Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dom Manuel I Charming Residence (adults only)

Urb Villa Praia D'ana, Rua Gago Coutinho, Lote 37, 8600-593 Lagos, Portugal

#14 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 691 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all good

    Dom Manuel is an extremely comfortable b&b for adults. Everything about the establishment was lovely. The breakfasts are the best with so much variety to chose from - a buffet for the buffet expert. Beds were very comfortable. There is a small lounge beside reception where you can watch the soccer and have a drink. It is an easy walk into the old town- which was always very busy so it was nice to be slightly away from the crush of people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hidden gem in a quiet part of Lagos. The rooms are comfortable, the bar is a delight, the staff are all very friendly and helpful – and the breakfast is absolutely outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything - there were no down sides.

    The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The breakfast buffet was super yummy! Although we had a rental car, we were able to get to the old center of town for restaurants by walking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Spacious room, nice big balcony overlooking the pool. Big bathroom with good towels. Interesting shower. Gentle walk to either the beach or old town. Good choice for breakfast. Easy parking in a quiet behind the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the beds a little bit too firm

    The breakfast was absolutely amazing - we have never had such a great variety and breakfast was up to 11.00. Great location easy to walk to town and beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was not directly the fault of the hotel's. The hotel booked transfer back to the airport was slightly terrifying due to bad driving and it undid some of the relaxation of the holiday!

    This hotel is beautiful. It was so peaceful and beautifully decorated. The staff very extremely helpful and the location is perfect. We wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't mind that the bacon & sausage was not quite 'English style' but would have liked it hotter..was only warm even when we were early..minor issue, instead we embraced the many and varied delicious continental offerings.

    Trad potuguese style. So clean. Lovely pool area. A little uphill from town but nothing major & close to beaches. Amazing choice at breakfast, sweet and savoury, to suit every nationality including different homemade treats and preserves each day. Beautiful well maintained grounds and exceptionally helpful staff. Charming as the name suggests ☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a party of seven people and loved staying at the hotel. The staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. The facilities were clean, exceeded my expectations. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ants in the room... not too much, but still... can not leave any food (even chips) in the room. Location not the best if you want to go often to the city center. For us it was fine, as we wanted to walk anyway.

    Breakfast - wow! Best I´ve ever got! Thank you for the extra kilos! ;). People who are working there - so friendly and nice! Nice restaurants, beaches and walking trail nearby, supermarket around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really friendly and helpful staff, great, clean rooms and nice, quiet pool. The location is a short walk from the old city and beaches, and the breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a quaint property! Helpful staff and the morning breakfast was spectacular. The grounds and pool area just lovely. If you like walking this is a great location to get to all the wonderful sights of Lagos.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast is beyond expectation. The staffs are also friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The location is within walking distance to the beaches and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff particularly Bernadette on reception & the lady in the kitchen who spoke fluently with all guests irrespective of language! The breakfast was excellent both in taste & choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed very uncomfortable. The rain seeped into our room through a gap under the patio door. Walls are thin, the lady next door woke me by coughing

    Stunning gardens beautiful pool,very cosy and shelteted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to not like. It is a great hotel.

    Really comfortable beds, the staff are really friendly and the hotel has a great style that is really cool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee wasn’t amazing.

    The staff was most lovely and the room was very nice and clean, good blackout curtains. The breakfast was out of this world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've read repeated references here about the hotel being "only a 10 minute walk" from Lagos's old town. Oddly, no-one has mentioned the length of time it takes to walk back. We stayed in March, during cold, windy weather -- and were exhausted, walking uphill every single step of the way from the old town centre to the hotel: there isn't a level section anywhere. How anyone manages that uphill trek in high summer temperatures, we've no idea. The hotel suggests you walk it (downhill all the way) to the taxi rank opposite the marina (15-20 minutes) and catch a 5Euro cab ride back. It's excellent advice.

    Superb staff, spacious accommodation, excellent ensuite bathroom with rainwater-style shower, in-room fridge, ample drawer and wardrobe provision . . and even three coat-hooks on the wall by the door. Breakfast of staggering proportions, though in common with another hotel we stayed at on our Algarve trip, breakfast is a choice of cold or colder: for some unfathomable reason, no-one seems to think it necessary to provide any heating for the hot food containers. Result? Arrive more than 30 minutes after breakfast service begins and cold (greasy) bacon and sausage awaits. Best stick to the fresh fruit and pastries. Particularly notable: quality of welcome, including a half bottle of wine and glasses. Also notable, location for car parking: not much room at the front of the hotel but ample street parking behind. Finally: hotel does not offer evening dinner service but no problem; one of the finest quality / best value Chinese restaurants we've ever patronised anywhere turned out to be a 2-minute stroll away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was close to perfect - the only place for improvement would be a cappuccino machine (or stronger coffee) at breakfast and maybe a stronger water heater for the rooms - mine took quite a while to heat up. But these are just small suggestions for an absolutely wonderful, wonderful hotel otherwise! Thank You!

    Wonderful, extremely comfortable, spacious hotel room. I felt very much at home and completely safe. Great linens on bed and plush towels. Friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Amazing breakfast full of about 40 options - many fresh and healthy! The room had a balcony and also lovely chairs, table, armoire and dresser. There was a bar and cozy lounge area. This hotel is close to the gorgeous cliff areas, but a little walk in to the old town. If I ever return to Lagos this hotel will be my first choice!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far out of town but that keeps you away from the other tourists.

    GREAT breakfasts, super friendly staff and a magnificent room in the top floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing

    Nothing not to like. This property exceeded our expectations by far. The staff is wonderful. The quality breakfast is more than abundant. Super clean. Well furnished spacious room with balcony. Easy walking distance to town centre. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Lagos. This sets the bar for other accommodations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -By far the best breakfast ever -Big comfortable room, amazing view to the garden and pool (ask for room on the first floor, because downstair room is dark)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was beautiful and very clean, the hotel situated in a quiet area. The garden and the pool were very lovely. Amazing staff, always available for everything and incredible breakfast (more like a lunch than a breakfast actually, there was all you can imagine).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could hear everything going on in next door rooms - literally! Tiny pool area.

    Beautiful place to stay, spotlessly clean in all areas. Very helpful staff. The breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice for all tastes. Good quiet location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was excellent.

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Beautiful room. Bathroom was very unique, with large "cloud" shower with colorful azulejos. Only wished that we had stayed more than one night!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi was slow, especially in the morning and evening

    Wow amazing hotel, we will definitely come back. Everything was perfect, staff extremely friendly, room, breakfast, cleanliness. Can just say wow, it was so clean we did not see one ant on the ground of the entire hotel......

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of

    Check in staff were superb / helpful, room was clean and very well appointed, wonderful breakfast, facilities on site were very good and no noisy kids as it's adults only, great location for town / beach - would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really!

    We both really enjoyed our stay at Dom Manuel. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, our room overlooked the pool which was lovely. The breakfast was amazing everyday with lots of different selections of delicious foods. It was always a pleasure to come back to our hotel each eve and sit on our balcony, we hope to return again soon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Don Manuel was exactly what I was looking for with its authentic Portugal old world charm, friendly professional staff, convenient location, and 5 star breakfast. So happy with my decision to stay here!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with charme and nice rooms. The breakfast is one of the best we ever had in a hotel. Lots of homemade salty and sweet dishes, cakes, fresh fruit. Location is well situated next to the city center of Lagos (10 minute walk), perfectly quiet at night. The staff is friendly and can help with any kind of activity you want to do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get a good room, this is a great property (4 out of 7 nights we have stayed here). Pool and garden views are preferable. But a poorer room can introduce unpleasant smells or loud exterior door slamming at all hours (near the breakfast room for example). Be prepared to cart all your luggage from a potentially distant parking spot. Also, AVOID the "Italian" restaurant just out the door to the left.

    Breakfast is top rate. Good selection and quality with affable staff nearby. Rooms are well maintained with quality fit and fixtures. Staff is consistent and friendly A walk from the hotel to the end of Meia Praia, return, is a terrific 12 km way to walk off breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad thing, but the majority of guests were of an older age 60 plus

    A lot of attention to detail within the hotel. Breakfast was incredible, a lot of effort put in by the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, close to the beaches, beautiful architecture, tipical portughese, nice garden, charming atmosphere, amazing breakfast. A bottle of good red wine is waiting in your room from "hello". Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some noise from local construction, but that can't be helped and will hopefully soon be over.

    Excellent hospitality, lovely helpful hosts. Lovely old building that has been carefully and sympathetically renovated. Nice breakfast with good variety of food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is good and within walking distance to the main areas with many shops and restaurants. The decor is very attractive in the rooms and the common areas. The swimming pool is a perfect place to relax after a hot day out in the sun. The breakfast is very good with a large selection friut and pastries and more. The staff were very helpful in recommending the best local places to eat and go. There is no parking on site but we had no difficulty parking on the street immediately behind the hotel as directed by reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect! Better than we imagined it would be! Beautiful property! Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast buffet, more than you can ever ask for! A bit of a walk to the beach, but not bad. This is where we will come back to next time we are in Lagos!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift which made getting cases to the room difficult despite the offer of help from the super girl on duty in reception

    Breakfast was self service in a good setting in or out and the presentation and quality of the food was first class

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this charming hotel. Great breakfast, 10 min walk to the most amazing beach ever , felt like little paradise. Would love to go back one day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was perfect! Maybe a safe in the room would be good but you can rent one at reception.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Check in was prompt and lots of information was given to us right away without having to ask (beaches, restaurants, shopping, parking, opening hours etc). Rooms are lovely done and bathrooms are modern and new. Ask for a room on the first floor so you don't have ppl from the pool walking past your balcony. Breakfast has a lot of variety from healthy to sweet and changes each day. There is something for everyone. We asked for late check out which was not possible but they offered to store our luggage so we could spend another day at the beach and there were showers for after the beach! Fantastic stay overall - would be happy to come back. Short walk into town, short walk to the local supermarket and you can even walk to 2 beaches!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendliness and professionalism is appalling. We were welcome without a smile and same went on throughout the stay. If you come across them during the day they won’t say hello or acknowledge you. On the last day I was actually blamed by the receptionist when I asked if I could pick up the luggage from strage before she left to show the room to other guests. Her exact words: "I am with other customers that is not good service!". Really awful for a place that charges 850€ for 5 days!

    The facilities are superb. Rooms are spacious and luxurious with all comfort. Really relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast is fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place to park during check-in. Bit of a hike to the beach.

    The big, beautiful Portuguese-style rooms and the friendly, helpful staff. Everything was in excellent condition. The hotel felt like home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit too expensive, considering the average prices in Portugal. Pretty high contrast between the cost of a meal, for example, and the accommodation prices in the area. Quite remotely located, nothing to do in the immediate surroundings. 10-15 minutes walk both to the closest beach or to the city center, but in opposite directions. An iron in the room would have also been useful, but definitely not a game-changer. Still strongly recommending the hotel :)

    Very nice hotel, cozy and amazingly decorated, with a lovely garden and pool. Very comfortable bed, large room and bathroom. Loved the walk-in spacious shower and the tile-decorated walls. Also the view was amazing from our room, overlooking the pool. Absolutely loved that it was adult-only and there were no children screaming & running around. Surprisingly delicious breakfast. I usually don't have high expectations from hotels, but this one exceeded them by far, with a large variety of food & sweets and keeping it available until 11 AM, for the lazy ones. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was 10 minutes out of town which may be a problem for older/less able.

    We loved Dom Manuel. Fantastic buffet breakfast, beautiful clean rooms, friendly staff & free parking. Very quaint boutique hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one very busy person on Reception when we arrived and she was working the bar too - had to wait at least 15 minutes to check in. She was charming but over stretched.

    Breakfast was fantastic, room was beautiful and spacious - the terrace was a bonus. The pool area was lovely. The Ukrainian Receptionist who checked us out is a huge asset to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is absolutely amazing.... such an impressive spread for a small boutique hotel. Perfect location, just a 10 minute walk from the old town. Super quiet. Nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On arrival the greeting was brusque, also there is no lift to first floor and no help offered to carry luggage to rooms upstairs. Staff could have been more helpful generally. Pool area is delightful but too cramped and furniture needs renewing.

    The hotel is very attractive and relaxed with charming gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were here on our honeymoon and the hotel grounds are gorgeous! Felt very authentic and Portuguese (stunning tile work and details). Our room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely patio. There is a huge breakfast spread with lots of options and unique dishes, plus an outside area for the breakfast with beautiful surroundings. It was a close walk to the beach and Old Town, plus grocery stores nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was at least a 10-15 minute walk into town and the area around the hotel was not the prettiest neighbourhood. There was a bus stop right outside which could have been handy but we just chose to walk. I'm not sure how long the bus takes to get to town or of it's frequency.

    Beautiful room with balcony overlooking pool. Breakfast was the best we've ever had through Europe - amazing! Pool was lovely. Appreciated a little clothesline on the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on public streets in the area. While we had no trouble finding​ a spot, I can see how it could be hit and miss during the high season.

    A very nice hotel in a quiet area. Great staff, room, and breakfast. Nice indoor and outdoor areas to sit and relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peacefulness and having the wrought iron gate which allowed us to have the patio door open at night . The staff were very extremely helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ...?

    This hotel is a little oasis amidst the city. It is colourful furnished and designed in portugese style, is very clean and offers a breakfeast (no typo!). The staff is very helpful. The pool is big enough for a dip but not for "real" swimming (anyway - there are many beaches in Lagos for that). It is surrounded by green plants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though there are many pillows in closet but for us we felt it's a bit hard. Would have loved more soft pillows. Coffee at breakfast a bit watery as other review says. However if you book suite there is nespresso machine. :)

    Overall excellent hotel. Just right outside of old city . Had no problem with parking. Close to all beaches and old city. Great breakfast, nice and clean room. Beautiful compound and good service. Would come back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small which wasn't a problem as such. A self in the shower to put shampoo and shower cream on would have been useful as we had to put these items on the floor of the shower. We had a ground floor, pool view room which meant everyone had to walk right by our terrace. This was a bit intrusive at times. The rooms were not sound proofed so we could hear our neighbour coughing a lot at night. Also people returning to their rooms late were talking loudly but that is not the hotel's fault, it just reflects a lack of respect for residents.

    The hotel was very pretty, excellently maintained and very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ideal for a quiet and relaxing break. The breakfast each morning was amazing and the best we have had over many years of holidaying in Portugal. Convenient location in relation to the town centre. Choice of beautiful beaches for relaxing walks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal service was not available for all meals, or on all days.

    Quiet location, small hotel, easy walk to all activities, great breakfast, snacks, & friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is out side, not always available, but enough space to park in the street behind the hotel, but still a down side.

    Good location, nice decoration, confortable rooms, great breakfast, nice service at the front desk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus is that the doors are like transparent in sense of noise. You can hear everybody talking and walking in the hall.

    Great place, very cosy and charming with attention to the details. Breakfast was wonderful - very delicious with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local restaurant s don't give good value for money, they haven't got a clue how to cook fish or food ,

    We liked the property, and especially the room. Very disappointment , no restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention.

    A beautiful place to stay. The property is classy and elegant with wonderful archecture to match. The staff were professional and attentive to ensuring our needs were met. The breakfast offered a wide variety of tasty delights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything

    Fabulous breakfast. Location good. In a quiet residential area but close to town and an ideal base for touring the Western Algarve. Staff helpful but unobtrusive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms have thin walls, so if you go to bed early or are a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs. Or alternatively the complimentary bottle of wine will also help!

    This is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed, with the most incredible staff and attention to detail - and and top of this the location is perfect! We arrived really late and on top of this was delayed and the lovely Jessica stayed up for us, making us feel really welcome even though we kept her up so late. We woke up the next morning to see just how gorgeous this place is and to the best breakfast we've ever had at a hotel - and to top it off, the breakfast is all homemade by one young girl - she's amazing and you can tell the pride she has in her cooking. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk into the old town and a 5-10minute walk to the world famous beaches! On check out we told the lovely lady on reception that we were leaving early so needed to pay that evening, she asked if we would miss breakfast which we were, so asked if we could bob back in an hour so her colleague could make us a packed breakfast! It was brilliant, and not just breakfast, there was lunch and juices in there too! If like us, you aren;t into the generic large hotels you often see in the algarve, and prefer a place with personality - stay here!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee service in my room would have been most welcome, especially with breakfast starting at 8 a.m.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. The room's balcony was quite pleasant. The decor was simple and elegant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy in our room. Doors in facility could use some oil. Squeaky.

    Walkable to old city and beaches (or short easy drive). Room 1 was a noisy being beside the walkway Nice to have balcony with clothes line. Parking easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're twisting my arm, the pool was very cold which clearly deterred a lot of guests from bathing/sun bathing by the pool. The roof terrace could use some flora here and there too.

    Everything seemed to run like clockwork; very smoothly, with no sense of rush/issue - helping to create a wonderfully calm environment 24/7. Coupled with excellent staff, facilities, accommodation, location and food; this is exactly what we were after from a 4 star adults only hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with hot water supply in my room. Noisy because of guests coming in late through back entrance next to my room.

    Beautiful breakfast buffet with home made cakes, jams and specialties.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit damp / cold, but that's probably just from winter weather by the sea.

    The shower water pressure was great, and also one of the largest bathrooms I had in Portugal! The breakfast was pretty good too - wide selection of delicious food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the balcony appeared to not shut properly so we heard the wind all night. Also, the noise from the neighbouring room was loud. Being on the second floor without a lift in the property was a problem as we had to lug our bags up the steps.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 9 days but only received one bottle of water on the first day.

    Very friendly breakfast staff with excellent pastries, eggs, fruit, cheeses, etc. Very charming historic decor with modern washrooms. Close to Centro and beaches.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every member of staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was amazing.The hotel and facilities have been very well designed with guests comfort the priority. We had an excellent stay here and would highly recommend it as a base to explore the Western Algarve

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Sometimes hot water took some time to come through in the shower - always luke warm in the wash hand basin.

    W thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful when needed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king size bed was made from 2 twins.

    Location was great for walking and exploring the OldTown. Rooms are delightful and open to a private patio; beds very comfortable, linens wonderful. Breakfasts feature the usual hot and cold items, fresh fruit, cheese tray, plus, freshly made, cheesecakes, breads, puddings... One of the best we have stayed in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't use the pool, but seems a bit small for the number of guests. Hitel parking is limited, you have to find yor place in the street

    Location is good. A few minutes walk to the old town and too the beach. Room is nice, good size. Breakfast was fabuluse, the best we had ( you pay extra for eggs coocked to order).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked at the last minute, and were lucky enough to get a junior suite on the second floor. The room was large and had a wonderful balcony that was cool and breezy after a warm day. We had breakfast buffets at several hotels in Portugal, but this was the best of them. The chef had amazing things each day, and we were sorry that our train left so early in the morning that we missed out on the breakfast the last day. The hotel is an easy walk into the old section of town. It is in a quiet section of town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent to walk to the beaches, about 10minutes but with sidewalks & safe, & also to restaurants & bars. Our room was lovely with a view over the pool & gardens with a nice balcony to relax. The staff were helpful with recommendations of restaurants nearby. The breakfast bar was plentiful with numerous choices & delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel, no peace, you can hear every noise from adjoining rooms. A metal spiral staircase right outside the door clanging away with late arriving guests. Romantic Junior Suite is an overpriced joke, dreary and dated, tiny over-the-bath shower like a cheap guest house. Can't work out what's meant to be romantic about it. 1 tea bag each per day and water not replenished, no milk. Cups and glasses not washed/replaced. Breakfast is a real bun fight with mediocre food, it's extra if you want a fried egg! Hoped for 4 nights in a nice comfy hotel for £530 but 3 was enough, refused a refund for the 4th so checked out and moved to a decent hotel, 50€ a night less and so much better. Don't think a return trip is imminent and would not get my recommendation.

    Balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff. They happily booked us on excursions and suggested places to visit. The room itself was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pool which was relaxing and a yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room / Twin with Pool or Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microwave oven adjacent to the cooked breakfast offering would be a great idea!

    this small hotel is well presented. Accommodation is great, breakfasts are very good and interesting, staff are really friendly and helpful. Pool is good. Only minor drawback is the location which is a little out of the centre of things and up a hill. A bit of work on a hot day but fine if you take your time!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dom Manuel I Charming Residence (adults only) traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: