Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Cascais 4 stars

Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira - Parque da Gandarinha, 2750-641 Cascais, Portugal

#27 of 34 hotels in Cascais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1884 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottle opener in the room. The room service knocked on the door and tried to enter already before 9am while we were still sleeping

    Wide choice of breakfast. Nice pool area. Booked a twin room but luckily the beds were together and we even got a sea view (although 1st floor).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so helpful and kind.. always happy and you could see they enjoyed their job.. the hotel was so clean , and rooms spacious, beautiful breakfast & pool area very relaxing & also spotless, great location .. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and has no ambience. There were works going on so there was not an outside pool available (which fortunately didn't matter too much as the weather was not good). We were not fore warned.

    The staff were very good and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not advised before arrival that they were having work done on the swimming pool. It really upset my family, and while the work men were there building dust came over to where we were sitting. NOT HAPPY

    The breakfast was very good, the staff were so nice and helpful. The bedroom was very clean and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of cleanliness in bedroom & balcony was very poor. Furniture & fittings very worn & dated.

    Staff very good & friendly. Food very good. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival I have been told that the swimming pool area is under refurbishment and all the guests will need to go to a neighboring place in case they would like to use a swimming pool. Although that place was really nice, it would have been much nicer to be notified in advance either via email or through the website instead of finding that out upon arrival.

    Initially I have requested a higher floor room with pool or sea views if possible. Instead I was upgraded to a junior suite which was superb, not with the best views but the room itself was absolutely amazing. The breakfast was perfect and the location of the hotel is most likely one of the best in Cascais.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool was out of action (being refurbished) and young children not allowed in alternative INSIDE pool (nearby leisure centre). They were only allowed in outside pool there and it was far too cold for them!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Avoid rooms ending with 21 (e.g. 321)! They are noisy since behind the elevator well and next to working area. Poor clean up service, furniture quite used

    Comfortable bed, big sized room, nice view on the park, variety of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that there should have been info here on booking.com that the pool was under construction. Since this was a crucial part of why we choose this hotel. Its too late too change hotel when you arrive at the hotel. It would not hurt that there was more variation on the breakfast. And the beds where to hard for our taste.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically chose this hotel for the swimming facilities as my son Loves swimming but isn’t hugely confident and I wanted to spend the time overcoming this. On our arrival but after the hotel insisted we paid upfront they informed us there were no swimming facilities at the hotel as they were being refurbished. They informed us a 3 minute walk away was a health spa & gym that had a pool we could use. It was basically a 10 minute walk and on arrival not at all suitable for children under 7 years which was confirmed by the gyms managers.

    Location was fantastic but I knew that before I booked which was one of the reasons I chose the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff in the restaurant. poor lighting in the rooms they were very dark so much so you had to use a flashlight to read in the evening. I was going to go by some brighter light bulbs.

    Location. Breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool not working. No iron available to the guests, just on laundry services. Limited TV channels.

    Nice room space, including a good bathroom. Great location. Parking place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smaller cafe or place for quick meals for children. No cheaper option for dinner -again referring to children’s needs.

    Big room, excellent breakfast, good mirrors/ handy electrical outlets, great balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like a third pillow as bad back. Prefer real eggs in omelette and not premix from carton

    The beds were comfy and the sun on the balcony on floor 6. The breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No swimming pool, it was being rebuilt and we hadn't been informed of this when booking. Offered free entry into nearby pool/sauna facility which was a five minute walkaway, so not really something you would use before breakfast etc. Also it closed at 2.30 on Saturdays and 2 on Sunday. Only ate in the evening once. Asked for a la carte, told there would be a fourty minute wait, they'd prefer we ate the buffet. which we did and it was cold etc. Complained and got a 15% discount on the food. Which of course was appreciated but the poor meal had rather spoiled our evening.

    Quiet at night. Good sized rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would of been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities. We paid for a sea view room which we had but also looking over the building site of the hotel renovating the pools and gardens. We were woken to the sounds of digging and scraping every morning. There was no pool. We were told we could use the facilities of a local health club a 10 minutes walk away. The breakfast was adequate but after 5 days became very repetitive. We had housekeeping knocking on the door before 8:30.

    It was a short walk to the marina. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to arrival we were not informed that the pool area was under construction and out of use. Would have been good to know this in advance.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff throughout were courteous and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable and creaked badly The swimming pool was closed but the hotel had planned ahead and offered the use of a nearby health club

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool was out of commission when we were there but this will be rectified soon. Not a big problem as there was an arrangement with a neighboring hotel.

    The hotel was quiet; beds very big and comfortable; within walking distance of town center; great sea views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very soundproof noisy near elevator as well as sound from other rooms. Not told prior to booking that the pools where all under maintenance.

    Balcony nice big room with sitting area comfortable chairs super large bed. Easy parking nice breakfast short walk to all sites in Cascais. Free 24 hr. Museum pass a nice touch. Pass to spa nearby due to pool maintenance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We selected the hotel because of its location & it had a swimming pool. We arrived and the pool was under refurbishment. Really disappointed that we was not told upon booking.

    Clean and in a lovely area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no indoor pool was a big miss in such bad weather as we had, we went to see the health club that we could of used and found it of not a very high standard. The bedrooms were very gloomy & dark, I would of liked a room with a view, also I thought it would if been good to have a coffee bar, where you could sit & chat. And also some evening entertainment in the bar on a few nights.

    The breakfast was good, I liked the eggs, fried, the oranges and fresh fruit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All pool were closed / most of the garden was inaccessible. No notice prior to check in. The hotel offers alternative solution 200 m from the hotel but unfortunately it is not suitable for young children.

    The hotel is really well located - Staff is great, really helpful. Good Breakfast. The manager dealt with our query promptly - very professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed was fine but my husband had trouble with the hardness of his mattress.

    Public shared areas were adequate to wait and meet up; breakfast was excellent (but being British we would have like the food to be hotter), for the Hotel capacity whilst we were there, there were plenty of table choices with very attentive staff clearing away and re-laying the tables when empty. All staff we encountered were very helpful, which pulls the whole experience together.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was under construction and no one told us that prior to booking or on arrival. We had to pay upfront when we arrived at the property before looking around and felt a bit cheated. This information should have been disclosed as there was no atmosphere or facilities in the hotel. Rooms are basic and quite dark. In fact, everywhere in the hotel is dark which is odd for a coastal hotel. I wouldn't stay here again.

    Good location and rooms cleaned everyday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t tell us that the pool was being renovated and was out of order for the duration of our stay. They made us pay for the room up front and told us this after. The rooms were really dark and damp.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out and when I book the hotel we did not know before we came and we was big group with children, I found it strange that it did not appear in the booking

    Nice hotel and beautiful town and I will come back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for maintenance, that was the main reason we wanted to stay here so we were really disappointed that we weren’t informed beforehand.

    The room was huge and modern and the breakfast was amazing. You are also one min walk from the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    front desk staff could not recommend a restaurant that was child friendly. window shades let a lot of daylight in.

    restaurante and bar staff were great. buffett dinner was lovely. parking was free and abundant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noicy work in the garden. Couldnt have my balconnydoors open due to structur work in the hotel garden. I payed extra for that and want that money back!

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No waiting room for Massage Spa. No gym.

    Breakfast was excellent. Room with plenty of space, big balcony with view to the sea. Location is excellent (next to Park Marchal Carmona, walking distance to Boca do Inferno, sea walk, Marina, Museum and town centre).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The buffet price for evening meals was a little expensive, but the food was good.

    The entire stay was great from start to finish! The staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hotel is looking old, in room is a fridge by which noice you can not sleep, nothing in minibar, bad lights in the room, quite far from city centre, personal not help too much

    Food, space in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a broken lamp in it. Bed was not comfortable at all. Dinner buffett was way to expensive with food that does not meet expectations. No smiling from the staff in the dining room (One of the staff seemed to be placed as a police officer).

    Hotel was quite nice. Room was very spacious. Nice balcony with very nice view. Service was kind but not over the top.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extra large for a hotel room which made our stay more comfortable. We only planned to stay two nights but stayed four since the room was large. The hotel is in a good location. The breakfast is very good and great selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is one of the worst I have slept on in 73 years. The hot food for breakfast is cold. I will have spent 6 days here, never again. The decor is dated and stuck in the 70’s. The least they could do is replace the mattresses, as they sway in the middle and are hard as a board.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should have been more options for breakfast, such as chocolate milk for children and someone to cook us omelets and pancakes.

    The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was clean and with good amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had breakfast included but unfortunately could not eat in the restaurant - coffee was revolting, hot food was either just warn or cold fresh fruit was brown and looked like it had been out for days in short we simply could not risk eating breakfast in fear it would upset us and spoil our holiday - such a shame Hotel Vila Gale please address this issue and we would definitely come back

    The upgrade to sea view room was amazing and the room was very comfortable. Location is great but what a shame for such a nice hotel the food was so poor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at in the Lisboa area.

    Everything about this hotel is amazing. Rooms are breathtaking, staff are perfect, service is outstanding. Complimentary upgrade upon arrival, which blew our minds! We did not want to leave and were very sad to do so. This will be our first choice of hotel every time, whenever we visit Lisboa from now on. We already are planning our next visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A room with a view. Don't think was offered that when booking.

    The breakfast buffet had the largest selection, all good quality. Location was very good 10 min walk into the center of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We'd booked a non sea facing room and our balcony looked out over the parking lot. This is not their fault as the booking expressly stated that there wasn't a view unless you booked a sea view room, but it's worth noting this if you like sitting on your balcony looking at the scenery.

    A great location with a bit of a walk into the Cascais centre. Rooms were big and the property was great - a nice pool and outside area. A big selection for breakfast. We were there for the Lisbon marathon and the hotel was a short walk from the marathon start so an excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Morning coffee is just filter, not espresso.

    Very nice and cozy property, very good breakfast, large and comfy room. Nice park and outside pool, and also the outside bar. Very enjoyable time spent there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit old design Breakfast area was very noisy - not so friendly for holiday... And the cleaning lady just walk in to our room with no notice at 8:45 in the morning.... Less fun....

    Very simple

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were pleasantly surprised to have been allocated a suite although we had only booked a double room. Despite being very busy we were impressed by the hotel's quietness. Its location was ideal for our function at Cascais Cultural Centre. Sadly because of heavy rain we were unable to enjoy walking in the area and had to use taxis there and back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor is a little dated and most areas in the hotel are quite dark because of this.

    Location was good for walking into the square and also the park behind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke even when I opened all the windows the smell just lingered like it had soaked into the walls. We decided that because it was a one night stay that we would not be in the room for long. We were also aware the the hotel was full so no other rooms available.

    Staff at hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was ready early and after driving some way we were eager to leave our luggage and explore, the room was a good size and bed comfortable. Breakfast was excellent especially the 'omelette staff' and coffee great!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was average - some of the pastries on offer were not very good. Was also very busy as lots of groups tend to use this hotel - not a relaxing atmosphere. We found staff in the bar were not very helpful unless you were part of the golfing fraternity !

    Hotel is in a nice quiet area but still within walking distance of all amenities. Rooms are spacious - we were upgraded to suites which had a separate bedroom, lounge and kitchen area. Pool area always had plenty of free sunbeds throughout the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned daily. Guincho Beach was a 15min drive from hotel and other nice beaches were a train ride away.

    Location was great. Within short walk of centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old, in need of renovation. No soundproofing, you can hear the drunks in the pub next door till 2am. Beware that room with a view can mean room with a partial sea view.

    Location, breakfast, staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the liquid egg in cartons

    The cooked part of breakfast was a little disappointing. The eggs for the omelettes were made from liquid carton egg. But there was a chef cooking fresh fried eggs at the same time. A bonus ! Bacon was below average. But choice was very good. Lovely fruit and bread and cakes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We have stayed in Vila Gale Hotel , Cascais four times in five years. Breakfasts excellent . On Sunday evening we had dinner in the Hotel , the choice of meat was very limited , I had a cool soggy hamburger cooked a few hours beforehand and I would have preferred to eat in a local restaurant . The Hotel is kept well but would benefit from some upgrading of decoration and furniture . The price of €1,700 for nine nights bed & breakfast for both of us was a bit heavy for late September .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not lighted enough, the breakfast was ok but not what you expect from 4 stars hotel, the value for money was poor. The staff didn't answer the phone quickly and we've waited a long time when we needed something. I'm happy we stayed only 1 night because the value for money wasn't great.

    The location was good if your'e going to travel is Cascais or in Sintra the day after, and the parking was easy. The rooms were clean in general and they had a nice terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The A/C could be stronger.

    They served breakfast REALLY early because of the IRONMAN event that was happening that day, and as competing athlete, I really appreciate the gesture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had terrible smell and staff did nothing about it! Staff were rude, wouldn't answer phone at reception when calling from bedroom and in general acted like they didn't care about guests. Cleaning Staff walked in on us at 8am Sunday morning with no warning! Breakfast was cold. Would never go back!

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were three adults and paid for three adults to stay in the room our booking conformation says three adults but one of the beds was for a child, plus we only had two towels in the bathroom. When we complained about the size of the bed the staff just shrugged their shoulders. We were told to speak the the manager but we were out for dinner that evening so we never got to speak to him. Very Disappointed with how our complaint was dealt with, basically just ignored and never got any satisfactory. This is just not good enough.

    Breakfast was excellent and room was big and we had a sea view. Hotel room very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very large room and beds. Lots of breakfast options. Plenty of room around pool (mid September). Friendly staff. Chose a non-sea view which looks out over the park which was fine. 15 minute walk into Cascais centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Indifferent staff, breakfast wasnt great to start with and somehow looked if nothing had been refreshed over the 4 days. Not sure how croissants and bread etc were never fresh. A bit like the rest of the Hotel everything looked tired. Nice room on the sixth floor with wonderful views unfortunately we had to share the balcony with a flock of piegeons who chatted all night to each other and were particularily vociferous at 6AM. Staff had no interest in doing anything about it.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very disappointed. I booked for 10 days a standard room with my 2 kids and my dad booked a senior suite ( which was smaller than our standard room which had two master beds and a balcony) located above the garages. The senior Suite had one Master bed room who looked small, with one small bathroom, a very small living area with two small bed, a kitchen ( useless and hidden behind folding doors, ocean view but No Balcony? So very hot. It's seem this was a standard room that they had split in two. The swimming pool was ice cold. So small compare to the photos online. I choose this hotel because It was rated 9 for families on booking? 9 YES, REALLY 9 out of 10. Why? How come? There were No kids club, no activities, nothing to do day or evening, no game room, disco, basket, tennis, volley ball, mini golf at all. And for using the only snooker table it's cost 5 euros for 30 minutes ( you must be joking! Like they were expensive piece of kit, they were too used). It was over priced and lakes distraction from start to finish. And people are always queuing at the reception. Back to the hotel, only the kids were going for swim, they don’t know better. And none were staying long. This hotel is ok for 1 night only, it's central if you are travelling a lot or you are a business man ( if you have the cash you go elsewhere for sure). The only activity they had was in this small garden were you have a small house for toddlers ( completely in the shadow). Useless. One restaurant only. My dad is very old and decided to book for 2 night because they had special offers for on Senior Suite. Really you call this a Suite because it has ocean view? The room is small you got even smaller TV and reception is as bad. And there is a kitchen? For what? No espresso machine or Tea pot, sugar in any rooms which is standard in most hotels around the word. He could not enter the swimming pool either. No facilities, no stairs, and people fight for seats. Horrible swimming pool, so...

    Breakfast. But. They only offer 1 filter coffee. They don't have espresso machine or tea, sugar in any rooms. If you want espresso you have to pay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor housekeeping generally (bathrooms not well cleaned, rooms cleaned very late afternoon, towels missing etc etc). Suite kitchenettes are unserviced and generally ignored by housekeeping staff - coffee cups and glasses were left unwashed everyday by housekeeping staff. Hotel also doesn't provide guests with any dishwashing liquid to do it themselves. Same dull breakfast every day, some variety would have been nice. Hotel claims to be child friendly but no meals are available between 6pm and 7:30pm which is really difficult if you're travelling with young children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough activities for children. Hotel bar not used enough so night time entertainment poor. Very busy breakfast. Room service could have been better.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Pool bar and restaurant nice for lunch. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Went for early?? morning swim at 8.00a.m. but pool did not open until 9.00 a.m. and was being cleaned. Can appreciate they do not want a lot of noise however

    Very nice buffet breakfast, plenty of variety and fresh cooked eggs or omelette

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rude guests.

    Beautiful hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. We were travelling with a very energetic and loud toddler, so we were initially nervous. No need, the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Great hotel, we will definitely use it again next time we visit Cascais.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we went as a family we ended up giving our children the main double bed so we slept on the sofa beds in the living area. Not the most comfortable but it was OK. Hotel could do with a refresh but it was still very clean.

    Hotel was in a great location, only a 10 minute walk into town or a 5 minute walk to the marina. Having a kitchenette in our room was great especially as family. Allowed us to make sandwiches etc for lunch. Two swimming pools were good and they were never busy and always got a sun lounger.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of flies in the pool area... a little spraying would be welcome.

    Very helpful manageress who was happy to change breakfast opening hours (at 430am) just for our group! Thank you v much!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the dinner only buffet is offered, missed a la carte restaurant. The rooms are quite outdated - hotel needs some renovations already.

    Really nice breakfast & perfect hotel location. Staff was helpful, nice and quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in general is very dark, bulbs must be low wattage and walls and theme colour throughout hotel is a deep red. Was very difficult to see in the bedroom and we had to use the balcony to put on make up. Lights at the pool and on guests balconys automatically switch off at 12-I felt like I was on a curfew on my holidays! It's nice to be able to sit on the balcony and have a drink at night but this was ended promptly at midnight. The food wasn't terribly hot in the morning. The boiling water for tea was never hot enough to make a decent cup of tea. Lack of umbrellas at the poolside and no staff monitoring guests who place their towels out on sun beds early morning. The dining room wasn't very inviting...everytime we passed it at lunch/dinner it looked closed. The hotel could do a little more to entice guests to stay there for meals, we only had our breakfast there. Not great value for money-the cost for the room when we added a 3rd person (adult) increased by 33% -however the extra bed is a sofa bed with no lamp/bedside locker beside it, its more suitable for a child. I guess if the extra person was a child the cost would have been less (often only a small extra fee) and I think If the hotel expects an adult to board like a child then those are the prices that should be charged.

    Pool area clean, hotel in general was clean. AC in bedroom worked well. Location of hotels and views from it are great. Sea view room is a must have-the view on the other side wasn't great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar was very quiet with no entertainment. Also no pool lifeguard which I expected would be standard.

    The hotel were helpful in arranging transfer to airport and opening breakfast early on our last day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dusty and the curtains had holes in them which was abit disappointing and not worth 1000 euros for 5 days stay.

    Great staff and great customer service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good hotels are rather expensive in Cascais as compared to other cities of Portugal, but it can be explained by the beauty and prestige of the town itself )

    We stayed for one night only. We liked the hospitality of the staff, a good breakfast, the availability of a pool. We stayed in one room (2 adults and 2 children), that was convenient for us. Cascais is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, easy walking distance of the old town centre, and very close to the marina, where there are a range of restaurants and bars. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had requested a sea view room and was told there would be am extra charge for a sea view room. This is not stated on the booking conditions and as a result i got a room with a view of the park/car park. I have recommended this hotel to many others but i will not in future because of the arrogant manner in which i was treated by the "mature" male receptionist i checked in with. He was rude and he couldn't care less. We stayed here 2 years ago and this time we noticed a slip in customer service.

    The bedrooms are clean and the buffet breakfast is super. The pool is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great but our room in need of talc and updating. Water stain on roof, pigeon nesting on balcony etc. Small things but noticeable.

    Good buffet choice. Would have been nice to have a la carte option in the evening

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of the town centre. The room was a good size, very clean, well equiped and there was a good range of food for breakfast. There is plenty of parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not the most comfortable. Extra charge for use of safe in room. Room was not as shown on website. Pigeon droppings (lots of) on balcony only cleaned once in the week we were there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a large hotel, having come from a smaller hotel beforehand, it all felt very impersonal, like an airport or conference hotel. Every room the same, well maintained but dark and dated looking design (dark brown furniture, maroon coloured walls, two framed statuettes of hindu gods above bed). Our first room was beside the lift shafts so off to a bad start but even when we moved along the corridor, we found the rooms at the back of the hotel (i.e., not facing the sea/pool) had inadequate sound proofing and as a result were noisy. They overlook car park and beyond that a lovely park. Unfortunately, the park is home to cockerels crowing early each morning, a beer garden with an eighties band playing late into the night (only one of the four nights we stayed). We also had wind whistling threw the gaps in the balconies and ill-closing balcony door. Better windows would sort all this out. If you are a light sleeper, I suspect the rooms with sea view might be better. Surprised to see the positive commentary on breakfast. We thought the food was truly awful. Mass catering, overcooked, barely warm food, even the breads and pastries were unpleasant. Sheer volume of guests meant the breakfast room was manic, not a place you would want to linger over a coffee. Lower your expectations and you will be fine but not something to look forward to. Pool bar food was fine, we stuck to basic sandwiches where they couldn't go too far wrong. There was no question of us wanting to eat in the restaurant in the evening and it looks like we weren't alone in that, it never looked busy. I wasn't even tempted to go for a drink in the bar, there was no atmosphere in the place. On balance, I don't think we will be going back to this hotel.

    Good location, generous sized rooms, staff were pleasant and efficient, agreed quickly to see if alternative room was available when requested following bad night's sleep due to proximity to lift. Good to see that guests discouraged from reserving sun loungers with towels so despite it being busy, we always managed to get 3 sun loungers next to each other, regardless of time of day. Good air con. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: