Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Colina do Mar This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua Maria Teresa Semedo de Azevedo, 3, Albufeira Center, 8200-155 Albufeira, Portugal

#58 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 719 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location. Good clean Hotel. Staff very helpful. Would certainly recommend this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast room itself could do with a make over. Although very clean and tidy it was a bit dark and in need of colour.

    Excellent location in the Old Town. Very near the main square and Beach. Set back in a quiet area. Rooms very clean. Added bonus of kettle, fridge and hair dryer in room. Would recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    6.3
    Staff was nice but would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was more of a party hotel than a family hotel which meant waking up to groups of guys coming home very drunk. The balcony was almost non existent, almost not large enough for one person to stand. A closet in the room smelled damp and moldy. The beds were so hard that my back ached for the entire stay. The hotel was moderately priced but I did regret not spending a bit more and staying in a family friendly hotel a bit out of the center.

    We liked the location of the hotel but is located in the center of town. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    2.9
    I stayed in this hotel last week I liked nothing about this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in this hotel last week I liked nothing about this hotel from the room to the staff everything the room was a disgrace missing a window in the kitchen the toilet had a disgusting smell the whole time I stay here when I point out the things to staff they said they’ll report never heard nothing off them got stuck in the lift for an hour the time anybody get to me the swimming pool was never cleaned dead flies always in it waste of money would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    13 lads on annual trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area small send no children's facilities... Perfect for couple or groups looking for a budget hotel in a spot local to nightlife & beach..

    Clean, comfortable, great location, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay would recommend to family and friends.great value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool area could be a little cleaner..

    The bed were extra comfortable.very quiet locationyet close to everything.. all the guests were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location quite area but 3 minute walk down steep hill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-Fi available in reception area only. Kettle & fridge in room but no tea/coffee left for guests. Would be nice to have choice of double bed, singles only available.

    Ideal location quite area but 3 minute walk down steep hill to central square. Very close to beach. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Although it is a basic hotel it has all that you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although it is a basic hotel it has all that you need. Nice little swimming pool on the roof with sun beds and a good simple breakfast and plenty of if. Just a 2 minutes from the centre of the old town and 5 minutes from the beach. Just had to park the car up the hill a little way. The staff were great and always willing to help, will be staying here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value.Cheap but clean and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattress and pillow were of poor quality.I still slept like a log but may be an issue for fussier sleepers.

    Excellent location within strolling distance of town.Very clean and well maintained with a pleasant pool area on the roof.Exactly what we needed for a short,cheap,break away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only wi fi available in reception! No English tv channels. Only 7 Portuguese ones. No hot water on final day. Broken boiler.

    I liked the breakfast except the last 2 days they ran out of muesli. I liked the location. I liked the rooftop pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Very well situated to old town centre and beach good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar was in the basement and not in use, situated half way up a steep hill and staff could have been friendlier.

    Situated just 2 mins walk to the centre of the old town and beach with really nice breakfast and comfortable beds, also power shower and air con.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very good for price. Not family/elderly friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Wi-Fi, property on top of a steep hill not for the elderly or people will trouble walking. Pool freezing but so close to beach it didn't matter. No facilities (no kitchenette,just kettle with no tea bags/milk etc,no balcony just a 4×4 window)..didn't spend much time in hotel so not to bothered.

    Location is perfect 5min from main square/beach. Property/rooms very clean. Beds very comfortable and shower is great. Good hotel if you weren't with kids and just used it for shower,changing,sleep 6/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.1
    I had a pleasant stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There were only Portuguese T.V. channels available in the room.

    The room was clean, tidy, and spacious. The bathroom modern, clean, with bath/shower, and included an electric hair dryer. The apartment was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.8
    Location great. Basic but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No double bed even though Romantic package with double booked. No sparkling wine on arrival as booked either. Pool needed cleaning

    Location perfect.. Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good except for poor WIFI facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet facility in the hotel is the poorest I have ever seen. In this modern day and age it is important that this is provided ASAP or else the quality of clients will become poor and the business decline. I will not book again if this facility is not available. It is only available in the receiption area and not in the rooms. You are breaching the Privacy laws by asking the clients to come in the reception area to make use of the WI FI facitility whichbis not acceptable. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    The location was brilliant, it was about a 5 min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi doesn't work in the rooms and you can only use it in the reception area (if you don't want a huge phone bill)! The reception area was not very comfy, it would be better if the wifi worked in the breakfast room as there were tables and chairs in there.

    The location was brilliant, it was about a 5 min walk from the beach and the old town with lots of restaurants and bars. It was a 45 min walk to the new town with the clubs. Having a pool at the hotel was also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a high uphill, so we were always exhausted when entering the hotel. For people with problems walking it can be complicated. We could hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms and from the hallway, so we woke up very often during the night. There was mold in the bathroom, and our room was very humid. The air conditioner/ventilator didn't work (luckily it wasn't more than 24 degrees outside during our stay, otherwise I'm sure it would be horribly hot in the room). Since we had no balcony we couldn't let our swim suits/towels dry completely, even leaving them by the open window.

    The hotel is really close to the beach and the area with restaurants and bars. Very simple hotel, and kind of cheap (about half the price than the other hotels in the area). Not so varied breakfast, but it was OK. The staff is friendly. We appreciated that they let us have our room a few hours longer the day that we left without any problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds could have been a bit more comfortable.

    Great location. For the price we paid it was good value. Not super modern but everything else made up for that. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant, good location, good breakfast, good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I first arrived there was a bleach smell in the room, which I did not like. While I was taking a shower the electricity turned off probably due to a problem with the solar panels.No apology received from the hotel staff.

    Good value for the money. Very good breakfast with lots of variety. Nice shower with lots of pressure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We visited middle of April...couldnt work out air con/heating so was a bit cold in the night so could do with couple of blankets in the room. Apart from that all was ok.

    Clean. Staff very friendly. Very close to old town. Very good value for money. Definitely would stay there again. Great powerful hot shower. Very small but quick lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    So welcoming! X
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff on the desk (Aubrey and I can’t remember the lady’s name!) were so friendly and extremely helpful. The location is good, value for money is good. I would Highly recommend x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the location. The staff very freindly and wellcoming. lovely pool on the top of the roof. Room very nice, confortable and very clean. We will be back soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.3
    I have stayed there before and would do so again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lounge areas too dark and dreary. The weather was awful so it would have been nice to read and relax in a pleasant space

    Location was excellent. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None.

    Location is really good, all the staff very kind and helpful. Rooms have a good size and very good shower. Very comfortable. Unfortunately it was a little cold and we couldn't enjoy the swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay for some October sunshine. Been a few times so got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little dated compared to English standards but excellent value for money

    Friendly staff and central yet quiet location just off one of the main streets in the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    we enjoyed our stay reception staff so friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    every thing was perfect for us its our fourth time to stay in this hotel we will be back next year hopefully all going well its just two minutes from main square so near everything at night its so peaceful not a sound

    Coffee was real nice rolls so fresh every thing was exellent rooms so clean staff so friendly great value for a week everything so cheap so convientient a great location for a quiet holiday i have recommended to so many

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.3
    A great holiday, All the staff made us very welcome especially Maria and Albury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the breakfast could have been a little better, All of the hotel could do with a bit of T.L.C. other than that it was very good value for what we paid for nine days and there are loads of places to go if you want to buy a cooked breakfast

    the rooms although quite old were very comfortable with extra pillows and bedding in the wardrobe if needed we had a room on the second floor and a small balcony over looking the street, the roof top pool is small but very enjoyable in the near 30 degree heat the hotel is in a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel! Would definitely use again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One member of staff during the day was so rude I couldn't believe her attitude!!

    Room was very clean, maids visited every day and cleaned. The night guard was extremely nice and helpful. Location is perfect, less than 5 mins from old town and the beach!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast OK hotel OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having booked through booking.com and 10 mins later realised I had booked wrong weekend hotel took money from my account without allowing a change. Also property on heart attack hill.

    Staff were friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay booked easily and at very short notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is on a very steep hill, so completely unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues.

    Basic but clean, location was great, right in the heart of the old Town but far enough away from the noise

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The road up to hotel is pretty steep but after a couple of times it’s ok

    This hotel is a little gem Loved everything about it - the staff were very nice and helpful The accommodation comfortable and spotlessly clean Would recommend to everyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    8.8
    the rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    the hotel would benefit from having a well stocked bar.

    the rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed every day.the staff are very friendly at this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    3.3
    There are much better hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old old old and warn out. The staff and the hotel. Minimal facilities. Wifi only at reception which is tiny. They took the holiday payment as soon as it was booked, no waiting like Booking.com says and pay when you got there! Sharp hill to get back from town. First morning at breakfast a glug of green grunge came out of apple juice dispenser!

    The air conditioner worked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    3.3
    Sadly a sad place in appearance and some staff attitude!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The female member of staff was very unhelpful and to be quite honest rude and bad mannered. The man who came on shift later was helpful and cheery. At first we were told there was nowhere to store our bicycles, but later on the man on front desk found us a place. I personally felt intimidated by the lady on the front desk. The rooms were very shoddy and tired, need a refit.

    The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasent hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hill up to the hotel on the final hundred metres or so from the old town centre. Not a major issue due to the distance.

    Very comfortable hotel with nice breakfast. Roof top swimming pool with great views of the town Near the centre of old town activites. 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.0
    Sorry but i couldnt recommend this hotel simply because it doesnt provide this basics we all expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No BAR at all. No WIFI in rooms,reception only. 12 loungers in entire hotel for sun bathers,totally inadequate. No cooked breakfast option. Staff not pleasent

    Located in heart of old town. Rooftop pool,nice cooling breeze and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    6.3
    Basic accommodation and facilities , however excellent location in centre of old town and near beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Accommodation is dated, pool needs serious tlc, replace broken tiles, filter . Needs a thorough clean throughout, it's surface clean but needs deep clean.

    Basic breakfast but ok. If you an early riser you get a better choice, as products run out its tough luck!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    5.4
    Location great, everything else not so much. Fine if you want something basic, and no wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi in the rooms Breakfast is very very basic Not enough sun beds for everyone staying- we actually went to another hotel that my family where staying in to get beds. No balcony in rooms No bar No restaurant Male Staff can be rude The roof of our window is so dirty and the outside of it.

    Liked the location it's right in the old town square. We really loved the old town. Hot showers and the inside of the room is clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    3.8
    Book early an go somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    horrible bathroom terrible, uncomfortable bed dated room furniture room stench hardly any food at breakfast terrible staff

    This hotel is in a desperate need of refurbishment!! The rooms are terrible, showers disgusting and staff grumpy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    6.7
    It's fairly okay not that great but decent enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining area.

    I like the room. They are very comfy, it was huge and air conditioned. The dining area isn't that great as there is no windows. The location is really close to everything. The pool in the rooftop is fairly okay but I would recommend to put a minibar in the rooftop with some music to make the place more lively. One of the staff in the reception is really nice so we felt a little more welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.5
    A good budget choice,but overpriced for peak season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No Wi Fi in rooms is a definite negative.Breakfast had little variety over a week.No sound insulation. A view of overflowing council rubbish bins not very attractive.

    Good location for old town.Room size was adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.9
    helpful staff pool is small but we got beds great little hotel good base
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds and pillows more comfortable

    Continental Breakfast plenty of it close to everything but a very steep hill to and from for the price cheap and cheerful beds uncomfortable but I did ask for another matress which they changed straight away

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 9 nights

    As the apartment was very authentic there was a lack of electrical sockets- otherwise everything was perfect.

    An excellent hotel for the money. Situated in the lovely old town with the beach very close by. The pool on the roof top terrace was very clean and never crowded. Breakfast was very good value for money. We had a room without a balcony the first few nights and as we wanted a balcony we were offered an apartment, which we gladly accepted. The staff were competent and friendly. The hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.9
    Clean but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was topped up with water every morning but wasn't cleaned out there was loads of crap floating it in for the whole week. There is no bar open and the smell of damp in the living room and where the closed bar is is absolutely vile. The breakfast was a big let down there wasn't much choice the cereal was stale we ended up eating breakfast out every morning.

    The hotel was lovely and clean. The staff gave great help with things to do. Ideal location in the centre of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    6.3
    No return
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked if possible to keep room till 1600 and was told no. Had to use shower by pool whih better than nothing. Breakfast very basic but you can get a full english for €5

    Rooms cleaned everyday

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    6.3
    See and sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We are sorry to say that cannot reach the correct information about timetable of the city public transport and public transport between other towns. The breakfast was very monotonous (only one sort of ham and cheese). We were disappointed with this. Portugal is country which produce very good foodstuffs and a lot different specialty.

    Hotel is situated in very good distance from city center and very nice beach and near to public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing about this hotel is the pool is very small, we didn't mind this though as each was so close we went there everyday.

    This hotel is in a lovely location in the old town, only a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 2 min walk to the square where there is plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    10
    Great location, staff wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is excellent just a few minutes walk from the main square, if you have limited mobility the hill would be a struggle but not a problem for us. Breakfast was continental and lots to choose from. Room was very comfortable and not too hot unlike others we've stayed at. We used Hoppa as a transfer from the airport who emailed the hotel with our pick up time so we didn't need to bother getting online etc 😀.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    These nothing I didn't like

    Perfect place for a holiday staff very nice, nothing never to much for them friendly definitely will recommend and would stay again karen

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony in our room

    The staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much bother. Breakfast was lovely. Allowed to shower before we left ( and given clean towels) was an extra bonus. 10/10 for staff friendliness .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.8
    It's our second year staying here, so what's not to like..?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe they could do a little more with their breakfasts (perhaps offer omelettes cooked by a chef in the kitchen next to the breakfast room) - and/or offer a cooked selection including fried eggs, bacon, sausage etc. but I guess if they did, the price would have to go up! I guess it's not the hotel's fault but you do need to be an early riser to secure a sunbed around the pool (there are only a dozen or so sun loungers) - so have your towels at the ready early!!

    We came to Albufeira last year and stayed in this hotel, so to come back shows we must've been pleased with it overall. With a swimming pool and sun terrace on the rooftop, with great views across the town, it's a relaxing place to be. In fact, we love the location, just on the edge of the Old Town about 500m walk from the beach (and although the road to the hotel is a little steep, there's only about 100m or so to traverse each trip). With a variety of excellent (and some shabby) restaurants in the area (see my reviews on Yelp!) there's nothing really to disappoint about the Colina do Mar. Continental breakfast is served each morning between 8am and 10am and there is a reasonable (albeit small) selection of cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, yoghurts, hard-boiled eggs, fresh rolls, breads and pastries as well as juice, tea and coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms just need a little updating in areas.

    This Hotel is in a great location, rooms were clean and there was enough storage for our clothes and accessories, very quiet at night, only a five minute walk to the beach and bars and restaurants, breakfast was continental which we knew when we booked and this was ok for us. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    6.7
    The rooms are marked as 'non smoking' but had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are marked as 'non smoking' but had a strong smell of smoke which transferred itself to all of my clothes. This I was very unhappy with!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, central and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no wifi service available in the room

    Marble everywhere, the pool was nice and quiet, great rooftop view. It was as close to the lively pedestrian part of town that you could get and yet was not noisy at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    5.8
    Reception staff, for the most part, were friendly and spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was supposed to be included, but had to pay extra. Wifi only worked in reception which was extremely inconvenien. Bed frame was broken.

    Reception staff, for the most part, were friendly and spoke good English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    2.9
    Bad value for the price, total dissapointment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel does not fulfill requirements on 3-star hotel at all. Wifi - only in the reception area and very slow!!! They need cover whole building by wifi, we are in the 21st century.... Breakfast - very poor, always the same things, bad instant coffee, the cheapest sweet (eg. packaged muffins), compote fruit instead of fresh seasonal fruits, chemical slush instead of juice :-( Basically, breakfast was like in hostel not hotel - moreover in Portugal with their good gastronomy... And breakfast started at 8 AM, sometimes a little bit late! Totally unsuitable for a business trip or even if you need to leave the hotel earlier due to morning flight...Owner/manager solved this problem by a possibility of having breakfast earlier when we need to catch the morning flight, but the man who prepared breakfast gave us only bad coffee and one packaged muffin! That was all, even if they had bread and cheese and some apples in the kitchen :-( I had stomach problems whole morning caused by this kind of "breakfast". Cleanness was very poor, some residues always stay on the floor, dust behind the wastepaper basket...and if I asked for 1 double bed I expect one piece of furniture - not two single beds with wheels! It was impossible to sit or lie down on the border between two beds/mattresses because they moved into sides so easily! I´m sorry, I cannot recommend Colina do Mar at all!

    owner/manager of the facility was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.2
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Hotel is on a pretty steep hill which was tricky as my husband has mobility problems. But we survived and would go back.

    Beds really comfy and the staff friendly, great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cold cut breakfast was adequate but it could be varied with a hot breakfast on occasion. However I still liked it!

    I booked an apartment for €750 for 8 days on my own. I may have stayed in prettier 5 star hotels but for a 3 star hotel my apartment with balcony was top class. Everything I needed was there. The rooms were cleaned spotless every day. The staff were lovely and helpful especially Fernando on the 4 to 12 shift and the lady on the 8 to 4 shift. The little pool on the roof was fabulous. The location was superb right beside the old town. I will be going there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel and location however some staff members were VERY RUDE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Male staff member was lovely however female staff member was extremely rude. Refused to give us breakfast early on the last day even though we had paid for it and was extremely rude when we asked her to fix the broken toaster for breakfast. Coffee machine would break a lot and breakfast was very basic. Air conditioning leaked into our wardrobe and stained all our clothes.

    Location was excellent and good price for hotel. full time male staff member was lovely and friendly and so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.1
    Upset by the night Porter on Seven occasions, will not be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where do I start with the staff, Fernando on reception was excellent, and always went Out of his way to help,while the night porter was very rude, he told me not to talk while having breakfast, I had a business appointment in town, and would not open up for breakfast until 8o clock and stood by the door looking at his watch before opening up, I felt I was back at school, not a way to treat clients, I will not be going back again.

    No need too hire a car, good location for restaurants and bars

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    4.6
    I wouldn't go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was so bar and poor. Really bad smell in the room, especially in the bathroom. Dirty bathroom, with dirty toilet and a gross shower curtain. No toiletries! - only in the first day, then we needed to buy for ourselves.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hill up to the property. Definitely not suitable for the elderly or those with walking difficulties!

    The property was just a couple of minutes walk from the old town. The staff were excellent. Very friendly and efficient as our air con wasn't working when we arrived but they soon had that sorted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    10
    Great Staff, Great hotel, Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in aprime location just round the corner from the old town square. It is slightly dated, but the staff are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble. This was my third visit and I have already booked to go back in October.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    A brilliant find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price paid you cannot complain about anything.

    Excellant location for Old town. This hotel offers everything you need for a great holiday at a bargain price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Amazing hotel, close to the town and beach. Good breakfast to set you for the day and pool which is a sun trap. Very accomadating especially on check out, looked after case, towel for shower and use of facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.5
    A very nice place for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Double or Twin Room - Stay 7, Pay 6
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The climb to hotel was a little steep.

    Nice continental breakfast. Reception very helpful, booked our taxie to airport. Night porter very friendly, and helpful. Cleaning staff did their job very well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    10
    Would go back in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool on roof is lovely. Staff on desk are so helpful. Location is great, Everything is on your doorstep. Decor slightly dated but everything clean. Hill leading to hotel is steep but old town albufeira is full of steep hills so maybe avoid completely if hills are an issue to you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    9.2
    As always a wonderful welcoming stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing for the price!

    We have stayed here a number of times and the staff (Eugenie, Aubrey and Fernando) are wonderful. The property is basic but clean and the continental breakfasts are more than adequate. The air con is good and there are fridge, tv and safe deposit in the room. The closeness to the old square is an excellent bonus!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    4.6
    Cheap and cheerful but you get what you pay for !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a offensive aroma in the room from day one which got worse until it was unbearable by day 3. This was blamed on rain affecting the drains. Impossible to endure this so we checked out early and went on to a different hotel. The breakfast was fine. The staff were friendly. This hotel could benefit from a general spruce up. The fridge in the room worked ok. Shower really good and hot water was plentiful. I was quite annoyed with myself that I didn't check to make sure we had a balcony. The air con was very erratic and noisy and only very small window for fresh air. I am struggling to agree with the 3 star rating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    8.3
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower gel at the toilet. Very

    The service was good overall. The lady that was at the reception did the extra mille and help me to contact the shuttle company . Good service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    7.9
    A nice central space
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There is no wi fi in the bedrooms only at reception, there are not enough channel choices on the tv and no sky news or english channels at all. The property has very limited balconies and the ones they have are like a window opening to about 3 feet by 2 feet of concrete

    The location was excellent very central yet not too noisy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    8.3
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast needs improvement. Very basic. You can add breakfast at the hotel for 3€ a day per person which is cheaper than via booking.com

    Brilliant location. It is on the middle of a hill but we managed with a pram without a struggle so don't let that put you off. Everything is a stone throw away

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    8.3
    Good value basic accommodation in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The roof top pool could do with a clean. But also this is partly down to some messy guests!!

    The location is perfect. Close to main square but just far enough away from the noise. Friendly staff with 24hr reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    4.6
    Okay for the price, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - On the day of arrival, our reservation was not in the system -- leading to confusion - The staff at the check-in was less pleasant to start with, but warmed up later - WiFi was never available in the room - It was cold and there was no way to heat the room up (when we asked about it, we were given blankets, but was said the air conditioning is broken and will be days before it is fixed. -

    - One of the staff was very friendly - We could leave our luggage for a few hours even after our check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    6.7
    More like a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were extremely uncomfortable and very low. My 6'2" son slept curled up on the tiny couch instead of the bed. WiFi non existent in rooms. TV only showed a few Portugese chanels. Breakfast was very poor with guests trying their best to use the slowest toaster on the planet and fruit running out every morning.

    Pool on roof. Location. East, free parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2017

    10
    Perfect choice for your stay in Albufeira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location - few steps from the old city center, but it's very quiet in the night. Also it's few minutes away from the beautiful beach! Breakfast is very good (million kinds of bread, coffee machine with many kinds of coffee, fresh fruits, and many more). The room is carefully cleaned everyday. Bathing supplies (soap, shampoo) and electric keetle are nice addition. Staff is super nice and polite. Hotel is run by a family and they treat you like a family member, always take care of your needs. One of the best hosts I've met in my life! Also make sure you will visit the roof - besides the pool there's amazing view on the old town (make sure to check it both in the day and night!)!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Colina do Mar Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: