Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Colina Village 3 stars

Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro, Lagoa, 8400-557 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#16 of 17 hotels in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little further out from town than expected however taxis were very reasonable and hotel shuttle bus helped too

    Food was lovely at restaurant and apartment was nice and spacious, daily cleaning and fresh towels was a nice treat too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very surprised that the kitchen was not cleaned and that there was no toilet rolls in the unit we had to keep going to reception which was not acceptable.

    The convenience and the restaurant staff were very pleasant although the service was slow. The lady who ran the shuttle bus was exceptional , gracious and extremely friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great apartment - really big and well stocked with everything you could need. Intermarche just a 1 kilometer away nice walk - great staff - great restaurant. Love this place and will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large pool is the centre piece here. Fantastic, clean and a sun trap. Loved it. Staff superb, great idea for the courtesy bus to the town, 3 times a day. Nice peaceful location, good for an evening stroll into town. Ask staff for the short cut, not in the main road. Definitely return here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some entertainment

    Loved it apartments little basic furniture but fine pool was gorgeous and just loved it but far out if you dydrice but we liked the walk into town about fifteen minutes away and restaurants were gorgeous never had one bad. Enjoy it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    very old-fashioned furniture, 80's style but apart from the look it was comfortable and considering the low price the old furniture is absolutely acceptable Walls are very thin so you hear your next-door neighbours Lots of families with noisy kids, if you want peace and quiet get a villa as far away as possible from the pools Internet only at reception and very slow Kitchen stove/oven should have instructions. Very difficult to operate as the temperature markings are worn off

    Sparkling clean, cleaning lady came every day and made up beds, cleaned, changed towels etc. like in an expensive hotel Very helpful reception staff, problems got resolved immediately and very friendly Reception staff (Philip) speaks various languages fluently, no language problems Very efficient & friendly staff all over the resort Beautifully maintained pool deck, garden, plenty of sun beds, everything nicely painted - immaculate Huge flats with plenty of room Huge bathroom with 2 sinks and plenty of space to put stuff Huge cupboard with 10 hangers Kitchen perfect for self catering, lots of utensils & huge fridge/freezer Perfectly located if you have a rental car, 5 minutes to beach, 5 minutes to various big supermarkets

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's run down and there is nothing to do if weather is bad, no games room even thou it's advertised, indoor pool is freezing and tennis courts only have rackets and balls from 1970's!!

    Bar staff were good and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one plug socket in kitchen serving three appliances which was rather inconvenient Beds slightly too hard and creaked when you moved Wi-fi only available by reception but not a huge issue

    Plenty of clean towels, spacious apartment. Had air conditioning, but we didn't need to use it. Seats on balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we were asked to go to Silves three days before arriving. When we refused, we were then offered Colina Lap which we again refused, finally on date of arrival we were offered our original booking. However Sr Matos was very apologetic which we accepted.

    Daily cleaning excellent and reception staff so polite and efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is a little out of the way but the free bus to the beach and town centre rectified this

    The Friendly staff, large accommodation and the colourful atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioning was a bit leaky but when I told reception it was fixed the next day.

    Gorgeous pool area with great on site restaurant. Friendly and very helpful staff. Great location just a short distance to beach and shopping area. Fantastic Chinese restaurant in the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbathing beds need a bit of a weekly/ monthly deep clean as before you put towel on you can see the condition. Need a do not disturb or clean our room notice you can put at front door so if you want your room cleaned they access if not they don't open or knock the door.

    The apartment had a very modern kitchen the rooms need a bit of updating but it had plenty of space etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our 2 bedroom apartment was split over 2 levels with one bedroom upstairs and one downstairs - this wasn't mentioned anywhere at the time of booking as a possibility and was a real problem for us as the stairs were steep, slippery and in a spiral and we have a 2 year old who wakes at night - we couldn't let him sleep on another floor from us and as a result, I had to share the twin room with him instead. I would not have booked here if I'd known this was a possibility beforehand or certainly not unless the property was able to guarantee us an apartment with the bedrooms on one level. We asked to move immediately and were told we would be able to 2 days later - unfortunately when we asked at reception 2 days later, the person was extremely unhelpful and rude and refused to do anything. Also, I would give the restaurant a miss - i tried a little bit of cucumber served on my son's plate and it had a vile, bitter chemical taste. I immediately spat it out and felt awful for having tried to make my child eat it. I was genuinely concerned for the health of my 2 year old as a result and for myself as I am pregnant. It's a nice idea to have a playground for children but it needs to be maintained - old splintery wood is not suitable for a kid's play area.

    The property was clean and well equipped, the pool area was nice (though pools weren't heated even the indoor one) and the apartment was spacious. Bar staff were nice. We had a car and found the location great with easy access to nearby beaches and towns - I wouldn't chose to stay here with no car though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of how when people vacate early show little consideration. Furniture echos and loud when people drag across floor .

    Bed was very low . And hard not comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only 1 little gripe the hot water never lasted long enough for the 6 of us to have a quick shower.

    The villa we stayed in was very roomy. Comfy beds, even the sofa! Staff very welcoming and friendly, especially Phil on reception. The room was cleaned every day and towels replaced daily also. The courtesy bus goes to the beach 3 times a day. 2 lovely pools, one outdoor and one indoors. A lovely place to stay and value for money too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There wasn't anything not to like it was perfect considering the price we paid

    The staff were exceptional nothing was too much trouble and very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Restaurant is really good and value for money. 2nd stay here and have intention of coming back again. Very quiet and relaxing location, great for a chilled out getaway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many ants inside houses, outside -wild cats and dogs makes a feel uncomfortable a specialy at night.

    Outside houses looks ok but inside, rooms wasn't refresh a long time ago..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just could have done without having to buy scourers & washing up lqd in kitchen.

    Brilliant accommodation, beautifully landscaped, great facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff we not very informative, The restaurant on the grounds was not good at all I could not even finish my meal. The beds were very uncomfortable. The toilet was broken and continued to run our entire stay. The top layer of bedding was dirty in both rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture abit outdated

    Loved the size of the villa and that all 3 bedrooms had there own bathrooms. Pool lovely and pool bar great. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful. The croissants were stale and the only other options was some hard cheese and a cold boiled egg. The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. If there are more than 2 of you then you will need to get a two bed apartment just to avoid the sofa bed.

    The kitchen was lovely and well equipped. The pool was a fantastic size and great for kids.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Interior decor, small double bed and pillows. No noise insulation from guests up stairs. Guests should bring their own pillows and ear plugs.

    Friendly, helpful staff and wonderful pool and games area. Location to Carvoeiro and the caves. Gardens and well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a cockroach that ran across our floor at night. Also unhappy that we could not be refunded our last night stay due to a flight change

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A home away from home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating with broken sun loungers

    Staff were friendly and pool area was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very old rooms - a lot of noice from the fridge

    Nice park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Colina Village is still as wonderful since our last visit 22 years ago.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It should have cleaning products to use, such as washing supplies.

    Confortable bed. Good property value price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant didn't have a proper menu and didn't have on site shop they should for self catering quests

    Spacious apparment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating and air con not great but excellent VFM.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site shop

    Big rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wad very cold

    Great location, friendly staff & great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in appartment

    The privacy and lots of space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    The villa was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cadre superbe ... oasis en pleine algarve

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and convenience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ants in the bathroom every day

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet very poor as advertised with and took them 2 weeks to respond to my question.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In number 49 we couldn't get WiFi on our computer or either of our phones. As I was doing business this was not very good.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No Wifi in the room.

    Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, daily cleaning, nice pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing! We had a House for us, there is a huge Indoor - and Outdoor-Pool and 2 Tennis - Courts! We got an amazing Deal! Very friendly, very clean !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp sheets due to leak in the roof!

    Loved the pool area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    wi-fi works only in the Reception and pool area.

    awesome

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Copious ants!!

    Feeling of safety

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lumpy pillows

    Lovely easy going place for a break

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't have our booking details. Staff obviously scanned what they had available after realising they had no idea what they had then threw a random set of keys at us for a villa that accommodated 2 people and we had deliberately booked for 4. NO WIFI around the estate despite how they advertise it and even the supposed WiFi within 3 meters of reception didn't work. Everything they have from coke to food is cheap/fake or off brand but charged the same or more than actual establishments local to the village. Shop never opened because it's cheaper not to employ the staff off season. No entertainment AT ALL even though it was advertised again because it's cheaper to not bother off season. Cleaning service just means pushed filthy smelly water around your floor and leave it for you so slip on as soon as you walk in. No heating despite the country it still gets cold especially in the lead up to summer. A drab dreary and overpriced village with nothing at all to offer as all it seems is they want the money and no hassle.

    It was close to local facilities.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi is only at reception - would be nice to extend to rooms.

    This village is really good value for money - lovely houses, great pool and indoor one - v friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Definitely need a car to get there and to town/ beach (luckily we did). Appropriate for a family with small children, that will use facilities (e.g. pool, garden, games). No internet connection in bungalows, just at the reception and poor connection. Good value because we shared it with another couple!

    Spatiousness, with living room, kitchen and a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the restaurant was disappointing but we found one offsite which was great.

    The general location as a taxi ride to the nearest town of Carvoiero is reasonably priced and the service prompt. Reception staff are very helpful. Overall great

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's difficult to walk to the beach with children as there isn't footpaths for the first 300 metres, ok by day but not after dark. Beach is about 30 minutes walk. Free shuttle bus runs only 3 times daily.

    Friendly staff , good pool and good sized children's pool. Mini market (small shop)was very reasonable and convenient . Restaurant was reasonable with friendly and helpful staff. Pool not crowded . Very spacious apartment with good sized kitchen .

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were disappointed with the kitchen: the fridge was really old and tatty, (it even had rust on the door edges) and there was only 1 electrical socket in the kitchen. This is crazy because you can't use the kettle and the toaster or microwave at the same time. The dials on the hob buttons were so old you couldn't read the numbers so we had to ask reception why the hob wasn't getting hot enough and they showed us a diagram of where the numbers should be, so they must get a lot of these questions!!

    The apartment was huge, with 3 double bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The place was very clean and there was maid service every day and the grounds were very well cared for. Staff were helpful and always around in the main reception to help with any queries.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    apartment infested with ants, cold showers, very small, inadequate cooking facilities, lock on door very difficult to use, door had to be shouldered open because it was catching on the floor, door had to be lifted to lock. We ordered food from the pool bar and the burgers were under cooked. Staff were very unfriendly. I tried to complain but the night porter was half asleep and not interested.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic accommodation but all you need & cleaned every day!Facilities excellent - pool fab &staff excellent.Food good too. Nothing too much trouble . will def return.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff at reception was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All apartments had stairs this should be made clear

    Pool staff and clean apartments

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quality of beds was very disappointing

    Philip was just so so helpful. Cleaning staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Love the place, will definitely go back

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cleanliness and quietness and how helpful staff were

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was really hard

    Really impressed with the standard of food in the restaurant at dinner, above our expectations based on the hotel star rating.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not very clean, bad wifi.

    Helpful staff, nice pool area.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms were large and empty hence noisy!

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing! Already planning to book for next year

    very helpful friendly staff, beautiful pools, very clean & well maintained, courtessy bus service

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was limited the the office area, would be better if the wifi was all over the complex.

    The food was great and the service second to none.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Colina Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: