Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Guimaraes 4 stars

Rua Eduardo Manuel De Almeida, S/N, 4810-440 Guimarães, Portugal

#10 of 27 hotels in Guimarães

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 821 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall good hotel, but don't forget your trainers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor and 'canteen-like' breakfast but great staff there. Not so much at the spa with a quite basic & soulless pool who two ladies asked me to vacate the gym for wearing flip flops - I was never told I needed trainers.

    Clean and comfortable hotel. Great views if you get a room at the back (otherwise you face the round about!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but in this day and age they need to improve the room internet connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful internet connection. And a separate password for each device? How unnecessarily complicated can you be.

    Near the train station. Good breakfast. Good exercise facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel in a Beautiful and Historical Town
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to remark

    Excellent hotel with modern facilities available for free for the clients (spa; interior swimming pool; a good gym). Friendly staff. Well located - a 10 mn walking distance from the Old Town. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was super. Cleanliness - a 10/10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    The room and bed were very big & comfortable,...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed were very big & comfortable, especially for Portugal. Everything was very clean & the room was very quiet. The food in the restaurant was good & the service was excellent. We will stay there again if we go back to Guimarães.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff and a neglected healthclub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Health Club is neglected and poorly serviced: there are no free towels, robes and water - you've got to buy the water/shower caps or rent towels and robes!

    Spacious room. Lovely staff (5 stars!) Good restaurant. Parking facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, extremely clean and comfortable with a good...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast could have been a little better

    Very nice hotel, extremely clean and comfortable with a good breakfast 10 min walk to the old town with shops and restaurants. Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    lovely old home and great ambience , Although it looks like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely old home and great ambience , Although it looks like walking distance from Sintra it is way around the back of the hill and you need a car to go anywhere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Very happy with the stay, and would have no hesitation in returning in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was very good, although it would have been nice to have a proper fried egg in the morning. The mushrooms tasted as if they came out of a tin. The poached eggs were left in the warmer, which made them hard-boiled. So a little more effort needed to sort out the fried breakfasts. The hotel is about 800m from the centre of Guimaraes, and the walk back is up a gentle gradient, so may not be suitable for someone not able to walk too far. We are keen walkers, so we had no problem, but there is a bus, which runs from the town centre up the hill, and stops near the hotel.

    As far as I was concerned the hotel was of very high standard. The staff were all very friendly and were very happy to deal with any queries I had. A special thanks to the lady on reception Friday 18th August, who arranged our room, although we arrived at 10am in the morning. But a big thank-you to all the service staff for a great job. Thank You. Also the train station is only 100m along the road, which is convenient for a train to Porto.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    This was a weekend away to celebrate my husbands birthday. He said it was his best one ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    There was plenty of choice at breakfast and the coffee was excellent. The soundproofing in the rooms was very good. Our room overlooked the railway tracks and a busy roundabout but can't say we heard much noise. A ten minute walk and you were in the lovely Old town with its beautiful buildings ,interesting streets and nice places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    well located for historic centre;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    well located for historic centre; modern, business type hotel; clean, good breakfast offered. Parking outside hotel or in garage below. Practical bedrooms, spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Recommend (hotel) Guimaraes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not know , because we stayed only one night

    THE correct approach of the staff. Complete silence, thoughdonot in front of railways and heavy traffic. Breakfast excellent cause of many choises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    The rooms were excellent - very comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar and restaurant lacked atmosphere. We did not eat or drink in the hotel except for breakfast - which was very good.

    The rooms were excellent - very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good however the food in the Piano bar was poor - we didn't try the restaurant for an evening meal and instead walked into the centre where there are lots of good restaurants.

    The staff were very helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Two nights in July at the start of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are using GPS to find the hotel, it will send you to another Rua Eduardo De Almeida about 3 km away. Use your GPS to find the town railway station and you will see the hotel about opposite. As usual with continental hotels, this hotel does not provide tea or coffee making facilities, so pack your travel kettle. If you do leave your car parked outside reception overnight, please be aware that the trees drip sticky sap .

    The hotel was very clean and has been modernised in a very original way. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large with a view over the town. The bathroom only had a shower, but it was an excellent one. The town was only a 10 min walk away with some nice gardens to relax in on the way. The breakfast was very good. We could not have asked for more

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Average Stay
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom set up was not great as the water did not drain well which resulted in alot of stagnant water and a foul smell. There was no kettle in the room to make tea or coffee.

    The staff were very friendly and understanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Good but aging hotel with spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi is poor. Hard to connect and very slow when it even works. Complained to staff but they seem to think it's our fault for trying to use it at busy times. No water or coffee/tea machine available at all.

    Very good, spacious room. Good breakfast. Swimming pool, jacuzzi, (pretty complete) gym and sauna available for use free of cost (but bring your swimming cap as it is mandatory... also, bring towels from the room or they will charge you for towels in the spa area). The hotel is one of those old but main-hotel-in-town types, with really nice but aging facilities (still, not much to complain about). With a little cosmetic treatment, this hotel would look fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron for clothes in bedroom. Have to pay for house keeping to iron your clothes....

    The hotel is 2-3 minutes from the train station. Good gym, pool, steam and sauna facilities (open from 7:30am).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    garden of eden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a problem with internet!!!!! we must have that fixed!!!!

    amazing interior design, great confort, excellent sound proof in rooms, quiet. my favorite hotel breakfast buffet because there are healthy options like various fruit salads and lean protein. nice staff, beautiful view on garden from hotel lounge, or trees and mountain from rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.1
    was not bad at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the inside restaurent dinner menu was too short.

    the bathroon was smelling very bad. the wifi they offered a small slip at night and they said that please use it immediately or else it will be expired very soon. my mobile was not charged at that time, so i put my cell on charging and than i slept, early morning when i woke-up my cell was charged by now, and then when i tried to connect wifi, so it was expired, now i was about to check-out in 4-6 hours, so it wasn't make sense to ask for new wifi slip. therefore i consider this free as WIFI as of no use for me.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Very good value for money, efficient and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does look and feel a bit like a concrete building for mass tourism, but it is clean and efficient.

    Free parking in the garage, also the spa & pool are included. Good breakfeast choices. Friendly service throughout. Wlan worked well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Hotel is very near train tracks and conference centre so was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charges for use of the pool, gym and breakfast.

    Hotel is very near train tracks and conference centre so was ideal for me. The town is just a five minute walk away. Very comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Very professional and friendly staff, clean rooms and great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very professional and friendly staff, clean rooms and great facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is beautifully designed from the inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa had an abandoned feel to it, it looked as though it could be renovated.

    The hotel is beautifully designed from the inside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    You had to pay for the swimming pool, we are in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You had to pay for the swimming pool, we are in summer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    The noise from the road when the windows are open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road when the windows are open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    First visit to Guimarães
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel spotless clean friendly staff and although on the main road very quite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Large room, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels for pool had to be paid extra - spa hotel but no robes provided for guests

    Large room, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, an easy walk to the castle and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, an easy walk to the castle and town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Bed was rock hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rock hard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Piscina, area quartos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piscina, area quartos.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Wow we enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    English breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron and ironing board available in the room or at request. Ironing provided by hotel but at ridiculous prices

    Friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Good Location, Friendly staff, awesome stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ironing facility inside the rooms should be available.

    All remain well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    9
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customers services

    Standars

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Slow wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Standard hotel just outside the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very quiet and feels a bit 'soulless' at times.

    Easy, free parking, comfortable room, 10 minutes walk to centre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Excelent staff, very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A

    N/A

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    very good joice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lighness spa area

    Service very attentenful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.7
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk up hill from major sites

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    The friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All went well, no special complaint. Maybe only the price of the breakfast was a bit high, but I cannot judge the price/ quality as I did not have breakfast.

    The friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the rooms. Close to the city center. Good SPA services offer at good prices.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    We got spacious comfortable room that overlook at city &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got spacious comfortable room that overlook at city & castle. Breakfast was excellent. It took no more than ten minutes to reach the old city by foot. Private parking. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    For anyone taking a train, the hotel is about a 2 minute...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    For anyone taking a train, the hotel is about a 2 minute walk to train station. The bar is large but yet not too loud as it is hidden in the back of lobby. The bartender Afonso is very friendly and focused on serving customers promptly. The bar could easily accommodate informal business meetings and I believe it is open until at leat midnite.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    It was very nice to have free access to an indoor garage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been lovely if there had been an outside bar or terrace. Having to lurk like a degenerate outside to enjoy a holiday cigarette was a pain

    It was very nice to have free access to an indoor garage 24/7

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Good location, walking distance to city center, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit old room furnishings.

    Good location, walking distance to city center, helpful staff, excellent breakfast, private parking, rooms for smoking. Fitness center (swimming pool also) was included price, however is necessary to have head-cap in swimming pool, which you have to buy.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    7.9
    Size of the rooms and quality of the mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need to pay one euro to receive a towel at the SPA & fitness center for the hotel guest :-(

    Size of the rooms and quality of the mattress

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Fantastic view from large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic view from large comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Location at the edge of the old town is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location at the edge of the old town is great. Very spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very, very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    had to buy a cap, pay for the towel and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    had to buy a cap, pay for the towel and pool. would rather have it included in the price. this turned me off.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    Location, just next to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location, just next to the train station. Easy to access city center. Nicely decorated room and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    7.9
    Restaurant is fancy, but food is average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant is fancy, but food is average

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel de Guimaraes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: