Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Velha do Palheiro 5 stars

Rua da Estalagem 23, Sao Goncalo, 9060-415 Funchal, Portugal

#16 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Front desk is extremely helpful with everything but also busy. Perhaps they could have a designated concierge to help the guests with various information requests regarding tours, things to do, etc.

    One of the best holidays we've had in a long time, and Casa Velha staff certainly made it an unforgettable experience. The hotel is a hidden gem and the best Madeira has to offer! Will come back soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift for heavy suitcases, although staff would have helped. Bedroom a little small, no view, and air conditioning not yet installed so a bit stuffy even in early spring.

    Friendly and helpful staff, with good all round knowledge of Madeira. Food excellent with a great breakfast. Good to have the eggs cooked at the time, and to perfection! Wonderful gardens to wander around and enjoyed the tea house in the garden. Enjoyed the Madeiran wine tasting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit too firm for our personal liking. Dinner very varied, but not quite as good as we had hoped.

    Breakfast good. Staff wonderful, always helpful, definitely the best. Gardens a delight, even after early season gales and rain had caused so much problem and extra work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    I was upgraded into a suite which was outstanding with lovely views of the garden and a distant view of the golf course. Food was good, but evening meals were quite pricey and not quite up to the standard of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the Maitre d'Hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful historic property with a wonderful atmosphere. The decor was immaculate and stylishish. The food was delicious and satisfying. The staff were amiable and thoughtful. I can hardly wait to return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff did not have a cordial relationship with other staff which appeared unprofessional at times A general store is needed as no local facilities.

    Location was peaceful and beautiful. Efficient staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We had a garden view room, and it was very quiet, we have very well slept! The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast choice is excellent, with eggs cooked to your liking à la minute. Don't miss the afternoon tea with fresh pastries and cookies. The view from Clubhouse restaurant is excellent and worth the extra walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is for people who want "to get away from it all." There is nothing else around, so unless you want to make the drive to funchal (about 15 min) you will likely spend dinner and evenings there. Since we are from the states, we are not used to making steep, winding ascents and descents, so for us, this was a little nerve wracking. Also, there is no AC. We were given a fan, which was fine. But some people might prefer air conditioning. Thirdly, I thought it would be nice if some ice water and light snacks (fruit) would be available in a common room throughtout the day, free of charge,

    The staff is second to none. There is nothing they wont do to make you comfortable. The front desk gave great suggestions for hikes and helped us to plan our time. The food is excellent. The breakfast is exceptional, They will make eggs to order and the fruit and pasteries are excellent. The wait staff is lovely. We ate dinner in the bar, which was less formal and more reasonable, though the menu was not as extensive as it was in the dining room. The grounds are lovely. The nearby golf course is dry and greens are bumpy but it has an interesting layout. Spa facilities are nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom no air conditioning ,the bathroom no ventilation . Smell of drains. Restaurant food too fussy for every day and nowhere else nearby. Outside areas could have been in better cleaner condition. You need to like bygone years to stay here.

    We liked the tranquility ,the pool area the gardens and club house restaurant. Breakfast outside and the views. The golf course was challenging but tiring to walk , very hilly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Main House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, beautiful garden and golf course and great food. Bedroom overlooking the garden was wonderful. This was our second trip to the hotel, we will definitely be back for another.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not meeting the standards of a 5 stars hotel. Some staff members were not very friendly specially at breakfast time.

    Amazing garden - Felt home!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transport tricky to individual places unless you are happy to use local buses. Taxis from Funchal charged a high price.

    Fresh fruit, croissants & good selection of Madeiran food for breakfast. Magnificent gardens around hotel- wonderful to stroll, learn names of plants & just chill. Shuttle service to Funchal free

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is in a very green place. One night a cockcroach visited us in our bed :( But again we were given a different room,

    Staff was really helpful. Breakfest, food in general was very good. Restaurant manager and Sonja were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I would really complain about, but the bathroom was showing its age a bit and I noticed the carpet in the bedroom being very worn. But none of that changed our overall assessment of the property. We have decided we will definitely return very soon.

    -This historic property has a genteel and tranquil atmosphere which made us relax instantly. -As it is part of the Palheiro Estate one can explore the Palheiro Gardens (Blandy Gardens) next to the property at leisure without having to pay an entrance fee. -Excellent cuisine -Staff are supremely polite without being subservient and nothing seems too much for them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For us the location was perfect as we had a car and don't mind driving to a destination but it was a good way out of Funchal up a steep residential road which might not suit some.

    The service and ambience were wonderful. Staff could not be faulted and for a peaceful weekend away in lovely surroundinga could not ask for more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded to a suite so very spoilt. Loved the fresh flowers in our rooms. They were changed when needed. Pillows on bed were different sizes to suit both of our needs. All staff very helpful and friendly. Loved the coffee machine in room. Always plenty of milk sugar and coffee pods.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our third visit and could not fault it in any way as always.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay in all respects.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The weather

    Everything in the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower - low pressure flow but used bath a lot, so fine.

    Big room; Restaurant & dinners; Staff; lots of facilities;

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could not fault anything at the hotel. Great location, good food, pleasant, helpful staff. Daily shuttle service to Funchal and Palheiro Golf Club.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some old items should be renovated or replaced like taps in the bathroom, safe.

    Old classic luxury property. Wonderful gardens all around

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AMAZING EXPERIENCE thank you. Incredible gardens, swimming pool and FREE complete and lux SPA. Great service by all the team.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Main House
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water in the room would have been a bonus.

    Food was excellent and the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - service - food

    The gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quality staff,food,rooms,grounds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the out door pool was very cold the children would not go in it

    everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, wonderful apartment! Great food. One of the greatest golf courses, pleasure to be there

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Everything!!! Particularly the courtesy of hotel manager to offset our loss due to cancellation one year ago (with other hotel).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the meal in restaurant didn't impress me much. The plates were large, the food was very small and very expensive. You will be OK there if you are on the diet of course. After eating all over the whole island you realize how little value for money this meal was.

    Our room was on the ground floor opposite reception which was spacious and luxurious. The gardens were out this world. This was the best point of this hotel for me as I am very fond of gardens.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not like the golf course as one needed to be a mountaineer to play it, even with a buggy. There needs to be some fundamental resign of the course so that one can reach the tees and greens much more easily. The views are marvellous but the course leaves a great deal to be desired.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The access road to the estate. Very windy, steep, narrow roads through a residential area.

    A very comfortable, relaxed and well run hotel. Lovely location, particularly if you enjoy golf. The staff are delightful and very helpful and the gardens beautiful too. A return visit is a must.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the rooms are beautiful but the bath-rooms need a make-over!!! for a hotel with 5 stars, there is still a bit work to do!

    the location, the spa and the garden diner and breakfast in the restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size of indoors swimming pool is of a very large bathtub only. Breakfasts only just good compared to all other meals offered.

    Very nice and quiet place on the hill overlooking Funchal. Beautiful Palheiro gardens. Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic facilities to spend time with friends or family - cosy lounges with library and a bar. Excellent dinners (an option - highly recommended four true gourmet experience). Twice daily shuttle to the town.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air on in bedroom and no opening windows so had to borrow fan.

    Decor in public rooms, very good restaurant, very pleasant staff, lovely surrounding gardens.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Staff attitude (last sentence in the morning we left: "Have you paid?") - Noisy maintenance work in the adjacent gardens - Bathrooms definitely no 5 star standard - Beds and mattrasses need to be replaced - Breakfast no 5-star standard and closes too early (10.30am) - Limited possibilities to take breakfast outside in the garden - Small pool - Generally at a five star facility you can find much better. No comparison on an international level.

    - Great location and views - Lovely property - (Mostly) Calm environment - Modern SPA Area

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting there might give you a heart attack - steep, narrow roads that some times ends in clouds - not super convenient if you make frequent trips by car. WiFi needs some improvements - it's great in close range to antennas, but no longer in your bed.

    Staff treat you like a VIP. The place has a feeling of a historical importance where some notable guests spend their summer time. Great bathroom. Surely, it must be great for golfers. You must try a breakfast or a dinner outside!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only (very) slight quibble would be that the 'fitness room' is a little basic and not very well maintained. You can use the running/rowing machines fine, but the exercise bike has no straps and the free weights available are very light. Maybe I'm just the exception in actually wanting to use these facilities!

    An amazing place - beautiful location, lovely old building, fantastic staff, exquisite gardens with views out over the bay. Would not hesitate to stay again - amazingly good value. There's also a beautiful outdoor pool and lovely spa facilities.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is simply lovely and the gardens a joy. It has a very relaxing atmosphere, wonderful breakfast choices and the staff are most helpful, polite and kind. The pool was also a tranquil spot, altogether fabulous. For me, the gardens proved to be quite beautiful and thoroughly absorbing - just on our doorstep. We hired a car to explore the island and this was a good place to be located.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The position being next to the Palheiro Gardens was so peaceful and the Golf Club so handy for lunches and a drink with magnificent views.Food wonderful and superb service by an efficient and cheerful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in the evening too fussy and small portions needed more potatoes and veg. ok for one night, out of date menu

    Make sure to eat at the clubhouse, less formal great views at sunset. Very nice staff,5 star country house feel. Enjoyed breakfast. Sauna and pool very intimate and nice,gardens a delight.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi was terrible. Not at all in room and when you moved to the library which they said was the best reception it wasnt there either. All they said every day we complained was that the routers must be overloaded with people downloading stuff. Over the course of a 6 day stay i tried getting on line at all times of the day and night to no avail.....this was obvioulsy not the reason and i was very annoyed as had work to do and selected the hotel as on their site they advertise a newly installed free wifi system which works in every room

    view of fireworks was amazing, food was out of this world...

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Poor soundproofing - almost able to participate in the conversations in the neighbouring rooms, able to hear people using the toilet next door. - No tea set in the room

    + Great location + Excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdated, poor service, low quality of food, overpriced, not customer friendly

    Nice location and set-up, however needs definitely refurbishment

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lage. Spa.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had trouble in getting a steak cooked to my liking.

    Peace and quiet, lovely service and staff. Very homely.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent hotel, great location and fantastic staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Newer buildings poorly soundproof!

    The location, the staff and cuisine

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access road a little hazardous.

    Gardens, Jacuzzi swimming pool. Golf Course restaurant. Room.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room in the main building above reception was very noisy

    Beautiful gardens and surrounding

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location Helpful staff Facilities Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Casa Velha do Palheiro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: