Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Miradouro

Rua Sotto Mayor 55, 2710-628 Sintra, Portugal

#36 of 57 B&Bs and Inns in Sintra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    a room with a fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to get there by car -- very narrow and steep roads; don't trust your navigation system: oneway roads have recently changed orientation.

    magnificent view from the room to the coast, very quiet location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Delightful host Charlotte and her staff keep the Casa in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Delightful host Charlotte and her staff keep the Casa in a lovely state and are extremely helpful with planning your activities in Sintra. Absolutely no complaints. Excellent breakfast and lounge facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Charming home and gardens away from all the tourists in Sintra within a good walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice that breakfast is a choice, but would rather have it included, as it is in so many other places we stayed. It was a typical breakfast at 10E each. They also provided coffee in the sitting rooms upstairs and had a bar where you could help yourselves to a drink, but it also cost extra at 1E each. Understand the bar charge, but would have been ice if the small cup of espresso had been included. Small complaints for a very nice place to stay. A long walk to dinner but nice. But if you aren't in good shape for walking, then not the place to stay.

    This is a charming home with a beautiful garden. The weather was cooler and cloudier than expected so we didn't get to experience sitting in the nice garden. Lots of sitting rooms on the main floor, which would accommodate several groups of friends. The room and bed was comfortable and nice outlook over Sintra. It was such a well kept home. You need a parking pass to park in Sintra and the hotel provided one for a deposit then a charge of 10E a day, so just be prepared and arrange in advance. Staff very friendly and helpful in giving directions or help with restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Stunning views, great location in Sintra, with very kind and personable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After we arrived we never saw Charlotte again - and she was most pleasant. Another guest, who stayed for 5 nights, said she had never met her - which surprised us.

    The building was restored with care and was both welcoming and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed the old-world beauty of the chalet, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that finding the property by car was a bit tricky and on-street parking was a limiting - moving luggage in and around the property.

    Really enjoyed the old-world beauty of the chalet, the staff, and the view overlooking the plains of Sintra

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place with difficult parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No instruction how to get to the place Security deposit for parking ( on the street ) should be paid in cash - not a problem if you are prepare

    Everything is great but it would be helpful if property provides an instruction how to get there: city center is closed for cars, policemen gave us wrong direction and we circled around for 40 min

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Over the moon special in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed extra comfy and bonus! A wood fireplace in our room to cozy up to. Excellent location close to sites and restaurants and transportation. Beautiful gardens and breakfast was amazingly yummy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay. Great breakfast. Welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a distinct odour coming from the ensuite bathroom. The facility was very clean - just an unpleasant smell from the plumbing system. This may not be an ongoing issue, as we stayed during an unseasonably rainy time, and the old plumbing in this part of the world may not have been able to handle it efficiently.

    Our reception was warm, welcoming and friendly. The house and gardens are lovely, perched on a hilly street. With our breakfast reservation we were given a room upgrade - very larg room with the most comfortable bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Beauty of the house, taste of the decoration, ground floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath and sink were missing a plug, defeating their purpose. Hot water pressure in shower was poor. Strange deficiency as everything else was absolutely excellent. Breakfast is overpriced to make up for good room price I guess

    Beauty of the house, taste of the decoration, ground floor made into three living rooms, all for the comfort of the guests, absolutely beautiful interior and surroundings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    I would love to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a little accident involving ants. But it was also my fault. Don't leave any food in your bags. Otherwise they'll come to feast. It was all taken care of by the kind staff, bags and room cleaned, so was ok in the end.

    We absolutely loved staying in Casa Miradouro. It's got free parking spaces next it, which is quite rare in Sintra. We arrived quite early before the check in time. The staff met us with a smile, showed us a room and helped with all the information on Sintra. It is a very stylish place, that has a character to it. I absolutely loved the fireplace downstairs, it is so cosy, I wish we could stay there longer. It's quite close to the centre of Sintra, but it does involve a bit of climbing, so be prepared.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    A restful spot where we could retreat and enjoy the natural beauty of Sintra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the room was charming, the wifi was spotty in the room. We could have used a few additional outlets or multipliers. We had to unplug lights in order to plug in phones. It would have been helpful to have additional storage space in the bathroom. The single bamboo shelf unit was insufficient for our toiletries.

    The bed and breakfast was charming and full of lovely amenities. Our west facing room had a beautiful view. We enjoyed being in a quiet spot out of the highly touristed area. Breakfast was outstanding! The staff was exceptionally helpful and initiated assistance with train schedules to our next destination, even before we asked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful house and furnishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need car for this location We did not. Rather far to walk (and hills) from city sites. Our room was on top floor. Ceiling sloped down near walls. Must take care not to hit head.

    Beautiful house and furnishing. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Nice stay ; good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing they can do about it but while it is walkable to the middle of town, it is a narrow street - a bit scary.

    It was definitely lovely and a good value. Helpful staff and large room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Superb location for views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park as stated on advert just on street parking and we had a big car so not easy. Struggled to find from coordinates for sat nav. Bedroom 5 in roof space so tall hubby regularly but his head getting out of bed. Lots of stairs, no lift for luggage

    Superb location for views. Very comfy bed. Excellent breakfasts. Spotlessly clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Magical weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we could have stayed longer.

    Very pretty building in a beautiful setting. Lovely comfortable room. Delicious breakfasts. Staff provided site seeing info and suggestions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Breathtaking villa and gardens with amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breathtaking villa and gardens with amazing views! Spacious, elegant room with old world charm. Lovely breakfast (though eggs too salty!!). However, staff could be more attentive to cleaning. Tiles in shower were black-rimmed with mold and cobwebs hung from the ceiling. Walls VERY thin. Could hear every step of guests sbove and around us. Bring earplugs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a shortage of sockets in the room which was inconvenient when trying to charge our electrical gadgets.

    It was a nice location close to the centre of Sintra in a quiet area. The room we were in was comfortable and the kettle in the room was very welcome for us as we like a cup of tea in the morning! Lovely bright room with double aspect and great view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely charming hotel, with delightful staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was broken on one side. The price for the room should have included the breakfast.

    Great selection of breakfast foods, coffee was good, even proper English tea, also in the bedroom. Nice relaxing music playing, and comfortable chairs an sofa's to lounge around in. Good outside eating area with tables and chairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    A lovely property to use as a base for visiting the sights in the Sintra area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The shower in our en-suite needed a little freshening up, but the bathroom otherwise was well-equipped and comfortable. 2. We weren't able to log-in to the Wi-Fi, but this may have been because our room was on the top floor. 3. Parking is on the road adjacent to the property and was not a problem during our stay, but anyone requiring secure off-street parking would be wise to contact the hotel directly to check options. 4. Walking into Sintra was no problem for us but would be hard for anyone with mobility difficulties.

    1. Friendly and helpful staff. 2. Beautiful house in a quiet location, but only 15 minutes walk into Sintra - lovely garden, comfortable rooms and well-furnished public areas. Good views over the surrounding area. 3. A good value and good quality breakfast - typically Portuguese, but also offering eggs and bacon cooked to order. 4. Honesty bar, which was great for having a nightcap after dinner in the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Area about 350m outside of old town but beyond the tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area about 350m outside of old town but beyond the tourist zone which was exactly what we wanted. Walking to town was uphill and steep but great exercise to work off the breakfast in the morning and to earn lunch/dinner later! We were greeted with a choice of port while checking in (after driving through Sintra this was very welcome). Parking on the street was easily available. Charlotte was very friendly and provided wonderful recommendations for food both in Sintra and Lisbon. The property is really lovely and well maintained with beautiful views. The room was quite big and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was simple and delicious. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    My partner and I arrived and were put in a twin room, we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I arrived and were put in a twin room, we had booked a queen double suite but were told we didn't have a choice as it was the last available room. As I was staying with my partner I didn't want a room with two single beds, it was only when I pushed my displeasure at not getting the room I had booked that I was told the owners friends were staying and they got priority! I expressed my annoyance at this and only then was I given the queen suite I had booked. Lovely place but I didn't appreciate the treatment when we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast (freshly squeezed orange juice and excellent scrambled eggs) and views over the countryside. Have the breakfast outside is even more wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Great little spot with excellent value to stay in Sintra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit further than other hotels from the center of town. Difficult to walk with a baby, so we drove, which was very tough in Sintra.

    The hotel itself is very charming and they've done a great job with it, especially outside and in the common areas. Our room itself (#3) was amazing, and had we not had that room, we might not have liked our stay so much. The hotel is older and it shows in the older bathroom, but they've done a wonderful job keeping it very clean and charming. They have free candy everywhere which was really nice too. Easy to park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    amazing wonderful stay and very recommended to anyone who wishes to enjoy the fairytale feeling of s
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a bit far from the center- but i knew it. i wanted to be a bit off the center in order to enjoy the air and the quiet green views of Sintra. i just didnt know that the walk to the center will be on a stipp climb... so beware- its good if you have a car or if you can the taxi to the taxi... dont think to take your luggage to this place without a vehicle... i did laundry there for a high price... i had to do it but i think it was a bit too expansive

    WOW! this was an amazing place to stay in! i had the best view and small balcony from my room to the mountains and castles. its very quiet and full of flowers and green around. the staff was amazing and the breakfast outstanding. there is a great terrace overlooking the mountains and everything was super clean and homely. they have a bar for your own use for decent prices and free coffee capsules with cookies at all times. i honestly would have stayed even longer most people go to Sinatra for a day trip from Lisbon, but i think it worth to stay there for at least 1 night in order to enjoy the views and see more places in this fairy-tale town. i would definitely come back to this place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice accommodation, medium service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person who opened us the door as we arrived was not very welcoming. Also as we checked out she was not very friendly

    Beautiful old building, good house bar for self service, nice style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Great stay at Casa Miradouro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking was a little tight which was one of the reasons we decided to walk to the restaurant. No elevator so you will need to carry your luggage up the stairs, but staff offered to carry it up for us.

    Greeted by very nice, friendly staff with a drink. Comfy bed, hotel located quiet area for sleeping. We were traveling by car, but walked about 20mins to restaurant for dinner recommended by staff which was excellent. Nice walk, felt very safe. Breakfast was excellent, which included buffet as well as eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, ate outside nice garden area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Well situated peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift - not a problem for us but it would be for some.

    Welcoming staff who kindly spoke English for us. Excellent location - far enough away from the bustle of the town to give a peaceful setting but near enough to walk to restaurants, buses to the castle etc as long as you don't mind going up & down a bit. Breakfast was good. Property has character. Plenty of places to visit around Sintra. Good train service to Lisbon for further sightseeing & also to Oriente then metro for easy return to the airport. Local people were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful old house is located outside of the busy tourist area, but it's just a short walk to the central part of the historic area. Charlotte, our hostess, and her staff were wonderful. The room was much bigger than the normal spots we stayed in during during our holiday. Take time to relax in the beautiful garden and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Lovely terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely terrace. Large room with views of the castle and palace including at night. Loved the espresso machines and honor bar. Breakfast buffet was excellent as well. They were accommodating to our early arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice B&B in Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor parking location, 8 min uphill walk (for healthy person) to get to nearest restaurant, museums etc

    Nice B&B, very quiet and picture perfect location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful views from windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a mosquito problem but they did not make us aware of the problem and had preventive items available but had not placed in room. So overnight kept hearing buzzing noises. Next morning had several bites on my face and neck(rest of body was covered by a great down comforter)which took close to a week to disappear.

    Loved the working fireplaces in all the common rooms for guests to enjoy! Nicely displayed cabinet to get drinks and ice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Peaceful, well presented Sintra stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unless you are on a top floor expect to have heavy foot fall on creaky floors from the occupants above you; this did disturb us. Why put a tiny travel hairdryer in a hotel room! I find this very irritating and false economy, hairdryers are cheap and the use of electricity the same as you just take so much longer with an underpowered teenie thing like this was. It annoys on sight and such a simple thing to do well. urggh! Watch out there are a few mozzies too.

    A charming B&B with lovely Filipino waiting staff- gorgeous. Lovely, fresh clean bedlinen, towels and comfy beds and room. Our King Suite with balcony room looked out onto a ruined house, so not really glorious views, but was fine. Clearly others are better view wise. Bathroom is ok. Breakfast was good and the outside terrace gave lovely views to the coast. The location is very quiet, away from the bustle. Sintra itself is a 10 minute walk away if a very steep, stiff walk. So is everything in SIntra though! But we enjoyed being able to walk up and down, but some may find it too challenging. We parked in the street outside. The house is comfortable with two sitting areas, if dominate during our stay by a chap talking loudly on his FaceTime and mobile phone. There is an honesty bar. The girls at breakfast are so delightful and helpful , with fresh eggs and bacon and orange juice. No pastries. We only saw Charlotte on arrival and no one other than at breakfast thereafter. A little strange, but no problem. Very clean and well presented. A good, peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Just chill out with honesty bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location except for the very Steep hill to walk up to town. The feel at home house and great Staff made up for the hill.

    Breakfast in the garden with fantastic Views, good mix of travellers cooked Bacon and eggs, great start to the day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Lovely Bed & Breakfast with a beautiful view over the countryside & castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very attentive to help us with all the details for our trip to Sintra. They served us an early departure breakfast before the normal time. We were welcomed with a nice glass of wine in the living room that overlooked the castle. They helped us with what public buses to board to tour the castle & palace, & made arrangements with a taxi to take us to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great Place in Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great owner and fantastic staff! Excellent breakfast (coffee in individual french presses!). Very clean and beautiful furnishings. Lovely common areas. Very relaxing. Great view from our room. Steep uphill climb into town (about 10 minutes). Narrow, steep, winding roads around the house. Several good restaurants in town. We ate at Incomum, A Raposa, and Dom Pipas. We recommend Greenwalk tours if you want to hike in the Sintra hills. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    A perfect place to feel the spirit of Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location (close to center), beautiful rooms with great windows with magnificient view over the hills and castles. Very helpful personel - we loved the recommemded places:) a perfect place to feel the atmosphere of Sintra!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly an elevator but these were not available in 100 year old plus Casa's like this.

    Donna and her assistant provided exceptional service second to none in this amazing Casa!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    it is like you visit a previous century - an old officer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is like you visit a previous century - an old officer house with museum-like living rooms, spacious rooms, no TV (yes, NO TV!) and magnificent view. Definitely recommend for those who stay in Sintra - this hotel will complement your overall impression from the region

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Very nice house for a night in Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water left in the room was not enough. My husband had to go downstairs in the middle of the night to get some water.

    The staff are very good. The young woman took our luggage to our floor (1st floor without elevator). She arrange taxis to go to the Pena Palace and also in the next day to go to the train station. Bed and shower very good. Definitely will still again next time in Sintra.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    Picturesque hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not receive wifi in our room or floor. No. TV. Breakfast was additional and overpriced at €10 per person.

    The character of the hotel and the room size of the bedroom. The location was picturesque. 10 minute walk to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated perfectly which meant both the city centre and train station was easily accessible. The room was extremely spacious and bathroom was spotless.It was possible to view both the palace and castle from the room balcony which meant the hotel felt like the perfect getaway

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.2
    Home away from home.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot. If there had been a fan, it would have been perfect.

    Gorgeous view from our room. Beautiful house and grounds. Very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The number of one-way streets that have been introduced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of one-way streets that have been introduced. They are not indicated on GPS therefore creating a problem when trying to find the Casa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    The house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not local guests

    The house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that this is negative, just know that there are hills surrounding this area if you are planning on walking

    Beautiful heritage home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Marvelous Miradouro
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find the first time.

    The house, the location, the staff, very comfortable and cozy. I plan to return as soon as possible .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    It’s a lovely decorated mansion with class and style .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a lovely decorated mansion with class and style . The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful in orienting us to the town and area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    The setting was beautiful and the staff amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alittle hard to find but worth it once we were there!

    The setting was beautiful and the staff amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Great location, amazing room with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, amazing room with great views. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Very cosy, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing 2 floors with heavy luggage and no free one level to lug in luggage

    It’s quaint and cosy and loved the charming decor Beautiful views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    We loved it all. The price for the value was amazing. The peaceful beauty of the place was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole Casa was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast for 10 E was delicious and varied .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Descanso mirando castillos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falta de ascensor

    Tranquilo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was beautiful and the bed was super comfy! The house was very stylefull and quiet. Great coffee and breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the plugs not working in the room. Rooms need little bit of attention.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Grand view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house with a grand view. Great view from balcony too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    well worth the walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the walk up the hill to town

    wonderful breakfasts

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Great old character inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a steep walk to town. Bathroom clean, but old.

    Master suite Room had loads of character and Windows on three sides with fabulous views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    everything was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was ok. last time we were there (new year 2015/2016), water pipes were a bit noisy. this time we didn't hear a thing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    A tasteful, sophiscated, welcoming gem in a fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tasteful, sophiscated, welcoming gem in a fabulous location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Nothing short of wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent and very helpful. Room was superb. View amazing. Wonderful stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Romantic nature great location nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower but it is a historical house

    Romantic nature great location nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Really nice loacation within the nature, well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice loacation within the nature, well equipped. Very friendly host and the pony is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.3
    Originaly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yhe noise coming from the upper rooms when people walk down the wood floor.

    the originality of the house, it was clean, quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Room 4 (Master suite) was stylish, with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 (Master suite) was stylish, with amazing views. Staff very nice and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    Superb place to stay when exploring Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and very well equipped. Staff most helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty happy with everything

    Bed very comfortable Food good Staff very abliging

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    The staff were great, so helpful, the view was beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very steep walk up to the Palace. Lots of stairs to carry your bags up. Street parking limited and a bit difficult (but not uncommon in Europe).

    The staff were great, so helpful, the view was beautiful and the breakfast the best we had in a month of travels.The bed was comfy, too.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    This is a special, enchanting home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a complaint - just a heads up - the walking can be challenging as it is quite steep. All of Sintra is better traversed by foot and much of it is hilly. Good shoes are a must. It is challenging to find parking and in fact, most of the sights require a certain amount of walking to get there.

    This is a special, enchanting home. Our room faced the valley and the view was a feast of lush beauty. We were on the third floor which was a climb with luggage; however help is available if you need it. Our bedroom and bathroom were large and pleasantly decorated; the bed comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. We had our own vehicle and for Canadians used to space the narrow, steep roadways were unfamiliar and a bit of a challenge. Once we found this lovely home we had to issues and their is quiet parking on the road right outside the home. Charlette was very helpful and we took her advice and ate in local Portuguese restaurants near City Hall. They were outstanding. She gave us all the information we needed to visit the sights of Sintra. Sintra is a gold star destination; we loved it and we loved this home!

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    9.6
    Loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was good for us. Hills might be an issue to walk into town if mobility is an issue for you.

    Loved staying here. Donna greeted us before we were even in the door and gave us suggestions of what to do in town. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the sintra palace (Center of town) but it's all uphill. It was fun to try to spot the house from Pena palace and the moorish castle. Lovely facilities, gardens, parking is on the street.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful facility. Spacious common rooms on the ground floor. Lovely views & grounds. Plenty of quiet. Excellent restaurant & site seeing recommendations. Available & exceptionally helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    handy location, lovely house, no TV in rooms, nice view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room lacked practical facilities e.g. no vacant shelf space in bathroom (had to put things on floor), no drawer space (already filled with complimentary gowns), limited power sockets (none near kettle)

    handy location, lovely house, no TV in rooms, nice view, garden !

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    8.3
    This is more like a B&B then a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We are mature couple and unfortunately our room was on the third floor. There is no elevator and no help to carry your luggage. The house is a bit outside the main town square. The owner says it is only a 20 min. walk BUT it is on a very steep road. We had to take taxis to reach the centre of Sintra, which is a very difficult town to drive a car.

    This is more like a B&B then a hotel. The house is beautiful with nice furniture, various areas to relax, listen to music and to enjoy the wooden fire place. Rooms and bathroom are comfortable. Nice beds and feather duvets. There are two young and very friendly Philipino ladies, who do all the work and make your stay agreeable.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    4.6
    The Phillipino staff were very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is at the bottom of a very steep hill. Walking up it more than once a day would be onerous for more mature people and those not physically fit. Not a good position for seeing the sights and sounds of Sintra. The shower room was cramped the toilet seat chipped and the room felt like it was faded and had seen better days.

    The Phillipino staff were very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.3
    Location was down a hill and not as convenient as other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was down a hill and not as convenient as other locations. With no air conditioning, we had to have the window open and we were facing roads down the hill. It was quite noisy and when shut, it was stuffy. We didn't have a car so maybe it would be OK if you had a car. Staff were great and it was neat and clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    We only stayed one night during our travel tour of Portugal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we only stayed one night.

    We only stayed one night during our travel tour of Portugal but we wished to stay longer as we saw how beautiful this place is. Perfect location to discover Sintra. The Breakfast has a lot to offer, you can sit outside in summertime. It seems to be a cozy place also in wintertime with a nice fireplace and variety of port wines inside.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: