Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castelo Santa Catarina

Rua de Santa Catarina, 1347, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-457 Porto, Portugal

#65 of 198 B&Bs and Inns in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2282 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - A safety box in the room would be appreciated as Porto can be quite busy and crowded. - For an unusual place like this the staff's attitude seems a bit too formal... like in a chain hotel where it's more appropriate. As for the technical staff, their uniforms at first even made me think that some doctors had come to an ill guest...))) OK, I'm just finding faults)

    + A fantastic place! You actually live in or near a small fairy-tale castle. Very beautiful territory with a church, a huge pine, flowers, statues... the owner's cat walking around. Gorgeous interiors, marvelous breakfast room, classical music... + Practical comfortable rooms (stayed in a modern room), good beds, pillows, shower. Efficient a/c, a kettle in the room. Clean, quite. + Location is good enough (close to the metro station Marques), you can also reach the centre on foot (Rua de Santa Catarina, a bit simple and shabby in the upper part, turns out to be one of the best shopping streets closer to the centre) + Great value for money! The hotel exceeded my expectations. Recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service did not refill the toilet paper. Breakfast finishes at 10'30 even on weekends - which may be a bit too early. There were some little insects plaguing the floor near the window - many of them. We were at the garden rooms though.

    Everything - the staff was really nice and made our stay perfect; the castle is impressive and the facilities were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the atmosphere in the dining room could not be better. Very impressed by the experience overall and at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was the location - would have preferred to be closer into the centre - hotel area not attractive but walk down towards main shopping street was ok - quite a pull back up for those with mobility issues

    Amazing historic building and grounds - really attractive. Very good staff, excellent breakfast in spectacular building. We were in the new garden rooms - very well appointed - old part of hotel houses historic rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very negative atmosphere- signs re penalties for taking food from breakfast, etc. Getting luggage to rooms difficult, no lift.

    The beds were hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was very average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming and helpful staff, clean comfortable room, very quiet, excellent breakfast and easy to get into town walking and back by metro. Local shops where one could buy pastries/wine and supermarket and restaurants. We could fault nothing. Marques nearby has a lovely park and local feel. Parking if you need it. A lovely traditional place to stay with landscaped gardens to enjoy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift, narrow stairs to rooms in the tower, tower rooms very small

    Unbelievably ornate building and furniture design. Good breakfast, excellent coffee...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to use the metro to get around. We were told to walk by the man at the Bento Station. It was a 50 minute struggle up hill through poor neighbourhoods.

    It was visually stunning! Once a private mansion, it has been made into an extraordinary place for your stay. The breakfast setting took our breath away. We took dozens of photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on 3rd floor, narrow, no lift. Dark interior. Photos on the offer do not describe the real situation and give a false impression of place. We did not recognised it when standing in front of it. Expensive cramped parking at 10 € per day.

    The vicinity to the center. Beautiful building. Kind reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long distance from city center

    Beautiful grounds. Lovely building with attention to preserving historical character while providing comfort and modern amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    located far from center but metro nearby .neighborhood so -so. no restaurants nearby. bed uncomfortable . breakfast horrible

    grounds beautiful right in the heart of city. hotel is an old castle,very ornate details .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby and stairs are dark and the carpeting is worn. Still had scaffolding around the building, but due to rain were behind schedule. Pretty long walk to get to restaurants and nightlife.

    Great places to sit outside and read a book or have a glass of wine. Resident cat was fun to have around. Breakfast was very good. Owner gave us a tour of the chapel which was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet is exceptional. On our last day we had an early flight out and the kitchen was kind to set up a take away breakfast for which we were very thankful. Just a shame to have missed the breakfast in such a truly enchanting ambiance. The modern new rooms are a good addition to the hotel. I can't wait to return and see the tower without scaffold. Actually, I shouldn't rave so much. It is getting booked out fairly fast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By no fault of owner the renovations on the exterior were not completed. Apparently bad weather had made this impossible. Would have been nice to see exterior without scaffolding. By our own mistake we had booked a modern room. Would have much rather had a room in castelo but they were booked. Sorry to see these modern buildings on this property.

    The breakfast was very nice and dining room a lovely setting. Owner graciously opened up chapel for us and we had a wonderful conversation hearing the history of this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff were wonderful and the meal servered was delicious. The hotel was located in a very accessible spot and the metro proved to be easy to use. Buying a ticket was a little trickier than Lisbon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unlucky in that building work was going on replacing the tiles on the "castle" so the tower had scaffolding and there were building materials in the gardens which spoilt great photo opportunities as this is a very attractive, if quirky, property. The street outside isn't the most attractive but its only a short walk to Marques square. Several stairs to climb with no lift - not a problem for us but something to consider if you have mobility issues.

    Room was on small side but perfectly acceptable - bathroom had wonderful traditional portuguese tiling. The communal areas, including breakfast room, were stunning - wood panelled rooms with chandeliers and incredible furniture. The Marques metro was 5 minutes walk away situated on an attractive square with a fountain and there's a nice outside cafe in the middle of the square adjacent to the metro. This is only a couple of stops from Trindade, Aliados and Sao Bento which are the three most central stations and the metro runs till 1.am. Staff were very helpful. The continental breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist at the arrival was not supportive to solve our problem with early check out and receive breakfast. Later it turned out not to be a problem though.

    Location was super convenient, size of the room and the bathroom were excellent. Nice garden and nice breakfast. Umbrella was provided by a rainy morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s unfortunate that building work was being carried out during our stay but that is a necessity and had been delayed because of bad weather. This did not spoil our stay and we would definitely stay here again.

    The hotel has beautiful decor and made us feel very special staying there. The room was perfect in every detail and was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm and friendly staff. Lovely grounds. Great room. Satisfying breakfast. Walking distance to main shopping area of Porto. One block to the subway. Very secure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about renovation project on main villa...a bit noisy. Could do with a waste bin in bedroom.

    Lovely garden Room. Lovely garden. Very clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived on a cold wet and windy evening to find the place completely covered in scaffolding & netting. Booked in November for a stay in March. Not once did we have communication from Booking.com or the hotel regarding this. Unable to open shutters due to scaffolding and on Monday morning at 8am builders strutting around outside on scaffolding.Hotel not in a central location but in a rather run down commercial area. Saving grace it is only a short walk to a Metro station. Breakfast average but sometimes cold and only one side of toaster working. Could be really nice but pretending to be something it isn't. Its just a glorified B&B at best. Watch out for all the house rules. No bar as stated on booking.com. Would not recommend

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation so no view except for scaffolding. They gave a discount but disappointed.

    The old castle is beautiful and a very special place to stay. The room was small but you have access to ornate public rooms as a living space. Stunning tile work in the bathroom. One of the nicest we’ve seen in our broad travels. Breakfast space was like a fine dining room. Ornate room, white linens and a formal maitre de. Secure parking on site for 10 euros a day Decent food options nearby but much better in the Riberia

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it can’t be avoided when things are under construction but the view of all the repairs took a little from the overall atmosphere.

    We loved the AMAZING atmosphere of old times. It felt as if we had stepped back in the centuries. Our room was GORGEOUS and welcoming loved all the antique furniture! The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first part of the walk into the town along Santa Catarina was unattractive with lots of disused shops but improved significantly once you got to the pedestrianised area.

    Excellent breakfast with good variety of food offered. Close to the Marques metro station with link to the airport and old town. Ample parking. Setting of the grounds are tranquil and peaceful with lots of outside seating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scaffolding around the main building, to ckean and refurbish the facade.

    Wonderful period decor throughout, hlovely room secure. Parking in the grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was more or less perfect.

    This is a stunning and unique place to stay. We had a two rooms plus bathroom suite in the top of the tower with views in all directions for less than 100 euro per night. That includes a remarkable breakfast of cold and cooked foods. The public rooms are startlingly ornate and the staff lovely. There is a metro stop less than five minutes away that gets you into the city in less than 10 mins. Sadly the weather was not great when we ere there so we did not sit in the extensive gardens, but they are lovely. A tremendous experience. By the end of our five night stay Camilla, the hotel cat, had even stopped biting me - mostly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The castle facade is currently swathed in scaffolding while being preserved. Also the peace of the environment is marred by a large and noisy air-conditioning unit.

    The combination of modern accommodation in the elaborate grounds of a sumptuously decorated castle with dedication to customer satisfaction and comfort. An absolute gem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful old home, breakfast was delicious. We had the room at the top of the house. About one hundred steps to climb but the 360 degree view was worth it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We expected a bit too much from this hotel... - Room was very nice, clean and cosy but smelled of paint. - Hotel was under construction (outside renovation) which was not indicated when we booked one day before arrival. - We had no view from our room on the 2nd floor. Only dirt, construction left overs and even gas tanks in front of the window. - When we complained the staff said the hotel is fully booked. They could only offer to reduce the price by the 10€ for parking per day. - Hotel staff was not smiling or being proactively nice. Mostly not even a Hello. At breakfast only angry and empty faces. - Breakfast was mediocre. Cheapest "juice" and yoghurt, mushrooms from the glass, bread was not fresh. Terrible coffee. Good was the choice of fruits. Cheese was good. - The place could be nice if owners and staff put a little more heart into it and be fair regarding the renovation. It is a construction site. Indicate that in the booking or adapt the price. - You will find a better place and a better value for money somewhere else. - The inside of the hotel is beautiful. That is it, everything else was highly disapppointing.

    - Room was very nice and cosy. - Inside of the hotel is very pretty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the house and the gardens, it is a rare jewl. And the area next to the river is wonderful. We came in spring, and probably it is even nicer during the summer, being next to the river and the pool. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like... It was great

    The property is a hidden gem. The staff are amazing. The breakfast was incredible and you feel like you have gone back in time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Have already rated this hotel very highly, but did not mention the fabulous breakfast and breakfast room!!!! Staff in breakfast room very very delightful! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    What an incredible place, an oasis of fascination in a big city. Wonderful architecture both in and outside. Staff all very charming and very hospitable. For people who enjoy and appreciate wonderfully interesting buildings, this is a must. Fabulous rooms, inside and outside of the castle, we had one night in each, very different but equally as clean, stylish and comfortable. Will go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room that I booked in castle wasn’t available and I jdidnt get told about it prior to arrival and just got put in another room that was damp and smelled a bit but as we was only really sleeping there it wasn’t a major problem. Property could do with bit of love to make it absolutely stunning

    I liked the staff and the location bed was comfortable. Food in morning was ok but could do with more variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we could think of.

    The rooms are clean and spacious, stocked with baths supplies and tea. Breakfast diversified and delicious, with anything you might want. The hotel has a historic vibe, but its cleanliness and working of modern appliances are beyond reproach. It's also really quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was an amazing experience. I have never stayed in a place like this. The hotel is actually a beautiful mansion built in 1910. It has a beautiful garden with tables and chairs outside. The inside of the rooms are very modern and the shower in certain rooms are those with hydromassage. We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were excellent. Super clean. The breakfast is of best quality, they have a variety of fruits like strawberries, kiwi, grapes, melon, orange, and even imported papaya which is not produced in the country. The owner and all the staff are very nice. There is a chapel inside the property which is locked for security reasons, we asked to see it inside and the owner promptly opened it up for us, but before he prepared the lights and music. Also the breakfast buffet is in the main castle living room, which an impeccable decoration from the 1900s which women sculpted furniture and crystal chandelears. The staff were also very informative and helpful in showing us where to eat local food at a reasonable price, what to see in the city and tour options. Staying here is like visiting an old time museum which has been kept immaculate. I honestly think this hotel deserves a 5 star rating. Would definitely come back and bring family and friends to see it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Onsite parking was available for reasonable fee ( not a given in Porto ) Property is super atmospheric as it is actually an old (small) castle and its grounds. Room was however fully modern and comfortable. Friendly staff. Marques Metro station is less than 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Agreed we travelled in December and expected the weather to be quite cold but the rooms were very chilly too, we stayed in the older part. We turned the heating up to maximum but it took a few days for the room to warm up which made it a little uncomfortable.

    The hotel had real character and that's exactly what we were looking for. The beds in the rooms were very comfortable and the water in the shower very hot which was lovely. Breakfast was very good too with plenty to choose from. Staff were lovely, very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the modern wing .the bathroom was uncomfotable to use. Toilet was too high and we had only a shower curtain so the bathroom was flooded with every shower

    The person at the reception gave us the most amazing service and attended to all our needs and wants Beautiful place Wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was okay but offering was a bit boring. Would have been nice to have some variety during 4 days.

    Great location, walking distance to metro or even to city center. Big and comfortable bed, nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking could have been cheaper (or at least free) given that you park inside of the hotel's outer gate.

    We place is very authentic. The room was perfectly clean, the location (despite not being so close to Porto centre) is close to the metro station. The breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Castelo is a beautiful and charming property. It has lovely garden spaces to sit in and relax when the weather is nice out. The dining hall looks like a room out of a castle. The space is actually really nice. The room was comfortable and spacious. The location is just okay. It is about a 15 min walk to the centre area. But the walk it self is nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was located in a garden house - very private. In the rainy weather, an umbrella was placed behind the door. The room was large, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast in beautiful rooms in main house was wow-experience in which the local cat was not missing. The treasurers of hotel were very friendly to order a taxi or to print airline tickets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything

    An easy 10 minute walk to the heart of the old town. The hotel consists of lovely common areas full of antiques. The courtyard is an oasis The staff is charming and helpful. I would stay here again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is available. They requested 10 euro and did not give any receipts. Moreover, they told us that they do not guarantee safety on the parking (written on the information which provided under check -in). Not clear - What for they asked extra money, especially If taking into account that public parking on the street is free of charge during weekend.

    A lovely castle, great interior, comfortable beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very unique property! We stayed in rooms that had all the modern facilities but the property itself is hundreds of years old. We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing......all was perfect!!!

    All was excellent in the hotel right from check in until we checked out....very friendly, helpful staff throughout the hotel. Lovely homely, family feel about the hotel and the castle part of the hotel was amazing in it's decor and everything was so clean!! Good advice from the owner regarding trips and restaurants in Porto. Was lovely to be shown the private chapel and told the history of the hotel from the present owner who was a very gracious gentleman. Keep up the good standards and l would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to tourists.....l would return myself as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No interior elevator to upper level rooms in castle.

    Exceptional hotel with impressive interior and exterior, extraordinarily cared for. Antique lovers paradise

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the hotel even the short walk back up the hill from the very centre of town.

    Beautiful building, excellent breakfast and fantastic staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish that the location had been more central.

    We had comfortable and clean accommodations and a full buffet breakfast. The hotel, while a long walk to most Porto sites, was quiet and had great outdoor spaces. The reception staff was friendly and helpful and directed us to a local restaurant that was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all. If you're in the Castle rooms, you'll know that there'll be stairs. If you don't want these, choose the other rooms. We were totally happy dealing with the stairs.

    Who would not love to stay in a little Castle, with Portuguese tiles and great views? The vibe/ ambience here is great! Beautiful gardens, lovely furniture, great breakfasts - we adored it and couldn't stop smiling! And all very close to the old city. We walked heaps - but the metro is very close to the hotel if that's what you'd prefer. The staff were all fantastically helpful, and the young man who checked us in gave us a great little orientation, including transport info and care/restaurant advice, so that we could make the most of our few days in Porto. Parking was excellent and on CCTV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally elegant property with classic castelo decor. Lots of choice at breakfast & great coffee! Security guard at entrance/ parking. Lovely renovated bathroom. Nice respite from gritty city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... the climb to the 4th floor was hard work as no lift.. but it's worth it as it's a beautiful room.

    Beautiful grounds & building. First night was in the main building on the 4th floor, subsequent nights in a garden room. Both rooms were very comfortable & spacious & spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly & helpful & speak excellent English. The hotel is really conveniently placed a few minutes walk from Marques metro & a 10/15 minute walk down the road to the shopping centre etc. I thoroughly Recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can' think of anything that I didn't like about the Castelo Sainta Caterina . It exceeded all my expectations. This time, "quaint" and "charming" are true adjectives and great value for the $.

    We booked a garden room and it was beautiful. The hotel itself is a mini-castle with beautiful gardens. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was very nice and the location was very convenient - 1 block from the metro station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was everything we imagined and hoped for.

    The castle is a unique and a very peaceful place to stay. It has an interesting history and very appealing architecture and features throughout. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comprehensive choice, good breakfast provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little off the beaten path. Initial reception was not very welcoming.

    Beautiful castle and lovely room. Staff was helpful with early breakfasts and directions within the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator but staff is kind to help when they saw two girls with heavy luggage

    good location, few minutes to the hotel from metro if you choose public transportation from airport and walking easily to the old town as well. kind staff to provide info as much as they can

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was too short.

    A beautiful building especially the castle section. You do not feel that you are in the middle of a big city. Great helpful staff. Very clean. It was lovely to have tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is a charming and well preserved palace. Everything was clean and had every amenity we needed (even a magnifying mirror!). Breakfast was outstanding and served in a beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Best accommodation we have had on this trip. It was beautiful, luxurious, vale for money with superb staff. Loved it and didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds are beautiful - an oasis in the middle of the city. Breakfast was delicious and located in a gorgeous dining room. Staff were great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Royal Suite!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge in the room would be nice, but I understand that there was no place to put it :-) Also, the drawers in the closet could not be used, because the door could not be fully opened (too close to bed). One could probably find a solution for opening these drawers... The distance to the city centre was larger than expected.

    I could choose a larger, "modern" room but I decided to take a room in the castle tower. And I do not regret. It as small, not much place to move, but one just comes to sleep there, so more space is not really needed. And the bathroom was modern!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We knew we would be in the old part of the hotel so expected the stairs... there were 85 of them! The newer outside rooms are easily accessible.

    This is a quirky hotel full of character, with fixtures & fittings reflecting it's age. Gorgeous chandeliers, furniture, clocks mirrors & original Portuguese tiles. Staff are friendly & speak good English. The motorcycle was parked securely under a verandah. We had a suite consisting of 2 rooms & a modern bathroom with views towards the river area of the city. Breakfast was excellent ( including the little custard tarts!) We had the hotel cat adopt us & she slept outside our room! The gardens are well maintained & there is a little grotto there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived during the rush hour and the drivers in Oporto are very inconsiderate. Nobody gives an inch and the journey from the airport was very fraught.

    A real gem! A very interesting and unique building and totally unexpected in the area in which it is located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both rooms didn´t have trashcans (only in bathrooms)

    Very good breakfast and spacious bathrooms. Large bed! And don´t be afraid of garden room (we booked it because all rooms in castle were first night booked already) - it was much larger than the one in the castle and very comfy and included all the same facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil significant enough for us to mention.

    The old hotel building and grounds Original furniture and features in the hotel Breakfast room New garden room where we stayed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be less expensive (5€ would be enough). Reception staff could work on their effectiveness and attentiveness. Our room was poorly localized.

    Breakfast was great, good variety, breakfast staff super attentive and kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On weekend night the noise from a nearby bar went from ten pm to midnight

    The hotel's decor was delightfully over the top. Also, it was just far enough away from the heart of the city not to have road noise. With a courtyard at the entrance where we could leave the car access was super simple.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - more tours - small bar available (they do it as a service) but in house

    Receptionist did not know times at the local Church which was just 3 minutes away from hotel. Also we thought they could offer more tours for companies both inside and outside of Porto - other hotels did this Stairs go up to breakfast was not secure for the elderly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is quite small but you will don't care. Hotel is really beautiful and clean.

    Nice place. Porto is a beautiful city, but this hotel is so marvelous you don't want to go out. Beautiful garden, great stuff, amazing "living room" for guests. Delicious breakfast!.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you don't like walking this is a 15 to 20 minute uphill walk from the centre.

    Stayed in a suite in the old house, we like quirky, and this fits the bill. Very ornate. A unique experience. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities provided. Far quieter than I expected for a hotel in this location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an old castle on top of the hill. We’re staying in the old section, which means stairs to lug the cases up. It’s a beautiful old building. Staff was very good; very helpful. The room itself is small. It has tea/coffee making facilities, a reasonable sized bathroom with bath and shower (good water pressure) and good speed wi-fi. Has heating but no air-conditioner (which wasn’t needed although not sure how it would be in really hot weather) in our room (in the tower section of the hotel. The new rooms, I think, would have a/c). Very good breakfast in a beautiful room was included in the price. The hotel even provided a special breakfast on our last day as we were leaving before breakfast started. Hotel is highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cristina the owner are super nice woman, she was very kind for us, she put in our fridge some ingredients for the first day and a bottle of wine. She take us foe a short drive and show us all the recommended place nearby our villa (super-market, restaurants, etc) the swimming pool was excellent !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the interior of the hotel surprised. Everything is very nice, cozy and comfortable. Removed from the bustling tourist center by a 15-minute walk. The room is large and spacious. beautiful courtyard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms in the garden are not nice. They are like a garage to stay in. Well inside they are clean and well furnished but you can't compare them with the charming old rooms.

    It is very to the center of Porto. The place is unique!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room - Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues really.

    We liked the vibe of the place - historic yet contemporary. First class comforts and a delicious breakfast. Definitely look to stay there again given the VFM.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: