Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel do Lago 3 stars

Monte do Bom Jesus, 4715-056 Braga, Portugal

#20 of 33 hotels in Braga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 499 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff was very helpfull and friendly and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very helpfull and friendly and the location is very nice, a beautiful garden with small market and beautiful view.Very old mattresses, not very comfortable and shower cabin had one door broken, had to be very carefull not to spill water all over the place. Room was cold and heating wasn't working properly. Windows don't open completely to aerate the bedroom, thus atmosphere was heavy after one night. Ok for one night, not more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel for a large group, a family, a couple, and very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    I booked the hotel for a group of 33 friends and we are part of a choir. We were on tour in Portugal. The hotel was excellent and in a wonderful position. It met all our requirements and exceeded our expectations. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It was fantastic to have access to a swimming pool at a nearby sister hotel and the manager provided very helpful information about other things to see and do locally.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.3
    Ample free parking.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors were dirty. WiFi was mediocre. Remote location means there are few restaurant options.

    There is ample free parking onsite. The information regarding parking on booking.com not accurate. Access is 1 EUR per 24 hours and the hotel reception will give you your 1 EUR back when presenting your ticket.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Close to Bom jesus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Close to Bom jesus Low price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast, nature and all place around is magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, nature and all place around is magical

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Rooms need renovation, specifically the carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need renovation, specifically the carpet. Breakfast not very good. Relation quality/price not bad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location, nice staff and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, nice staff and clean rooms. The breakfast was also OK. We will defiantly go back and based on the price I do recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel do Lago Braga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Hotel simples mas agradável.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location close to Bom Jesus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location close to Bom Jesus Access to swimming pool and sauna. Pool-table and ping-pong table. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Really nice place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was high up. Had to walk a lot

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about our stay here.

    Beautiful peaceful setting with lovely views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice location on the top of the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location on the top of the hill. Beautiful view of the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.1
    Easy walking distance to the church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been good if the staff had told us on arrival that there was no resturant on site & the nearest place to get a meal.

    Easy walking distance to the church.Hotel dated but comfortable for a 1 night stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    This is one of the Bom Jesus hotels, behind the park, so not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is one of the Bom Jesus hotels, behind the park, so not right next to the church and stairs. I found it excellent, very peaceful. The breakfast is of the continental type, so croissant, cheese/ham/jams, juice and coffee, but there was also fruit and some pastry. I found it very good value, the hotel was also pretty empty when I was there, so very peaceful. It is by no means central, you have to know this, but it is just a few minutes walk past the pond to the Bom Jesus church and stairs.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    It was cheap, basic and exactly what we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A kettle and some sachets of tea/coffee/milk or some shower gel would make you feel a little welcome. This is the first hotel we've stayed in without them.

    It was cheap, basic and exactly what we paid for. The rooms were clean and the air con worked quietly and efficiently. The location is excellent. Plenty of clean towels and fresh linen. Great parking. Beware - the fab pool is in another hotel which you get a free pass for

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is in a nice location, in the Bom Jesus park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is difficult to find the hotel, because it is not signposted. Breakfast is the same every day, it would be better if they could provide wider range of cold cuts. The room was very old-fashioned and needs renovation.

    The hotel is in a nice location, in the Bom Jesus park. The staff at the reception desk is very kind and helpful. Our room overlooked the mountains, the common areas looked new. You can park in front of the hotel, in the park. Wi-fi worked stable.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    7.1
    The location was 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room had a damp smell, not too bad but a bit unpleasant initially. The shower needs an upgrade and I'm not sure how much the tiles are cleaned as there is soap and black stains in the grout. The worse thing however was the fact there was no iron, not one in the whole hotel! I was astounded as I have never known a hotel not to have an iron available for guests to use. Not a deal breaker but I was disappointed.

    The location was 5 star. The Bom Jesus park is on the doorstep and the views of Braga and surrounding villages are amazing. The Bom Jesus sanctuary is fantastic and the whole of the area is wonderful and not to be missed. The hotel is in the park, which has a lake, hence the name and is part of a chain of hotels within the Bom Jesus area, however, this one looked like it needed some work and inside is rather tired looking.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    Great location & views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location & views

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.5
    it is very difficult to findit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is very difficult to findit

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.3
    Very nice surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice surroundings

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Great location on top of the city of Braga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location on top of the city of Braga.Short walk to top of Bom Jesus of the mountain. great value;] would recommend

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice and helpful staff, helped us with planning of mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and helpful staff, helped us with planning of mountain Trek. Quiet place, offer of free access to swimming pool, sauna

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Excellent view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Due to the location top of the mountain no many restaurants and shops but all together it is fantastic place

    Excellent view

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: