the moment, but reportedly, the historic steam locomotive will be back in service from July. Overall, we had a great time at Hotel Casa do Tua and surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet spotty.

    Foz do Tua is a quiet little hamlet with its own train station and landing, situated next to the river amid vineyards and plenty of greenery. Great views from the hotel with its own small terrace (grab a beer and enjoy!). Comfortable rooms. Breakfast was plentiful, with lots of coffee and freshly pressed OJ. Friendly hosts. The restaurant next door offers dinner dishes with plenty of variety and wines... Very affordable. Very peaceful and relaxing place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited range of restaurants for good eating in the locality.

    Clean and comfortable. Beautiful quite location with lovely views of the Douro. Excellent centre for travelling by train or bait up and down the Douro . Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very good (a continental breakfast with freshly squeezed juice every morning). The bed was good to fall asleep in. Quiet at night. The hostess could only speak a little English, but was anyway very nice and helpful. The hotel`s location is wonderfully nice down to the Douro River, and with beautiful view to the vineyards along the river. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but the hostess recommended a restaurant some 200 m away, where we got delicious dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we enjoy very much our short stay in this little family hotel. The owners are very kind and helped us in every requirments.The breakfast also was good with fresh orange juice. the view of the river and hills are magnificent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything and the hotel is great. Although there is information in the site that we will find ATM machine at the property, that's not true. There is no ATM machine in hotel or in Tua, so you will need to go to Pinhao if you need it.

    The hotel and room is very clean. It is located right in front of Tua train station. Rooms have amazing view. Owners of the property are very helpfull and very nice. We had perfect breakfast! It has a swimming pool but unfortunatelly they open after 15th May so we could not swim in it but Douro river is also very close and great with cold water. If you are going to Tua, definetely must stay in this amazing hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Casa do Tua is a small hotel right on the Douro River in the tiny village of Tua. It is opposite Tua’s historic train station where you can take a scenic rail trip that follows the river through the valley’s terraced vineyards. The owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and consisted of fresh local produce and good home made compotes. Our room was comfortable, clean with a view overlooking the river. We recommend staying at Hotel Casa Do Tua when travelling through this scenic area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been that it was the off season, it was the weekend, I didn't understand the staff, or a combination of all three, but food other than breakfast was hard to come by. Foz Tua is very small and when you few options for dinner are not available the closest market is a few minutes drive away (however the tapas place in town is worth going to if they are open.) Also, the staff does not speak very good English, so that was difficult at times.

    If you want isolated, quiet and beautiful, this is the place for you. View from every room is calming and peaceful. Breakfast was simple, beautiful and delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is perfect, as it's just by the station Tua and overlooks the Douro valley. It is only one stop away from Pinhao. The breakfast was amazing, and the hostess was very welcoming and accommodating. The view out of the window and balcony is breathtaking ; of the Douro river. The breakfast was so fresh and plentiful; freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade jam and bread and cheese, and meat. The room was clean and cosy, exceeding expectations for a 2 star hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hiking would be better if there would be marked shortcuts for the highway going up

    Very quiet place. There is a restaurant right by the hotel. Close by there is a nice like formed in 2017 after starting hydroelectrostation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a really very charming and friendly place. Simple but all that's needed. Nice restaurant just next door, train station as well. If you are looking for a really peaceful stay in a mgic setting right above Douro river where it is quite straight, this is a place for it. Too bad we only stayed there for one night...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really charming riverside family hotel with lovely rooms and views. Small village by the station with a restaurant only open in summer and a bar where you can get tapas beer wine and a jolly atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without river view - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on-site bar, but RR station bar across the tracks was very nice.

    Plentiful breakfast with eggs made to order, lots of food, and special selection of jams including tomato jam! Lovely view of the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located just in front of Douro river, as it is written. The hotel was bigger than I expected. There is a pool with nice view (although I did not use this time). The personal is very friendly and the breakfast was great. I really recommend if you would like to experience the beautiful view of vineyards and beautiful stars on sky at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too small for a twin share, we ended up getting two rooms.

    Great location right on the river and also beside the charming railway station. We took the train the Pinhao which was a great option for port tastings. Nice cafe opposite and two good restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific location right on the Douro River. Wonderful pool and the breakfast was plentiful including the offer of scrambled eggs The hotel is opposite the railway station where we caught one of the infrequent trains to nearby Pinhao

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at the Hotel just one day and one night, but I could not find something I did not like. I am sure I will come back in this beautiful structure, next time maybe I will enjoy a trip by the train.

    A very fantastic structure. The hotel is just outside the railway station on the Douro Panoramic Line but don't worry: there are just a few train during the day and they won't bother you. The Hotel is just on the river and at the lower floor there's a terrace where you can sunbathing or refreshing yourself with a swim in the pool. Staff is fantastic too. Breakfast is served in a very beautiful room and it comprehends ham, cheese, homemade cakes and marmalade, fresh orange juice and scambled egg prepared just for you! It is also served a fantastic espresso. People from the small village of Tua are very kind ad friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was good, location was fabulous (on the banks of the river) and the weather was hot enough for us to use the pool ! Perfect location to use the railway for a trip along the river and also to Pinhao and get a boat back to the hotel !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only one, very small, suggestion for improvement that I have is that wifi is not strong and not available in all areas of the property. It was ok in the lobby though.

    We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Casa do Tua. Waking up next to the Douro river was an experience that we will never forget. The swimming pool overlooking the river was an amazing place to rest and read. And family running the place are wonderful and helpful, the breakfast is delicious, and there are three restaurants in walking distance, two of of which are outstanding (and extremely affordable).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside could be more arranged. Pool area and around more clean and looking a bit less abandoned. Should have bar/s working throughout the whole day. Could give more advise about what to do around.

    Very clean generally. Good breakfast. Calm. Great view. Good internet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negatives were comfort of beds - bit hard and squeaky. The air conditioner in one bedroom did not work so room was hot at night.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was peaceful and relaxing with beautiful view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice furnished and cozy hotel in quite location, no tourists around. Very good choice for breakfast. We took a train (next to the hotel) to Pinhao/Regua and had a perfect view on whole Douro valley because the track passes along the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't serve food or drinks (other that at breakfast)

    Idyllic on the banks of the river with stunning views. A very quiet place with very little there but perfect if you are looking for somewhere to unwind and relax. The breakfast was great and the pool was a real bonus and much needed as it was so hot! Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was dirty and murky. The bar and restaurant are not on site although only a little walk away it is not quite as described.

    The location by the river so we could watch the cruise ships go by was wonderful. The shower was great, breakfast with fresh orange juice, cooked meat, waitress service was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we stayed, the pool looked as though it needed a good clean.

    Absolutely beautiful view of the Douro river from our room! We enjoyed the peace and quiet of Tua and the amazing scenery. The hotel is a lovely place to stay and staff were mostly very friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant next door is great and the train station is just a minute's walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent! And the whole remote, rural, aesthetic environment was priceless. Nothing like you'll ever get in an average touristic city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only a bit annoying thing is that you don't get a front door key, not sure why but each time you ring the bell. You don't really have to wait long but it did seem odd and much more effort for the owners and staff!

    fabulous situation just above the Douro River. Swimming pool overlooks the river and has sun all day, which it needs as it's very cold though very refreshing on a hot day! We chose here for three nights to relax, for the views and the pool after having done a lot of just one or two night stays and lots of sightseeing. We certainly did that and the room had good aircon, breakfast was good as well with the additional offer of cooked eggs as well as meats and cheeses etc. It's also just by the Tua train station (about 6 very quiet trains a day!) but it means you can go up to Pochino or down to Pinhao by rail very easily and they are very beautiful journeys. Although the hotel has no restaurant there is a restaurant next door which is very good and a tiny local bar where you can have simple tapas just over the rail track.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was simply great. There was absolutely nothing to find fault with. I wish I could have spent more time at the hotel. It is be an excellent base for someone to explore the river valley if you have your own transport to get in to the interior. I didn't, but nonetheless I had access to the train station which allowed for easy access up or down the Douro. All the other reviews on this property were spot on. Stay at the Casa da Tua if you have a chance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of ants in the bathroom! This should not be the case and should be managed immediately. Also, the hotel door is locked constantly and the guests must call the door every time they want to get inside.

    Excellent location at the river bank with stunning view from the balcony. Appartment well equipped. Attentive staff. Breakfast was outstanding and a very good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have been properly shown the hotel's facilities upon my arrival, or at least have been told where they were. How to get to the pool, where the dining room was etc just basic things like that. I appreciate the staff couldn't speak English and I don't expect them to, but they could have stuck around long enough for me to try and ask in Portuguese before disappearing once I had been shown to my room. Also for the money I would have expected cable/satellite tv channels (like that can be found in hotels half the price) on the room's very nice television.

    The room was lovely, clean, very comfortable, and had great views across the river. The breakfast is also really good, wifi great. Staff were pleasant enough. The hotel is easy to find as its just across the road from the train station, and there is a good restaurant right next door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving by motorbike 2 of our party were almost overcome by heat when we arrived - 39 degrees. Hotel staff great providing large bottle of water for us to take out to them before we checked in. Pool was very welcome! Ideal for an overnight stop after riding the Duoro River roads on way to Spain. Huge portions at next door restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    later breakfast

    superb room.excellent amenities.Health generous breakfast.I would return and stay a week.You can visit the next 2 busy towns by a 10 min train rideThe tiny town is .a writer's paradise.Only u and the birds chirping.Watch the lazy river float by.A Zen atmosphere with mother nature.Mark Twain would have loved it.Nearby restaurants have venison and wild boar meat available

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here one night after driving the vineyards of the Douro Valley. We started in Porto, and timing wise, this was a perfect stop. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and right on the river. The view from our room was beautiful. Parking is right next to the hotel, the staff is very accommodating, and the breakfast was magnificent - including homemade items. There is a restaurant next door, with a limited menu, but delicious food and helpful staff at a reasonable price. All in all, a good way to end our day driving the wine trail.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Substantial breakfast , great river view, close to restaurant Friendly staff and family owners. Clean tidy and fresh room. Next to train station was ideal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front door key - felt a bit of a nuisance having to get someone to let us in each time.

    Right beside the river, a wonderful spot to watch the sun go down drinking a Douro wine. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about the hotel and Tua, although some may find it too quiet for a long stay. Beautiful terrace with pool overlooking river, but check when it is open for use.

    Very helpful staff. We loved it here. Location wonderful between small historic railway station and the river Great local friendly restaurant next door with speciality Portuguese food at ridiculously cheap prices

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the sort of place where you spend much time in the room but they could make it less plain - maybe add some pictures or vintage items relating to the river or railway history?

    Despite actually being in the station car park, the location is excellent ... just a little surprising when you first arrive! Most people are coming to see the river and take the train trip and you are right next to both. Very friendly welcome and it was no problem leaving our bags in the rooms early. The room was clean and perfectly OK, but very plain ... no pictures or features etc. Huge excellent breakfast is served in massive basement room with stone walls. You have to go to the restaurant next door for other meals, where you'll find a smoking bar and another room where tourists and workers from the local dam project dine. The local red wine is very drinkable but the venison stew was as tough as old boots - maybe just got it on a bad night! Bizarrely the restaurant does not seem to have a terrace on the river side to enjoy the lovely view, but at least the hotel has one around the swimming pool. Take the train trip to Pocinho - beautiful in the late afternoon light. But such a shame they don't wash the trains windows very often :(

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was over-chlorinated, which is quite unnecessary. There was some difficulty in finding light switches for the dark passageways. Not all rooms have full views of the river, some have rather limited sideways views of the Douro.

    The hotel is in a lovely situation, and the swimming pool, even in early October, was usable. Being situated just above the Douro river, and with views of the vineyards, mean that the hotel is a great place to go to for a trip outside of Porto, by train (station is 200 metres away) or by car. The owners's son gave us a great welcome, and it all proved to be a very pleasant experience. The evening meal was taken in a nearby restaurant, because the hotel no longer provides anything other than breakfast. The breakfast was fair but not wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Insect screens would be nice on the windows so you can leave them open at night for fresh air.

    The family are extremely friendly and helpful even with limited English spoken. We felt like family visiting.The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very generous with homemade jams as a nice touch- they really set you up for the day. Two mornings when we had to catch the train just before 8 am down the valley, we were kindly offered an early breakfast.They were very prompt in fixing a water leak from our air conditioner in the room. The pool was a lovely relaxing area right next to the river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a tiny village with a train station, a hotel and a restaurant. We were able to park the car and travel by train. The river, the landscape, the train are all wonderful. We rented a lovely little apartment next to the main hotel and had space to take it all in. Breakfast was delicious and excellent value. A wonderful place to step outside of everyday life.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Few walking paths and those were in poor condition. But the roads are very quiet!

    A proper double bed. A very quiet spot despite being 50 yards from the train station. Overlooked the Douro river. Helpful staff who made us welcome. The only two local restaurants were wholesome and very cheap.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff can speak english only a little bit. Poor signal of internet even in room and outside (swimming pool) wasn't any range :/

    Great and tasty breakfast with warm bread and fresh orange juice, better than a lot of five stars hotels. Great views, nice swimming pool and cozy rooms. All was very clean and every day were fresh towels in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little isolated for a one night driving tour stop-over; probably best for a few days stay in a peaceful place.

    A pleasant corner of the world way up the Douro Valley. Spectacular scenery driving in from Pinhao. A very friendly family hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room without River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good with the hotel but a helpful hint if you arrive on a Monday. The restaurant nearby was closed so we had to walk across the little village to get there which was nice but had a little trouble locating it and had turned back halfway thinking we had missed it and then had to go back again. I think the five or six groups at our hotel all ended up there and the restaurant ran out of food for the last group so arrive before 7pm.

    Nice pool and excellent breakfast! Friendly owners and enjoyed chatting with people in the lounge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location overlooking the river with a fantastic view. Very nice family run hotel. The swimming pool for great relax. There are very few tourists in Tua, mostly the guests of this only and perfect hotel. This makes the place very attractive if you like nature and unspoiled sorroundings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel by the river but nothing else other than bar/restaurant 30 metres down the road. Food in restaurant very good with large portions. You need a car to get around the area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water from pool could be more clean. But it was cleaned in the day after we arrive

    The view is amazing and perfect for a summer day Owners and professionals are super nice! The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Litlle bit more information about surroundings, activities during check-in should be nice. Very quiet area.

    Very nice and clean hotel with Douro-view, next to the train station for trains to Porto-Pocinho, lovely breakfast, good restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We probably needed to hire a car out there as the train is infrequent and boats did not stop there during our visit. Tua is very small.The hotel does not do evening meals but there is a very popular restaurant nearby but the menu is limited and very traditional Portuguese -absolutely huge meals and again due to lack of English it is difficult modify the menu at all. Very friendly though.

    Lovely small pool in a gorgeous setting. Breakfast was continental but scrambled eggs were available, served in a large airy and cool typical stone built Portuguese room with lovely furnishings. Good service. Very clean and excellent bathroom and shower. The owners were very helpful but thier English is limited. Sky news channel available. Wi-fi is good around the reception areas but not so good in your room. Lovely view from all rooms over the River Duro and the vineyards. Good facilities for the disabled.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much

    very relaxed and friendly staff. good breakfast. delightful position on banks of Douro. easy stay. easy to travel around by the very convenient and local train [and cheap]

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location on the banks of the Douro. Opposite the station too so great for watching the tourist train come in. Good walks in the area. A fairly remote place but two good restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located opposite the train station, next to the excellent cheap restaurant. Excellent and extensive breakfast. Perfect place to stay on a two day trip to the Douro.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our plan was to stay for two days but couple hours before our arrival the hotel refused our reservation for the next day. They also changed our room looking to the river to an other one looking to the train station. It was not a good welcome.

    The breakfast was great just like the location next to river Douro.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel. I would give one star more. The young man at the reception is very kind and always ready to help/advise. Rooms are clean ans swimming pool is super. Breakfast is excellent. Definately a place to visit one more time. Thanks

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi by the pool. 11pm curfew as all recreational areas and bar shut at that time.

    The hotel is in a beautiful quiet location, one train stop away from crazy touristy Pinhao. The hotel's pool and some rooms have an amazing view of the river and vinards. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, a huge selection of warm, cold, sweet, savoury dishes all local and fresh. The room was fantastic, clean and spacious. The staff members were friendly and allowed us to use the facilities when waiting for the check in and after checking out while waiting for the train.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is out of this world. Only local fresh made food. The location is one of the most beautiful valleys in Douro. You can wave the boat cruises passing by. And you can get there by train, the station is across the road even if you can´t ear them (there are very few and slow trains a day, great choice for sightseeing, try the trip from Tua to Pocinho and back).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. We loved the pool beside the river and amazing views! Ample breakfast with fresh juices. Our room stayed nice and cool during the hot weather. Plenty of parking. If you're planning to stay in Douro, we highly recommend this hotel in the sweet little village of Tua.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful family who run the hotel, the small untouristy town of Tua. We came by train , did not have our own transport and Tua is right on train line.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt a little strange to have to ring the doorbell each time you needed to enter the hotel, but it was always promptly answered.

    Amazing location down a small windy road, plenty of free parking, lovely outside area with a pool with fantastic views over the river Duoro. Restaurant nearby (next building), both opposite the train station. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing place. We loved absolutely everything about our stay. Staff were nice and very welcoming, pool very refreshing with 38 degrees celcius in the air. Amazing view from pool and room. Room very nice with all we needed. Breakfast of incredible quality - freshly baked bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, different kinds of cheese and cold meats and lots of fruit, cake etc. We had dinner at the restaurant just next door. It was ever so tasty and had good local wines as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything

    Lovely pool, and liked that we were offered pool towels - we didn't have to ask! lovely breakfast, good selection and plenty of it, Location was very tranquil, could go there every year for my hols!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This little hotel is off the beaten track, in a sleepy "workers" town opposite the county train station, all very traditional & family run! The rooms were newly renovated, very clean & the hosts were super friendly & most helpful. Great dining / pub next door with all traditional share dishes... The kids really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for a restful stay on the Duoro River, or exploring the valley by train. Lovely pool overlooking the river. Great breakfast. A friendly family run hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    also friedly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just overall excellent! Highly recommended. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Decoration needs refreshing with professional help.

    Stunning location! The river view made my day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was somewhat temperamental

    Superb breakfast, very hospitable hosts and excellent restaurant next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family run. Very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, family service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breafast was very good with fresh bread

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of Douro Rivet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peace and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right next to the river (& train station). Outstanding view from the pool where you can watch the boats go by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, wonderful views! Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Great situation, lovely views over the river, nice pool, very good breakfast, good room and shower, very pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: