Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Choromar Apartments 3 stars

Rua Cândido Guerreiro, lote 22/23, 8200-347 Albufeira, Portugal

#56 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were lovely would of liked the rooms to be cleaned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was nice and clean but too deep I wouldn’t be able to bring my children here

    The rooms were lovely would of liked the rooms to be cleaned just sweep floor and tables we were there 1 week and only towels changed,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub/ restaurant could have been an it bigger.

    Everything was brilliant. Very safe for kids at the pool and the apartment was fab couldn't have asked for more and will defo go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Place to stay for few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from city center. Laud music from bar till 2AM. Sone of kitchen furniture was broken.

    Room was clean. Staff friendly. If you travel with kids ask for block No2. At others there will be noise grom bar till 2 AM

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Some staff werev nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One receptionist was v rude and unhelpful nit v imformative about room etc Shop v small and staff were v rude Pool was v small no entertainment or kids club daily V hard to get taxi with 3 or more kids It is a good distance from everything

    Some staff werev nice Apartment was v big and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    good spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights

    hotel BAR very hot, no aircon. in playground merrygo round, 2 animals missing and area left was sharp and could cause injury to a child fridge not very clean no sound on channel floor on tv and tv location was fixed in a cabinet near table, couldnt really view from sofa oven was rubbish, tookm ages to cook anything

    good spacious apartment frequent towel changes lots of ware etc for use and pots nice pool area playround nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.5
    Do not book these apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely rude staff from bar staff to reception to women that worked in the supermarket which is very expensive. Cockroaches in room a few nights even though on 2nd floor. Location of apartments as in you need taxis to old town but walking to new town is doable. Cleanliness of apartments - bed linen changed once the whole time we where there, apartments were not cleaned properly by cleaners floors always dirty. Towels changed every 2 days sometimes. They give u one roll of toilet paper between 5 people to last 2 days then when u ask for more they look at u as if you’ve 2 heads. U can’t make complaints to management as they just dismiss u and threaten to throw u out which happened to a family in our company of around 20 people. Would not entertain these apartments at all.

    The only thing I can say about these apartments is the food was just ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were clean , kitchen and bathroom recently refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote location- had to get taxi as it’s a good 20 min walk to anywhere. Taxi cost 5/7 euro . But we waited over an hour each night for a taxi as “Jesus” in reception was not very helpful.

    Rooms were clean , kitchen and bathroom recently refurbished. This is a budget hotel and you get what you paid for

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our trip was brilliant from start to finish...we had a few problems with flight mix ups and days and Graca at reception was only pleased to help us out. We were a family of 2 adults and 3 children (15,11,10) we all equally enjoyed our stay..the pool was great fun with plenty of other families around and the evening entertainment was great!!! The location was a bit out...but was 5 mins in a taxi to the strip which cost €4.50 for 5 of us..and 10 mins to the old town which cost €6.50 so you can’t complain!! We found all of the staff extremely friendly and our 2young girls fell in love with Pedro the evening entertainer!!he was brilliant with the children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    huge space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shower was leaking and so floor was always wet when somebody takes a bath. no internet. need to walk a few meters to go to swimming pool -> the pool door access was locked so we need to turn around to access pool. a bit far from civilization but was not a problem if you have a car. reception misplaced our key and took an hour to find.

    huge space. food at resto was great. mini grocery available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay once again!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were sometimes a bit grumpy but do work long hours

    Was our 2nd visits to choromar and this time was ever better. Immaculate rooms, tidy, fab staff. Pools spotless! We went as a hen party and had the best best time. A short 10min walk to the strip or 5mins in a taxi. 15 mins to old town and beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    vERY DISAPPOINTING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Full of stag and hen parties, who had no regard for other guest, they were loud and used disgusting language. They took over the pool area. Families with children could not use the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent staff. Very clean and close to everything with taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noisy groups. Bar was not big enough to accommodate drinkers and eating. One hen party and stag party took over the kids pool drinking so my kids or other kids couldn't use the pool at all for 2days

    Very clean. Mix up with the bedroom booked but was quickly sorted. Graca was brilliant and there was entertainment every night.food was very good in the bar. They do take away so can bring food to yours apartment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Clean cheap friendly lovely pool food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nighttime security/reception worker (male) should not be working in any industry which involves working with people. Very aggressive with a lot of our party and the talk of the pool through the day from most of the guests at the hotel. He must tar all large groups with the same brush which shouldn’t be the case, I received a written last warning on the first day for shouting at a friend on a balcony and security acted like a drunk hooligan and escalated the situation with his aggressive manner, our party split up into rooms and disappeared to our rooms and could not believe it when we found out he was “security” as we literally thought he was just a drunk, we stayed on the 2nd floor and even when entering our hotel after verbals from the “security “ we were still been screamed at by him as he was walking down towards reception 0*

    Reception and bar staff brilliant very helpful, helped book a trip to the water park in 30 mins for 29 adults. Borrowing spare key to get in room if one of the group had already went to bed early no questions asked. Taxis booked to strip whenever asked. Top class 5*

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at gone midnight and the hotel reception wasn’t ready for us. Keys not ready etc. The security guard that’s on patrol in the evening is a happy soul NOT. Stay away or approach with caution! I definitely wouldn’t recommend for families as it is cheap and cheerful which attracts stags/hens/ birthdays.

    The property was in a good location, in between old and new town however wasn’t much around but the hotel did have a shop and restaurant. Reviews say 10-15 minutes walk but you need to at least double it to hit anything other than apartments. Pool was great and food was really good too. I would stay here again if was with friends and not family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    The pool and the bar area were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no WiFi in the apartments. The rooms were quite cold and the water wasn't hot enough for a shower.

    The pool and the bar area were great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from the old town - it took us 50 minutes to walk.

    Great size family apartments & facilties. Lovely food at the bar. Friendly staff. Heated swimming pool. Brilliant value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    most peacefull relaxing chilled out holiday we have had ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    language of some of the guests ,they were foul mouthed

    apartment , pool area ,sun bathing area ,bar all spotless ,free bus to beach was an excellent idea . no smoking inside the buildings which was great ,would love to return for another holiday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    The apartment was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I had a lovely holiday but the cleaners really let this hotel down. The hotel is in a residential area so taxis were a must. The food was way overpriced Noise from drinkers went on sometimes till 2 am

    The apartment was lovely private, well equipped and good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Winter holiday Albufeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was it was slightly out of the way from the strip and beach but we walked it one day it took about half an hour but was pleasent , but this was outweighed by the free shuttle bus from the apartments which dropped you off at the beach at 10 and picked you up at 4 but taxis were reasonably priced if you needed them

    The apartment was large overlooking the pool ,it had everything in it you could need for cooking if you wished , the cleaners came in and cleaned and changed the towels everyday ,although it said every two days could not fault it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.3
    Cheap accommodation, suited more for the party goers rather than a chilled few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude Staff (encountered just one pleasant member of staff) Non - equipped kitchen (even had to pay for washing up liquid and sponges) had to pay for remote, hairdryer etc as nothing was supplied. Loud and expensive bar area. Had to pay for the small gym and sauna which was also expensive and was only in hour slots no availability to pay jointly for the whole stay. 20min walk to strip, good if that’s what you are going for.

    The pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    I'm so sad to be home we had a fantastic time
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I said we found zero fault..only that brilliant WiFi in main pool bar area but none you could purchase for your own apartment..but we got over it..and we will be back

    We had the two bed apartment on ground floor..it was amazing value for money and we had so much space which was brilliant with kids..Everything was A1..we could not fault it..now beach and strip was a good walk..but close enough €3 in taxi...we will be back next year...Food and drink was brilliant no complaints from kids either which was a shock to us...Great selection of icecreams...really relaxed atmosphere...very clean...I read a review before I got there that said that there was a lot of cats that hung about..and there was a little feeding box across the road for them but other than that I didn't see any...but I stayed in another resort close by and all I saw was rats at night so I was glad it was cats this time...very helpful with anything we wanted...my only flaw was no WiFi in apartments but very good in main pool bar area...so I'd highly recommend this place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.8
    It's like staying in a zoo only worse a zoo cleans after the aminals
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden space was covered with dog dirty with a strong smell we had a cats and dogs lying on the sun beds and outside table we couldn't use the garden or balcony areas when we spoke to the hotel receptionist she said it's a friendly dog There is cat hair in the bed room drawers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.8
    Could have been good stay let down by reception night staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    reception staff unhelpful.air con getting fitted above early in morning our unit fitted but told it don't work.Asked for sheet for sofa bed was told to late first night asked next day still no sheet.

    quiet area plenty of pools bar staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Like Albufeira, would stay a lot closer to the old town on next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Far to noisy in the early hours of the night, facing a local housing estate, woul have preferred a private complex, etc.

    The room was lovely and spacious, you had you own swimming pool for each block of apartments. The big downfall is that the property is to far out from the bottom half of the strip and the beach/old town. Ideal for familys though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Would go back to Portugal but not to these apartments as clientele tends to be groups getting drunk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a bit far from beaches/good bars and restaurants. Unfortunately, alot of stag parties/hen parties stay here so it's very noisy and alot of these people were very inconsiderate. Definitely need ear plugs if you want a good night's sleep as you hear everything!

    Reception staff were lovely - so helpful. The accomodation is a bit tired/old - in need of renovation but it was very clean and pool areas are lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    There is a nice playground for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We found the beds very hard and the Kid´s pool too deep for toddlers so we could not spend much time there. We also prefer a more local experience, this Hotel is very much adapted to Tourists from the UK (Food at Restaurant etc.) but that´s Albufeira:)

    There is a nice playground for kids. The staff is friendly and the whole property is very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    It could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some small items were missing, for example, sponge and liquid for dishwashing. But the main thing what we did not like very much was an attitude- warnings everywhere. "If you do that, we call police, if you do that, we gonna charge a money from your card". I don't see its very welcoming. No tv console, no iron in the apartment, no hairdryer- everything for an extra cost and deposit. No wifi in the room, only in a public places, but it is said in booking. Average- I don't like to be treated like a thief or vandal.

    The 2 bedroom apartment was big, in a good condition, clean. The children loved a possibility to use a pool and a playground. Nice that there is a parking in front of the apartment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Cheap and good enough for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy.small, no privacy.tiny balcony. Far from the shops and the beach. Poor swiming pool and not great food.

    Cheap and good enough for one night. Apartment small but comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Girls weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just location really although did have shuttle bus to the beach which was good. Had to get taxi to go out at night. But not to far away so only about 6 euros. Just spoilt at bit by some rowdy and rude lads stag do I think. Kept us awake especially Sunday morning as they were next door could hear everything. Security did ask them to stop on 3 occasions but they took.no notice and we're very rude. Stopped us staying by the pool as so bad as they had been drinking all day. But that was only small problem we had a great weekend. And couldn't fault the place or staff.

    Nice place very big clean rooms good value for money. Friendly staff. Nice food value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    We had a great holiday here and wouldnt hesitate to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Some of the apartments are residential and the owners would let there dogs bark from about 8.30am but it didn't go on for to long, 15 min walk to strip.

    Big clean apartment, the sofabeds were as big as the single beds and comfortable, the shower and toilet was spot on and the bar prices were good 2 euros for a bottle of super bock or sagres.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed it but we wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that all the entertainment was geared up for the northerners and they seem to take over

    We liked the room because it was big and had everything we needed there and it was cleaned regularly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Very good holiday at the Choromar apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People claiming sun loungers for other people not even staying in the site...7 out of 10 loungers every day.

    The whole complex was very clean, the rooms were good size and each site had its own pool. The most important point is the staff are friendly, very pleasant, helpful and honest. I lost my phone with bank and credit card and the staff found it and handed it in for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Had a very relaxing holiday and the staff were extra helpful at all times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area could have been bigger

    The apartment was very big and comfy. Had a lot of English channels on tv and the fridge was a large fridge freezer 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Relaxing
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit to far from shops and the strip it was a long walk to get to a shop and the beach was a way to far, you would need to get a taxi and a good 10 to15 minute drive.

    The property was lovely. It had a lovely pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    The location of the apartments were pretty poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start. New Aircon fitted in both of our apartment's but were not working. Upon enquiry we were informed that it would not be available for the duration of our stay. The cookers in both of our apartments were faulty/ not working. This greatly reduced our ability to cook in our self catering apartments. Also had quite a few cockroaches running about in both of our apartments.

    Some staff were friendly. One front desk/ security man was quite rude and very unhelpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place. Family friendly. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on site mini mart is quite expensive. But there is a big supermarket 7,mins walk away.

    We really enjoyed our stay.. the apartments were a little out but taxis were reasonable. The complex itself was fantastic value for money. The food was great. It was very child friendly and we will be returning next year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Really friendly staff, fun restaurant on site and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was no airco which I really missed as it was 40 degrees at one point.

    The staff down at the restaurant were incredibly friendly. Karaoke night's with Pedro were allot of fun!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    The pool was not busy and the apartment was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to the bar from the apt was too far the bar decor was terrible, the distance to the strip, with a bad shuttle service, charge €1 per person and run a proper service,some of the staff were rude, dog in the next apt barked all the time, so unfair on other people trying to relax.

    The pool was not busy and the apartment was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting wasn't great, and the rooms had no A/C which made sleeping very uncomfortable at times. Other than that only issue was that you're only given one room key, so be careful you don't forget it because extras are given sparingly and reluctantly.

    Room (3 bed apartment) was huge! Staff friendly and helpful. Near to the centre and a number of supermarkets, and has everything you could need otherwise in the minimart downstairs. Perfect for big groups, partying holidays and families alike.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity about the location but loads of taxis available and staff are great to organise them for you.

    Great staff, lovely facility's. Loved the pool activities and Pedros entertainment in the evenings!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service wasn't very good , half job done , wifi only in bar , air conditioning units didn't work , reception staff (one In particular) a bit negative , too far out , shuttle bus to beach was only an 8 seater so you had to wait sometimes till third round trip was done to get on , the shop put 2 euros on all products and the restaurant charged too much for plain food . Also advertised as 5 pools really only one you'd go to , pool got very dirty too and the sun loungers had seen way better days !!

    Barman was friendly , could see kids playing from apt , family friendly , relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Family annual holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The apartment we had seemed to be infested with crockroaches at night we killed up to 10 or more every night rm. 104 block 29. You could walk in off the street to our pool and other pools no barriers so a child could easily fall in and the same with the main pool. Also a blue line in pool if you step over it it got very deep not that safe for children. The area around was a bit run down also a good walk to restaurants. The strip not for families and you certainly wouldn't walk to the old town.

    The view from our apartment to the left was fabulous (sea view) and the size of the apartment was very good. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall great place, lovely and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning units there but not plummed in, no fans offered. Deals for water parks not as good as online prices (do that before you leave home as they won't print off your booking) Oven wasn't working, we weren't told and offered nothing in place of (would have been handy for pizza etc for kids) this added to our expenses 😐 Nothing to do with the apartment place more because of its Portugal, there are flying cockroaches (harmless apparently) we weren't aware of this only came across 2, 1 on the balcony and 1 in the apartment as we left Windows open for air-just can't leave the windows open at night (plummed in air conditioning would have prevented this)

    It was clean, comfortable, a little walk from the main areas but that was nice. Staff were nice & helpful, freedom of coming and going, pool shared with 2 blocks but also a communal pool at main reception. No times for no pool access 😀 Privacy, but a couple of nights noisy neighbours but they were there to party. Complementary bus 2 times a day to beach. Uber available easily enough, or reception would call a taxi (Uber better value) but taxis not expensive, we only used after buying shopping (water is very heavy lol) We used Uber to go to and from water park, made it a little more expensive (€8) instead of walking to the coach stop and stopping everywhere on the way to and from water park. 5min walk to local bus stop, but if your only going to the shops walking there and taxi back as cheap (there was 3 of us) Overall great place esp if you don't mind walking a wee bit. Definitely don't need a car unless you want to go travelling further. The biggest shopping centre in the Algarve was only €10 each way in uber (depending on the time you go) The airport transfers are very easy approx 8 seater so going more or less to your destination (we made the mistake of booking with Rideways, they cancelled our booking less than 24hrs before travel & to rebook with them was going to double the price! so we got a taxi out of desperation which was €62 the transfer with the apartments was €35. Unfortunately it was too late by the time I got the email to book the transfer with the apartments) we booked the airport transfer for return 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Strip was only a 15 minute walk away and beach not much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would've liked better kitchen cleaning facilities, seems silly to have to buy washing up liquid.

    Strip was only a 15 minute walk away and beach not much further. Easy access to bus routes as well. Can't fault the "sofa bed" as it was a normal bed just situated in the lounge area! Pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Great value accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Food was great and the bar staff were friendly. If going with a toddler be aware that you need to get a taxi to get to the old town as it is too far to walk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Happy family!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit away from the beach.

    It was about 10mins walk or less to main strip which in heat was tough with buggies but was actually ideal as we were away from the noise by night. There were 2 ways to walk to the strip which was good. Our apt block had its own pool which was great to avoid overvrowding. Entertainment each night in hotel which was good as wanted to avoid the strip late at night with kids. Goo variety of english channels on tv. Also had parents with us but they were very pleased wih location and their allocated apt. My dad loves to sit on he balcony exploring so was very pleased with his view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Pool area is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer to the airport wasn't book despite paying for it and double checking with reception. Had to organise myself at 4;45am even though reception said they had it organised. Nearly missed flight.

    Pool area is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Shockingly bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Staff in this Hotel were the worst staff ive ever come across. Unfriendly, unhelpful and because of them my children were left in tears the morning of our departure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had one key for the room witch was difficult if we came home at different times

    The hotel was very clean. I like the pool facilitys and the staff we're welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Almost but not quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is charged as a supplement; safe deposit box, iron, TV remote, gym access, jacuzzi, sauna etc also the pool and bar area gets extremely busy. The description mentions 5 pools, we had access to one and saw one other.

    Apartment was generously sized and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. Passable no-frills hotel/complex on the outskirts of the centre - you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff were not very friendly, breakfast was Coverd in oil it was horrible.

    Our appartment had its own large Pool with plenty of sun loungers shared with 2 other apartments, the appartment was fantastic value for money as we stayed in June but is more expensive in July and August

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Would stay again very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Is a bit of a walk away from the main town but only costs about £5 in a taxi

    The apartments were lovely clean and spacious and had a pool view and staff were very helpful. I would stay there again no problem they had a good size pool and good entertainment in the bar. we didnt have young children with us but had a nice family atmosphere very relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    May holiday Heaven!🍹🌅🍀🌊❤
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on our balcony door didn't work. I told this to two staff members but they didn't seem to worry. We were on 4th floor so I let it go, however if I was on a lower floor definately would have asked again to be moved or have it fixed.

    A lovely clean Apartment,friendly staff & nice pool area.The food & drinks were very reasonably priced. The Apartments are about a 10 minute walk from the new town strip Albuferia..but you will need a Taxi to the old town. It's easy to get a taxi & not too expensive. The reception will book a taxi for you. We also booked a trip to the zoomarine..great day out the shows are brillant especially dolphin show & Acrobat show, also Seal & Bird shows. I really enjoyed my stay at the CHOROMAR & would book here again. 👍🌅🍹

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Out the way but value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was quite a long walk to the strip

    The rooms were big and clean and the bar and staff were good , when it wasnt full of drunken stag doos .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Best hol ever in albufeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a 40 min walk to old town but weather was 24-26 degrees with warm breeze so nice walk. Taxi back cost bout 15 Euro.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Private and public pool. Lovely atmosphere. Food not too expensive. Group of 8. 6 older teens thoroughly enjoyed. Day out to zoo marine was brill for young and old.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Decent accommodation,clean and tidy efficient staff and taxi always needed for town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pre wedding parties were a bit noisy coming in late

    Reception staff friendly and efficient Clean pool and surrounding Generous size accommodations Taxi quick to pick up

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.6
    a complete letdown and a waste of a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stag and hen parties mostly noisy ignorant people

    The staff were great but had to ask for towels and toilet rolls and the room wasn't cleaned all week they finally cleaned room on Friday we went home on the Saturday

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Friendly staff and a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Side access to the yellow building rather than walking around to the main entrance. Our key should've been able to open that gate too.

    Friendly staff and a great place to stay. Lots of sun beds, park for kids, food was lovely, cheap drinks, warmer pool to use if going at the start of the main season

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    The male staff member in the morning that failed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male staff member in the morning that failed To help us with our airport transfer. We miscounted our numbers and relised in the morning we needed another bus.He had claimed the office was closed and couldn't arrange an additional transfer but when the bus came the man driving was more than able to ring the office And book us another transfer. We were disappointed that the man in reception had lied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Huge and clean apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The bar is noise and expensive.We have been 12 hours without power, nobody solve it the problem or at least appologise. Problem handling was very bad. Old town and all beach are too far by walk.

    Huge and clean apartment. Great pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    The apartment was spacious and comfortable and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really we had a really enjoyable five days.

    The apartment was spacious and comfortable and the staff were friendly. We only had five days so did not spend much time at the pool but the children enjoyed playing in the pool when we were preparing meals etc. The sauna and steam room were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    Staff nice, but would not return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds felt very damp, a lot of people drinking in large groups at the pools so not a place for kids, only 2 buses a day from hotel at odd times so you will need extra spending money for taxis. Our pool had a lot of damaged tiles on bottom so dangerous and only way into our pool was over a ladder and didn't suit anyone with mobility issues or myself who was recovering from ankle surgery. If you can sleep through the noise of a lot of drunks and dogs barking you should be ok. Wouldn't recommend location too far out!

    The apartment was spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.3
    Too much noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Noise from the surrounding apartments disturbed our sleep every night. Plus, the large groups of rowdy Irish and British men were very loud till 1:00 - 2:00 am.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Facilities at hotel are great and location is close enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor of the apartment block with a baby. Would've been more helpful to be on the lower ground. Also, our group was split up into 2 different areas of the hotel.

    Facilities at hotel are great and location is close enough to walk to the strip and a short, cheap taxi ride to old town. Pool bar food is fab! Apartment is plenty big enough for 6 people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with a cooker or a grill in the apartment.

    Accommodation and staff were fantastic. Great secure place for the kids to play. Would definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More of the swimming pools could of bin heated you did have a good choice but there was only one you would of took the kids in but it was by the bar and there was lots of people drinking around there so not good for kids really 😳

    The apartment we stayed in was very big great value for the money and really good for kids as you got a bit of a garden and close to the park 😁

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.5
    A nice quiet little break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think we would have hired a car if we knew the area that we stayed in. We had to have long walks everywhere.

    Beautiful, clean 1-bedroom apartment for the two of us.Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel room was large, clean and well equipped, when I walked in to our room there was a very strong smell of stale cigarette smoke. I traced the smell to the curtains. I did ask for an alternative room but was told the hotel was full.

    The location was good. We used the hotel as a base before we moved on to our villa holiday destination.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    4.6
    Will not come back aggain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, towels and cleaning done only ones over week excluding dish washing, disconected oven due to energy savings, unheated pool.

    Size of this apartament

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.4
    Large room, but in the middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few TV channels to watch when it rained. Rm telephone on a little shelf hanging on wall caught my daughter just above eye...dangerous for children. Nothing is close by, drive for everything.

    Place was pretty clean, plenty of space and parking out in front of building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Every was perfect, cannot fault the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every was perfect, cannot fault the place! Staff really friendly, everywhere lovely and clean, pool was beautiful!! And the nights entertainment, brilliant!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.3
    A relaxing warm holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air condition in the apartment it had being taken out. You could rent a remote for the TV but there was no English channels. I was supposed to have a room with a bath but when I asked could I be changed as a bath gives me great comfort because I have chronic arthritis. At reception I was told they had no rooms with a bath I said OK and when I was talking to a couple who were only down from us said they had a bath I was very annoyed as I don't like being lied to. There was a steam sauna and Jacuzzi with a charge which is OK but the sauna does not work they have to get it fixed.

    The apartment was very clean and newly renovated. The black out curtains in the bed room are great the do keep the light out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Extremely good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 pools, Great sizes but only one heated right outside the bar. We did attempt the other pools but they were freezing. The weather was excellent, so think they might still be chilly height of season.

    Loved the staff, food from the restaurant was tasty. Apartment had everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Good value lovely area great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value pleasent staff well equipped apartment only down side bit out of the main town & needed to use taxis to get into town not much in the surrounding area & on sight shoP exstremly expensive.

    Very friendly helpful staff would go back to this hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    great stay at the choromar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    quite a walk to strip,especially in the heat also no air con

    apt size fantastic,biggest apt I,ve ever stayed in,great value for money,staff really friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Choromar Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: