Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Museu

Praça Morais carvalho, 3670-231 Vouzela, Portugal

#5 of 9 hotels in Vouzela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 123 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    The property is absolutely gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It all was perfect.

    The property is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfast is incredible, with great local delicacies. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We wanted to have lunch at one of the wineries in the Douro Valley and they were nice enough to call and get us in. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving.

    A fantastic place to stay. Very friendly owners and staff who treated us like family. Very modern comfortable rooms and an amazing breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful People, Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a couple of parking lots a block or two away from the hotel -- a public lot when you first come into town, and a lot down on the hospital property. Although it would have been nice to have been able to park a bit closer, we were able to pull up in front of the hotel and drop our bags. The rest of the time we walked and did not need our car.

    Staying at Casa Museu is like staying in a castle. This building, built in 1455, was just a stone facade when Celeste and Antonio bought it. The work that must have gone into renovating the hotel is staggering to think about. Every single room is absolutely gorgeous and filled with antiques. All of the original stone has been sandblasted and repointed. The windows are absolutely soundproof. Our hosts were over the top kind, friendly and helpful. Needing to find an ATM one day, Celeste, instead of describing where the ATM was, walked with us over to the machine. We felt like family staying at their place. It is obvious they love what they do. I was hoping they would adopt us so we could just live there. Seriously, it is THAT impressive. Vouzela is a lovely little town, easy to navigate. When we travel we walk a lot as we love to immerse ourselves in the culture of each particular town we visit. If you go to Vouzela, stay at Casa Museu. I promise you will not regret it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We loved the residence and the friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vouzela is a beautiful little village with great walks within minutes of the b and b.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Beautiful historical building. Excellent reception by staff. Wonderful buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    The Old Building with the Style of an Antiquarian and the Confort of a new Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The style of the Decoration, the staff (Antonio José and Celeste), the breakfast, the silence, the neighbourhood, all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    Such warm and welcoming owner, so helpful and good English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such warm and welcoming owner, so helpful and good English if you haven't got phrase book. Room very clean and stylish, breakfast excellent, would recommend

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Our host Marie Celeste could not do enough for us - a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could find no fault.

    Our host Marie Celeste could not do enough for us - a brilliant and friendly host - she gave us pointers on sights around town and places to go for dinner. The rooms were very modern, comfortable and atmospheric. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Breakfast was lovely as well.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    8.8
    Owners of the hotel are really kind, flexible and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NA

    Owners of the hotel are really kind, flexible and helpful. Great hospitality. Hotel looks amazing. Walls made from big stone pieces. Rooms finished with high standard.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful 16th centcentury hose, fully renovated to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator so with lots of luggage might be a little bit tough - however the staff offered help !! It would be expected that the staff will be able to speak English, not everyone knew.

    Beautiful 16th centcentury hose, fully renovated to accomodate a charming small guesthouses. The decoration is amazing and gives the atmosphere of the old timee, with today's comfort. The owners are a very nice couple, and we learned that the lady is responsible for all the internal decoration design. Great job !! The breakfast they offered was based on home made staff, elegantly served. We got directions and recommendations for our day trip in the Dorou valley.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    10
    A nice and cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A nice and cosy hotel. Good beds and an excellent shower. Friendly staff with and the breakfast was great. Nice to stay a couple of nights to explore the beautiful nature and small villages in the neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    well placed and character house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    well placed and character house. modern facilities

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    We liked all of it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked all of it!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Very nice couple .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi in the room works slowly .

    Very nice couple .Very nice town

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing of importance

    the owners

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Browse Casa Museu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: