Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel do Canal 4 stars

Largo Drº Manuel de Arriaga, 9900-026 Horta, Portugal

#1 of 5 hotels in Horta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Not terrible but really overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price we paid, we were hoping something much much better than is ageing hotel. The breakfast is quite standard and disappointing as well.

    Bed was nice and bedroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Very central in Horta
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is a relatively large hotel, it's not as personalized as small houses on the other islands.

    The hotel is very central in Horta, very well reachable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel do Canal on Horta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Pico Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and well located. We should have stayed longer. The view of Pico was good, even through the tree branches 😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has a perfect location in the Horta city with the view over the city bay and Pico mountain. Hotel is a perfect base for all the activities which the Faial island offers (the offices of the car rentals, the whale watching or restaurants and bars). The interior of the hotel including the rooms is decorated in the style of discoveries with the wooden furnishings. The breakfast was very good with local cheese and yogurt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room sockets are switched off when you you switch off room lights, meaning you will have drained celular phone batteries in the morning. Terrible!!! - Internet service is bad. - Staff service is pretty bad. - Bed very badly made.

    Location is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Mixed feelings. We would return if there was no better options...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female receptionist was unwelcoming, abrupt and didn't take her eyes off the computer screen. When we checked out about 10h, we asked the reception staff to call a taxi to pick us up at 15:30 to take us to the airport. We were in reception at 15:20 waiting for our taxi. At 15:30 we waited outside the hotel between 5-10 minutes, no show. I went back to reception, having to wait to get the woman's attention. I asked if she had called our taxi, her reply was ' reservations weren't possible'.....I was dumbfounded. She then ordered a younger male colleague to order a taxi. He was on hold, waiting for sometime. Meanwhile, outside the hotel my husband was still waiting for our taxi to turn up, he noticed a man getting into a taxi and asked him if he was going to the airport, if so could we share his taxi. He kindly agreed. So thanks to this kind man we got to the airport on time and didn't miss our flight. Even if it was not possible to order a taxi for us in the morning for a pick up in the afternoon, this so called receptionist could have booked our taxi at an appropriate time....she could have noticed that we were waiting in reception, if she could take her eyes off the screen....Not just with us...her attitude was bad with others to... Though our room was nice and clean, the smell of bleach was overwhelming, we had to open the doors to help disperse the toxic fumes.

    Well located hotel. Nice clean room and hotel. Plenty of areas to sit and relax. Bar and restaurant staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Pico Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pretty standard rooms, small size.

    Nice hotel in a very convenient location close to the marina. Great views of Pico mountain and the harbor. Good quality facilities, very comfortable (firm) beds, great service. Well maintained and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Better than expected due location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Best location in Horta-close to good restaurants. Clean rooms, friendly and efficient staff, nice bar and good restaurant. The hotel is located across from the harbor and benefits from a front porch/seating area providing a nice place to have a glass of wine and watch the scenery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean hotel , very good location , very friendly staff in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not friendly or helpfull in any way , its obvious they dont like foreigners , but the lady was an exeption she was the oposite of the other reception staff , very friendly and helpfull !

    Clean hotel , very good location , very friendly staff in restaurant .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    I think this island was one of the most beautiful places I have ever travelled to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Wonderful staff - extremely friendly and easy going. I left a few things behind and they went out of their way to mail them back to me. Thank you!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Best located in Horta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms could be better illuminated. No pool, only jacuzzi.

    Extremely well located, has nice facilities and excellent helpful staff. Breakfast is very good. Nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Faial's best accommodation choice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although this wasn't our case (we woke up early every morning), we found that breakfast time finishes too early (6H30-9H30).

    Welcoming check-in. Great facilities. Appealing deco and architecture. We were lucky to stay on the top floor, next to the indoor gym and with an excellent view overlooking the Pico Mountain. Magnificent location opposite the Marina. Helpful and friendly staff, very professional yet cheerish. Wonderful continental breakfast. Daily cleaning and towel change were above expectation. We were extremely pleased with our stay. You should try the free island tea on the counter at the lobby! ;-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    perfect Location to visit Horta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    perfect Location to visit Horta

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, a short block to the famous bar, Peter's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was mediocre.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly acceptable hotel room for a launching pad for the delights of Faial Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak internet in the room. Limited breakfast both in choice and quantity.

    Great location. Spacious rooms. Free underground parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable staff throughout visit. Room very tatty and required maintenance. Lack of attention to detail

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    exellent value and very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    exellent value and very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Same breakfast every day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast every day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast was very good. The location is excellent and the rooms have lot of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Very agreeable staff, specially Mr André Filipe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very agreeable staff, specially Mr André Filipe. We will most definitely return, as we have many times before. Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Breakfast Coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Coffee

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Bed extra comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extra comfy. Sauna. Staff helpful. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable hotel. Good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location to the city center and Porto Pim beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from the port if you are planning to take the ferry to Pico or São Jorge.

    Great location to the city center and Porto Pim beach. Nice fitness area with sauna and jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Nice hotel and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Circuit blew out once cutting off electricity to all of room, except for door lock and safe, and we were on way out for dinner and was fixed by time we got back to room so not a big deal.

    Nice hotel and restaurant. Great view of Pico from Window.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.5
    Location - close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV was very outdated (not flat screen) Room was clean - could use a bit of updating Breakfast needs a bit more variety

    Location - close to everything Staff was friendly and helpful Great views of Pico

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    8.3
    Im from Horta and this is third time i stayed there with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The internet was week most of the time .Matress was a bit hard for our taste.

    Im from Horta and this is third time i stayed there with my husband and son while visiting family.The location is unbeatable since is right in the center and you can walk everywhere The staff was very helpfull with all our requests.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Eggs in the morning.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit dark inside

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Great central location in Horta, close to Porto Pim beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great central location in Horta, close to Porto Pim beach and the harbour. Staff were very helpful & knowledgeable. A wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    6.7
    location is good but this is a very souless hotel, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is good but this is a very souless hotel, just depends what you like!

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Convenient location in the centre of Horta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs some refurbishment to look resher

    Convenient location in the centre of Horta. nice bar

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Perhaps breakfast ist to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps breakfast ist to be improved.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    10
    Comfortable and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable and clean rooms. Very good restaurant with nice view.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel do Canal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: