Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casal Novo

Estrada Do Bom Jesus - Rua da Cumeira, 2460-499 São Martinho do Porto, Portugal

#1 of 35 hotels in São Martinho do Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host Maria was extremely helpful and friendly. Beautiful and charming house. Peaceful surroundings, no traffic noises. The beach is really beautiful. Definitely a recommendation!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    ---

    Wonderful place! Far from the noise, peaceful. Very clean house with the private terrace ovelooking at the fields. Very comfortable bedrooms, perfectly equipped kitchen, all the beach equipement, deck chairs, umbrellas, toys, etc. Nice swimming pool. The owner Maria was always there to help us and make our stay the most comfortable. I wish we could stay there longer, 5 days wasn't enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like to go home. Would have liked to stay a little longer

    We loved the location of the cottage. Beautiful countryside. Lovely views. Fantastic beaches close by. Maria, our host was great, very helpful and kind. We had a very relaxing holiday and it was a lovely introduction to Portugal. There is a lot more to explore and we will definitely return for another great stay at Casal Nova

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Casal Novo is a peaceful original Portuguese hideaway. Since years, we are enjoying to visit Casal Novo alone or with friends, this time with our baby daughter. The charming owner Maria is very kind, always available and very helpful whatever your needs are. Coming back to Casal Novo is always a bit like coming home :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As Always in Portugal the beds are rather hard but Maria solved it with a work-around - so this is fine. I imagine during summer, with more cottages occupied and children playing around it might not be as quiet as it was now. On the other hand, it is asked to other guests not to use the pool before 10 and after 19h, so it should not be as bad as I could imagine. Some cookery pots are a bit old with worn-out aluminium and are due to a change.

    Very nice surroundings, nicely done, clean and enjoyable. Good (but not really warm) swimming pool. Very friendly. Nice common terrace with a view over the swimming pool and surroundings. It was calm and the little cottage is conveniently situated near the pool for an early or late skinny dipping session. Maria is always available for any help, though she won't annoy you ;-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is excellent in many ways. A few perfectly equipped and tastefully decorated cottages are situated near the top of the hill with a wonderful miles long view over green surroundings. You can stay there enjoying the nature and using a nice swimming pool. The ocean with an endless broad beach is on the other side of the hill in 20 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by car. Maria is a perfect host and a very nice person always ready to help. The place is a convenient base for visiting major tourist attractions like Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca, Batalha, Fatima, Tomar, .... Each of them is reachable by car within at most one hour. The local village Sao Martinho do Porto with shops and restaurants (10 minutes drive) is situated over an almost closed bay with a fine beach with no waves. The WiFi works perfectly in the swimming pool area. It did not reach our cottage but Maria gave us in the evenings her own extra modem. We enjoyed enormously our stay and would be happy to come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 14 nights

    nothing

    We immediately felt at home at the superior cottage with two bedrooms. We spent two weeks at Casal Novo with our family (with two young children). The cottage itself, the interior, all the trees and flowers surrounding the cottage and the view exceeded our expectations. Maria is so sweet, nice and caring and the service for her guests is exceptional. She was so sweet to our children (4 and 6 years old) and the children really loved their stay at Casal Novo. There were so many different things to undertake: Sao Martinho do Porto, Nazare beach, Obidos, Salir do Porto, Lagune Foz do Alegho, Lisbon. This was our first time in Portugal and we were constantly surprised by the wonderfull environment. We will definitely come back to lovely Maria and her unique place!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best place to stay in this area, comfortable, traditional, best price for very nive quality, but the most important is the host! If You have ANY problem,ask Maria! Good caring host is the best You can get! Maria, we will come back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Calm surroundings. Would recommend this for some days of relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tudo

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria is a very good and kind host.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful and quiet location and very friendly owner

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bad luck with the weather....

    Small privately owned country style houses. Wonderful garden! Nice region close to coastline and great beach. Host Maria very engaged and caring.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi could be challenging at times. It's actually a 3G wireless router that produces signal only around the pool patio. It's good enough to check emails only, no more than that. On a bright side it helps to put the gadgets aside and enjoy the sun and birds chirping.

    The place is a hidden gem (use Google Navigator as you may also read hidden literally). From the moment you get to the property you feel relaxed and at home. The cottages surrounded by the beatiful fruit trees and grape vines. It's peaceful and well kept. A beautiful and uncrowded beach a few minutes away by car. Nazare and Sao Martinho do Porto are just about 10 minutes away by car. I would come back anytime!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NOTHING

    It was our 4th time in CASAL NOVO, It is a wonderful peaceful place, very well managed by its overwhelming owner Maria who makes us coming home. Moreover, Maria is always around when needed and she is supportive and helps out not only with best recommendations for trips, restaurants and beaches. The location is just great, distant from any hectic and noise of tourism, nevertheless, with countless amazing beaches nearby and very good original Portuguese restaurants around. We will definitely come back again! Christian & Friends

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The atention provided by Maria is superb, she lives in the premises, so she is really available all the time for whatever was needed, she would offer you useful things even before you'd ask for them (like a beach chair) The place is very nice, quiet, clean and is equipped with everything (blender, china, pan, whatever you need, is there) It was perfect for a couple and a toddler like us, strongly recommended. We would stay there again if we were to travel to the same area in the future.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Look carefully – there's only a very small sign in the middle of the bushes at the driveway entrance so it's easy to miss. The internet worked OK, but not for uploading photos on Facebook. It's a city-wide problem and not the fault of the owner.

    A colorful white bungalow with gold trim. Great location next to a vineyard. All was nice and comfortable. Spacious and well-equipped kitchen. Nice terrace out front to enjoy the sunset over the vineyard. An excellent value. It's obvious a lot of attention is paid to all the details here. Maria, who speaks fluent English, went out of her way to make us feel at home and gave us fresh organic lemons. If it's not the best, Maria will work hard to make it the best. Maria is the best.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, it was all good.

    Our bungalow was so charming, Maria's attn. to detail is amazing. We had a well equipped kitchen, a warm and inviting living space and everything was immaculate. We miss her, she felt like an instant friend. A wonderful place to relax and restore!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff; cleanliess; cosy house

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great little paradise. Very quiet surroundings, yet close to everything. Nicely decorated bungalows.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful, nice, and Clean. Calm with nice surroundings outside of Sao Martinho do Porto. Will go there again.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet, nice location, lovely swimming pool altough very cold. Lovely private house, very well equipped, clean

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Casal Novo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: