Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Do Caracol 4 stars

Estrada Regional, Nº1, 9700-193 Angra do Heroísmo, Portugal

#6 of 15 hotels in Angra do Heroísmo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I understood that the hotel's sauna/spa was under renovation. I did not know this prior to booking a room at the hotel and I found out about this aspect once there, which made me a bit disappointed, as this was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel.

    Excellent hotel! Stylish, clean and extremely well positioned right on the seafront. Very friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the hotel. Big, new room, clean and very quiet - well worth the money for a room with sea view. The room was very well equipped, lots of toiletries and other extras. I appreciated a lot the cakes in the room upon arrival. Nice indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Very good buffet breakfast included in the room price and very good buffet dinner - I never felt the need to eat anywhere else! Very nice surroundings and quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an older hotel, therefore could use some updating

    Spacious rooms, large balcony. Food was really good and lots of choice for breakfast buffet which was included. Service in the restaurant was excellent. Very clean! The fact that you could catch a mini bus for .30cents to go to downtown Agra, was a huge plus. Otherwise it’s quite a walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were so many things wrong with the reservation. I thought I reserved 3 rooms. Somehow there was an extra room. I'm not sure how it got that way. There was also a whole other reservation for the next day for 3 more rooms. I was charged for an extra room that I didn't need nor want, and they refused to work with me on it. When I checked the reservation, it did show the extra room, so I sucked it up, but I really thought they could have been more customer friendly about it, but they wouldn't budge. I have been a repeat customer to their establishment bringing other people with me, I would have thought that would have counted for something, but unfortunately, it didn't. Then the reservation clearly said that all the rooms are doubles and they gave me a single. When I questioned it, they dismissed me like it didn't matter. It mattered to me, if you are going hold a customer's feet to the fire on the reservation, then you should at least deliver what's been paid for. Just to rub salt in the wound, I was charged more than the regular full price of the room. Not so happy about this interaction. SMH.

    Clean, great location, great amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room insonorization is not fantastic, we coudl listen to other rooms noise, beside it didn't cause us any particular issue,

    Staff extremelly helpefull and polite. Restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn't like, in fact we wish we had booked our entire time on Terceira at the hotel.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The property was sophiscated, functional, modern and clean. The room and the public spaces were light and bright and inviting. This would be first choice if we were to do it again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner buffet was disappointing, not providing many of the items pictured in ads (no shrimp, very few desserts other than puddings and jello.)

    While not in the old town, the history of Angra do Heroismo is at your feet, a very short drive or a very healthy walk away. The location is actually Silveirno, known for its sandless "beach" area. The hotel has lovely sea views, an outdoor pool terrace and easy access to the sea for swimming. Pay the little extra for the sea view, it's worth it! The suite with sea view has a very nice bed in a loft. The hotel location is very quiet at night. Thanks go out to Nuno at the front desk, he was warm and friendly, always helpful with answering our questions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsecured internet. It's mind boggling that a 4 star hotel doesn't know how vulnerable to data theft such practice is. Furniture in the lounge rooms is getting old.

    Comfortable and spacious rooms, good breakfast, good facilities. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool and areas surrounding the pool were not clean (this is not acceptable in June). As alternative we choose to went to Silveira beach in front of the hotel, but without the privacy available in the hotel. The bar next to the pool was still closed at this time of year.

    The suite is amazing with a mezzanine. The room view to Monte Brasil and over Silveira beach is stunning. As a Genius member we took advantage of late checkout (an offer of plus 2 hours). The access to the beach is just a short walk by the Wellness Center and scuba dive center. We park our renting car just in front of the main access to the hotel reception, but is also available free private parking to the hotel customers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is in urgent need of renewal. Rooms are extremely dated, shower/bath needs replacement since there is no water pressure and it clogs very easily. Swimming pool chairs are falling apart.

    Staff was very friendly and location is very good if you are looking to relax.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC out of order for the 3 nights... but they accepted to do a discount, after asking. room in front of a pathway to go to the beach Dining / breakfast room to little and very limited view

    good bedding, good breakfast good acces to the beach (Azores style : made of concrete and deep water) excellent bar, good prices. Parking easy outside the hotel. Nice grounds around the swimming pool of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the assistance at the front desk. the air conditioning was poor

    the hotel needs a bit of work on the rooms and their WI doesn't always work well but in all it was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were the hardest beds we ever laid on, we even looked to make sure we weren't on just the box spring, flat and hard as a board.

    Great location and we used the natural pool multiple times, as well as the pool. Bus stop into downtown right outside the hotel. Very clean and staff very courteous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel needs to be repaired a bit in several areas, hallways and bathrooms

    the people at the front desk need to know more about the area and helfull hints to help the guests and they need to be friendlier

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entrance to the car park was difficult - very narrow

    Rooms were large and had all normal facilities plus extra beds and two bathrooms. Plenty of space to spread. Good breakfast with plenty of choice - even if the scrambled egg was a bit stodgy. Staff very helpful and location good for getting around the island and into and out of Angra.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    /

    Perfect location and very clean rooms!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggest to give a bit variety to the breakfast buffet.

    Value for money. Nice views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Bed was just a little on the firm side but got use to it.

    All in all it was a great stay, great staff and amazing view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed swimming in the ocean - safe and convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific... Check inn got late

    Place, specifically pool and beach area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Super friendly staff! Nice room and nice view from the swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really

    staff at the reception mostly extremely helpful, view,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet was down for several days during my stay.

    The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was fine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Year 2016, no wi-fi in the rooms!!!

    Restaurant has good food and and special price menu.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    asked for full size bed and got 2 twin beds.

    Staff was attentious, nice view, cleaniness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I simply LOVE this place by the sea! I like the people, the facilities, the breakfast, the waves, the ocean....

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not too happy to return to our room in the afternoon for a rest before dinner, only to find that the noise from the gym ruined any chance of resting. There was a constant thump, thump of very loud music with an even louder person shouting exercise instructions over the pa. We were on level -1 at the end of the wing nearest the sea. A higher floor and nearer the road might have escaped this. At this time of the year (March), the hotel welcomes groups of Spanish pensioners who took over the bar in the evening we were there and made an incredible amount of noise. Dining tables were occupied with groups playing cards, whilst the end of the bar with settees and chairs for relaxing was taken over by a large party playing a pub quiz with the quiz master shouting out the questions. Needless to say, we only bothered visiting the bar one night and did not stay. Not a very good deal for the hotel as the Spanish did not seem to be drinking or eating and we had one drink and then gave up and went outside to a little cafe.

    The staff at this hotel are amazing; so friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffer was good with a varied selection of hot and cold dishes. I cannot recall the last time that I was in such a clean hotel. Everything sparkled. Good location about 25 minutes by car from the airport and a 20 minute walk into Angra town centre.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was good but it took too long to refill. I t was every morning and of different times. We had problems with the room safe, and asked for help - nothing happen.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mediocre spa eith broken chairs and some premises. The jacuzzi was full of chlorine. Outside our room there was a sleeping net that we thought it was amazing... Until we opened it and found it full of dirt and smelly...

    6 star staffing!! Wonderfull breakfast, views and location Amazing outdoor pool

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast items should include wide varieties. Often plates/glasses were not there, we have to ask. Quality of juices should be better.

    Service, location, swimming facilities

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can walk to town but it's about 20 minutes so not really close.

    Nice hotel, built on a cliff. The sea-view room (which the reception told us is the most popular room) has indeed a nice view over the bay and Monte Brasil. It has a large balcony. The bed is comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good. Parking space available in underground garage.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wi-fi in room Very hard, uncomfortable bed and pillows. Small swimming-pool, but who cares when you can just dive in the ocean?

    Nice hotel at the sea-front, about half a mile from the city of Angra - really better to drive there. Easy to park at the hotel door; otherwise they have more private parking on the side. Friendly helpful staff at reception. Free wi-fi in the reception area. Bedroom was really a suite, with sitting area, small bathroom and terrace on lower level and bedroom and main bathroom on mezzanine. The terrace overlooks the small bay which serves as beach - no sand, but cement platforms. Buffet breakfast was good. Dogs are accepted at no charge.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa/wellness centre in the lower floor was also a gym for non guests which meant classes were going on from 6 to at least 9pm. The classes were VERY noisy and could be heard 3 floors above. When we asked at the desk they just said "yes he screams a lot doesn't he". This also meant the gym was NOT a nice place to relax, the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all being right next to the gym classes. Also we were told to use the indoor pool we needed to buy swimming hats so did not bother.

    Great view and although too cold to swim during our stay the outdoor pool looked good. We had requested a double and on arrival were given twin beds. When we asked we were swapped to a double room straight away ( although even better if we had been given this room to start with as there was one available).

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was nice! We were upgraded to a spacious suite :) Location is good with a nice view

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Facilities

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet was very poor.

    Rooms spacious and good views. Very good gym. Good breakfast .

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed looks nice but seems to be made of concrete.

    It is a good modern hotel with all the facilities you will want.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms

    Wifi in rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Permitiram fazer um late Check out!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room had AC issues but we got moved into a better room

    The staff

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: