Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casal Santa Virginia

Avenida Luis Augusto Colares 17/19, 2705-109 Azenhas do Mar, Portugal

#1 of 2 hotels in Azenhas do Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 857 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real acces to beach. Without a car difficult to find places to eat. No one to ask at desk most of the time.

    Breakfast was super. The young lady went out of her way to provide me coffee and a little to eat before scheduled time. View from upstairs was awesome. The local restaurant were amazing but a mile away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast..

    If you can, get the "blue room" an incredible view of the water. Good location if you have a car... walking distance to some restaurants and a pretty beach. 3 minute drive to Azenhas do Mar. Nice cliff walks right from the hotel! Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room booked which we could not use due to windows being changed. This alone was not an issue. I have to say that the attention to detail for me was missing in the rooms. The first room we stayed the wallpaper started to come off the walls and the door to the bathroom is not easy to open and this room was just newly renovated. The second room had a lock on the shower but due to wrong thinking it was not possible to lock it while taking a shower which resulted in a wet floor.

    We enjoyed the breakfast which has a variety of items. Maria and Fernanda were also very approachable and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fernanda was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was very easy and the view from the Ocean Room is stunning. We had a direct view of the ocean from all thr windows. Breakfast was made with love and care. The room is very clean. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our time went too fast and we would have preferred to spend several more days.

    Our stay was absolutely outstanding in every way. The staff were extremely warm and helpful. Our room was spacious and beautiful with fabulous views. We had the best meal ever in a restaurant within ten minutes walking-distance and then breakfast the next day was extra special with freshly baked cakes and a lovely buffet spread which lacked nothing. We are planning to be back before too long and hopefully spend at least a week. We felt we should have spent a few more days to explore the coast and special beaches. I'd certainly recommend this romantic place to honeymooners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had blue room with separate entrance and window exactly facing the ocean, there is only a trail between the window and cliff to the ocean. So you always hear the ocean, which is great. Location near beaches where you can also walk and village. Recommend to take a long walk along the trails, you will find best view points. Good breakfast, space room with artificial fireplace which gives you cozy homey feeling late at night. Since it was very windy and cool weather the staff put 2 heaters to warm the room which was very nice of them. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be more varied.

    The best of this hotel - is a view from its rooms. We booked "Ocean" room and it had large terrace with 2 deck chairs, small table with chairs. The hotel is situated right on the edge of the rock. After that, only ocean. From the hotel it's possible to do little walk directly to the ocean (just to the water). The best way to approach the hotel by car, as there're no other activities (in walking distance) besides going around rocks and ocean. But it's certainly worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the room and poor 4G connection.

    A wonderful place to stay at when you visit Azenhas do Mar, the mansion on the cliff looks gorgeous as same as its amazing view. About 1km away from the view point of Azenhas do Mar, a walk on the edge of the cliff will be very enjoyable and unforgettable. Heatings in the room keep you warm and dry when it’s wet and cold outside. Great homemade breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave such a beautiful place

    The view is so impressive--the ocean and all the cliffs! And the villa is so well kept up and quite impressive. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've booked a room at the top floor with ocean view, but window appeared to be closed and humidity was high. Staff was very kind and suggested another nice room (The Blue Room) which still had ocean view. Staff 's very nice, responsive and kind. Another nice thing is that they have very fast WiFi :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Portuguese Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and efforting personal. The rooms are stuning with their balconys direct at the atlantic coast. The breakfast room is situated stunning as well and the breakfast buffet was very tasty with portugese as well as middle european elements. The region Sintra is lovely too and well worthy to being discovered. I will come back for sure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, nothing was wrong. Though I would suggest to refresh the bathroom facilities. Definitely not to replace anything - the brand new facilities would ruin the atmosphere - but to refresh...

    Location! Right on the ocean shore with breathtaking views, ocean smell and sound! The building itself is a wonderful old one. The atmosphere inside. Good breakfast. Couple minutes ride to Cabo da Roca.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house had a smell of moist damage, but maybe not so strange considering the closeness to the ocean. Saw quite a few ants in the room as well. But none of those things made me enjoy the visit any less.

    Location, view, breakfast and view during breakfast, the house and the rooms were querky and cozy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing needs improvement, perfect the way it is.

    Everything about this place was excellent! The staff was very friendly, the place was very clean, the included breakfasts were great and the views were simply stunning! We loved our terrace views of the ocean, breathtaking! We thought we would never repeat a vacation, as it is such a big world to see, but, we definitely want to come back here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Perfect" is not enough to explain the experience we had. The location left us spechless and falling asleep lulled by the ocean really has been a unique experience. The House is managed by great women who made us feeling home. The Ocean room ans the service (breakfast included) are really top of the class!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful when it comes to the accomodation. Just be advised that there are not too many restaurants open this time of the year and you basically only have the choice between bars eating fast food or pricy marisceiras...

    We loved our stay there the house is fantastic and Soraia was super nice and made us feel right at home there. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Portuguese Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if it was possible to eat there, or at least get some kind of snacks and drinks. Also the common areas could be a little more carefully decorated and maintained.

    The view is unbeatable and the house breathes history. It was very lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything went super smooth and easy, great big rooms with views. we got the suite which was really big and nice, but the best views you get from the double room with ocean view. seems like a small operation, people trying to fix up an old house

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a room with a sea view and it was made available only by paying a bit more than the booking price.

    All the staff was really friendly. We both felt at home. The house is 140 years old and is just lovely. Romantic environment and a breathtaking view to the sea and to the rocky seaside. The breakfast was complete and tasty including plenty of homemade delicacies.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is plain, the house lacks of certain renovation and maintanance

    Very good location and friendly stuff and interesting place of good old "historical" house

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a beautiful old house, which means that it’s quite noisy and the wooden room doors don’t close that well.

    The place is beautiful and directly located at the sea. The view is marvellous. Fernanda and the rest of the of the team were super nice and welcoming. We did the reservation just 30 minutes before arrival, but still they welcomed us so warmly and friendly. The breakfast is good, with lots of variation, fresh orange juice and other beverages. Highly recommend this place if you want to feel at home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold in winter but compared to everything else it was not a problem.

    The location is perfect. We had Oceanroom with a very big balcony. Stuff is very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old fashioned but at the end of the day very charmful

    The breathtaking view, the proximity with the ocean (a few meters), the breakfast, the cleanliness, the helpful and very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    What a fantastic place to stay at! We loved it and were disappointed we only booked 1 night. We had 2 rooms and both were fantastic with an amazing view. Super clean and pleasant. Will book again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't like that much was the bed - it was a bit unstable.

    The house is located directly at the cliffs and you can even see Cabo da Roca from the terrace. Nicely decorated rooms and beautiful house.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Absolutely stunning views, beautiful spacious room and warm friendly staff. Exactly like the photos on Booking.com, A beautiful peaceful retreat and a great base for day trips to Sintra, etc (by car). The walk along the cliff was spectacular and the guest areas are great (as too was the breakfast "with a view"). We wished we had the time to stay longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view! Great breakfast You can eat with sea behind glass wall. Very helpful stuff. Interesting interior design. Unique experience. Will return here. Definitely!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi on the lower floors was intermittent so we had to do all our browsing in the breakfast area. The the room can get very damp due to ocean mist flying right through the windows, if you don't remember to close them, but that's on us and not the villa.

    Location, location and once again - location! The photos onthe website don't do it justice. View from the room and the breakfast is absolutely breathtaking, might be the best morning view ever. The staff is extra friendly and helpful, always willing to help and provide us with necessary utensils.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and views were spectacular. Easy walking distance to a few restaurant choices. We really liked the Buzio Restaurant recommended by the hotel staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked. Everything else was great.

    It is literally right on the cliff edge, sunset was amazing and the sea was crashing onto cliffs below. House is very unusual but lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ocean room is very nice. Too bad the weather was not as expected. Having breakfast while looking at the waves is a great experience. I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be cleaner. The house is not maintained regulary, the condition of the house does not match photographs fully.

    The object is located on a cliff above the ocean which gives it a special charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very nicely decorated, clean, you feel like home and you’ll feel that owner cares of you. Nice beach close, approx. 2 km.

    Lovely view and big vawes of Atlantic ocean, very warm welcome from owner and staff. Very delicious breakfast. I would come back when I come to this area again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in Ocean Room is old and makes a lot of noise every time you move - it looks cosy, but for comfort should be changed. The hotel is beautiful, but seems to need some renovation.

    Fantastic view, located perfect and the staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's old and right on the ocean they have problems with pealing paint. They are going to start renovating even with that it was a nice place.

    Beautiful old historic building. We stayed in the Pourtugese room which was great. Also stayed in the Skylight room one night. It was small but cozy and good. Beds in both rooms very good. Fernanda helped us with printing our boarding passes, arranged for an early breakfast, suggested a wonderful restaraunt. Obrigada!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities at the hotel are basic meaning you do need to go out pretty much all day every day. The pool is pretty buy too cold to use.

    The location is beautiful. There's some lovely walks and a nice small town. The restaurants are limited as it is such a small place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Got the garret room which is very small and clearly overpriced. As tall person you are constantly risking to bang your head, no ventilation in the bathroom, no upright wardrobe. Can't close the shower cabin from inside on your own. That room shouldn't be rented at all.

    Nice location and view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is absolutely lovely, but the ceiling is very very low. And also the ceiling in the bathroom. I am 1.64 m myself and could handle it just about, but my husband could hardly stand up in the shower. So take that into account. It would have been nice to have a mirror in the room instead of only the low one in the bathroom (even for me..).

    Excellent location right next to the ocean. We had the star skylight room, with view on the ocean, nice to wake up to every morning. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast in a room overlooking the ocean. Short walk to praia de macas with a few restaurants. Excellent when you want some peace and quiet (visit in september, don't know about summer season though). Walk along the coast to Azenhas do Mar about 15 min. The house is very nice, but you can tell it is a real struggle to maintain this building against the rudeless salty ocean so close. Incredible sunsets to watch from the seating area next to the house, while having a drink. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Portuguese Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators... there are rooms at street level... but the better room are upstairs....

    Beautiful sea view! Nice bed! Good shower! Good breakfast! Staff more than friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    woodwormy, tired furniture. i cant speak for the other rooms but the 'telling' dehumidifier in the romantic room did not cope with the damp in mid September. It felt damp in bed and our clothes even in cases ended up damp.. in terms if price it was twice what we paid elsewhere if it was 60-70 it wouldve been worth it .. staff great though

    Great view. great breakfast. pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 1 night

    To leave =)

    In a few words, i would move permanently to this place. It´s impossible not to love this place, the sound of the ocean, the peacefull silence at night. Just love it. Increadible breaksfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specific.

    Very warm welcome. Great breakfast. Amazing view on the ocean both from room (ocean room), breakfast area as outside seating area. Nice/clean pool. B&B based in charming villa. Parling spot on the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the biggest hotel room I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Palatial and with incredible views over the ocean breakers below. Handy for Cabo da Roca and loads of great options for eating nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the Ocean Room, which had a private balcony facing the ocean! Breakfast was superb and I was truly impressed with how friendly, helpful and caring the staff was towards us and our 2 year old toddler.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we absolutely loved the place!

    Everything was above our expectations! Friendly staff, we received a warm welcome and help in suggesting restaurants, beaches, etc. The Blue room has a breathtaking ocean view both from the bed and the balcony!!! The breakfast was amazing and the ocean view is a great plus in the breakfast area too. Overall beautiful experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the romantic room which is in the ground floor of the house without the full sea view.

    We had a lovely two nights stay at Casal Santa Virgina. Wonderful view over the ocean and the cliffs. It is close to amazing beaches. The breakfast was really nice and the service was very personal and welcoming which made the stay super nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Portuguese Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It would have been better with less wind, but that's hardly the hotels fault. The parking can be a little tight with space for about eight vehicles in a relatively small area, but everybody sorted themselves out and there were no problems for us.

    More like being on a cruise than staying in an hotel! Our room (The Portuguese Room) looked straight out onto the ocean from near the top of the building with the added bonus of a small patio with table and chairs to better enjoy the view. The room was clean and tidy and decorated in what I presume was a Portuguese style, being boarded throughout in a medium to dark wood. This added to the 'cabin atmosphere' but may not appeal to everyone's taste, being slightly (some might say) on the gloomy side...but we enjoyed it. Our visit coincided with 'bit of a blow', so (being right on the cliff top) there was quite a lot of sea spray and salt deposit on the windows and patio area. The beach (Praia days Mācas), just a short walk south of the hotel is very clean and has a good convenience store, farmers market and beach restaurants. Be careful walking to the beach; despite the urban speed limit, it's a fast straight road with minimal pavement in some places. Also, be careful leaving the property in a vehicle. Nice public areas (inside and out) and a breakfast room with great view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof had us bending over to acces the bed and toilet..

    Our room was at the top of the house.. it was small but had an amazing view! We could watch and listen to the ocean all night..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Even the small bathrooms are part of its charm

    The staff is incredibly nice, the location on top of the sea...great, the breakfast and breakfast room great, the rooms strangely confortable. Will be back for another weekend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with seaview room had a window completely covered with salt at our arrival. Malfunctioning facilities in the bathroom, noisy ventilation devices.

    An interesting concept of romantic house at a cliff between villages on the coast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complains. However, the availability of a high chair would make it even more perfect.

    Excellent location right on the cliff, beautiful neighborhood, nice hotel, accommodating staff. We booked the skylight room, but as it turns out the height of the ceiling is below ~1.85 meter, and with my 1.94 I was too tall (the shower is even lower). We were offered to stay in another room as soon as I walked in, so before seeing the room, or making a comment, as long as available. I thought this was very nice and considerate. The skylight room was nevertheless an enjoyable experience with a wide view on the ocean. We stayed with our 1 year old, and the staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place to stay! Unfortunately, we only stayed for 1 night but really did not want to go. Laura was very helpful telling us interesting and useful thing about Portugal and the place. The villa itself is very nice, you can feel the touch of old times still staying in a very comfortable place. And the ocean is sooo close! It is great to walk along it before the very tasty breakfast. We enjoyed a lot! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fantastic.

    Warm, helpful and accomodating staff. Breathtaking views. Great location for walking to Praia de Macas and Azenhas do Mar. Quiet and calm. All for a very affordable price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast starts a bit late at 9 o'clock. It will be good for the travellers if starts earlier.

    The house is just on the cliffs of the Atlantic Ocean. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. The room was small but had all facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electrical plugs might be improved: please renovate it.

    Simply speaking it's unbelievable. Majority of rooms has windows to Atlantic ocean + terrassas. Personnel is very hearty. Mariane is simply the best! =) You just live at the edge of the Europe + historical house and comfortable rooms. We'd love to stay there for a week as just releave after big cities life.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Moon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    This is a mansion on a cliff directly facing the ocean and has been beautifully renovated. The staff are beauful charming women who made our stay a real pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the climate the rooms where a bit damp. But this did not change my perspective on this really perfect location!!!

    The view was outstanding! Everyone was so friendly, the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't understand the complaints here on booking about wetness, and not being clean, haven't noticed anything like that. I guess people always find something to complain about

    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed. The house is well kept and sooo beautiful!! The room was amazing, nicely decorated and clean. The personnel is nice, the breakfast is tasty and the ocean view is truly fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. Awesome views from the breakfast area. Very friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in our room some old furnitures with not god smells

    amazing view, directly on the ocean, sleeping and wake up with waves sound is something incredible have a breakfast in the wonderful room with ocean view, wow, fresh fruit, good bread, homemade jam, very nice place relaxing shower and clean room very kind staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Ocean Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very nosy. Besides of this everything was perfect.

    Beautiful place with beautiful view and parking place. Very nice and helpful staff. I wish I could spend there more time. Perfect for the great holidays.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken curtain rod.

    Nice place to stay but better if you have a car (small parking place when you arrive late). Good breakfast. Very helpful staff-thanks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Feels like home. Location is great, on a cliff. 180 degree ocean view. Good breakfast. Staff was very helpful. We had a small issue with our room but it was resolved within 5 minutes. Good fish restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room - Skylight Star
    • Stayed 1 night

    Individual room designs and very friendly staff made it a lovely place to stop for a few days. Because of our indecisiveness (and enjoyment) we ended up staying each night in a different room: Skylight Star – Tiny room on the top floor up in the sloping eaves of the roof, with a dormer window looking straight out to sea. Bright and charming, but be prepared for bending double to get in and out of the bed and the shower! Family Room – Large suite with the double-bed room on the ground floor and twin bedroom downstairs. Bathroom is also downstairs but is spacious with a large corner bath. Although at the back of the house, it’s multiple windows means it has good views up and down the coast. Portuguese Room – Despite being lined with traditional wooden panelling, this is a bright and comfortable with the advantage of its own little balcony terrace facing the sea, from which to enjoy the sun setting into the Atlantic. Breakfast was consistently good: freshly made eggs, bread and pastries, fresh juices, etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Blue room . It was a little damp & would need some professional advice to put right .

    The young ladies running this hotel are the very best staff we have encountered on our trip to the coast of Portugal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Portuguese Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was something missing at the breakfast, but we're not sure what exactly.

    We were in the portugese room, with an amazing view! staff was always very friendly and everything was well reachable (using a car). There are some hidden restaurants in the neighbourhood you should check out. mostly locals there, but great prices and food!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only from 9 am, a bit late when with young children, bathroom in the cellar of the room,, equally not ideal when with young children

    Beautiful view, great breakfast, very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Blue Room facing the sea smelled like bad mildew almost like urine for some reason..

    Breakfast was very tasty but served too late if you want to get on the road early. Great location close to beautiful Azhenas do Mar. Maria was amazing and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all the rooms have a view of the ocean.

    Extraordinary mansion on cliffs overlooking the ocean in Sintra. The entire area is very beautiful and excellent for hiking along the ocean. Most tourists only see the historical center while the coast is also very lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I can not understand why anyone can find fault with this place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather, is something to consider when booking in the Sintra region. Because of the microclimate with sea mist and humidity you get less sun then further up the beach. Great for site seeing but not so great for a day at the beach.

    Very kind staff, amazing location on the cliff, old house with great atmosphere. We were in the golden room, spacious with own terrace and ocean view. Breakfast was basic but good. You can see it's an old building, it needs a lot of work, especially because of it's location so close to the ocean. It was a bit damp and worn but to us this only added to the experience. Both Azenhas do mar and Praia de maças are easily reached by foot. Best to take public transport to Sintra because it's extremely busy in the narrow streets leading to all the palaces. We had a terrible trip up there! There is a tram from Azenhas, next time we visit we will not take the car but leave it safely parked at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Portuguese Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool and surroundings ground need some work. The outdoor furniture was old, but the pool was very clean. The lighting in our bathroom was dim, making it difficult to get ready to go out in the evening.

    The location and view from our balcony were spectacular. The host, and the assistant of this cute B&B were very nice. The rooms very very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean, clean. The room were were in needed some maintenance, the shower had to be held as the clamp was broken, the bathroom window would not open, this creates dampness! The main window entrance inside was full of mould, don't know why this was not cleaned. The area is very what I call Blackpool!

    The view is lovely, the swimming pool is small but nice. The Restuarante Azenhas do Mar, a km or so up the road is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Blue Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its proximity to the sea, everything, even our own clothes etc started to feel a bit damp. I would still definitely recommend Casal st Virginia - but our room opened out onto the carpark, so we didn't have much privacy - if you go, (and you should!) ask for a first floor room.

    Maria's welcome and attention was more like we were friends visiting than guests. She is a great hostess, chatty, friendly and she really looked after us. The breakfasts each morning carefully prepared by Maria set us up nicely for the day. We also enjoyed some sunny evenings on the most comfortable loungers ever by the breakfast room, so lovely (and so hot!!!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was very dated, The interior design didnt flow our window was broken so coulnt be closed, the windows were letting in the elemnets in places with damp stains. some double glazing was blown in the resturant.All In all the hotel needs a re-furbish as it was now looking very old and tired...it takes a battering from being litteraly on a cliff edge!

    the views were lovely when the sea mist cleared

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very large and stylish decorated. Personell is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is superb! Beaches are nearby and very special. Town is not attractive.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Casal Santa Virginia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: