Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casas Valleparaizo

Estrada Regional 102, n-161. Vale Paraíso, 9135-060 Camacha, Portugal

#3 of 5 hotels in Camacha

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had problems with the coffee filter, some larger filters would have been better. We did try to buy the next size up but couldn't find any. Some smaller bowls for breakfast would have been good.

    We were a party of 4 adults with respective partners. The accommodation was great. It was a connecting 1 bed bungalow to another 1 bed. So we had lots of space in the bungalow. The property was very clean and help was always at hand if needed. The gardens around were beautiful and very peaceful. Plenty of walks around too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Ideally, it would have been nice to have an oven rather than a microwave (there were 2 hotplates so that was fine).

    Cottage was well maintained with a working fireplace which we greatly enjoyed. Leonore and the owners are very welcoming and helpful. Each cottage-cum-mountain lodge is very private. We had a lovely terraced area that caught the sun and we made friends with the resident pets: 2 dogs, Nina the cat and 4 peacocks! You can access one of Madeira's many levada walks directly behind the property. If you have a car (we did) then you will be able to enjoy the area and island, and easy access to the supermarket which is about 1.5 miles away: perfect for stocking up if you wish to cater for yourselves.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    House is cold in cooler weather. Need to use electric heaters nearly all of the time.

    We enjoyed our stay very much. Beautiful gardens and walking from house. Cute cottage with cosy log fireplace. Comfy beds. Handy well stocked supermarket nearby and easy to drive to Funchal and coastal areas or mountains.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bathroom a bit archaic, heating poor but it is January and I suppose they don't need it for most of the year

    the location and the surrounding gardens, privacy excellent but would be better in warmer months

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car could not be parked by cottage and access was up a slippy path. Cottage was quite cramped and dated inside.

    Delightful quinta with the cottages spread out over the lovely gardens. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Easy access to the Lavada da Serra. Enjoyed the log fire each evening and toasting sweet chestnuts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A beautiful haven. Lovely, traditional cottage in secluded wee garden . Delightful hosts and excellent location for visiting other parts of the island.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike.

    The friendly reception by Sophia and the free welcoming basket. And the beautiful cottages and garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Expensive breakfast

    Peace and quiet location staff could not do enough for you Great base to explore the island supermarket nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet location, very relaxing. We had a hire car which made this an ideal base to reach many of the levada walks around the island.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice house and very nice garden! Silent environment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The grounds were beautiful, the cottage was comfy and cosy esp with the open fire burning. The location was ideal for access to Funchal and the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if returning to Madeira. Perfect peace and quiet, the only sounds were the birds.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all amazing. Ah, maybe we'd suggest installing nicer colored lighting (a bit more yellow rather than white).

    We stayed in a lovely little cottage for 2, very cute and cozy, with a fireplace. Really nice. Cottages are separated by plants and trees so you don't even see the other houses. Staff is very kind, area is beautiful; close to Funchal but not busy.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    perhaps it would be even better with something to listen music in the house. it was not easy to regulate hot/cold water in the shower and kitchen : the system would need some repairing

    very beautifull and spacefull lodge in a nice park, very quiet, very welcoming and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    We stayed for a week early November, Leonora and Sofia were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The location was wonderful, a quiet retreat, log fires, wildlife in the garden and beautiful walks on the doorstep whilst only being a short drive to Funchal. Facilities were excellent. No complaints, we would recommend and happily visit again.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to put here!

    Owner and housekeeper were very welcoming and spoke English. On our second day the owner gave us two loaves of locally baked bread, still warm from the oven. The location is very peaceful, which we liked. It was possible to walk from the cottage on to one of the levadas. The capital, Funchal was close enough by car (or bus, with a bus stop very close to the cottage) to visit easily, but not so close that you felt as if you were in the city. We visited two of the recommended restaurants and enjoyed them both. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi in the cottage (should be everywhere), signal was only outside on a terrace/grass - very uncomfortable during rainy days. Higher air humidity inside the cottage (I guess because of garden).

    Privacy, beautiful big garden (even better in spring), country style of living. Sympathetic and willing owner.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We only had single beds, despite having 2 bedrooms. However the beds were comfortable.

    The setting in very extensive landscaped gardens, with many beautiful flowering plants. A peacock walked past our door while we were eating breakfast outside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are some lovely woodland walks that start directly from the gardens.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This place was so amazing that I extended my trip for more days to enjoy it for a little bit more. It is very calm, it feels in the middle of nature, but it is still very well located if you want to have it as a base camp to visit other places in Madeira. The cottage is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cottage is situated in a beatiful garden, it is very peaceful. We used fireplace every evening and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Many trails nearby, supermarket in walking distance. If we go to Madeira agaon, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cosy house with fireplace. Quiet place in the beautiful garden. Nice people. Safe parking place. Short distance for all trips in Madeira. Nearby "levada". It is like to be in your own cottage - but in Madeira. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rental car is recommended although bus stop is right outside.

    The garden and the house is amazing. Sofia and Leonor make you feel like a guest in their house. If you are looking for a relaxing experience in an astonishing environment, then this is the place!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Camacha is a bit out of the way from Funchal, although it only takes 15 minutes to get into town. You do need a rental car, but we had one anyway to explore the island.

    Sophia, the owner, is very kind and accommodating. We had trouble finding the place with our gps (it was mis-programmed by the rental car company), but Sophia came and rescued us. Thereafter, we had no trouble finding the place. We loved the privacy, garden setting, peacocks, and it is dog friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Crying peacock during the night in a tree beside our house. Barking dogs at the main house.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The place was like real paradise. Amaizing garden, privacy and very nice and helpful people. The best place where we have ever been

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very nice and quiet, privacy, but still close to main supermarket and the city.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Position, lovely garden, quietness

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not as close to supermarket as expected; wifi only worked outside house

    Beautiful location; tranquility; staff

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cottage and the fireplace,the birds...

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: