Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel do Mar 4 stars

Rua Goncalo Velho, 9650-423 Povoação, Portugal

#8 of 9 hotels in Povoação

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 328 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Spacious and clean. Not your luxury accommodation and a little dated maybe but nothing wrong with this place. Excellent location on sea and with local bars in easy walk and lots of parking. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice. Certainly worth staying if you are looking for Accommodation in Povoacao.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated and overpriced. Breakfast is only ok, and not fitting for a 4 star hotel. For a 85 Euro 4-star Hotel we would expect more.

    The staff is welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, I could hear the neighbors talking and their alarm clock. The therapeutic bed was a bit hard for my back. The rooms with partly view of the seaside, you have to go on the balcony to see the sea.

    Personnel were very kind, warm and helpful. Beautiful interior decorations. Delicious buffet breakfast made with local products, nice and neat rooms, airco, free WiFi, free parking, they even have a game room in the cellar, there's a tower of the hotel where you have a beautiful panoramic view of the sea and surroundings. And they also have a bar that have a variety of alcoholic beverages etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tap in the bath was not working, water in the outdoor pool a bit too cold to enjoy and breakfast - really monotonous. I would wish to have more vegetables.

    Location is excellent, stuff really helpful and outdoor Jacuzzi great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent hotel. I recommend. Excellent location. View of the ocean. A spacious room with everything you need. everywhere is clean. Service: Spa, Swimming pool, Jacuzzi. Yammy Breakfast. Good connection to the Internet. The hotel staff is polite, hospitable and always ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it. We had an ocean view with a spacious deck with table, 2 chairs and a lounge chair. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. Great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very basic. The card to open the door was very often not working. The hotel is overall clean and nice. To arrive to povoacao you must need the car, it's a bit remote. Plenty of supermarkets though and there is a cute zoo.

    The balcony of the room, on the second floor, was really lovely.great for sunbathing. The room was big and nice.the pool also was nice with a Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a bit dated and the minibar/fridges no longer work. The breakfast was a bit limited but adequate. However would definitely stay here again for the peace and quiet and the views.

    This hotel is right on the seafront and with nice big balconies so you can relax and enjoy the views. The spacious communal areas have a unique style which is now a bit dated but you kind of get to like it after a couple of days. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A good base for exploring this part of the island which is less touristy than the rest. The pool is quite small but lovely for a dip after a day out walking. The Jardim restaurant in town is very good. We also recommend the walk from Faial da Terra to Salto do Prego waterfall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the only hotel in S. Miguel that I have nothing to mention anything negative at all. The area, however, lacks a beach ..so people can go swimming beach-side and ocean-side, like all other places in S. Miguel. It's surprising such a great ocean cannot be made to swim, even if that meant making an artificial beach, etc.

    The hotels in the area are very few and far between. This is almost the only game in town, but it's a professional, welcoming, relaxing, perfect vacation and travel hotel for getting to know this part of S. Miguel. I paid extra to get a front view of the fishing port and ocean, anad it was well worth it. This is the rate 4 star hotel having a flat screen TV, with perfect cable reception, channels choice and picture quality. The bathroom had marble tops, the balony / patio was HUGE ...almost for 10 people. The size of the room was 4 or 5 times what you would get at a IBIS hotel, for example. The breakfast was perfect ....and free. The swimming pool was fantastic ....with a spa/ Jacuzzi for those interested, as well. This hotel is well located, with easy parking, and 3 minute walking distance to the downtown. The hotel was easy to find. The decorations were fascinating. There was effort placed in the architecture of the hotel, also. This hotel allows visiting Nordeste, also all the Miradouro's up the coast, as well. The town has a few good restaurants, to sit outside, have a white wine or beer, with snacks, or a full traditional Portuguese meal, too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv . Every hotel i stay . The have at least 42 inch tv . And I'm fan off tv . And have better soap in the bathroom.

    We have good time at the hotel mar . Beautiful view s . Very cleam rooms . And beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing that my wife and I didn't like about this hotel. It has everything we look for in a hotel; friendly efficient helpful staff, cleanliness, location ( including fantastic ocean and mountain views), nice breakfast provided, relaxing, pool + hot tub, and especially reasonably priced for all that's offered.

    Front desk staff, i.e. Dianna, Diago, Andrea, etc. are excellent. Especially welcoming and helpful going out of their way to please guests. Location is great overlooking the harbor & ocean. Get a room overlooking the ocean, i.e. room 213 with a balcony. Great restaurant nearby named Jardim with great food, exceptionally reasonable prices, an extensive menu (try the Azoren entrees), and many tasty pastry offerings homemade, plus great coffee drinks. The staff is also excellent. Hotel is located is nice quaint village with views everywhere you look. It's about an hours drive from the airport with about half the drive on quite curvy roads but very beautiful along the way. The continental breakfast features hot and cold items with many bread/roll offerings each morning. I especially liked the coffee machine with the the selection of speciality coffee drinks. Breakfast staff is very efficient in keeping it stocked. Cleaning staff is also very attentive in their department. We'd definitely stay here again if/when visiting the island. It was very nice being in a quieter less populated area that still allowed for visiting the rest of the island easily with a rental car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding, especially pillows and mattress. No onsite restaurant or snack bar.

    Location - convenient for a wedding we attended. Also staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location facing the sea, Kind staff at the reception (they gave us un upgraded room with central view to the sea), good parking spot with lot of space, near Furnas. Very good quality / price ratio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very good breakfast with lots of choices. Friendly and helpful staff. Location with walking distance to the centre of the town, stores, coffee shops and sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad location. the road from Furnas to Povoacao is bad. almost no resturants or anything to do in the town. cold shower and they said is the hottest it gets. laundry costs a lot.

    the staff is nice, clean, big room, nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could be optimized is warm water in the shower. We stayed in room 116 and the water a bit quite chilly.

    We had a pleasant stay in Hotel do Mar and enjoyed a great ocean view. Value for money is recommendable in this hotel and the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator broken over whole weekend.

    The beds were not very comfortable and pillows were not very good. The staff were pleasant...Pedro and Tina...the hotel appears to need renovating. Breakfast was goof especially fruit salad

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Great location by the ocean with fantastic views from the balcony (couldn't get enough), great pool and jacuzzi (really useful when the ocean was too rough to swim), close to Furnas, fun city center, good food in nearby restaurants, amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Great wifi. Make sure to get a room with ocean view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always festival end of August. Of you don't know it be prepared. Music till 5h30 and a lot of street noise. You just can't sleep!!! It's not a 4 star hotel but rather 2 star . Sanitary and rooms old fashioned. No soaps in bathroom. Swimming pool not attractive. Wifi was good. Only one restaurant in the town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really they had 4 stars I would give them 2* Poor breakfast Poor accomodation Poor everithing Badest 4* hotel ever visited !!!

    the view was beautifull All THE rest was painfull ,bad

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice sea views, good room, and friendly staff. Breakfast ok apart from the bacon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be refurbished

    Great location, helpful reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the spaciousness of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was uninviting

    Breakfast was nice and enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi, big room, very confortable bed, baby bed in the room, hotel very nice and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful no complaints at all. From the staff to the breakfast to the clenliness of the hotel and rooms.....amazing!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and the bar opened on 6 o'clock pm.

    Located directly at the harbor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing, and the hotel looks outdated.

    Nice view over the ocean, perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view. Hotel in great conditions. Beautiful area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Su bookin è classificato come un 4 stelle, in realtà è un 3

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and quitly. Friendly staff .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Breakfast (with gluten free options), hot tub, very confortable bed, balcony with the view on the sea, staff ... everything !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice location on the harbor Very good breakfast Cool pool and jacuzzi (although it closed earlier than what we were told)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view and location, right at the Atlantic coast! In a proximity to restaurants. Very nice pool and jacuzzi and great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice terrace overlooking the ocean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has rooms with nice ocean view and a decent breakfast. It is situated in a lovely coastal village.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The room not having drawers to storage our clothes we had to keep most of our clothes in the suit case,

    food was good help very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good room and swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was half broken, there was more water outside the shower than inside. The balcony was a bit dirty and rusty. We were "upgraded" to a room with sea view, it has a very nice view indeed, but was smoker, and there was work in the street / harbor very early every morning and we could not sleep anymore.

    Location was very good on this side on the island, and perfect for the city. Everything is walking distance from the hotel as the town is quite small. Free Parking was available in front of the hotel. Breakfast was really good. Pool was too cold for the season (May), but outside Jacuzzi was perfect ! We even went to the (cold) pool after the Jacuzzi, it was clean and calm. Friendly staff, spacious place, excellent value for money!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was hardly hot water in the shower The flash of the toilet didn't work. they fixed it, but the next day it broke again - the water wasn't coming There was a space for a fridge, but no fridge The cleaning personnel was very rude - the lady came to clean the room while we were at the breakfast. when we saw her, I explained her the situation and asked her politely to come back later - so that we could pick up our things and leave. She left, but responded me in a rude way. The swimming pool was very dirty - with lots of tree branches in it, jacuzzi was full of sand

    The stuff at the reception was friendly, the hotel was flexible - we asked for a later check out and it was approved

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Funny small TV hanging in the corner of ceiling. But, already mentioned receptionists claimed that new TV's are already waiting for installment.

    VERY VERY cool, well informed, open minded staff (receptionist), we should have come there at the start of our trip - very good recommendations for trips through entire island. Tasty breakfast. Plus, via booking we booked offer twice as cheap as official prices listed in reception. One thing - normal prices are ridiculously high, second thing - they have that kind of offers in that hotel VERY OFTEN.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The swimming pool area was really run down and the hotel seemed to be in winter mode - with very little on offer for food outside breakfast

    Amazing location

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had a 20 year old minimal tv and a dirty shower head. The breakfast was terrible with really low quality products... Have breakfast somewhere else.

    Stayed for one night. The hotel has a cute location, and good facilities. Service was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Warm welcome, situation, room, simple and large bedroom with a balcony. Although It is not the usual four stars catégory Level, cost and comfort rate is excellent!!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hair drier was weak and no in room WiFi (but it is available in the bar area.)

    The rooms were very clean and we really appreciated thein room mini fridge. Breakfast was standard with a nice selection of items, on par with other hotels in the price range. The view of the ocean and balcony from our room were very nice. Overall a good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small TV the shower curtain - somehow it didn't help not to slash water in the bathroom..

    The location. The view from balcony (sea-view room) was good. It's in a small town, but supermarkets, restaurants and bars ("snack bar") are all around. Staffs were all nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You'll be deceived. Don't expect much. The card to open our room stopped functioning twice in two days so we had to get new ones. There was a mix up at the reception so they gave our room to someone else once we were already in it and the new guest entered our room past midnight when we were in bed and scared us. This hotel is not safe at all. The receptionist gave us a new card to our room without checking who we were and without making sure the number i gave her was for my own room or someone else ´s. Not worth four stars for sure. Very basic.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel, kind and helpfull staff, very good breakfest, nice sea view (looking over at a calm lagoon/fishing port). It also has a nice pool and jacuzzi. Spacious room, lots of parking, very good restaurant 100m away, lots of stores in the village center (5 minutes walk). Only minus- Small TV, chnnel selection limited

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location of town quite inaccessible without a car. Very little of interest in village apart from peace. No restaurant (although there was one across the road).

    Centrally located on seafront in village. Lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    What was not so good:- This hotel was built in 2002 although it looks and feels 20 years older than that with poor attention to detail of maintenance and decor. They state that it's a four-star I would say it is a 2 to 3 star at best. Of particular concern were at the poor quality beds with lumpy and old pillows. It is rather obvious that the management of this hotel do not wish to spend much money on upgrading or maintenance which is a shame as the guest experience would be a whole lot better if they paid attention to such things! Lack of Wi-Fi other than in the main area is certainly not good and add to that fact that the main area where one has to sit when accessing Wi-Fi probably has not been renovated or upgraded since the hotel was built with the most ugly design of poor quality plastic covered seating (sorry but I'm in the furniture business so I notice such things)! Due to this the main area only get used when people want to access their email and check things out but for our week of stay there the bar which is in the main area was always completely unused due to lack of creature comforts, design and a general area of niceness Breakfast is just about okay but certainly not wonderful.

    What was good :- The location in the most beautiful part of the island with fresher weather conditions and amazing local scenery. The staff who were most helpful and very nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi working only in common area, but this information we received during the reservation.

    Nice hotel, near the ocean. Breakfast normal. Good localisation for explore east part of island.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience in this hotel.

    Good location, big and clean room. Really huge terrace with view to ocean. And of course - thanks a gift to my wife :))

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was excellent

    Every thing was great

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sea view and balcony. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV way too small ,room needs a little couch or another chair need regular coffe

    View and staff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Great ocean views!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast and outside jackuzzi

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaraunt not open at night

    The staff! All great

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was close to every thing. staff was very friendly and willing to help .Breakfast where very good .

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV, the mattresses, the pillows

    View,very clean rooms,reception.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFii only available on ground floor,

    The friendliness and very helpful staff all through the hotel.Continental breakfast had everything and more.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel do Mar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: