Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Casa Pombal

Rua Das Flores 18, 3000-442 Coimbra, Portugal

#11 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in Coimbra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 517 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Cute place, terrible beds no wifi on 3rd floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the rooms are tiny and the bed are so unconfortable I woke up at 6am with back pain and could not go back to sleep. The room was very hot and no instructions were provided on how to make the air conditioning work (it seems there was a unit in the room but could not find the remote and the unit was too high to reach) There is no wifi on the 3rd floor an no open common room to use to check the wifi if your room is on the 3rd floor so you may have to sit on the stairs in the middle of everyone's way, to check your emails or plan your trip. I will not use this hotel again because of the awful night but the look of the hotel is cute and the staff is very kind and attentive, I just had a much better sleep camping...

    Excellent staff and breakfast. The location is good and the general look is authentic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    I would repeat every time I go to Coimbra. Feels like at home.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's a super cute place and the ladies managing the house are the best. I wouldn't choose any other place in Coimbra. Perfect location and very nice views from a terrace they have also. The breakfast is amazing too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such friendly helpful staff on arrival and departure. They called a taxi for us and when it was a few minutes late they called again. This 100year old house has character and charm as well as an interesting history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was amazing;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very hard and I didn't sleep well

    Breakfast was amazing; the host was very helpful providing all relevant information on the city; flexible early check-in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    good choice for Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    super friendly - traveller "hub" of interesting people- the women who run the place are fantastic- we got the last room - on the street first floor- so a bit of late night noise from students - but hey you are in a great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    You feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Good location in the old city, less than 5 min. from famous Coimbra University. Very clean, comfortable, lots of practical and pleasant amenities, fast wifi, rich breakfast. Hosts exceptionally kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great stay in fantastic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    What a lovely place! Really friendly staff and the bed was super comfy. There was a fantastic breakfast served in the delightful sala. Coimbra is a really lovely town with lots of little alleys and hills! A great stay thank you Cass Pombal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff was extremely pleasant and kind to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely pleasant and kind to us. The room was cozy and comfortable and the facilies were very well kept. Will definitely return once I have the chance!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Welcoming B&B with city views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Would prefer a Casa Pombal in every city I visit.

    Wonderful staff. Attentive. Helpful. Friendly. Breakfast was brilliant with fresh squeezed orange juice. Tea making available all day. Bed was very comfortable and the room thoroughly cleaned daily. Rooms colourful and joyously decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Like the owner tells it: our place is modest but we do all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the owner tells it: our place is modest but we do all our best to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. And it is! You forget that the place is a little be modest!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic staff and very accommodating with breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows and beds too small (my feet were hanging off the end and I'm only 5ft 6) not enough floor space in the room for your belongings

    Fantastic staff and very accommodating with breakfast and food sensitivities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and place is very dated but interesting.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with lots of healthy choices and extra touches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Guesthouse in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guesthouse Casa Pombal is situated in a back street close to the University and the magnificent National Museum, Machadi de Castro with its suprising Roman vaulting beneath. Climbing the narrow staircase to the top floor, our small attic room had a fabulous view of Coimbra from the bathroom window. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were helpful. Guesthouse Casa Pombal is reasonably priced accommodation in Coimbra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was way beyond our expectations, we definitely recommend the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    The care put in all practical details, the small extra attentions, the warm atmosphere... which altogether made you feel truly at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Most hospitable stay in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The century old house is showing its age with the plumbing as there were occasional odours of sewage during our stay.

    Anya and Eo were brilliant hostesses, sharing information, suggestions and helpful when we wanted to hike in Lousa. Breakfast catered to all needs and tastes. View from room 10 was gorgeous overlooking the town and river. The patio garden was an added bonus once the rains stopped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. Elsa and Io were friendly, knowledgeable and great conversationalists, plenty of good advice. The property offers a homely, local experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfasts were excelent, we also received a special Easter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts were excelent, we also received a special Easter homemade cake/bread. Personal provided a lot of usefull information, restaurants recommendations,... They also put warming bottle in furry animal sleeve to our bed before we got sleep, it was very suprising and kind - we appreciated as the weather was quite cold that day. I would like to thank all stuff for our perfect stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The best experience ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is excellent,especially hosts are really friendly, kind and nice! Definitely recommend this guest house. Facilities, breakfast, cleanliness are also great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    I wish I had more time to get to know Else. She made our stay pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Else was a wonderful hostess. We were on a tight schedule and she made sure we got Fado reservations, walking directions to the monastery across the river, even called for an early taxi to whisk us away to Coimbra B, instead of Coimbra A. Our room had a wonderful view, and the towels and robe were so cute/colorful. A place full of charm, including the little balcony where we sipped their gift of port wine in real glasses.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Very cozy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super cozy place. The staff is great, room and breakfast room are very beautiful and excellent breakfast. The room has a very useful sink and a nice view of the city. It is very good for the ones that are visiting the University or the old town. Hope I can come back there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Great experience, would return. And certainly recommend a visit to Coimbra, wonderful historic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are all in upper floors by stairs (no elevator). This is common in older, historic places and not a criticism but just for awareness of those that have limitations with stairs.

    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    The minute I put my slippers on, I felt at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say that I have any complaints.

    So many personal touches! Where else would you get a heating pad enclosed in a little bear to warm the bed! Staff is very helpful and attentive. Boiled eggs included in a very good breakfast. The eating area is very cozy. Extremely clean. Best stay so far in Portugal since I arrived in Lisbon on January 19th.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Confy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms. Not great wifi access. Good location near the University. Very far from the restaurants and other activities

    The personal attention. The staff provided excellent recommendations and tips your the visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Welcoming, beautiful, charming and with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect, honestly. Better than we expected.

    The host were incredibly helpful and nice. We had a long roadtrip in Portugal and Spain and this was the best situated, most charming and welcoming place we stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    A perfect city break in an historic university town.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t (as we foolishly and avoidably did) try to approach by car through the steep, narrow, winding streets of the old town! Parking is a little away from premises.

    Loved the individual décor and ambiance. Very good breakfast too. Hosts could not have been more helpful or done more to make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Charming Lovely Guesthouse in the Heart of Lovely Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A totally charming very Portuguese place to stay. Lively colors, gorgeous tile, charming terrace, amazing views...Nice breakfast, and the most wonderful staff! So helpful and genuine!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Lovely guest house, very friendly people! Good location near the main sights. Beautiful room, excellent breakfast! Good internet connection. Free port wine available in the room :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    We would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets were good, but the top layers of blanketing were too heavy; a polyfil comforter would have been more comfortable and just as warm. The shower curtain in the narrow bathtub made the showering a bit awkward, but the water pressure was fine and there seemed to be sufficient warm water.

    Friendly, Emglish-speaking, informative staff. The location was very central to that which we wanted to visit most i.e. museum, university complex. The ‘shared’ bathroom was not an obstacle to our convenience. The breakfast variety and quality was much more than we expected. We were pleased to be able to use the room heater one of two nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    The guesthouse is close to the University and it is easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared to walk up some fairly steep hills.

    The guesthouse is close to the University and it is easy to get into the town to look at everything. The room was clean and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good with a variety of breads, cheeses and meats, fruit, hard boiled eggs and great coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    A very authentic old Coimbra house in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is run by Dutch people, so that means a lot of noise. And not overly concerned about being nice.

    A very authentic old Coimbra house in a nice area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    I had the best time at Casa do Pinhal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had the best time at Casa do Pinhal. The rooms are impeccable, the place is very pleasant and calm, with lovely views of the hills, and the hosts couldn’t be better. Pedro and Fernanda are the kindest, most generous hosts I have come across during my trip to Portugal. They made me feel at home. They do everything with great care. Fernanda bakes a different cake every night for the following morning. I can easily say that my stay with them was the most special, memorable part of my trip. I am very grateful and will miss them and our evening conversations. A car is highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful staff that gave us a perfect introduction to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful staff that gave us a perfect introduction to the city and made a sightseeing plan for us. The breakfast is delicious and the house is simply cute.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Lovely, simple, local accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted with a bid smile. Made to feel welcome immediately. The manager gave us excellent food, Fado and tips on seeing the historic university which made our visit awesome. Room was exactly on website. Not for everyone but we loved it. Met other travellers and everyone was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    A Dovecote for Humans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly you must understand that this is a simple homestay with shared facilities. However it is run with care and enthusiasm which promotes a delight to be there. It's located within the old university area so it's very close to all of the major places of interest, which there are plenty. We were given a map on arrival with clear instructions of how to find our way around the town, including good places to eat. It's very economical to stay here and I couldn't think of a more welcoming place to rest on our journeys.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Cute house with amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The house is very cute and we enjoyed the amazing breakfast. The staff gave us a warm welcome had great recommendations for good food and cultural events in town. It was a very nice stay in Coimbra. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Ana & Elsa were very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ana & Elsa were very friendly & helpful. Our room was very comfortable & the breakfast was very good. We would definitely return to Casa Pombal & Coimbra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Casa Pombal is a delightful base from which to explore the charming town of Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is tricky, but doable.

    A delightful overnight stay! We stayed in the top floor room, which offered a spectacular view of the city below...and we got our exercise climbing a lot of stairs! Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the recommendation of where to see a free Fado performance that evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended for a stay in the heart of Coimbra. Historic house, perfect service and r
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, guests are very welcoming by, and helpful. We came by bike, and they allowed us to store or bike in their garden as not enough space is available elsewhere. I had issues with my bike and needed to find a store to get a part and help. They helped me to locate the best bike shop in town. Lovely place and people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Very lovely staff, very old and rustic house on a hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in room didn't work, couldn't be fixed until the next day.

    This was a very old property on a narrow street with parking a little way away. We had to drag our suitcases over cobblestones. Perhaps difficult for some but it added to the charm for us Canadians.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place in Coimbra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so happy to stay at casa Pompal and we can warmly recommend it! It's not modern nor stylish, but it is extremely pitoresque and cosy and it has such a warm atmosphere! We had the room on the top floor with an amazing view! The lady working there (i wish i remembered her name) gave us the best welcome ever and helped us to find great restaurants and to visit the best sights in Coimbra and near by! We are so grateful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent! People very cheerfull, well located, charming! I recommend for single people and couple without hesitation. Perfect quality/price ratio

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming guest house in Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I felt this was a bit expensive compared to other places I stayed in Portugal. A lot of stairs in the building.

    Nice breakfast included. Cute place with a lot of charm. Good location in the historic center of Coimbra. Shared balcony with sunset views. Helpful, multilingual staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Charming little B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been slightly better - more fruit and orange juice. There are no restaurants in the area and it is an extremely steep walk down (and then back up) to the town where you can eat and drink. Exhausting in the heat! But good location for the excellent museums.

    A very sweet little guest house, full of character and charm. We had the best room at the top of the house (three steep flights of stairs) with a bathroom and amazing views over the city to the river. It was tiny but adequate. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and full of information of what to do in Coimbra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Hard to beat anywhere, let alone in Coimbra
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - superb place

    Casa Pombal is a really charming place to stay with a lovely friendly team, nicely decorated, a great bedroom and lovely views out of the city. It's position on top of the hill makes it an ideal location for anyone visiting the University, or who just wants to enjoys the views of the city or the back alleys of this lovely place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming guesthouse in prime location in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it is a bit petty, but the towels were very scratchy - maybe fabric softener would help. and the pillows were a bit thin. in the scheme of things, pretty minor!

    the staff at Pombal are very welcoming and helpful. when I arrived, we sat down and I was given a map and an orientation to Coimbra and asked what I wanted to do. I had already arranged a number of things myself but they booked me into a Fado concert and they were interested in what I was doing and asked how the activity on the previous day had gone. a small courtyard at the back was a nice place to sit in the cool of the morning for breakfast. and a small terrace on an upper floor with a panoramic view would be a great place to sit and relax

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    A fantastic stay in Coimbra
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I could fault. It was possible to hear the other guests walking around but that didn't bother me.

    This property is in an excellent location with very friendly staff, each of whom seemed to talk every language of all their guests. This place couldn't have been a friendlier location to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.2
    Difficult finding the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and shabby

    Difficult finding the property. GPS unable to find the address. Very aggravating day. Room very old and bed not comfortable. The staff was nice and breakfast was very good. Would not stay there again. The address u put into the gps is different that's on line. Very confusing. Make sure u get in touch with hotel for proper address before u leave on your vacation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    A cosy get-away guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really be prepared for several flights of stairs, but the view and the ambiance are worth every step.

    Guesthouse Casa Pombal was a delight! The ladies running the guesthouse were friendly and gracious and so proud of Coimbra and their guesthouse. I felt like I was visiting in a home from the late 1800's or early 1900's. It was so much fun. There was a lovely view from every niche. Our shower had a window with a great view of the tile roofs below. The room was cosy and quaint. Only the top floor has private bath. So next time I can choose to be on a lower floor and share a bathroom, or I can ask for the same lovely room I had before and be thankful for the stairs to maintain my exercise schedule. There's no elevator! The hostess offered to carry our bags up, but we decided to leave the heavy bags in the car down the street and just carry what we needed for the few days we were there. The bathroom was clean and delightful. The breakfast room was so inviting. And the breakfast which is included in the price was delicious with fresh breads, jams, boiled eggs, cheeses and meats and of course the staple, cafe con leche. The house is located within walking distance of parks, the university, and the market. They also provided a carafe of port wine and glasses for our room. So delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.0
    Important to read reviews before booking to make sure this guesthouse is for you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding Guesthouse Casa Pombal is difficult. The owner sends directions and a map upon booking, but we did not find them accurate. He states: "Please always programm the GPS on Rua Padre Antonio Veira 64...Then walk into the Rua das Flores, about 50 meters." While walking up Rua Padre Antonio, we asked 4 people where Rua das Flores was and no one knew (it is at the top of the hill, after a zig zag and then up a bit more). We were not sure what "Then walk INTO the Rua das Flores" meant. There are no signs to lead you. The owner was indignant with us that people did not know Casa Pombal, telling us it has been there for many years. That may be true, but clearly many people do not know about it, including the woman who works at the local YWCA where we parked. It is certainly easy after you have been there once, but it's the first time that matters when you are pulling your suitcases up a huge hill and do not know where you are going. The room had two uncomfortable twins pushed together and the bathroom was in the room, but down a little hallway that had room darkening plastic against an interior window -- which still let in light during the night when people were coming and going and triggered the hallway light sensors on the other side. Walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors.

    The owners/managers are incredibly knowledgeable about the area and interested in sharing everything they know. The description on line says there is internet, but there is NO internet for Apple products (Iphones). It does not say this. They let us use their laptop in the breakfast area. The nicest touch was a bottle of Port in the room with two little glasses. The view out the bathroom window was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Guesthouse with lots of character and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom were quite cramped. If you're tall be sure to ask for a room that's not on the top floor as ceilings are sloped.

    We liked the very friendly owners and other staff, the quirkiness of the house, the convenient location, the breakfast and the flask of port in the room. Also having the window open right above the bed meant we got lots of fresh air at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Cute, full of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be awkward, but Anja did her best.

    The b/b is situated near the university where accommodation is not easily found and the rooms are very small. But the owners used every space to make it as comfortable as possible. Very cute!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    perfect stay in a historic house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice location. Well maintained and clean. Relaxing atmosphere. Thoroughly authentic Portuguese house. Plenty of choice for breakfast.Beautiful views from roof terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that would be reasonable - I am very tall so a small shower is not great but they were very helpful in trying to ensure I had the best possible room.

    The help, assistance and advice from the owner. She gave fantastic recommendations which always were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    As expected but a hike to get there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They promised us a boxed breakfast because we were leaving early. It was not available but we were able to make breakfast for ourselves.

    The hostess was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay in the heart of historic Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were absolutely lovely and helped with every part of my weekend visit to Coimbra, including places to visit, good value restaurants, train times and even toothpaste when I had run out! It felt a very homely and relaxing place to stay and I would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Really helpful and friendly staff, this is a guest house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't walk to the guest house if you have luggage! This is sensible advice from the owners, and I agree!

    Really helpful and friendly staff, this is a guest house which is full of character and a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast is excellent and the welcome is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location and host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't wild about the green vine, but that was of no fault of the host. It just wasn't for me!

    Our host was delightful. She had wonderful recommendations for sights, restaurants and fado. We were able to make a last minute booking with no trouble and our breakfast had a number of gluten free options. We also enjoyed a drink on a small patio overlooking the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful and welcoming people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - but bear in mind this is an old house whose original rooms are not large, so eg the ensuite shower cubicle is small for a big man.

    Very helpful and welcoming people. Although the guesthouse is in the upper town ie up very steep hills, the lift/funicular up from the market is very near. Characterful property. Nice view from sunny upper terrace. Situated in interesting part of the upper town with student republicas (fraternity houses).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Great location but have to take taxi to get there otherwise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is old, wasn't that comfy

    Great location but have to take taxi to get there otherwise it's gonna be a challenge to climb all the hills with your heavy luggage and dragging it on cobbled stone road. Elsa was really friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place super near the university in an old medieval section. Exactly as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that could have been better.

    Just exactly as advertised. Nothing fancy, rather old and quaint, but super value for the money. Great breakfast and super staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Feeling very lucky to have stayed at this place!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, caring hosts, lots of attention to detail. Very well run place. Very clean. Calm, relaxing atmosphere. Nice breakfast. Selection of teas, also in the evening, at no extra cost. Free bottle of water in room. Large umbrellas to borrow. Nice to be on the hill and near the University. Great views. The team at Casa Pombal certainly looked after me very well! Thank you!!!! Staying here certainly added another happy dimension to an otherwise also very happy time in Coimbra!! I very much recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    A lot like Grandmother's attic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    On your website, FREE PARKING is promoted. However, there is only street parking, most of which is neither accessible or free. It takes a great feat to get a car to the guesthouse. It is definitely NOT car friendly! While clean and reasonably comfortable, the accommodations are akin to your grandmother's attic.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.3
    A Favorite Memory of Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is iffy - on street a couple blocks away. You can drive to the Casa to transfer luggage. An old building with narrow stairways may be difficult for some.

    Casa Pombal is a quaint guesthouse adjacent to the university. Great view of the city and evening sky from our top floor room. Excellent breakfast. Rooms are small, but have everything you need.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Very comfortable and awesome view from balcony over the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor view room incredible. Host has plenty of helpful advice on restaurants, etc. Breakfast was very generous. Left a shirt behind and our host mailed it home to Oregon!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    B and B with character and great hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothng

    Small bed and breakfast. A little old but full of character. The hostess was amazing and location perfect. Good breakfast. Would stay again. Not suitable if you can jot carry your luggage as no elevator

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The B&B is situated in a hilly narrow street. It is in an old building with steep staircase. It is however very clean and cosy. The breakfast was good and adequate. The host is very thoughtful and caring. I was emailed for the direction of the street parking which was very close to the B&B. It would be a nightmare if my car was stuck in the winding narrow cobbled streets. She provided me with lots of information about the city that included places for dinner and lunch. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    BnB Ambiance in Historic Heart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thin pillows.

    Multilingual staff are extremely welcoming and provided helpful advice on things to see places eat etc. High location near top of funicular, within minutes walking to main historical sites, restaurants and shops. (Free) street parking near guesthouse is tight but possible. Parking spaces open up when the students leave the university for the day or weekend. Guesthouse is Portuguese style and decorated to be very homey. Good breakfast served in area conducive to socialising with other guests. Wifi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    I felt like home! - Come a casa!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I stayed 8 nights and I felt like home! The staff is very friendly and they really helped me to discover the city. They introduced me to another Italian lady, we became friends and we visited together Coimbra and Choupal National Forest. The staff of Casa Pombal even helped me with work networking introducing a professor in a field affine with mine :D Thank you very much, I had a great memory of Coimbra and of Casa Pombal! I will come back again in future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    A Gem in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to top floors steep, but staff eager to assist carrying luggage.

    A delightful guesthouse providing comfortable accommodation in historical setting. Our double room with private bathroom, although small, was more than adequate for overnight stay. Good breakfast, and free parking in street nearby. Beautiful views from terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to get our bags up the stairs to the very top floor room, but the casa is over 100 years old after all.

    The upstairs room had a fantastic view with beautiful airflow,. Our welcome check-in was superbly friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Great comfortable stay in the heart of Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV but was not necessary for us.

    An excellent and well located guest house for seeing the sites of Coimbra. Our host was outstanding in her time and effort at helping us settle in and find the sites to see! The breakfast was great! It is not far from Coimbra station either. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.5
    Amazing view over Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the room and the beds were comfortable but sadly a "double bed" are two single beds pushed together.

    Great welcome, best view and lovely breakfast. It's all the way up the hill but worth the walk up. (Take a taxi with luggage !!!)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff, great breakfast and quaint place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really!

    Lovely staff, great breakfast and quaint place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to reach from public transport

    Excellent food, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The help and welcome of the lady has been wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The help and welcome of the lady has been wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: