Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dom Pedro Lagos 3 stars

Meia Praia, 8600-315 Lagos, Portugal

#130 of 194 Holiday rentals in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Deep pool, wonderful beach and just 20 min walk to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Land View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deep pool, wonderful beach and just 20 min walk to city centre. Nice apartment, grate AC. Modern and stylish furniture and very practical kitchenette.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    .Wonderful! Our second time and we’d definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service was poor. They never swept the floor. The first day we left money and a thank you note. The maid took the money and did nothing. Seriously nothing. No towels, didn’t make the bed. It could have been an error. The rest of the week was fine. The floor was never swept. Everything else was brilliant.

    Perfect location. Beach is close and clean. Watersports available. Local beach bar Gaivota Branca (white seagull) is perfect but a little pricey. Staff are superb. Food excellent. Lots of umbrellas on the beach and loungers 12-15 euros for the whole day for two. The reception will lend you hairdryer and electrical adaptor for the week. Air con available but we didn’t use it. Lay in bed with balcony doors open and listen to the ocean waves hit he beach. Perfect! Breakfast: had it once just to try. Bacon European style, streaky and salty but great if you are in the mood for it. Scrambled eggs, beans. Bread, rolls, mini croissants. Unlimited. 10 euros for One day but 8 euros for 3 days plus. It’s a bit pricey depending on how much you plan on eating. 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    ENJOYABLE PLACE TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The lighting in the room is a bit dim. If you don’t have good eyes you might need to take the shades off the fixtures to get a little more light in the room at night.

    -The room is very clean. -Balcony is very spacious. -They have a little welcome package when you get to your room. -Location is right across from the Meia Praia beach. -Staff is very friendly and gives you advice, a map and a bus schedule for getting around the town. -Location is about a 20min walk from the city centre for the average person. -Bus stop is right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    On the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiles are dirty no sockets in kitchen for tosta or kettle and no hair dryer

    Beds are gd tv is gd English channels gd uv windows so not blinded by the sun

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    During our stay the hotel went through some building renovation/repairs and it was a lot of noise. I guess that work will be finished in time for the full summer season. The hotel is about 25 min walk from center of Lagos and a supermarket. This was a bit of inconvenience for us since we did not have a car.

    The staff is very professional and friendly. Thank you again to Christina and Michael for attending to all our requests and more. Comfortable room and large balcony. Excellent shower, room service / cleanup everyday. Hotel almost on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Good holiday. Builders let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Builders were changing all the windows & doors starting work early and finishing late, making a lot of noise which we were not warned about. We did report to reception on many occasions that it was waking up our child but unfortunately, they kept telling us they had finished only to continue for hours later and the next days. We would not have booked if we knew the work would be taking place. Apart from that, Great location and holiday facilities were good for a weeks stay.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Staffs were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 2 weeks ahead of the season, so breakfast was limited and not worth for 10 euro pp. There is AC in the room but it is on one corner, have to wait till the room temperature is adjusted. Shampoo and soap was given at the beginning of our stay, not replaced for 4 days we have been there.

    Staffs were helpful. Property is very close to the beach. Pool was excellent. Wifi was good. Balcony was there with our room 315.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    It was pleasant. I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was watered down but thats not a big deal!

    The croissants were great! room was recently renovated and the hotel was right across from the beach! The staff were super friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    For the price, it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room lights were quite dim and there were no bedside lamps so to turn off the lights, you had to get up to reach the switch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    Swimming pool and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Land View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very humid and smelly in the room.

    Swimming pool and view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Very nesr town and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More for older people

    Very nesr town and beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    No breakfast included
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited 20 minutes for our room even though it was supposed to be ready at 2pm

    No breakfast included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    vista do mar,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    vista do mar,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very Relaxing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a hair dryer in bathroom.

    Very relaxing location. Quite and about a 15 minute walk to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    3.8
    Hmmmm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    So where do I start...? I have not stayed in a place worse than this one... Here is why: 1) We had a room for 3 ppl, which was ready only for 2 when we arrived. I asked in the reception to make the third bed - they promised to - but in the evening I had to go downstairs and carry all the things upstairs!!!! Because there was only one person working in the reception and they said they wont be able to leave their desk! 2) The third bed was sooo narrow - I was sleeping on that one - and was trying not to turn at night - because I would have fallen...!!! 3) Shower? - its enough only for 1 person - 10-15 min of shower and water is gone - no hot water any more.... So we could not really take proper shower... 4) Toilet flash was not working - and obviously they could only fix it next day - and not on the day of our complain... !!! 5) Shampoo/ gel - provided only for the first night - and even that one was provided 1 pack - so basically for 1 person for 1 night. I had to ask for 2 more - and again I had to go and collect!!! 6) But our biggest frustration was WiFi!!!! While on booking.com it says that there is wifi throughout the property - there is wifi only in the reception - and, most importantly is the question - is there wifi at all????? For 2 days I could not use it in the reception - I had to carry my laptop around with me to catch wifi in cafes and restaurants, cos I had some work to be done.... To showcase how slow it was - let me tell you - it was not possible to send a half page word file over the wifi! Eventually our frustration got too high - and we reserved another hotel for the last night!!! Cos it was impossible to be without internet - especially when the location is nice but quite isolated.... I asked them to reimburse hotel for the night we are not going to stay - because I need internet - and it is not there even in the reception!!!!! but the receptionist talked to the manager in the office - they said they wont reimburse!!!!!

    Hmmmm.... hard to say - nothing really.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.9
    We stayed in the Dom Pedro for six nights just at the end of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed at the end of the off season. The hotel wasn't that busy at all. Which didn't make for any atmosphere. We had a problem with our shower in the room. After one person showering the hot water went. The hotel sent someone to have a look but we had to shower in another room. Even in that room there wasn't much hot water either. Internet is only available in the public area in the lobby which isn't ideal. It was slow with only two people using it so I can only imagine it when the hotel is full. The rooms could do with being upgraded. Restaurant is over priced in my opinion. During the day it's a lovely walk to Lagos but during the night you would want to be very careful as there is alot of bushes and open spaces and it isn't well let up on that side.

    We stayed in the Dom Pedro for six nights just at the end of the off season. For three people sharing we got an unbelievably great price. Staff were very polite and always willing to help. We had an issue in our room and the staff were very helpful in trying to sort it out. Location is perfect. Literally on the doorstep off the beach. 10-15 minutes walk to Lagos.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    6.3
    the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Wifi could be used only near the reception and not in the room and it was reaaallly slow. In the morning water in the shower just for one person, after that water coming veery slow

    the cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    We initially booked for one night and ended up staying the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We initially booked for one night and ended up staying the week. It was, admittedly, out of season but the price/quality was exceptional. We had an ocean view apartment, fully equipped, kitchenette, salon, lovely bath/shower room and bedroom area, plenty of space and all clean and fresh. We especially liked the big terrace, well sheltered and a veritable suntrap (in February!). Every evening was spent on the terrace, chillin'. The local Intermarché did take away, piri piri chicken for peanuts so we could keep down the costs and still enjoy good food. The receptionist was welcoming, spoke very good English and even re-tuned the big, flat screen TV so we could watch live footie! Will definitely stay again and recommend the hotel highly.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    Sea view room and kitchen.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Double bed would be better. Another English channel on the TV

    Sea view room and kitchen. Bus stop outside. Easy beach walk into town and train station

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    Love the service, staff extremely attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My short stay! It was hard to leave!!!

    Love the service, staff extremely attentive. They gave us an up-grade to an ocean room. The apt was clean and well stocked.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    I love to cook, even simple meals, and the Studio room, have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, the bad weather, but that's winter.

    I love to cook, even simple meals, and the Studio room, have everything we need to cook our own meals, with a nice kitchenette, well equipped. The Studio room, offers a simple, but very functional furniture, a nice balcony with a beautiful view to the ocean. Wonderful place, quiet and private. I recommend.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    8.3
    I liked the value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise of people above me constantly moving their furniture around at 6:00am! Why?

    I liked the value for money. The apartment was clean and had everything I needed and a nice sea view was a bonus!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only downside was that the wifi only works in the reception. Minor but it was inconvenient.

    Lovely staff. Well kept rooms, 5minute walk to the beach. 20minute walk to the Marina !

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    great beach location,nice bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did ask for a room with a sea view ,but didn,t get one even though the hotel seemed like it wasn,t full and most of the rooms faced the sea! We were charged for breakfast we didn,t book and told the money could not be refunded,the breakfast was probably the worst breakfast we have ever had.

    great beach location,nice bathroom

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable apartment, nice sea view from balcony, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance to the Lagos center more than 1 km, insects by swimming pool, cold sea water

    Comfortable apartment, nice sea view from balcony, friendly receptionists, daily cleaning of room with towel changing, clean swimming pool, clean sea

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In desperate need of an up date. Rooms look shabby but they are reasonably clean. Staff not particularly helpful. Breakfast very poor and certainly not value for money

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    Great location close to sea and a good pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sofa bed and the mattress in a box on wheels underneath were basic to say the least. Only the bathroom had recently been updated, it was a 70's/80's time warp!

    Great location close to sea and a good pool Breakfast, though limited in choice, was really good quality Room had 2 balconies with view of sea

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    We very much enjoyed the swimming pool, the garden and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The furniture is outdated, especially the extra bed. The staff is not willing to store your luggage after check out. No wifi at the apartment. There is a train stop very close by. The staff, however, recommended not to use this stop as the train often just passes this stop. The real train station is within 15 to 20 minutes walking distance. There is a bus stop located in front of the hotel. Mind, however, that the bus to Lagos has a frequency of only 1 per hour and often passes the bus stop too early.

    We very much enjoyed the swimming pool, the garden and the large balcony. The apartment is very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only wifi available is in the lobby & it is a very weak connection even there.

    The location was amazing. We had a room with two large balconies with spectacular unobstructed views directly to the ocean. The rooms were very spacious and super clean. It is a half hour walk along the beach to Lagos, but we enjoyed the stroll. The Restaurante Atlantico adjoining the hotel is quite possibly one of the best restaurants in all of Portugal for traditional Portuguese - the service & the food are sensational. Lots of water sports on the beach directly in front of the hotel to entertain the whole family - jet skis, windsurfing, sailing.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Impossible not to score 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Impossible not to score 10. Very good facilities, overlooking the pool and the calm sea. The super friendly and very helpful staff. We were in June, which helped to obtain the necessary tranquility to the pool. We are already planning our return.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.6
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bit too far from town

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    value for money, location and appartment facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Now getting a bit tired, but very useable, clean and excellent value for money

    value for money, location and appartment facilities

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice staff, good location, free parking, big studio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Horrible wifi, no microwave

    Nice staff, good location, free parking, big studio

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpfull and towels were changed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were extremely helpfull and towels were changed, bins emptied and loo rolls replaced even on Christmas Day!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.5
    Area do apartamento grande
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Area do apartamento grande

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    7.1
    everything ok for a short visit
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast was poor for a big hotel

    everything ok for a short visit

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    very friendly, good spacious rooms , clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast very basic needs improvement

    very friendly, good spacious rooms , clean

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Location, pool area and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was very poor and in need of updating

    Location, pool area and staff

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    4.6
    Room was quiet and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is ancient. Has not had any renovations since it was built. Breakfast was very, very poor.

    Room was quiet and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    Good place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good place to be.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    beautifull see view, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no wifi in the room, the toilet needs renovation

    beautifull see view, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Very good location, next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No free Wifi.

    Very good location, next to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    6.3
    The apartment was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls are paper thin. Breakfast is poor.

    The apartment was spacious. Free Wi-Fi in reception area. Close to beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    size,cleanliness,large balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    old style television with one english channel. no a/c,or fan.

    size,cleanliness,large balcony

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    6.7
    Nice beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Corresponding to the price.

    Nice beach. Near to sea. Good swimmingpool.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV set and lack of channels Furniture needs renovation

    Location. WC renovated

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    10
    Everything sauf wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi

    Everything sauf wifi

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Foul smell from reception toilet

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    2.9
    Wifi not working
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working Nothing around

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    Perfect place close to sea, clean and really large room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect place close to sea, clean and really large room, having breakfast at balcony was perfect. Best value for money.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.2
    Nice big apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV needs updating.

    Nice big apartment. Great view over the ocean.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Dom Pedro Lagos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: