Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Peneda Hotel 3 stars

Lugar Da Peneda Gavieira, 4970-150 Gavieira, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Gavieira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had a lovely room, very clean and comfortable. It was in a nice, peaceful setting and our host was very friendly and helpful. There is no waterfall behind the hotel now since a dam was built above it to form a lake. We walked up the steep, rocky path (all switchbacks) It took us an hour with some stops but it was very nice to sit by the lake. It was another hour coming down taking it steady (our sticks would have been useful) Worth the walk (we are in our 60's) We ate in the restaurant (note the price includes starter, main, dessert, wine, water and coffee - 33euros for two) Food was very good and substantial so don't snack beforehand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get the water above warm in shower or sink. Even with a space heater the room was very cold. The common rooms were also freezing.. we enjoyed our restaurant meal very much but it’s he only option.

    The staff couldn’t speak English but they went above and beyond to help us. We were the only people staying as we were out of the normal tourist season. Room was comfortable except the temperature which was freezing. Had a good meal at the onsite restaurant and the owner treated us to a lovely bottle of wine. Interesting location to visit for one night. Good hiking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went in February, all the hotel was freezing cold! A they usually dont have guests during the week, they just shut down all the heaters of the hotel! Plus the tap water was not warm, was barely acceptable to take a bath. We reported the situation, they gave us a small heater for the room.

    The location is amazing. Offered a bottle of champagne for our Anniversary.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is brilliant and extremely good value. If you are English, the English translation is not always correct though, so get the Portuguese menu and use your dictionary. We've eaten here many many times and it's always been great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't normally write negative comments but this place was disappointing. Owners seemed hassled and preoccupied. We felt we were an inconvenience. Food variety limited. Don't recommend room 3 as there is a huge street light right outside the window.

    Clean room good location receptionist is very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could include more variety. Too many sweet, sugary items. The quality of the conserves was poor. But having said that, the fruit selection was very good. Not much to complain about at all.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The dinner was of very good quality and excellent, but the breakfast was quite ordinary. Room was clean with a fantastic view. We will definitely be back someday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to get to. Geres appeared to be a better destination with more to do and more beautiful scenery. Plus resraueants.

    In the heart of the national park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved a way to make my own tea throughout my stay since I drink a lot of it. A kettle in the room or one that guests can access would be nice. The village is tiny and has not much to offer other than hiking. But, it's why you're in a national park :)

    The staff at this hotel is incredibly friendly and helpful. We became instant friends. They even waved me off when I left. The rooms are comfortable. Mine looked out on the little square in front of the church, the village and the mountain. A nice hike can be done from the hotel. Other great hikes are a short drive away. The restaurant is decent. They made me some boiled eggs to take hiking with me when I asked, and packed up some breads.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had tea / coffee / fridge in room

    Couldn't do enough to accommodate us and our baby. Endless supply of coffee and cake in the mornings and dinners excellent with lovely wine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nightmare to get to the hotel at night. The sat-nav sent us in the wrong direction, meaning we were driving in a dangerous road, at night, with no chance to ask for directions because there is no phone reception in that area - the hotel could warn its guests to plan ahead. This is in the middle of nowhere - with all the good and bad that come from it. The restaurant is quite possible the worst food in Minho. Really reeeeeeeeally bad food.

    The staff was genuinely great, but they did not speak a word of Portuguese, something I'm very uncomfortable with. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, but a no frills type of place. It's very remote and lovely precisely for that reason. It has a family feel that comes directly from the staff being so very warm and amenable. The surroundings are incredible. The drive IN THE DAYTIME, is absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we didn t stay longer...

    Everybody was extra helpfull. We didn't take money, just card, but the staff was very helpfull with that. The rooms are modern and clean. The food in the restaurant is really good and we really enjoyed the breakfast. We went for a hike in Peneda trail and they were very helpfull in explaining what we should do and how to get there. In the hotel they speak Portuguese, Spanish and English, so no problem in comunicating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the hotel. Very poor breakfest - remains of old cakes, few slices of ham and cheese. No coathanger in the room, no wardrobe where you can put your clothes.

    Beautiful place, nice and comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant lunch and dinner menus are the same.

    The hotel is off the beaten track, somwhat isolated on a spectacular hillside in the Peneda-Geres National Park. It is great for hiking, and relaxing in a beautiful natural environment. Our Venezuelan waitress was attentive and helpful. Great breakfast buffet with fruit, cereals, various breads juice and coffee

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Included breakfast buffet had a variety of options but they were not the best quality. Too many sugar store bought buns. One staff was very active but not getting anything done and wasn't helpful. Other of staff were very good. Restaurant prices were very high.

    Nice modern decor. Highly functional rooms. Very clean. Best location. Very appealing place overall. Wifi was good overall but weak and slow in some locations. RECOMMENDED!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi didn't work while we were there. walls very thin :(

    the setting was unreal- absolutely gorgeous! we did a hike up above the hotel that was both challenging and gorgeous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms didn't have air conditioner, which in August would be appreciated. Breakfast ends at 10am, and we just missed it.

    Staff was polite, building is freshly renovated, dinner was good value for a full meal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a hidden gem! Peneda is a beautiful town set in a valley between gorgeous mountain ranges. It is well worth a visit. The drive there takes you through stunning scenery. Our room at Peneda Hotel was beautifully presented and clean. Check in was easy and the staff helpful. The view room our window over the main square and entrance were beautiful. The Church is gorgeous as is the whole surrounding area. Highly recommended is the restaurant attached to the hotel. It is owned by a lovely man who made us feel like family. We cannot speak highly enough of him and his staff. Many thanks Senhor Manual for your hospitality and stories! Parking is right out the front of the hotel and the WiFi signal was great. building off the road. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again if we return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public seating place/lounge is not very inviting. Air conditioning in the rooms may also be of need sometimes, but a small ventilator does the job not too badly.

    It is a lovely little hotel, set within a beautiful old building on a charming praça, just opposite the tiny village of Peneda and the mountain behind it. The rooms are very convenient. They are modern, new or perhaps just been refurbished, spotlessly clean, with wooden floors and a basic but quite sufficient furniture to go with, giving it all a good ambience. The bathroom is very well planned and, again, spotless. The place is run by an efficient young man, and the owner, Manuel, who seems to come by quite offen, is very talkative and helpful. Breakfast is basic but good, and dinner is rich and satisfying. Try the house white wine. It is a place to come back to, and definitely a good value for your money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not possible to get off the hotel before 8:30 am, not very good bread for breakfast ...

    Great atmosphere with view to the church, nice hotel interior, quite place in the evenings. Despite of the fact that staff did not speak English (with one exception), they were helpful ...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air conditioning and the temperatures were in the mid 30Cs! Noise from outside bar/cafe until early hours ( window had to be open as no aircon)

    The location, the dorado and the staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More walking info/maps at Peneda

    Amazing setting, quiet and secluded during the week, mezio gate has lots of information about ancient sites and hiking if you are approaching from Braga. Poco Negro swimming hole between soajo and lindosa was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic hotel acommodation, interior lacks charm.

    Great location, very uncrowded potion of the park. Staff are extremely nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cold

    cold

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. The people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Often reception unattended Restaurant was distinctly average

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant could be better !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Restaurant - Breakfeast

    - peace & quiet - surrounding área

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it has no phone signal from all providers

    it's a calm place, nive view, tranquility

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bells and bells and bells...

    Great place, friendly personal and fantastic food in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Noise from the kitchen and corridors

    Place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good price for really nice rooms! The staff really made an effort despite their bad English skills

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff didn't speak any word in english/ french + the food at the restaurant was also niet the ebst compared to the hostel..

    Really good situation in the center of peneda

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows could be a little big bigger and the room heating was working but then it randomly stopped for some time and then restarted again. The breakfast was OK, but more choices should be given.

    Hotel personnel was very friendly and the hotel is very nicely preserved and well taken care of. The rooms were extra clean and the bed was comfortable; the hotel was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There could have been more choice of cereals at breakfast (muesli perhaps) but this is a very small point.

    The staff quickly became friends, always ready to go out of their way to help. The food was outstanding and the hotel itself was very comfortable and warm.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is iffy! In the room it works well but is not very strong. Moreover, 2 or 3 times a day my iPad and iPhone lost the wifi connexion and I had to turn it off then on to get a connexion again. Not a big thing but annoying. In the common areas such as the dining room and the living room it was weak to non-existant. Breakfast is plentiful but there is not much choice of meat, cheese or fruits and it does not seem to vary from one day to another. But again, there was more than enough food and after all, for less than 50€ a night breakfast included, it was not bad.

    The entire staff is friendly, helpful and attentive. The place is clean and functional and the rooms are quite large for a 2-star hotel. There is also a common living room with a real food-burning firebox and a very large TV. The dinner menu is limited in scope but the food is always good and sometimes very good.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very short staffed, a young lad was running the place when we arrived. Says languages spoken include English but only one staff member spoke English

    Lovely hotel in a very quiet town, though at weekends and in summer it does get much busier than when we were there.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food at dinner was terrible. I ordered Turkey on the second night. Not sure what it was but it definately wasn't turkery! Ended up feeding it to the local dog.

    The room was clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at the hotel because we wanted to see the national park, but the hotel had no information other than vague maps. We had to travel quite a ways to get trail maps.

    Surprisingly comfortable hotel near the national park.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast wasn't rich enough and a lot of the products weren't fresh; Despite calling the front desk several times to ask and confirme an extra bed for a 3 year old, when I got there (and after waiting quite a while for someone to see us) they said I never made such request. However, they rectified their mistake as soon as possible.

    The room is very beautifull and well decorated and oversees the square and the Sanctuary; The beds are quite confortable; The location is absolutely magnificent and the hotel is embedded in the Mountains that surround it

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to say, I would just say that the village is very isolated so if you are looking for something dynamic, plenty of shops and museums, Peneda is not the place for you.If you love nature and outdoor activities and you want to be in a small village in the middle of nature this is the right place. No trekking activities are organized by the hotel, either you can do trekking on your own (and it is simple) or the hotel suggests organizations doing so. Mobile signal is very weak, but there is the wifi at the hotel. The hotel accepts payment with VISA but since Peneda is an isolated village I would recommend to bring cash as well. Finally pay attention to the right address of the Hotel: on booking there is indicated that this hotel is in Arco de Valdevez but actually it is 36km away and it is really located in the middle of the park.From Arco de Valdevez roads are mountain ones hence avoid to reach the hotel at night as we did because there are no lights, sometimes no mobile signal and there are lot of bends so it took us 50 minutes to do 36 km. During the day the road can be driven without problems.

    Great location to discover Peneda Geres Park. Located in a small and tiny village it is very close to trekking paths (you don't need to take a car but you can these by foot).

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -wife was not Always available (frequent interruptions)

    -hospitality from manager Manuel and cook Anna -in the middle of mountains witch can be easy visited -tranquility of this mountain hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very, but very dissapointing. Even the coffee from the flask (thermos) was undrinkable. Local children from the nearby houses are using the main square in front of the hotel as a playground in the night - we witnessed it after the midnight! Flyers and maps of this beatiful surroundings and hiking / walking tours are available only on request - one can think, they will be freely available in the hotel lobby, as the area offers many possibilites for hiking and walking. Be careful when planning your stay there --> the reception availability is quite limited. Better ask when you will be able to enter the hotel in the evening or when you can check out. Place with great potential, which is currently for sure not fully used!!!

    Location in stunning National Park. Great location for nature lovers. Next to the mountain sanctuary. The hotel is simple, but very stylish and pretty new interiors. Nice idea with lukewarm floor heating in the bathroom. It is not disturbing even in summer, on the contrary, you will appreciate it when the towels are dry after couple of hours after a shower. You can test your car on the narrow roads in the park - however, all of them are in good shape. Be wise and take at least small diesel. Small petrol engine can be very tricky here. Good WLAN connection in the room.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being locked out of the hotel at 22:00. No hot water. Restaurant closed - closest alternative was 17km away. Noisy neighbours, even though there were only two rooms occupied in the hotel (did they have to be next to each other?) No credit cards accepted (but only told this at check-out) - no receipt given for cash payment. Weak coffee and dried up croissant for breakfast.

    Location - Peneda really is a nice place to stay. Great walks starting from the village. Friendly cafe a few metres away.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful location! Breathtaking!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff really make you feel at home. A location where you can truly relax and be taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Da atitude do dono do hotel

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: