Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cova da Iria Hotel 3 stars

Av. Beato Nuno, nº 424, 2495-401 Fátima, Portugal

#10 of 43 hotels in Fátima

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 602 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    would always stay there, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. the hotel was excellent and helped us out immensely due to fact that 2 of my grand kids were in a very bad car accident and are still in the hospital.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel I have been in on my Iberian trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doorstop in the bathroom. Accidentally kicked my toes into it on two separate occasions and they really hurt.

    Lovely, light, cheerful, spacious room, with balcony. Loved it. The bathroom was well fitted out too and had a bath. I also liked that it was a nice walk away from the Sanctuary and the crowds of people. It was a pleasant, quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, very nice staff, clean, comfortable beds, great stay! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been absolutely perfect if location was between churches and bus stop (we came from Porto) but no problem to walk. 10 min walk to churches.

    Staff very nice, beds comfortable, each had a double bed. Good location (opposite direction of churches though from bus stop) but still within walking distance!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Clean, there were 4 beds inthe room which was actually not needed for 3 people, but it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the website Booking.com there was written that the breakfast is included in the room rate, but it wasn‘t.. To add we were asked if we want to get the breakfast and I told them „yes“ as a matter of course cause on the page there was also written „no additional costs“ related to breakfast. But In the next day, after the breakfast we should pay extra 15€ more for that.. So Please tell us before so that we know about it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    We enjoyed staying at Cova da Iria, and have begun recommending the hotel to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of us like soft pillows while others enjoy firm ones. Daniel would have enjoyed a firm pillow, but I was fine with the soft one on my bed. Would've like colder whole milk for breakfast, but overall it was a nice stay at Cova da Iria Hotel.

    We were so tired after arriving in Lisboa from the United States and then the bus ride to Fatima, that the beds were so comfortable. The staff was so helpful guiding us to the shrine and the events. Not knowing Portuguese, we appreciate the staff helping us print our boarding passes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Stay in a hotel that is closer to the sanctuary and nicer.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can only reach this city by plane to Lisbon, then bus to Fatima. My flight into Lisbon was delayed causing me to miss the last bus to Fatima, so I could not arrive on the night expected. I called the hotel and their suggestion was to spend 149 Euros for a taxi but whether I arrived or not, I was still charged to that night's stay. This seems so unfair since it was not my fault that the plane was so late, I miss my connection. I spent that night in Lisbon (for much less than a 149 Euro taxi. The property is a 20 minute walk from the sanctuary, which is a long way, especially when the Procession ends close to 11pm, and I had to walk back in the dark alone, which was scary. Once you get there, you really are stuck the whole day as it's such a long walk back to the hotel. Breakfast was adequate, but not great. The are much better hotels closer to the sanctuary. Will never stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    We totally enjoyed our stay and will return in the future, definitely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Staff were friendly, location is perfect , quiet and safe neighborhood. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Wifi is strong, close to restaurants and grocery store. the owner of the hotel prepared us take-out breakfast free of charge. Their hospitality was above and beyond.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals breakfast only

    All the staff were so friendly and were very helpful I have to give David a special thanks for getting the Ireland game set up for me

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, beds are very comfortable. I thought it was better given the reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was repaired but it doesn't fit properly in its holder, so it is loose. I feel this is a hazard.

    Staff is great, you feel welcomed and at home

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    On the whole; I would recommend this value for money B&B.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too hard.

    Pleasant helpful staff. They gave me guide for the town right from the outset. Good selection of breakfast. Easy to locate, for first timer. Decent walk to anywhere in the town and safely back. Prompt change of my room when my balcony door was faulty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think breakfast could have had more variety .But it was a lot

    Staff very helpful.Ideal location for main area(only 10 mins walk) Very clean .Not a 5 star hotel but worth the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Happy Memories!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tariff could have been 10% lower considering we were staying for 4 nights.

    Lovey owners and very friendly staff. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is about 15 -20 walk to the Sanctuary. Made the pilgrimage a very happy experience.The rooms and bathroom was cleaned everyday. I would definitely recommend this to my family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money hotel in Fatima
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite far from the sanctuary even though it is still manageable to walk.

    The room is clean, the breakfast is good with options of bread, ham, yoghurt, cereal and fruits; and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Probably one of the best choices in Fátima. Even for family with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Liked everything.

    Spacious, clean and comfortable room. Staff extremely kind and polite. Excellent location (near Santuário de Fátima, McDonald's, restaurants and even a supermarket). Free private parking. Cable TV and Wi-Fi working fine. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Overall a Worthwhile Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    If one would like to partake of the various events in Fatima, this hotel is a little walk away from them. However, the walk can be beneficial for those who are looking to keep off any extra weight from the local cuisine! Not to mention the walk can be made into a sacrifice in accordance with the Virgin Mary's requests at Fatima.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a language barrier with English, but it is not a prohibiting factor. The service was also quite good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have a fridge and kettle as the hotel only offers breakfast.

    The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was fine, and the balcony was a nice addition. The bathroom was big and the water pressure was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The owner is very helpful and friendly in every respect . Breakfast is good . Good location on the property . Surely will recommend to any visitor regardless as family, couples , business traveller and solo .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    The staff is definitely nice and warm who give us complete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is definitely nice and warm who give us complete guide, suggestion for dinner and even help us to make some call for communication in Portuguese !!! Breakfast and room is good with the cheap price. Parking is just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfort and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room a little on the small size.

    Staff were always very helpful,went the extra kilometer to make our stay a very enjoyable one. Would recommend this Hotel to other relatives and friends. Our host even took us in her car to the Bus Station for our onward journey. A very nice lady indeed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice and cozy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Availability of parking was a big plus. The owner was nice and friendly. The reception staff was also nice and accommodating. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of pastries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty far walking distance to Fatima religious site, but doable for those who are more active.

    Only stayed for 1 night. Great breakfast. Nice staff. Triple bed in the room was exactly what we requested. Really nice that staff made us sandwiches late in the evening, as we arrived after most restaurants were closed. Parking was available in the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    From start to finish it was a pleasant hotel to stay in and I would defintely
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all good!

    My outbound flight was late at night and the owner kindly allowed me to check out a few hours later than normal & offered to hold my baggage for me at the front desk. They also let me print my boarding pass at the hotel. Everyone was friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.8
    Affordable and Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    1. Location: on walking distance of Sanctuary 2. Staff very friendly, helpful and give good tips about how to make the most of yr stay in Fatima 3. Breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations. Plenty of choice 4. Room is a bit small, but OK as not spend too much time in the room Will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    The personal service particularly the lady who attended us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk from the hotel to the sanctuary. A little distant from the Basilica.

    The personal service particularly the lady who attended us during breakfast. Also the food is very good, and the place is very quiet and private.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing that I did no like about this hotle.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. Excellent custumer service. Excellent location and sevice and excellent price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location..lots of eating joints around and the sanctuary of fatima is less than a km away. Rooms are spacious and staff are very polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    We feel welcome and happy
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts are all the same every morning.

    The excellent services from staff, helpful and friendly and the cleanliness and of course value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Hotel is very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Especially bed are wonderful. Parking is free. You can go sanctuary within 15 minutes for walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Generally OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - breakfast not very good

    - nice apartment - helpful personnel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    The location and the quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too soft

    The location and the quietness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything was well,people very friendly,close to santuary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was well,people very friendly,close to santuary

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    the bed and rooms, the breakfast and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a bit far from the shrine

    the bed and rooms, the breakfast and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minutes from Sanctuary but it was ok!

    Very clean and staff was very kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Excellent helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent helpful staff. Room was comfortable and Hotel was near to most amenities and the Shrine of Fatima which was the purpose of the visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a big deal but tea and coffee making facilities would make an enjoyable stay perfect

    Breakfast had a lot of choice and really fresh

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable stay in relaxing surroundings .
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was a bit noisy, not well soundproofed.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Modern and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff ,quite close to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff ,quite close to public transportation and sanctuary

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Could have a frigobar in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a frigobar in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasant stay. Staff friendly. It was tidy and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel for a short stay, value for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lunch or dinner provided.

    Cleanliness, well maintained property,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Best stay in Fatima
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The cleaness, staff are courtesy and friendly, good location, and awesome breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Good for one night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for one night sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice property, small but a bit far from the church
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the location of the hotel since it was close to the Fatima Shrine. A delicious breakfast was provided for our family of 7.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, cleanliness of accommodation, friendly staff, value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Pretty and comfortable place, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    helpfull staff,accomodating,place is accesible to the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    helpfull staff,accomodating,place is accesible to the santuary, clean and very good price to stay. the owner is awesome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    I would stay here again
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff and very clean comfortable ..breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.5
    I want back to there
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The customer service in very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    excellent place good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very helpfull and the location was good too.
    • Couple

    I would have liked tea making facilities either in the bedroom or access to a cuppa late in the evening.

    The staff were very helpfull and the location was good too. Very clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    very close to the sanctuary 10 min walk bearing in mind was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very close to the sanctuary 10 min walk bearing in mind was travelling with my 80 year old mum was convenient. had a puncture on one of the cars as we reached the hotel and the hotel organised to have the tyre replaced immediately with costing the world..... fantastic..

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were incredibly welcoming , warm, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was the only downside.

    The staff were incredibly welcoming , warm, and helpful. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recommend!

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    8.3
    The staff are helpful and friendly specially the lady who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean

    The staff are helpful and friendly specially the lady who is the owner of the hotel she is very good

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    EVERTYHING IS PERFECT from the staff and the hotel.
    • Group

    EVERTYHING IS PERFECT from the staff and the hotel..

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.5
    Very convenient place to stay
    • Group

    Very convenient place to stay

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    The owner was very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Receptions are very kind and friendly, they help us for all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Receptions are very kind and friendly, they help us for all information. Rooms are clean, breakfast was good,near citycenter

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.6
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    The owners staff and hotel are great.
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The owners staff and hotel are great.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    6.3
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some distance from the Basilica but it was a good walk

    Helpful staff

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: