Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Moura 3 stars

Praça Gago Coutinho 1, 7860- 010 Moura, Portugal

#2 of 7 hotels in Moura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1305 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful building and common areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building illumination also illuminates the rooms, making it difficult to sleep with open windows.

    Beautiful building and common areas. Very large rooms. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old 17 Th century convent that was turned into a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old 17 Th century convent that was turned into a hotel in 1900’s. Cool when we arrived . Large room with queen and single bed . There was a pool in the garden, lovely to swim and relax in the refreshing water after a hot day of cycling . Great selection of food at the breakfast buffet .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, characterful accommodation at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As ever I would've liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room but I think the biggest issue for some could be the lack of an elevator which necessitates carrying your bags up to your room and this can involve a lot of stairs. However the staff did offer to help us with this.

    Located in the heart of Moura this was great value. The building, an ex-nunnery, is very characterful and attractive. The room, "superior double" , was very spacious and comfortable with a balcony and a large bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was ample car parking. The lounge area was very comfortable and the bar prices extremely reasonable. Breakfast was, if not great, most acceptable. Although not listed on the booking, there is also a small but pleasant pool. For overall value this was probably the best deal of our trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Location, friendly staff, nice building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better with fresh coffee (not machine one). The pool is too small and the access to it could be better.

    Location, friendly staff, nice building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    What can be better?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. We liked everything

    Everything. Year after year. We are beginning to be known by not only the hotel staff but also by the surrounding environment. Always helpful and nice. No complaints what so ever :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told that there was a garage for the motorcycle but this was just a parking area. In the end they opened a gate into the courtyard which was a safe area.

    The room was very nice and clean. The staff were helpful. The food was ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    This was my fourth visit to the Hotel de Moura and almost a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my fourth visit to the Hotel de Moura and almost a year since my last stay but the same happy and helpful staff made me so welcome again and ensured I had the the room of my choice, so comfortable with double aspect views. This hotel is a jewel right in the centre of Moura, a small city situated in a lovely region of Portugal. It is the perfect base from which to explore the lower / mid Alentejo and to enjoy the hospitality of the kind and welcoming people who live there and who are always so pleased to share the fruits of their land, by way of their delicious food and wine. I am in a "different world" when I am there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Somewhere different and enjoyable in a fairly rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing can be a bit smelly at times.

    An old convent converted in to a hotel. Great atmosphere and features. Superior rooms are lovely and spacious, but bathrooms a bit small. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts reasonable. Moura is a nice little town and a good place to tour the rural area around it. Lots of olive groves and a few vineyards. Off the beaten track, but gives you a taste of the real Portugal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool is too small to actually swim, but the water was great to cool down in summer. The toilet is situated behind the opened door which makes it difficult to get to. Breakfast is not extensive.

    Rooms were spacious and the (double!) bed was the best we've found among multiple 4* hotels in Portugal. The hotel has private parking. The staff is absolutely superb. They know the area and will gladly help with calls and things to do outside what their folder offers. Beautiful historic building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location for viewing Moura. Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A beautiful old building. Excellent aircon throughout which was important as we had temperatures of 43 and 47 degrees. Made good use of the small pool in garden which was sufficient for the numbers staying. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The hotel staff were very helpful and could not do enough. They provided information on the area and local restaurants. There was a small outdoor pool. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. The building was very attractive both inside and out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a romantic escapade!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an 18th century convent which was turned into a hotel in 1900, but kept ship-shape until today. The architecture, decor, and facilities are unusual and fascinating. The staff is very professional and courteous. Being an old building means that although we stayed in the year's hottest days (44 ºC max.) we almost didn't need to fire the AC.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Best place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Reception was extremely nice !!!! Great location - center/oldtown. Big private parking. Room very BIG with nice view from the windows!!! Interiour and exterior - wow!!! Its like museum, we have spent a lot time just inspecting hotel area. Bed was the best i have ever slept !!! Good breakfast. Supermarket - 5min on foot. From our trip around Portugal we have stayed in a lot 3* and 4* star hotels. And i can say this was the place we excited the most. Dont know why they have only 3* stars? I would give 4* stars for this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful old building, comfortable room sizes.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water and plumbing was an issue when the hotel was fully booked.

    Beautiful old building, comfortable room sizes. Good breakfast. Good location to explore the town from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice building, nice staff, enjoy the swimming pool:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located in the city center. The building of the hotel is really nice. We enjoyed a lot the swimming pool. Personal was helpful. The furniture a bit old, but rooms quite big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    You are sure to fall in love with this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be much better if it included the excellent local bread and cheeses. The linen in the bed made too warm. The bathroom had a smell when we arrived that was due to lack of use and was gone as soon as we started using it. The swimming-pool is just a large watering tank and the garden and swimming-pool area need improving (and are being so in the near future, for what we ere told)

    The property is lovely and very well decorated with plenty of common areas where one can (and wish to) just relax and read a book or do nothing :) The rooms are big and nice. Moura is a lovely town to visit, with its gardens and parks and old moorish streets full of plants. It is a very good place to visit the Alqueva Dam, just 12 kms away and the many interesting places in that area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and beautiful hotel with not many tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is sporadic, I always need to chase it at Hotel de Moura. However we do return because the rest of it is very relaxing. We don't like the coffee machine in the breakfast. This visit we brought our own instant coffee so only had to rely on the machine for hot water.

    Hotel de Moura is very comfortable. Our room was beautiful with a good shower, good AC, comfortable beds, a sitting area, hardwood floors, and a view over the park in the plaza in front of the hotel. We enjoy sitting in the back, reading, and sipping a glass of wine. Moura is a beautiful town to stroll around with hardly any tourists.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Staff were very accommodating,too many to mention but Angela...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On-site restaurant/snack bar would be handy but we found two excellent restaurants within five minutes walk.

    Staff were very accommodating,too many to mention but Angela was one of them,also Nuno. Early check in was much appreciated as was the early breakfast on departure.Air conditioning is very efficient.Would certainly stay again if we're in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is problematic and the grounds could do with some tlc. The hotel itself is in beautiful condition for her age.

    Great check in. Staff made us very welcome and gave us excellent advice on restaurants. The staff also went out of their way to give us advice on the white night. The hotel is an absolute gem of a property. The room was basic but beautiful . The breakfast was very good except there was no fresh cheese offered. This was the only hotel in Portugal that did not have it. Must admit we were addicted to it for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel and Town, Good Value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is unstable. Reception not helpful to find restaurants open for an evening meal on Sunday and Monday nights. We were lucky to find a good hamburger one night, and limited tapas selection the 2nd night. Coffee machine at breakfast gave bitter coffee and not always according to the button pressed.

    Beautiful large room and building. Comfortable beds, good shower. We enjoyed our doors that opened to the park and the places to lounge outside in the back courtyard. There was a good continental breakfast with fresh fruits in an attractive dining room. Very good value for price on Sunday and Monday nights. Moura is a beautiful small town. We spent the day wandering it's streets seldom meeting another tourist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Hotel is a little hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast could have been a little better. But it was still a nice breakfast.

    The building was fantastic. The bedroom was one of the best we stayed in Portugal. Excellent staff giving great advice. Fair play to ye.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Very Helpful, friendly staff and beautiful historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was of lovely original design but in order to keep this intact the " ensuite" facilities were poorly arranged and too small and lacked privacy.. Lack of an elevator was not good but it would be hard to install in such a classic building.

    Very Helpful, friendly staff and beautiful historic building. Very impressive room and large comfortable bed. all in walking distance of the town centre and local places of interest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice stop in historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View on the house across the very narrow street, which gave me a sense of lack of privacy. I had room 105. No elevator. Bar was only open when people asked for something. Swimming pool shallow and small. I felt like a goldfish in a bowl.

    Spacious room, modern bathroom, TV with international channels. Lovely building and patio. My scooter was safe on the private parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    It was a short but enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In spite of the breakfast ending at 10am they agreed to extend the time because we arrived very late. The staff was very nice, the room had a lot of electric outlets and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really enjoyed my stay here - the hotel is lovely and quiet which is exactly what I wanted. My room was clean, comfortable and the view from my window looked out across the roof tops of Moura. The building itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was perfect.

    I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. It is a former convent and very spacious - look at the photos! Breakfast was the best we have ever had and staff were very helpful. What more can I say??

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel filled with historic features
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was amazing! If I had to pick something, it would be that the beds were quite firm.

    Loved the historic hotel with tiled front and central staircase. Lots of areas to sit outside and a beautiful little orange grove with wildflowers by the pool (which was not in use during our March stay). The continental breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. Ten minutes' walk from the castle. Extremely good value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    wonderfull old building, nice staff and big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderfull old building, nice staff and big room. Breakfast was enough good, same quality that most four star hotels. Overall very nice place to visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller room than expected, poor set up of bathroom with only glass sliding doors, poor quality pillows and sheets,. Rooms on website looked much nicer than we got

    Beautiful historic building, well located, lovely public spaces and lounges, large tv with lots of English channels, good breakfast, nice view of park

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    We will tell other friends of our experience and would certainly stay again ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful, the property is stunning (amazing architecture and detailed features, especially the ceilings), with beautiful and very comfortable furniture (inside and outside). Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Was easy to get around the town on foot, from the hotel. The suggestion for dinner at A Trilha, was the "icing on the cake" - had a great meal and were absolutely charmed by the server, Debora.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toaster at breakfast was inefficient much to small . The weather!

    Nice staff friendly and knowledgeable,good breakfast,a truly beautiful building with so much history and antique furniture,our room 101 had a fabulous vaulted ceiling and the breakfast room ceiling was superb

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the ground floor. The room was more for disabled people. The floor in the shower was therefore flat, and when showering, the bathroom floor got pretty wet.

    Our room smelled like smoke, so we got another room. The room was less bigger than the previous room, but we were happy with it anyway. The hotel is really nice, the backyard is beautiful. Breakfast was really nice, a lot of different choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Quiet, friendly and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been a bit better, but apart from that, everything was good, we could find no fault.

    The room huge, clean, comfortable and friendly and the hotel is within easy access to the town. The area is very scenic and a trip out of the town I recommend if you have a car. The restaurants are plentiful and the hotel will recommend some very good ones.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved staying here. The interior decor and history of this place gave it a lot of character and made the stay even more fantastic. Bed was comfortable, staff was friendly, and about 5 min walk into town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel and the room was nice and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't check in until exactly 2 pm (we arrived at 1 pm) so had to wait around despite the room being ready. Receptionist not particularly helpful on our arrival

    Lovely hotel and the room was nice and spacious. In a good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay, but sort out the wireless.. otherwise charge less!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame about the wireless, no internet at all during my stay. For the price (above avg for the city) this should have been available.

    Very good hotel, it is an beautiful old traditional building with high ceilings and very well decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Beautifull refurbished historic hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately due to the age and protected status of this wonderful old building, there was no lift.

    Beautiful period building with spacious rooms and excellent service. Secure onsite parking. Perfect location in the centre of town, minutes away from shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful house (inside and outside), breakfast was good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator - not a big deal for us, but could be difficult for handicapped people

    Beautiful house (inside and outside), breakfast was good, staff was friendly, quiet and clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    We come back in the Future if some of the rooms to the inner court is available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the we come reception and breakfest

    The house and building is excellent. The Service however is poor.. the town is sleeping but the dinner in the Street of Café & Tapas with the Lady from Lausanne was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Moura a delightful town and would happily hpave extended our 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool jseemed ancient and was ust for cooling off.

    Beautiful hotel with wonderful areas to relax. 'Superior' rooms deserve 5* status. Good breakfast in elegant dining room overlooking a park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely setting in a former convent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar/ cafeteria was struggling to cope with the number of guests and had very limited supplies. The breakfast was only available until 10am, not late enough for guests who are on holiday. Again supplies of bread and coffee were not sufficient for the number of guests. There was very little tourist information available.

    A beautiful and ancient building with an overgrown garden hiding a small swimming pool. The room (101) had a wonderful decorated ceiling and windows overlooking the small square and park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    The property is charming-it is a typical,traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't swim in the pool. It's just to refresh. 5 people there is already a crowd. Breakfast is not bad, but there could have been more variety!

    The property is charming-it is a typical,traditional Portuguese house. Wi-fi worked well and the rooms were comfortable. Nice patio, nice garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    TOP stay and would definately stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel de Moura is a little away from the town centre but easily walkable to and from but don´t expect too much when you get to the centre.

    Warm welcome to a hotel in a former smaller palace type building. Really was quite special and I don´t know if we were upgraded but our room was one of the nicest out of approx 20 hotels we have stayed at on this trip. Add to this swimming pool and choice of wonderful terraces - Brilliant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in the middle of Moura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in the middle of Moura. The staff were very friendly. Our bedroom was fantastic for a family. The swimming pool is small but great to freshen up after a day out. Moura is a super little town and perfect for exploring this part of the Alentejo. Breakfast was good with a selection of food. We will return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    A charming property, couldn't believe my luck....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good for me 👍

    The hotel is a beautiful 17th century building which was a convent until 1900. It has many beautiful features and a lovely cloistered courtyard which is well stocked with comfortable chairs and tables at both ground and upper levels. I opted for a superior double room and it was very large and had a very comfortable super king bed too. All of the staff were so helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to have you there. The breakfast was a cold buffet variety, but very good quality, with plenty of choice. Set in a small, quiet leafy square just a short walk, <5 minutes, to the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    excellent value with everything needed for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to follow the directions to restaurants which were scribbled on a map. They could do with a printed version.....

    the price and the large bed and the architecture

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    stunning building with excellent reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an odd arrangement of bathroom/shower and sink but we got used to it. We've suggested to the hotel that a gauze curtain would be helpful as the full length window is by the shower etc!

    The reception staff were excellent, very helpful and polite with excellent English. The building is fabulous, really well restored and very beautiful. There is lots of parking and it's easy to find. The hotel also has a small pool in the orange orchard (lovely sweet oranges!). The pool is small but very clean and it was very welcome on a day with 38 degrees temperature! Breakfast is a bit basic but at the price there should be no complaints. The bed was very comfortable. We'd certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Second time and again fantastic. Such a beautiful grand hotel, with spacious rooms, balconies, a swimming pool, excellent beds and the best breakfast yet in Portugal. How they keep up that standard of service for the price you pay, is a miracle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Restored Hotel - Great Bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at check in did not communicate well in English. It was a holiday so I asked about which restaurants would be open for dinner on the holiday. I was given a map with 3 options. We then walked to each of those restaurants to find them all closed for the evening meal as was every one we passed. We walked around the town for over an hour before we found one restaurant open.

    Beautiful large room with high ceilings was very spacious and included a sitting area and desk. Hotel also beautiful. Newly restored. We stayed only one night and would have liked to stay longer to enjoy sitting in the courtyard in the back. WiFi worked well. Comfortable bed. Street parking was easy however that may have been because we arrived on a public holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent for families exploring the Alentejo countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist was not welcoming and helpful at all.

    Apartment well-equipped and of good size for several people (we were 4 adults and 2 people). Nice main building, which was a small palace in former times. Ample parking, good central location. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor wifi signal Rooms at front subject to traffic noise

    Well located in town centre Spacious, clean room On site parking Excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Well kept secret in Moura
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, but it was not bad.

    Beautiful old building very well renewed. The hotel and the city, Moura, are well kept secrets. Wonderful secrets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in a pretty town, but limited restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few restaurants in town for an evening meal. No restaurant in the hotel.

    Hotel beautiful and comfy. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast continental and decent but the coffee was bitter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very basic, cold coffee. No fax machine despite being advertised. Non existent internet access especially on the 2nd floor.

    Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi signal in the room was pure.

    We spent only one night there on our way from Lisbon to Seville, but I wish to return and stay for a longer period of time. The place is very peaceful, the room was spacious and the bed was comfy. A breakfast was included and very good. And don't miss the garden with mandarins and oranges! We were lucky to try them - the most delicious I have ever tasted:)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful building but with modern touches for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Beautiful building but with modern touches for comfort. Huge room, massive bed. Secure parking at the rear for our motorbike.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Central location, historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, historic building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good, the staff very kindly - Only missing the fridge, it was very hot, when we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no fridge in the room, and the breakfast could be better (eggs or scrambled egg).

    It was all ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Probably the best value for money in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they don’t have a restaurant where you can dine.

    Marvelous rooms. This time room 101 and earlier this year 108.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative feedback

    Everything was lovely on this fabulous building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant staff and a great position. Rooms were fine and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Overall hotel and personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden and swimming pool area

    Overall hotel and personal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a lovely location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety of breakfast

    Lovely hotel in a lovely location and good value for money...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    L'architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'architecture

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Classic type of hotel you dream of to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was one of the best we had in a long time. It was spacious and very well tastefully furnished. The staff was friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet town accommodation was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Great place to stay staff excelent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    A Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful restored building and fantastic staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    I felt very comfortable and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    It's wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Towels a bit thin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels a bit thin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    The character of the hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The character of the hotel and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The best holiday we stayed in during our recent 9 nights in Spain & Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff, great location, fantastic decor, amazing value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely big room, very comfortable - historic building in a great location. Handy car park. Happy to return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a brandy behind the bar. No restaurant.

    lovely authentic ambience. Spacious room. Lots of places to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy period hotel with room to move
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms and very comfortable and spacious beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: