Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Dom Fernando This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Av. Dr. Barahona, 2, 7005-150 Évora, Portugal

#26 of 29 hotels in Évora

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2621 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    good stay only marred by a large coach party.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a large coach party booked in, they were very loud, and tried to dominate everyone, i.e. leader shouting out instructions in the restaurant, was not necessary at all, they were rude to staff, would like to stay again but very dubious in case this happens again. Bedrooms should have a hair dryer

    Size of room, friendliness of staff, helpful staff. Pool area was good, towels available, pool bar, guess only open in. season. Restaurant staff were excellent even under the pressure of the large mentioned party.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    A simple hotel that meets expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tilled corridors make the mornings very noisy, when guests leave the room with their bags. Hotel is a bit “dark”

    Comfy beds, good location, clear renovated bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel with a large room and swimming pool located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to a festival (St Joao fest) there was a problem with a parking place, as all parkings were used as a celebration area and the area was quite busy.

    Superb hotel with a large room and swimming pool located nearby the city center. Great option for one-noght-stay. Great breakfast. Between 22 June and 1. July there is a festival in the city (St Joao) which may be an additional attraction but also a problem for people looking for a quiet stay :) We loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    Good location, great swimming pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is just over the road from an open-air market and carnival, that appears to operate most of the summer. The loud music and voice announcements continued until 1:00 am, making sleep difficult. It would be good if this listing included some warning of this! The car parking is in an open-air, dusty public parking lot next door.

    Good location, great swimming pool! Parking was easy to access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant buffet menu is the same every day. Sun lounges are not clean. Bed sheets only changed every other day. Overpriced drinks at the bar. Pool grass is sore on bare feet. Mattress too hard and small.

    Location. Pool. Large room. Friendly staff. Fridge in the room. Ample storage space in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Convenience is the word.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside could do with some painting. Breakfast could have more variety.

    Room were very clean, comfotable and had little patio overlooking the swimming-pool. Within short walking distance to the old town which is inside a city wall. Coffee was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.3
    Easy access to the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rather noisy! The rooms are not particularly sound proof, so you hear people walking past your room. The pool area is near all the rooms, so be prepared ... I also disliked the smell of cigarette smoke, I am assuming its from the balcony, as the rooms are spotless.

    The lunch buffet was good and varied, and a reasonable price. You have to get tea and coffee, from a machine, so make sure you have lots of change with you. There is a vending machine in the lobby, you can buy snacks if needed. You will also need drinking water, as it's not provided in the rooms. I normally get a bottle with me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.5
    It is a big hotel, breakfast was good but too much people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet in our room(third floor) was very bad.

    It is a big hotel, breakfast was good but too much people and too little service also only had two coffee machine for all drinking purpose . The internet in our room(third floor) was very bad, hope they can improve.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All rooms on the ground floor are connected by a walk trough terrace looking unto the swimming pool area. No security for your bedroom when sliding door open. No private parking and the public parking area in a poor condition, especially when it is raining.

    easy access to town, public parking close to hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.1
    A few improvements would make a great difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only hotel or b and b I have ever stayed in that don't provide anymore glass or cup in the room. Breakfast was below average with very watery juices, tasteless sausages and very salty scrambled eggs. The factilities could not cope with the large group of coach passengers trying to get their breakfast before setting off.

    Location and being able to park for free nearby. Nice to have pool view. Helpful reception when we arrived and great to be able to check in early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Though I had booked a double room, we were given a twin, so I had to ask them to change it, which they did reluctantly. The coffee machine in the foyer is a rip off. You get about 2 mouthfuls of coffee, for quite a lot of money. The staff didn't want to show me how it worked. Parking is opposite, and we were lucky to get the last one. I have come to the conclusion, that if you use booking.com to book a room, you will be given the worst room available.

    The hotel is in a goof location, we were able to explore on foot from here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and comfortable. We would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable bed, clean towels daily, convenient location only five minutes walk to the main square. Excellent car parking opposite the hotel. Breakfast was simple but adequate. There’s a bar in the foyer where tea and coffee are available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.5
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a strong sewer odor from the bathroom drain. We reported it the first night. Staff said they would look into it. Upon returning to the room the smell returned as soon as we ran water. Running the bathroom fan with the door closed, keeping the heat on in the room with the patio door open helped, but we did not get much sleep either night. Spoke with Manager Luis Gouveio at check out but he was unable to provide any consideration. Also, the hotel is popular with tour bus operators. Forget about breakfast; feeding frenzy from opening until after 9 am. Waited in line for coffee more than 10 minutes before giving up and going elsewhere.

    Convenient parking, close to old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.8
    Old-fashioned hotel within walking distance of old-town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks a bit run-down from the outside but was ok inside Very old-fashioned but nevertheless comfortable furniture but this is normal for Portugal There are only a few parking spots right outside the hotel entrance and most guests have to either park on one of the free huge parking lots across the road or at the bones chapel next door where the parking lot was very muddy and full of potholes (not convenient for unloading luggage, since some selfish dummy had parked his car outside the hotel door in the loading area). Tip for guests with limited mobility: This is a huge hotel and if you have a walking problem ask for a room close to the reception as otherwise you may have to walk very far to get to your room

    Friendly reception staff who gave us a map of the old-town & useful information Very well located, next to bones chapel & 10 minutes walk into old-town Nice view of the lovely pool & garden area Room had a small fridge Good breakfast Lots of free parking nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    A super break on a journey and we will go again for an extended stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn't like. We couldn't fault the place.

    Excellent variety of food which all tasted home made. Room was spotless, luxurious and with a lovely view. There was a smoking area with comfortable seating and a view of the immaculate gardens and the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    Front desk staff were incredibly kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk staff were incredibly kind and helpful. They went out of their way when I needed to phone our car rental agency to make changes. The hotel is modern with very comfortable beds and a good breakfast with lots of choices. Try to get a room overlooking the central pool. It’s easy walking distance into town and Evora is certainly worth a visit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.7
    Nice stuff but an hotel with an old-fashioned deco and a clumsy maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old fashion decoration, the maintenance is a bit clumsy for instance lacking bricks on the floor, It looks like this hotel was "frozen" on the 80's and unfrozen a few days ago

    staff and location are nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit noisy and without any decoration. But that wasn't a problem at all!

    Good breakfast, nice staff and spacious bathroom. Alot of parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast can be quite boring as the same menu is presented every day.

    Staff was very prompt in dealing with issues. I liked the little balcony off the room. Also the presence of a lot of power points.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in walking distance to the major sights. Our room was comfortable, modern and very clean, with a balcony and a nice view of the pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, a 10-minute walk from the town center, lots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi didn’t work.

    Great location, a 10-minute walk from the town center, lots of parking available right next to the hotel, comfortble and clean room, nice and clean bathroom, the hotel has an outdoor pool, but is only open ftom May to September. We didn’t really mind because we only stayed dor one night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    6.3
    We were given a room with a bed shortage, replaced with a 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a room with a bed shortage, replaced with a 3 bed room with street view. Since the hotel wasn’t fully booked, a room with pool view would be nicer. The pool wasn’t working

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, easy and convenient place. Staf very helpful. We really enjoyed Evora!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The place was very clean and the staff were very helpful in guiding us into the old city. The location was much closer than we had realised. Only a little walk up the road and we were right there. We had a lovely stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Amazing value rooms with easy parking to explore Evora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Machine coffee at breakfast is only ok but can purchase proper espresso on request.

    Great budget base with easy parking options just outside old city walls of Evora. Easy to find and lots of free parking options. Rooms comfortable with good showers (hot water and pressure) and cable tv. Easy walk into old town to explore. Great local restaurant about 3 minute walk away and more within 10 minutes. We opted for room with breakfast for €43. (Breakfast was €9, room €34). Breakfast was excellent - included scrambled eggs, mushrooms and sausages when we were there, and option local bread (delicious)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.6
    Terrific to be in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was a little cool

    Location was excellent and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with fresh cooked eggs. Weather this week has been unreliable, but this was a good base to explore the old town rain showers. Down the road is a delicious Porc restaurant. Staff at front desk are excellent and provide a good map. we enjoyed it so much we stayed another night! Good wifi and a large central sitting area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    6.3
    Fair cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is far away from cosy. Looks like a hospital. The reception team aren't rude, but they don't raise their heads to say ''good morning'' or ''hello''. Take a shower at winter could be hard because the bathroom doesn't has heating.

    Fair cost. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.8
    Good basic overnight stay. Convenient for town centre and major sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As stated above, not a hotel with character, but we were aware from photos that this would be the case.

    Hotel very well situated for access to town centre, just a five minute walk across a road and open space. Public parking opposite hotel easy to spot and adequate. Hotel has no character, being rather like a holiday resort hotel, but staff are pleasant, hotel is clean, breakfast reasonable, and value for money good. We just wanted a budget overnight stay with good parking and quick access to town centre. Each room has a balcony with table and chairs but we did not use these as weather not favourable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in historic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi got slow in the evening.

    Excellent location, just outside the old city walls. Consequently car parking was easy, whereas inside the city would have been difficult. Also a short walk from the railway station. Room fine, comfortable bed. Good breakfast, no limit on the amount of food. Set menu evening meal very good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    A nice comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were a bit "lumpy"

    The breakfasts were good... And there was a restaurant where you could get lunch or dinner. Quite handy if you didn't want to wander the streets. It could be a bit noisy at night especially as the pool is facing all the rooms... It is so near to the entrance of the city a walk across the carpark and you are there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in this hotel during a road trip in the off-season...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in this hotel during a road trip in the off-season for 15 € per person. Did not got a better price-service ratio during our trip (a low budget trip).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    I shall return to the hotel in September for around 8 or 10 days so I can explore more of the wonder
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was rubbish, cold scrambled eggs cold sausages and the usual ham and cheese. Tea and coffee from a machine.

    I liked the way the staff greeted me and we're very helpful in advising me what to see in the short time I had available to me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful room, with close access to the town and station. Nice staff and factilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower curtain was slightly short which resulted in the bathroom getting slightly flooded and could have seeped out into the bedroom.

    The room was very spacious and the furniture artwork was a very lovely touch. View of the pool was nice with access from the room (not available for use in winter time). Very close to the station and other landmarks as well as beautiful areas to meet groups.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    8.8
    The hotel staff was very friendly and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very chill in the room i had to use two blankets. the breakfast was no so good as well. Coffee was one of the worst I ever tried

    The hotel staff was very friendly and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Easy to find from the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is very easy to flood the bathroom floor, even with the shower curtain in the bathtub.

    One of the friendly singing groundskeepers who taught us a few words in Portuguese and gave us sprigs of lavender

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.3
    Good location close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bar services on Sunday and Monday. Bathroom was flooding as water from shower came everywhere.

    Spacious room and good bed. Very polite reception staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.6
    simply and good
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The information about the closed parking. I understand the works and the security skill. but it will be lovely to inform before.

    The team was lovely. The hotel is simply but good quality for all. It's a nice place to stop for one or two nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.9
    Loved the location but wish the wifi was better and chairs were provided at the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found that the wifi cut in and out in our room so we went to lobby if we needed to check something. There were no lounge or deck chairs at the pool. When we asked if there were any, we were told no.

    We enjoyed the fact that we could walk to all the sites in Evora.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    9.6
    A great stay at a very conveniently located, comfortable, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can’t think of anything I didn’t like.

    Our room overlooking the beautiful pool was very comfortable and clean. The pool was a refreshing treat after a day of taking in the sights of Evora.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.9
    Nice modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner buffet cost $12E and was not that tasty. Breakfest is not included for free in price.

    Nice modern and clean. Great pool and pool bar. However bar service is slow. Parking available in gravel parking lot across the street. Close enough to central part of Evora.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Conveniently located nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee at the breakfast really is terrible! There is instant coffee also, but it is decaf. There is no mirror in the room, only in bathroom No shower cap in bathroom, neither shampoo or body wash, just only one box on the wool that contains something Wifi is not particularly good, usually worked for basic surfing, but do not expect to stream anything

    Location is very good, just outside of the wall and very close attractions Staff is friendly, but pool bar personnel was often missing Breakfast is 5€, very basic, but for sure fills your belly Room was recently renovated, nice view to pool, big terrace with table and chairs Pool looked nice, but didn't have time to enjoy it Walking distance to train station, bit further to bus station. Roads are gobbled, not asphalted, so difficult to pull your luggage, better to take taxi from bus station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel well situated and easy to find, on "site" parking is a public car park in front of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Night 1 we were booked into room 114 which is ground floor overlooking a dual carrigeway with the added bonus of a bus stop right outside of the window, when concern was raised at reception we were transferred to an inner room overlooking the swimming pool within the course of the day, further 3 nights were much more peaceful.

    Breakfast was very good, Evening buffet was excellent, wine prices very good, however al la carte on night 1 was not good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.2
    Great to visit Evora and relax at the pool afterwards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was on average, not special. WiFi was not stable in our room, which was in a corner of the building.

    Convenient location, just outside the center, very quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is free parking space in front of the hotel. Each room has a view on the pool. The pool and bar area is very relaxing, especially after visiting the city on a hot day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel signage could be better; difficult to find. Drove right by it about three times before realizing that was the hotel.

    Breakfast is good, we also received a free room upgrade from a room to a suite which was a nice surprise. Location is excellent, right near Chapel of Bones.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Their ads say free parking is available, but it's only wherever you can find it on the street, which means hauling bags some distance.

    Location was excellent and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked it - highly recommend

    Excellent place. easy parking, close to wall, good breakfast, bslcony overlooking nice pool area in the middle - everything great. The also have restaurant attached that we wished we ate at.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    6.7
    Easy parking and a very short walking distance to the historic center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charging the guests by hour for using the snooker table in the lobby. In that case should the guests be charged in addition as well for using the pool or the sofa in the lobby?

    Swimmingpool area was comfortabel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.1
    A terrible receptionist with a sexist bias but a nice hotel with a pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a terrible arrival due to the receptionist who had clearly internalised a view that women would be just passive escorts for men: I (a woman) had made the reservation and I checked us in upon arrival. Immediately thereafter the receptionist started to talk to my boyfriend only and looked him (and only him) in the eye, completely ignoring me when giving information on the hotel. It was so blatant that it astonished my boyfriend too, and he also turned to look at me (to indicate to the clerk that his behaviour was very rude). From both of our body languages and our faces the receptionist did realise that we were very annoyed. He got a bit confused, not knowing where to look anymore, so he probably wasn't consciously rude to women but was so poorly aware of his own gender prejudices that he had not even realised his behaviour comes across as very chauvinist. If that's the case, Dom Fernando should select/train their staff better! (Other staff members were polite without an observable bias) Second, the breakfast could use improvement - The fresh fruit were welcome but the fruit "juice" and coffee were undrinkable and the milk for the cereal warm.

    The location was good, it was an easy walk to the old town. The room was spacious and clean with a balcony to the poolside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    5.8
    peacefull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff in the reception!!!!.not friendly, cold staff ,better with robôs!!! !!!! they didn t care about our request. In spite the staff in the restaurante were simply wonderfull!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.6
    Great bathroom and swimming pool - a leisurely experience while exploring the interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sunbeds all being reserved with towels by people that weren't there. And it was a small balcony where it was difficult for two people to sit at the table, as the space was tight.

    The swimming pool was great, with a friendly bar next to it. And there was plenty of choice for the breakfast. It is a good distance from the old town for strolling round and seeing the sights - it's a fascinating and interesting town. The staff were helpful, and printed a document for me that I needed the following day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait until 7.30pm for restaurant to open and then dinner buffet was not particularly good. Parking was just on the street - we were lucky to find a place for our small car just outside but might not have been.

    Amazing pool. Good location - easy to walk into town. Plenty of space in room, even with extra bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    7.5
    Double check your booking and what you are given
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work in our room and we found it out when were in bed already. It was very annoying. Also in our booking it was said we are going to have a tube but found were given a number with shower.

    The hotel is nice, they serve amazing breakfast as well. Having pool by your side in hot Alentejo weather is especially pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    8.8
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on dirt. Coffee could be better.

    Great pool area, spacious and clean room. It seems that rooms were recently renovated. It had all the equipment a hotel should have!! Good breakfast, above average. Short walk to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.1
    okayish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of sympathy from the staff. You always have to great them first. From reception, bartender, to cleaning ladies. They look at you but don't see. Another weak point is the restaurant's/bar schedule - if you missed the breakfast there's no chance to get even a simple coffee till lunch begins. Everything is closed in this hotel.

    The hotel is out historical area, but very reachable walking and with a lot of parking spaces around. Rooms looked renovated and bathroom area seemed completely new, spacious and convenient. Enough of space around the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    8.3
    Good for the price, 5 min from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is a bit of a mess, they are renovating the place as(19.07.2017) so there is a bit of noise arround, the swimming pool is nice but has too much chlorine some skin types cannot handle it, the A/C is just impossible to set for a good temperature, we basicly were freezing.(tryied all modes)

    Its cozy, nice balcony/terrace, good for prive/quality, good staff..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personal safety and ease is a question. The locks on the doors of some of the rooms were broken, particularly those with sliding doors leading to the terrace. Not recommended, if you want to sleep at ease! I had to request to be moved to another room, due to the sliding-door broken lock situation. In the final room I was offered, part of the safety chain was missing. The hotel is difficult to locate, and the main route to the hotel from the main town is through a desolate park, which most definitely does not feel safe, after dark. The pool was only open from 08:00 to 20:00, so - due to my business schedule, I could not avail of it. Swim times need to be more flexible. There was a large amount of dust very visible in the seating areas near the elevators, and the place looks and feels very run-down and shabby. Overall, I was sadly disappointed and should I need to visit Évora again, I will look for alternative accommodation.

    The bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    5.0
    The worst hotel we encountered in Portugal. Seems to be set up for cheap tour groups
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hairdryer or power point for one. No toilet roll holder or hooks for towels. No toiletries. Bin not emptied from previous guest. Hard beds. No extra pillows. No hotel information in room. TV reception intermittent. Checkin not till long after 3pm. No baggage storage available. No baggage assistance offered. Some staff unresponsive or no English spoken. Plastic glasses in room. No complimentary water. Soap by dispenser.

    Parking. Proximity to attractions. Large lounge area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No small fridge in room, no iron or coffee and tea making facilities!

    Fantastic reception staff who helped with queries in places to visit in Evora and in Portugal. Smorgasbord dinner in the hotel restaurant was great value. Parking close and free, easy 5 minute walk into Evora

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    10
    Hosty hotel with a great outdoor swimming pool: great choice for hot summer!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast had no too much variety: no any vegetable (at least tomatoes), nor sausage to eat with eggs, no musli neither nuts and other staff for healthy breakfast. The variety of fruits was ok.

    I had a swimming pool just in front of my room! It is really great place to relax after busy day in hot Evora

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel close to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was very busy on the last night with large groups there, presumably tour groups.

    Nice room with balcony overlooking the pool. The pool was large and very clean. It was a short walk into the town. Breakfast buffet included cereals, fruit, juice, scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, various rolls and pastries.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    6.3
    Breakfasts good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning not working or inefficient. No refrigerator when they was obviously a cabinet where it should have been. Dinner unavailable on first night because apparently due to large parties. City view great exaggeration. Guest internet not avail either during entire stay, very disappointing

    Breakfasts good. Food at dinner second night good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    9.6
    Free parking in front of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains

    Free parking in front of hotel. Nice and good sized room, comfortable with nice summer vacation's atmosphere. Next day, we just leaved our car on the parking and conquered the city(walking distance).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    7.5
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Pillows definitely seen better days, no support at all and only 1 per person. Bathroom sink had water left in on arrival as plug system didn't work. Was fixed when reported. Maintenance work being carried out which wasn't mentioned on booking. Would have been a noise problem if around pool area for any length of time.

    Good location in easy walking distance to town. Swimming pool good size with access from room patio door (ground floor rooms). No road noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.1
    Hotel needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs refurbishing. Airconditon in our room didn't work on a hot day. We were moved to another room where the fridge didn't work. No discount offered

    Good location, easy access to centre of town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    8.8
    Can't complain, very cheap and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking across the road. New bathrooms and good sized rooms. Very comfortable if needing a place to stay for just one night. Wish we had a chance to try the pool, but it was too cold.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    10
    A very pleasant hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion, the only issue was the garage. It's kind of small for the purpose and a little hard for large cars to park.

    The staff is the soul of a place and it they were all very kind. The room was comfortable and tidy, and it has an impeccable bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not impressed with the buffet.

    The location was perfect for visiting Evora. Everything was within walking distance. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    8.3
    A simple place to stay in Evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception people just did their job, nothing bad, but more friendly attitude would be better... (if we compare with other places we stayed during this trip). The breakfast was simple, we did not like the morning coffee - bad! And no fresh salad!

    Hotel parking, close to the centre - 5 min walking distance. Pool view was bonus. The guy from the bar was very kind, helped us to find a way to parking place (from hotel side it looked full, but there was another way to reach the parking place). Fast taxi- ask from the reception!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    7.9
    Good 3* hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communal areas not cozy, ambience of a bloc resort hotel. No refrigerator in the bedroom (the empty space was there).

    Located just out of the city walls. Bathroom was newly renovated A good sized room Free wifi. The breakfast was good, buffet was very well served with good variety. Parking area just over the road from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    7.9
    Great location to visit Evora. Very nice hotel with good staff and very good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Nicely located just out of the city walls. The hotel was very quiet during our stay (Early March). Very good room with an exceptional bathroom. Some upgrading works on the building been undertaken but these did not affect our stay (we were advised before staying) but these will only increase further the overall hotel experience. Nice enough breakfast in a good sized room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was pretty basic and I needed to use all the spare blankets... If I was not travelling alone we would have needed many more blankets to keep warm!!

    Easy to find and reception staff were helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    6.3
    Nice Hotel very badly let down by the Buffet Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I decided to go for the Buffett Dinner at €12.50. Soup was luke warm, duck rice was cold and greasy, dinning room very cold with most diners with overcoats on. Very poor choice in the Buffet Dinner for the price in comparison with the overall price for the Bed and Breakfast. They need to vastly improve this area

    Very modern bedroom just recently renovated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    8.8
    We recommend but read the cons! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast coffe was awful. The worst coffe I've ever had!! Also the other guests (some group of Spanish people) were very uncomfortable as they were always screaming and using very bad lenguaje in all common areas. We find that The Billiard table was expensive (5€ per hour).

    We loved the size of the room, it had a balcony with pool view. Also the lobby and all the common areas were very comfy and big. The bar prices were very good. We liked the bed as it was comfy. The breakfast was good, buffet was very well served with good variety. The location was perfect as it was very close to the city center but it had public parking and easy access.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    6.7
    A good base for one night in Evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordered steak sandwich from bar. In edible but in fairness we weren't charged for it.

    Basic hotel. Good value for money. Great location for exploring the city. Breakfast poor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is supposed to be a 3 star hotel but the overall presentation of it really seemed it should deserve a little less than that. It wasn't entirely comfortable staying here. The staff at the restaurant were not particular friendly nor professional. Cleanliness of the room is subject to improvement as we found hair on the bed and in the bathroom upon arrival. The parking space was full of dirt/dust as a result the car was covered in thick dust the next morning.

    Free parking in a public area right in front of the hotel. Walking distance to the centre of Evora. Scrambled eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom unfinished with a shower curtain or an extended door missing to keep water out from the rest of the bathroom. No place to hang towels. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great heating system kept us warm during the rainy and gloomy stay Food (breakfast and dinner) were great! Extra star for the helpful receptionists!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: