Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cidadela 3 stars

Av. 25 de Abril, 2754-517 Cascais, Portugal

#37 of 37 hotels in Cascais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 929 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    4.6
    This is a very quiet hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities at the pool are very poor (toilets & shower ) . The menu at the bar is very limited . The whole hotel is very tired.

    . The pool was nice , The breakfast was very good . The housekeeping staff were helpful & friendly & the room was clean but tired .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    Key positives - location and relatively cheap. But remember it is 3 star for a reason
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed wasn't very comfy. Hotel is old, bathroom in particular not the most attractive.

    Location is good - 8 minute walk into centre of Cascais town meaning it is an easy walk and away from any noise

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    An old, never renovated hotel which once upon a time was a good one...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was probably built in the Eighties (if not Seventies) and never renovated. The bathroom and bathtab were awful, really antique and stained. Luckily they were clean, at least, but I felt very uncomfortable in there. The TV was still the old 'box' type, the furniture and the lights in the bedroom were 40 yrs old... everything made me feel like I was pushed back 40 yrs ago.

    The bed was the only good thing about the room; comfortable and clean. Also, I had a room with sea view, which helped to feel a little better. The staff at the reception were nice and helpful; it is not their fault that the property does not invest in renovating the hotel... In fact I did not complain with them, they deserved my appreciation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Except for the staff and the breakfast, a big thumbs down for this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My biggest disappointment was the hotel offered free WIFI, but I did not have any coverage in my room. Also, the rooms were very old and not practical now. My room was definitely not worth 120 Euros.

    The staff in the front desk was very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast, breakfast and ... swimming pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Funny outdated interior-it needs to be renovated. Very poor wifi signal. You feel like in the 80's with such furniture and outdate aircon, but it makes smiling. Aircon was not working properly, so be think about it in hot summer days.

    Very reach breakfast! Definitely the best we had in Portugal! Quite close to the center-only 700mtrs far from the main square. Very nice staff: they allowed us to use the pool after the check-out and as we came earlier, they put our luggage into the luggage room. Very good swimming pool. We liked the hotel and can recommend it. All appartment have a look to the pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    I would give it a C+
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a chopped up suite - bed had a plastic mattress lined like a geriatric hospital- also martyred was poor

    The property was tired and much further from the center than presented

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Unpretentious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated, but clean, good value for money at the price we got it for. Staff were very pleasant and it is an easy walk into the old part of Cascais.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.4
    Location was good and a really decent sized pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very dated and desperately in need of TLC. Paint peeling in the bedroom and bathroom. Dust everywhere; room had not been cleaned to any kind of sufficient standard. Dirty socks and crumbs under bed from previous guests. Pillows were genuinely shockingly bad; like planks of wood (that thin too). No fridge in any room as stated there is, therefore no way of keeping bottled water cold; asked for ice at reception only to be told that the hotel bar didn’t have any!?!?!

    Location was good and a really decent sized pool. Rooms were large also. Decent breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Decent value for a family of four including a 5 yr old for a short stay in Cascais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit of a walk to the town and beach. Not too bad going down but a fair climb coming back up. You only really want to do that once a day.

    Overall pretty good value for money for a short stay in Cascais. It is a bit worn and has a kind of dated feel which some may not like but I thought added to its character. It is clean and fairly quiet. An interesting history to the hotel with famous writers, musicians etc staying there back in the day. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice overall stay nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal bins and ashtrays often overflowing And brown water from bathroom/shower on a couple of days. Clearly something wrong with plumbing 🤔

    Great pool and staff. Room cleaned daily even if you didn’t vacate till late.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.3
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twin beds; there are hardly any double beds which is unacceptable for a hotel of this size. There were ants in the washroom and the decor was quite dated. The WIFI connection in the room was non-existent and the AC was very weak or did not work.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay. Good value. No complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it's a big undertaking to refurbish a hotel. If you aren't too concerned about decor and modcons it's just fine. Good value for money.

    The style of the hotel could be updated, but dont let that fool you, it's a very nice hotel with nice staff and a relaxed ambience. The beds were very comfortable and the balcony was a great place to relax in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    The location of the hotel was good and the breakfast was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has to be renewed as the water did not work properly and the food at the bar outside can be improved

    The location of the hotel was good and the breakfast was okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room equipment is a little bit old. On 1st nad 2nd night 2 days some other persons hair s underneath the mirror. Price quite high, prices are generally exploding in Portugal as soooo many tourists are coming...

    Very nice staff. Good breakfast. Quiet room. Bed was done daily very good. Cascais is a very nice place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    I like this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like this hotel. It's quiet, efficient and well-priced. Rooms are spacious,beds are very comfortable and super clean. There is always a great ambience at breakfast as the hotel attracts a diverse clientele.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv available they have a super small old tv that didn’t work at all. The safe was paid per day and had a key

    Breakfast was great!!!! The city was great nice and safe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Couple from Finland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old dated and the air in the room was not so good. The breakfast was modest and I wasn't sure how fresh the cheese and ham were on the plate because of the warm condition -fruitsalad was good!

    Room was well cleaned and the cleaning lady was very friendly. The pool area was also nice and had friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is worn and has an extensive need for upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old fashioned and need to be upgraded. Must have been like this for 40 years . Is now in desparate need of renewing all inside.

    Ok situated in respect to city center. Area with swimming pool is nice. Nice staff. Cleaning is good. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    location ...very good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel will be closed on the final of the season. Everything is old and the staff tries to do the best but I doesn't work.

    Paulo the concierge tried to do for us as much as possible. thanks to him the hotel will be closed on the final of the season. Everything is old and the staff tries to do the best but I doesn't work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old and tired, but it's still just about passable. Didn't appreciate plastic, disposable cups, shrink-wrapped in plastic. Totally pointless and extremely wasteful.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Cascais week not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee, marmalade/jam and cereal were the worst we’ve ever tasted so we brought in our own. Steps my husband fell down were only marked with black tape after his fall - 2 other people had fallen. The optional evening meals both buffet and a la Carte were very poor. The location on the brow of the hill and the undulating and slippery pavements were difficult to manage. We didn’t appreciate the heavy traffic everywhere.

    Fruit salad and choice of breads were exceptionally good. The staff were extremely kind and helpful when my husband fell down two hotel steps. They were always quick to get taxis. The two cleaners who did our room were extremely thorough and charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Choose another place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room full of flies and AC didn't work. After change room still no AC, but no flies luckily. We got a small deduction on the price but we would prefer a acceptable room.

    The pool area was nice but noisy (traffic noise).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Good weather saved the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All needed updating, especially the bathroom area. Not much opportunity menu meals lunch or evening. Located on a hill, access to restaurants etc. difficult if on foot.

    Staff pleasant and helpful good breakfast, spacious room and balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Over priced time travel to the 70's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out hotel. The time travel back to 70's. The personnel were ok at the reception, but at the breakfast room they could care less if you came or left there. The breakfast itself was good. The tv in the room was old non-flat screen and the volume could be adjusted just from mute to too silent!! The telephone in the room didn't work until my friend kept the plug in certain position. Heavy traffic in the street in front of the hotel. But still it was peacefull at night time. No electric sockets near the too hard beds. The bath tub was coloured from the rust (??), but suprisingly there was enough warm water at any time of the day. Absolutely over priced hotel, which claims to be 3-star Hotel at the hotel sign outside. I would drop 2-stars away and 50% from the room price.

    The sea view. The breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    At breakast food served without cooling system except for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakast food served without cooling system except for yogurt, coffee awful. no service at the bar. No internet, although staff tried to help with that. Full floor carpets which had sand on them. We knew we were not coming to the most modern hotel, but we were expecting at least cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.8
    Our stay at the Cidadela was a miserable experience and would not recommend staying there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was infested with ants. WE appealed to the hotel for a different room and no help was offered since we paid for our room in ADVANCE. Imagine that, you pay for your room in ADVANCE and there is no empathy for an ant infestation. We had to shake the sheets, stomp and smash ants as best we could. We didn't sleep at all due to the circumstance and had to impose upon a friend. AND then to make things even worse, when we left, the hotel demanded 10 more euro as a tax for the room. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. For such a beautiful country, this hotel was a significant "black" mark compared to the rest of our experience while in Cascais.

    The check in staff was courteous. After that, it only got worse. The additional staff were less than helpful, offered not additional solutions, and did not seem to care if we were helped or not with our room condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice central location with good access to everywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt dated, struggled with hot water in the sink. Right next to a busy road so road noise was an issue from around 6am

    Nice central location with good access to everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Value for Money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wash basin is inside the room which I didn't like.

    The location is quite nice with the Metro stations at walking distance and a number of restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood. There is also a food store right next to the hotel. The rooms are very small but comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    The decor is a little old fashioned and I love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to wait to check in as the very important people behind the counter were taking about soccer to one of the residents.

    The decor is a little old fashioned and I love it. There is a serene atmosphere in the whole hotel that is most welcoming, and the bar has character too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    A bit expensive compared with other hotels we stayed in but Cascais probably an expensive town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel rather tired and in need of modenisation - but prices would then rise. Restaurant menu limited and not everything available.

    The hotel would benefit from a complete overhaul - but then no doubt the prices would rise drastically. Cascais probably an expensive town so the hotel was probably reasonable value for money as breakfast and parking were included. Staff helpful. 20 mkinutes walk into town centre, 45 mins train ride to Lisbon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.8
    Glad it was only a day. Not worth $150 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clerk was friendly but bathroom was dirty and when we mentioned it they said that the ownership had changed and did nothing about it. The bathroom literally had not been cleaned. The floor had not been mopped.

    You could walk to the beach in 10 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    No thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhappy with this hotel, I would NOT stay here again, VERY uncomfortable beds with VERY lumpy pillows, dirty bathroom with hair ALL over the floors, even when I asked housekeeping to specifically address this issue, it was not handled. Shower did not drain, making taking a shower a slip hazard. They put two single beds together to make a bigger bed, ok I can see that, delt with that before, however one single bed had been slept in much more than the other making the whole contraption VERY uneven........

    Friendly staff, excellent food at their hotel restaurant and great view from the rooms balcony. Short walk to downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    We enjoyed our visit. Hotel probably needs modernisation but otherwise quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bedroom too dull. I could not read in bed as the light not sufficient.

    Beds very comfy and clean with bed linen changed very frequently. Breakfast adequate and plentiful. We had a large twin bed suite, very spacious with a balcony and sea view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay here in Cascais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two initial problems with our ground floor apartment were very quickly solved! & we were settled in. A few steps from our patio to the pool. A good location - 10 or 15 minutes walk down to the beach. A bus stop just outside for a day trip to Cabo da Roca & Sintra. Very quiet & peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Not the greatest choice of hotel. Needs refurbishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy location on the main road. Too far from town centre and beach. Too many of the staff were unfriendly. Beds very hard. Bath plug didn't work - got stuck so couldn't empty water out. Very slow feed from hot tap. Nothing done about repairs. Basin had huge cracks. Lighting dismal all over the hotel, especially bed light - could hardly see to read. No breakfast variation in 5 days. Barman kept disappearing. Poor selection of bar food. Unheated pool.

    Size of rooms and balcony. Daily towel change. Nice garden and pool area (apart from traffic noise) with plenty of loungers and parasols.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room with a view over the sea and Estoril in the distance. Complete breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon and so on. Car park just outside the entrance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    I can recommend the hotel and Cascais (near to Lissabon, nice places to visit - e.g. Sintra)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A double bed would be better than two single beds

    The hotel is a little bit old fashioned, but don't care. The rooms are large and all rooms are located in direction to the sea. The Breakfast is good and you have a only a little walk to the center of Cascais and to the sea. And there was enough parking space (that's important because in the most streets there are short parking zones where you have to pay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    The reception and bar staff made our stay a happy one. Can't say the same for the cleaners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness in the rooms needs to be addressed - even after we changed from an apartment on the ground floor to a suite on the 5th floor, the room was not as clean as you would expect for the price paid. It is just lack of attention to detail - the windows were smeared, the bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned in the corners for ages, the bedside lampshades were thick with dust etc, etc. It is true that the hotel is a little shabby and probably in need of a serious update but we can accept that; however, there is no excuse for lack of cleaning.

    The reception staff were all extremely helpful and polite. We did experience some problems but they were dealt with efficiently and we felt that the staff were genuinely concerned and keen to help. Special mention to Leandro at front desk - whatever he is being paid is probably not enough!! Antonio in the bar was also a credit to the hotel. The pool area is lovely, a real suntrap; very relaxed with a nice pool-side bar, free towels and mattresses; lovely, well kept gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money nice garden/pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast coffee was not nice. Hotel dated and a bit shabby but acceptable for how much charged. Noise from the street had to close sliding doors and put on aircon. at night. But central Cascais was even noisier due to a rock festival

    It was good value for money. Could see the sea from our 4th floor balcony and as there was a bar fridge in the room could sit there with a glass of wine . Swimming pool clean and plenty of towels for the loungers. .Loved CasCais.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was grand. I have no negative comment to make.

    The little private balcony with table and chairs, so I could sit comfortably and have a smoke outside. Good functional clean bathroom. Comfortable bed with good blanket for extra warmth at night. Funny oldfashioned lift, worked well though!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Good view from the top floors across the town, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work in the tip floors and the breakfast wasn't very good, while I was expecting a continental breakfast the quality of the food was very poor.

    Good view from the top floors across the town, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Generous size rooms & in beautiful Cascais .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception lady excellent. Some staff not as well trained in customer service & to smile.Beautiful premises in good elevated location .

    Generous size rooms & in beautiful Cascais . Value for money thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is ancient, but kept its charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is ancient, but kept its charm. All one needs, is there. Rooms are spacious, beds are super comfortable, everything functions. Cleaning ladies are very careful about everything. We had a nice sea view. Also loved the "light" version for breakfast. I am very happy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The annoying habit of some of the guests to "reserve" the sunbeds around the pool by putting their towel down at 8 o'clock in the morning.

    Nice to have a room with a balcony overlooking the water and the pool. Enjoyed the big bathroom with 2 vanity basins!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Good Hotel, Clean,Comfortable and Quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The orange juice at breakfast is definitely interesting!

    Stayed for 1 night as part of a road trip to the Algarve, travelling as a family with 1 child and 1 disabled person. As we were a large party we had 2 rooms. As the hotel did not have a specific disabled room, they arranged for us to have a suite so that there was adequate room to mobilise a wheel chair. This was done at no extra cost. The hotel is a little 70's, but has charm. My daughter specifically liked the old fashioned lifts with the sliding shutter doors! The pool area and outside spaces were well maintained and spacious, with the pool bar serving both hot and cold beverages to suit all tastes. After going into the main town for dinner (which took us about 5 mins in a taxi), we went into the bar for a nightcap, as my daughter was tired, the bar tender prepared her some hot milk and biscuits. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Very polite and accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in town. The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. They let us stay by the pool after we checked out which was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Dated but charming- fabulous pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit noisy from traffic on road outside Decor a little dated but with a certain charm Breakfast area could be updated

    Good location- 10 minutes walk into town Great pool and surrounding area with bar and lots of sunbeds Relaxed atmosphere, friendly cleaners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Pool was nice and friendly staff there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in the room. Parts of the hotel could do with a paint e.g. Graffiti outside.

    Pool was nice and friendly staff there! Nice balcony!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Great town, would absolutely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room was very weak and as a consequence of this we were super hot at night. This lead to poor sleep.

    Loved the whole look of the hotel and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    The location is great - a short walk to the action in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very outdated and the aircon didn't work very well at all. The staff gave us a fan as it was so hot.

    The location is great - a short walk to the action in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were unfriendly. On arrival we didn't receive a welcome or even a smile. I felt throughout our visit that if we asked them anything that I was interfering with their real work. I felt they needed training. The hotel is situated on a busy road so there was constant noise of traffic which was very noisy even from the fifth floor.

    Room was a very good size with a large balcony and a magnificent view. The room was very clean. The pool area was good, a poolside bar, lots of sun beds and a supply of towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was obviously a very old hotel but dressed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was not the hotels fault but it was up a big hill and as I walk with two sticks it was hard work

    The hotel was obviously a very old hotel but dressed in the appropriate style very comfy. Good continentle breakfast plus 2 hot dishes. It was too cold to use the pool but the pool bar was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Only fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was dated and in need of a returbishment. The breakfast was very basic and the pool-side toilets were filthy.

    The pool was about the only thing going for the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.4
    Value priced for resting your head about 10 minutes up a steep hill from the main area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air con didn't work in our room and the main hotel was very dark, clean enough but definitely in need of an update. Doors to the veranda were stiff. Basic value quality of food served for breakfast which guests had to ask to be replenished half an hour before the end of the designated service time. Nothing to encourage you to stay in the hotel. Very basic pool side bar. No outside space for breakfast though this was probably because it was on a busy road.

    The hotel was easy to get to via public transport. There was a separate area for the bathroom via an interconnected hallway, plenty of hanging space for clothes, comfortable tub chairs in the room which was spacious. Staff were friendly. Reasonable space on the veranda with a view of the sea in the distance. If you are looking for non interactive time the pool side had a very sunny aspect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    3.8
    Very poor service, ants in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn't like the ANTS in the room. A lot of them! After telling the hotel about this, they said they fixed it, and 2 hours later the room was full of ants again! They finally changed our room and it was (a little) better. PLUS, the maid entered our room at least 3 times, when we were in the room! She would knock once, wouldn't even wait for an answer and use the key to enter the room. One time, we were sleeping when she did that. Another time, the "do not disturb" sign was on the door. She still entered the room with us being in it.

    We loved the pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    People smoked on balcony next to us which came into our room.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Although the room was dated it was always left clean. 7 minutes to train and center of town. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only issue I had was the elevator. It ran sporadically but I was able to walk the stairs.

    I liked the location, food and hospitality of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.6
    Get a grip before you lose all your guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last stayed here about four years ago. Most of the then staff not there now. Tells me something. It was a good hotel then but now it is tired, the staff look unhappy and it needs new owners to spend some money and bring it upto date.

    I liked it better on the few occasions I stayed there in the past.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.4
    Good location, needs updating, clean but tired. Breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need serious updating, TV out of the ark and the fridge had seen better days. Pool staff rude, we asked for a sun lounger and he said no more available, there were 6 out at the time. It took a guest to get a lounger for us, they were in a shed very close but member of staff simply couldn't be bothered.

    Staff, especially cleaning staff were lovely. Staff at breakfast were helpful. Pool great, pool staff much to be desired. Balcony great. Breakfast ok, more hot food would be good. Quiet until 6.30 am every morning when someone started mowing lawns. Good noise reduction on balcony doors but didn't cut early morning noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Location in relation to price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many details. Hotel need a total make-over. Water pressure in the toilet annoyingly low. Taps not working well. Noisy from the street although double windows.

    Location in relation to price. Well located and cheap. Conference facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Good location in Sintra, bit more quiet side of the city. Small supermarket behind the corner and kind of a market hall selling vegetables etc. Cafeteria downstairs. Few restaurants nearby. Parking in the evening was ok at the roadside behind the hotel, daytime might be a chalenge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Lovely view, old style ambience throughout the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of updating of the bathroom. Enjoyed the old style overall though! Felt like a timewarp in a good way.

    Lovely sea view, and lovely charming old style ambience throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.4
    Value Ok but I bet there are others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water one day. Elevator worked most of the time Staff did not seem to be happy or relaxed in their jobs. Front desk tried. Maid forgot one day

    View and balcony were nice. Breakfast was ok Free parking close by was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Staff were courteous and helpful,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wiFi system at this hotel was very poor, during the day it was intermittent and during the night it was non existent. TV's in room could do with updating

    Staff were courteous and helpful,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.8
    Good grilled cheese sandwich in bar
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar hours, rooms shabby butvery clean Did not want breakfast but asked for water and they wanted to charge €1.50 for the smallest bottle. TV did not work and there was no cold water in the sink

    Good grilled cheese sandwich in bar

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly, hotel location is close to cascais center, only 3min drive to Inferno, you can also have a good city view from room, it's lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.7
    Good value but could do with updating
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated and could have been a bit cleaner the tops could do with a bit of a dusting. TV is very dated so could be improved.

    Good value hotel in a convenient position within Cascais, good parking and staff were friend even when we were returning at 4am!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space in rooms with lovely sea view balcony . Nice and comfortable and clean too. Hotel has a very tranquil and relaxing atmosphere - perfect for relaxing after sight seeing in Lisbon . Easily walkable from station. Staff accommodated late departure on final day and provided place to store luggage whilst we chilled poolside. Always plenty of sun loungers by the pool. Would stay here again .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant staff were not very friendly

    This is a very old hotel but this adds to its charm. Lovely pool area and bar. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    Only 10 minute walk to centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 10 minute walk to centre of town. Nice pool area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    Air condition is not working properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition is not working properly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not made up when I arrived, but sorted very quickly

    Lovely hot shower. Comfy bed. Nice breakfast. Sea view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.0
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was crawling with ants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Old fashioned but OK for a few days
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Separate beds; bathroom; very old fashioned; a bit run down

    Location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel very clean rooms... nice breakfast... Friendly staff.. Change of bed and towels excellen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All aspects.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Cidadela traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: