Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Colombo 4 stars

Lugar da Cruz Teixeira, 9580-473 Vila do Porto, Portugal

#5 of 6 hotels in Vila do Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby, unwelcoming exterior and the interior was getting neglected also. Weeds growing between the paving around the pool emphasised the lack of maintenance. Reception staff could do better. The restaurant was closed, there are no other restaurants close by, as it is an out of town hotel. We booked this hotel with the restaurant in mind. At no point throughout the booking, were we told that it would be closed.

    The entertainment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is outdated and looked like a scary mental insitution from 60 years ago. Totaly no atmpsphere. When I arrived it was dark and it looked abanonded. After a really long walk trough the badly maintained building and scary dark hallway I arrived at a really cold appartment. I did not asked for an appartment, just a room. There was a big draft in the room and the wind was coming in from all sides. It was cold. The furniture and tv were really outdated. The beds are really bad. In the bathroom they put three really large lights in front of the mirror. It will blind you. Who came up with this was not really smart. But the lights got really hot so brushing your theets was warm. Nothing worked well or was comfortable. The facilities in the hotel were not available or out of order. No gym, pool was cold, yakuzi and steambath were put in a dark and cold room. Nobody uses it. Really misleading description and photos. Survived the night. I booked and payed for three nights but after one night I wanted to leave at all cost. Its not a 4 star hotel!!! And Its way overprized. Really good alternatives nearby for the same money. Whoever gave this hotel 4 stars was drunk, high or bribed. Really riducilous!! Its riping off tourists.

    Got my money back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Designed as a sort of 70’s mental institution this place lacks maintenance and was creepily empty. Spare pillows were dirty. Mattress was cast out of the finest quality concrete. The insane large corridors makes you wonder if the twins from the Shining might pop up somewhere or if Johnny comes to ram in the door. On a more pleasant note: the restaurant was closed and so was the gym so nothing can go wrong there. The bar staff actually make a terrific pizza and poor a decent glass of wine as you need to drink a it to take the very long road back to your room hoping the twins are elsewhere. Your TV set from the 1980’s shows some vague snowy channels and the air conditioner only blows cold air so if retro is your style go for it. Staff is very nice but it is just a sad place to work I reckon. No idea who awards stars to hotels but I guarantee in Asia it would have zero.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing vue from the swimming pool towards the ocean!The kids loved the swimming pool.Friendly lady at the bar!Because we had an afternoon flight they let us stay a little bit longer which was much appreciated.Excellent value for money hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry to say but the hotel is not a 4 stars: the worse I have ever been: old and orribile structure, apartment not well maintained and cleaned, room bathroom not well working and daily cleaned. Room full of Mosquitos. Reception vacant and not helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, some non functional items (lights, water tap), noisy fridge, disappointing breakfast, poor illumination on the pool area. Overall poor price value, I don't understand why is the hotel a 4 star.

    Quiet place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasn't an iron in the room; travellers like to have that available in the room. Our clothes are creased from the long travelling.

    Breakfast is really good; a lot of variety for each individual. The eggs were generally cold, could be a bit warmer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff forgot to tidy up the room one day. A bit far from city center.

    Good breakfast and clean rooms. Staff is very polite and the property has a pool and a bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent from the breakfast to the bed and every thing was spotless. will highly recommend this Hotel to friends and relatives that will visit Santa Maria.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The very few free facilities of the hotel are out of order. The staff is not enough and not well supervised and prepared, the cleanness of the common areas, swimming pool and breakfast tables is very bad. The building needs urgent repairs. It is not at all a 4 stars hotel

    The location of the hotel, far from the village centre, and with a view to the ocean, is not bad, if you can rent a car (very expensive).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A non-neglectable walk from the town. Some minor annoying details: a mechanism in the bath did not work, no furniture on the terrace to begin with, etc. Nice hotel in general, but it does not seem like a 4-star hotel.

    Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personel should have noticed that the battery of the remote control of the air-conditioning was empty. It was quickly replaced. Other problem is already discussed with booking.com

    Good hotel on an interesting island. Breakfast ok. A lot of parking space.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was perfect. good location.

    Great service. and confortable. plan on going back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditoning distrubutung free water over our luggage Freezer noisy all night Landscape with rubbish

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    People

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything looked old and tired. Hot breakfast, eggs, bacon etc were not hot at all.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool. Bread was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Os clientes do Booking ficam nos quartos do piso -1

    The bed extra comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Lack of few cooking tools in the kitchen: no can opener, no toaster, etc.

    The view and the dimension of the apartment. Very large.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs major remodeling

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice room with sea view. Good swimmingpool. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Not much. The Ilha Santa Maria is just lovely -. even in winter when I went there.

    Vila do Porto is good place to stay.Take a walk down to Harbour and the other street back!Easy to get around the island from there.Colombo Hotel has a view to die for (and a breakfest too!WOW!)! Places NOT to miss: Sao Lorenzo,Maia (The Waterfall!!),Walk a trail-there are several-One good starts down by Fort Sao Bras and gets you through the Nature Park!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honeymoon. Arrived in our "apartment room" and the doors to the balcony wouldn't open (hitting the handle very very hard was the solution suggested by the hotel staff), it was hot like a sauna and there were no lights and airco in the bedroom. Also, there were two separate beds pushed together instead of the extra large kingsize bed they promote on booking.com. We went to complain about our room and especially the bed, but they couldn't fix the problem and kept saying that it was not their responsibility what is written on booking.com. In the end they made us pay for an upgrade to the suite so that we could finally start enjoying our honeymoon. This was supposed to be a beautiful first evening of the honeymoon, but it ended in hours of waiting and frustration with the approach of the management. In the end we had 30min left for a rushed dinner in the hotel restaurant, because they were closing. The hotel needs maintenance badly. The management doesn't give the people working there enough responsibility to act when their guests are unsatisfied.They all looked scared to do something. And they did not have enough staff to deal with the numerous complaints of the other guests. Wifi signal was bad in the suite. Definitely not a 4-star hotel and not worth the money! Approach of Hotel Colombo management: We're one of the few hotels on the island, so we don't give a SH!T...

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The young lady on the desk when we arrived helped to choose a tour for the day...Pedro was an excellent guide. Checking out was easy, and again front desk staff were very helpful.the breakfast was the BEST of our trip to the Azores and Madeira!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the money you pay, the breakfast is not so exciting. Neither they offered a schuttle to the airport which is 10 minutes away from the hotel (after having stayed and paid 5 nights).

    Nice stuff. Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitos!!! One day we left the balcony door open for a bit of fresh air. A legion of mosquitos went in and we took heavy 'casualties'. No lies! I fought back and ended over two of them, but they were still very much active. Advice, keep your balcony door locked at all times...Azores are not as the ads say Mosquito free!

    Very quite hotel. We went in early Jun. the diving season in Santa Maria hasn't started yet. The hotel is really quite,which is in a good way so we could have nice sleep. Hotel room is spacious and clean with a large balcony outside. We use it to try all our diving gears. There is a dive center in the hotel but it only open for business since 11 Jun. So we had to go all the way down to the Marina to book our dive trips with another dive shop. Because the hotel is something like 3.5 km away from the Marina, so walking is out of the question for the morning dive. We walked back every day after dive. It is kind of long but nice island landscape on the way.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    distance from the center village

    Breakfast, personnel courteousnes, size of the room

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No screens on windows so lots of mosquitos in room.

    Good view. Wifi worked well

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was shabby; The hotel needs better maintenance.

    Staff was nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is on a lovely property but a bit remote. In room air conditioning was a bit weak. No wifi in rooms.

    Great service from hotel staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Paid Expresso at Breakfast Poor offer for Breakfast

    Spacious rooms Good overall facilities

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: