Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Do Centro 3 stars

Rua Do Carmo 20, Se, 9050-019 Funchal, Portugal

#59 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable ,overall reception are good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room ,no mini-fridge, wifi not so strong, no kettle in the room, there is one day that no replenishment of toiletries like soap and shampoo that's why we bought our own from supermarket nextdoor. Only when we nearly going home supply continues .They should Upgrade their breakfast.

    Temperature in Madeira is hot so aircon is good changes towels daily. Location is good as well close to supermarket and shuttle bus to airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was poor. We had to wait an hour for one of our rooms past the check in time as the maids were on lunch break. Breakfast was below average,no fresh fruit and only rolls,ham and cheese .This could be improved even for a budget hotel .

    Good value 3* hotel.staff helpful and requests met for extra pillows .Room clean and spacious ,good shower ,plenty of hot water.Location is great for walking to shops,restaurants and only 5 mins away from harbour and old town .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We arrived at the hotel past midnight because our flight landed. Upon arriving at the hotel we were told that there was no booking for us. We showed the proof of reservation from booking.com and still then they did not want to issue the rooms key to us. They had the same room that we booked open but was booked under another name. We suspected that this was just an error in the name. We need asked them to call the number on that booking to confirm and the person on the other side confirmed that they cancelled their booking 2 months ago. We were told that this was all errors on the part of booking.com. At 1am in the morning and after the whole day of travelling, this was not a discussion/fight that one had to have and took about 45minutes to resolve. VERY unhappy about this.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Location is excellent very close to the city centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is too small for two people with luggage. :) a little bit claustrophpbic.

    Location is excellent very close to the city centre and market, we just stayed over night. We slept well, no noise from street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    If you like local food nearby and intend to use public transport - this hotel is value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows are a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast is good food but lacks a bit of imagination.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was spotless. Location was great for public transport and good Madeiran eating places. No fancy facilities - but I knew this as I wanted the location first and foremost.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    2.5
    Not a place I would stay in again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel deserves not *** three stars. The reception lady was rude, our beds were disgusting - even the pillows smelled. The beds were so old that the strings poked on our backs. Rooms have no air-conditioning, a fan can't be counted as one. Lamps didn't work according to the switches and it was cold - the fans heating-mode didn't work. After showering in the evening the moist in the room was so high our wet clothes from levada-walking didn't dry in two days. Hotel personel came and closed the windows when we were gone and the fan nor other electricity didn't work without the room key present. On breakfast you were supposed to take your dishes to the counter and leave a clean table for the next one; the breakfast area had only 10 tables, luckily the hotel wasn't full. After not being able to switch rooms or get nothing but a couple of extra blankets the last drop was that the reception lady told us to go pay for the room in another hotel! Apparently MasterCard wasn't accepted there even though the reservation was made with same credit card. Great location in the city though, except that the hotel is above a supermarket so all the in- and outgoing transport traffic makes noises allmost around the clock.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    A fantastic location to touch all that Funchal has to offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was not very pleasant

    Location was great, staff very helpful, rooms comfortable & a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Very good accommodation and breakfast for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    I liked the clean, attractive room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Everything was good. Thank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if there were two pillows on each bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Good value basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast poor, surprisingly for Madeira no fresh fruit.

    Very convenient to city centre and harbour. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Old hotel, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old hotel, poor breakfast

    Kind staff, city center, good price,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel lift was very noisy (and our room was next door to it) and there was loud external noise from an air conditioning unit on the roof of a nearby building. (Ear plugs helped). The coffee at breakfast was also not nice.

    Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. Our room was a good size. The hotel is well situated for walkers as it is in the city centre near the bus station. (Not the sort of hotel for those who like to lounge by the pool).

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.5
    It was nice to live in the centre of Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was not as good as I had expected. No fruit, no vegetables and no eggs.

    It was nice to live in the centre of Funchal

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: