Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Challet Fonte Nova

Rua da Fonte Nova, nº 8, 2460 - 042 Alcobaça, Portugal

#1 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Alcobaça

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    It was beautiful, charming, spotless and overall amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was perfect

    This was a beautiful and elegant property with attention to every detail. Our room was gorgeous and comfortable including a beautiful and spacious bathroom. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The grounds were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    The location was very good for seeing the Monastery and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    The location was very good for seeing the Monastery and getting to Nazareth or 90 minutes to Lisbon Old City. Everything was very lovely! We meant to play pool in the honor bar lounge but didn't get to it. The restaurant Maria recommended was also very good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel, but the room and service was not what we have expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was poor, no eggs, nothing warm. Parking was available only upon our arrival. The next day the entry to the hotel was closed due a preparation for a party, we have not been informed in advance. We had to park the car quite faraway on the street and clime up to the hotel in heavy rain.

    Good coffee, nice selection of fresh fruit. The bed was comfortable, but not wide enough. Very nice building and interior.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    This is a lovely estate with comfortable accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The B&B was beautiful, with lovely public areas and very comfortable rooms. The owner was very helpful and friendly and gave good recommendations about restaurants. It was an easy walk into town and a good central place to visit other towns with historical sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice place for winter mode.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping for a garden and place to walk around and that was just not true... it was quite small. The pictures seem to show you a bigger place that it really.

    Breakfast was nice. It's a win 'cause it's at the CITY CENTER.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Superb magic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being sincere, the sorrounding is not the best but don't care, it deserves to spend time in the Challet!!!

    I love it all!!!! It is a must!!! Exquisite taste and attention to detail to the extreme! Every detail is taken care of and with success. Superb stay and I am certainly coming back!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I wasn't staying longer, but I did decide to stay an extra day because of the experience and optional plans for my visit.

    Hearing the distant crow of the rooster as I was waking up...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Very stylish, luxury and quiet bed and breakfast type of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stylish, luxury and quiet bed and breakfast type of accommodation. It's run by a wonderful family. Everything you can wish for in a small town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Elegant beauty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel was first class throughout! The grounds were beautifully maintained, and the interior was elegant. Our room was large, with a small balcony overlooking the front gardens and fountain. Breakfast was delicious and bountiful. The town center is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Romantic Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside is there is only tea and no coffee in the room, but on day two we were provided with instant coffee.

    We loved this little hotel. Absolutely stunning property. The room was spacious and gorgeous. The marble bathroom was huge and luxurious. The balcony overlooking the property was spacious and very private. The breakfast was delicious. The ambiance of the entire property was elegant and romantic. The secret garden was a lovely touch. We highly recommend this guesthouse for anyone looking to explore the monasteries and small towns in the region. Pedro, who works nights, is an excellent bartender and gives great tips for exploring the region. Alcobaca downtown is very safe and walkable and has some excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    highly recommneded
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing we can even mention

    all over wonderful experience. from welcome and reception waiting for us, to great facility, room size, bed conforts, classic and well maitained furniture, antique items in the rooms, books on the table. felt at home welcoming drink, delicious breakfast, great in room service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Fairytale heaven
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was delicious , beautiful selection of cheeses . Suzanne who served breakfast was one of the nicest people you can hope to meet , as was the lady of the house , over all one of the most beautiful , tranquil experiences we have had on our drives around this great country .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Gem of an old style boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A gem. Small, friendly, quiet and very comfortable. The decor is perfect - period furniture in high ceilinged rooms, beautiful carpets, welcoming sofas. The service is attentive and helpful. Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms excellent. Breakfast delicious, with the freshest croissants and pastries. The garden above the house is worth exploring. There are excellent restaurants in the centre of the town, only 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.2
    The Challet is very charming and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The climate control could be better. It was difficult to warm the room, specially bathroom.

    The Challet is very charming and cozy. The decoration is very beautiful and transports us into an early era. The gardens are very well treated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant, quiet start to our holiday in Northern Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only a couple of sockets so we had to juggle charging mobiles, tablets & cameras.

    The staff were delightful and the breakfast was excellent. Parking was on site and the superb monastery we'd come to Alcobaça to see was a mere 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Impeccable service and facilities, beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impeccable service and facilities, beautiful room. Lovely breakfast. Like going back in time in a great way

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Town & accommodations exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world charm in common areas, very helpful staff, and fun room at top of the house. Recommendations for dinner were right on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    great Host and beautiful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great Host and beautiful setting! Best stay in Portugal so far.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Beautiful.. Great staff. Too many good things to list. Everything just perfect...I will return..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Liked the vibe of the place, staff, peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - New Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather poor, lacking many basics. Eggs, bacon, toast, hot foods.

    Liked the vibe of the place, staff, peaceful location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Charm and elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Challet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Very charming hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We thought everything was perfect. Beautifully decorated, gorgeously presented breakfast, staff extremely welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    Of the seven places we visited during this trip, this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Of the seven places we visited during this trip, this was the one we felt most at home in. I would like to own an hotel like this! Very comfortable, beautifully decorated, very nice and attentive staff, excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff are very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are very nice and friendly. The breakfast is spectacular and the room is very spacious and beautiful. We stayed in the suite and we had a great private terrace with a lovely view.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.2
    All of it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst the hotel boasted a most elegant sitting room, I would have liked a more comfortable chair(s) in the bedroom.

    All of it! Wonderful building, elegantly decorated, attentive staff, first class location.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    - wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - only thing I would really dare to say is that the shower cabin is rather small. There's nothing wrong with it but the room and hotel is otherwise so beautiful that you just can't help but notice it. Really hardly a negative point actually, unless for some reason you need more space in the shower cabin.

    - wonderful staff - beautiful, charming house (we stayed in the old part of the hotel) - great breakfast, beautifully set out, lots of attention for detail - beautiful room, very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    The quality of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quality of the property. Elegant, classic and comfortable . Absolutely pristine! A great welcome by the charming owner, Maria. Also immaculate and spacious rooms. We liked the quiet location and yet a few minutes walk to the lively town square.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    This was our finest accommodation of our trip so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This was our finest accommodation of our trip so far. A beautiful old mansion decorated and refurbished in fine style. Our room was superb. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was beautifully presented, plentiful and delicious. We loved Fonte Nova!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Everything, except the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed had a wooden board under the mattress instead of a slatted frame, which made it very uncomfortable. There was a little smell of mould.

    Everything, except the bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Quiet, close to the monatery, beautifully appointed rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Quiet, close to the monatery, beautifully appointed rooms, incredible breakfast and wonderfully friendly and attentive staff. A five star experience for a three star price !!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    Welcoming staff in a beautiful building with quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming staff in a beautiful building with quality finishes. Well located for visiting the region and a peaceful haven. Will definitely return to try the spa treatments!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.8
    A beautiful location, beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A beautiful location, beautifully decorated. A tranquil mpment well enjoyed

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Tudo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tv muita Pequeno. Quarto precisava mais 1 poltrona. WC hand cream.

    Tudo. Pequeno almocar quarto

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Excellent facility, excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent facility, excellent service!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful accommodation, v.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the fact that there is a very smelly river close by.

    Beautiful accommodation, v. good breakfast Staff most helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    The room, the garden, the public areas, everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think a minibar and a cuttle with tea/Coffey could make the stay even better

    The room, the garden, the public areas, everything

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, proximity/walking distance to the Alcobaca town centre, nice heritage décor

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Close to the old monestary and the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the old monestary and the center. Beautiful, clean room. Kind staff

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Small sort of B&B very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small sort of B&B very nice. All rooms are well decorated, breakfast is fresh. Furniture's are vry stylish

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful house and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful house and room. Close to the city centre. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Between a small hotel and an old romantic house, with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Between a small hotel and an old romantic house, with an excellent service, in a quiet area, walking distance to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Oasis of quality and exceptional customer service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oasis of quality and exceptional customer service, everything is top-class. Must to stay for 2-3 days at least.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    The Chalet is a very beutiful and romantic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    The Chalet is a very beutiful and romantic place. located in the center of Alcabeca. The stuff is very friendly and suporting/

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Really beautiful house with wonderful décor & furnishings

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.3
    Very nice house, cosy, wel decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    need boiling water for tea

    Very nice house, cosy, wel decorated Good presentation and good tasting breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very conveniently located.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    The house, room, service, breakfast, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its nothing that i dont like

    The house, room, service, breakfast, parking...

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: