Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dona Filipa Hotel 5 stars

Vale do Lobo, 8135-901 Vale do Lobo, Portugal

#9 of 18 hotels in Vale do Lobo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    6.7
    I didn’t like the fact that the room I have every year I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that the room I have every year I was charged £500.00 extra for and there’s no difference between a classic which I normally have at £1100.00 And the deluxe which I choose this year at £1600.00. I spoke with the hotel who know me and my wife and suggested we take it up with you. This holiday experience has left me feeling very angry especially when I have been booking through booking.com for many years. I look forward to a positive response.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.1
    Very disappointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we Were very disappointed when we arrived we had booked a deluxe room only to find it was exactly the same as there classic room we had the year before but cost more money when we questioned this the hotel said this matter should be taken up with you !!!!! Very disappointing after it cost us £1600. And we just had the classic room but charged for a deluxe .

    The pool area was very nice always towels Available.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    happy stay in 4 star facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfasts poor as not enough choice when supplies run down. advertises breakfast up to 10.30 am but by 10 most trays empty. this hotel claims to be 5* but it is not as service is limited to how many staff are employed and there is too much self service expected.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Apart from the room this is a lovely hotel and would return but ask for a room already updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was particularly tired and dated and whilst I appreciate they have refurbishments planned I don’t feel we got value for money although the rooms were immaculately clean the bathroom was a let down.

    All the staff here are excellent they are attentive and work very hard to please. The hotel is very relaxing and we all felt very chilled out after our few days away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant at breakfast time was manic - not enough staff to cope with the volume of people and believe it or not, not enough tea pots!! It has the most ineffective toaster ever taking at least 10 time through to get just a touch of colour. However the egg station was very good..................

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Perfect Location for travel and for holiday.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I didn't like

    Pest are very welcome! Rooms very Large as and apartment. Lovely location and green area Lovely beaches and very close to the hotel . Breakfast from 06.00 am so for us that are traveling was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Glorious weather, fair hotel, beautiful memories created albeit at a high total cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Land View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Any issues had to be directed to "management" for final decision. The team should be empowered to make decisions timely if not immediately in their drive to provide great customer service befitting a 5 star hotel. Issues all resolved favourably in the end, but wish they had been resolved swiftly. Example, pool table in the hotel is chargeable based on time of use. Staggering to believe a 5 star hotel cannot afford to purchase a pool table for guests' use at no additional cost. Feelings made known to staff and "management" duly refunded the charge on check out but it should not have been levied in the first place. Pretty much everything is chargeable and at a significant premium; makes for a hotel with limited amenities capitalising on a captive audience. Car hire from hotel though convenient is very expensive (min 50% mark-up), best to find local taxi service to use during stay. Hotel and facilities smaller and limited respectively, to that suggested on the website. Definitely not a hotel for young children (below 13 yrs old); outside of swimming pool and pool table, nothing else to engage them (besides online entertainment if your stay includes unlimited wi-fi).

    The staff were kind and helpful with matters within their remit; special mention to Ms Isabel who was simply delightful in all dealings with her. Good location. Valle do lobo is lovely, although very expensive. 6,50€ for an average milkshake (in hotel); 2€ for a single tube of mentos in the square. The Square is charming with entertainment each night. Breeze in the Square our favourite of all restaurants/bars - scrumptious chicken wings!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    You can’t beat the location but the hotel needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to make own way to room with baggage and the hotel layout is confusing to say the least - staff were ok but not particularly friendly It’s expensive for what you get -

    Excellent location but the hotel is tired and despite the recent refurb of reception and pool the room was in need of refurb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    breakfast buffet very good, comfortable sunbeds,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Need more sunbeds (or more control over people "saving" them) and parasols No waiter service by the pool

    breakfast buffet very good, comfortable sunbeds,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Val de Lobo is a little like Surrey on sea with a plethora of post GCSE kids letting their hair down until after sunrise. The hotel was much better than we anticipated and would highly recommend to guests whether they have teenagers or not!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay with family in very comfortable accommodation with good food, pool and access to beac
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin room Golf View with extra bed (2 adults+ 1 child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit quiet! No evening ambience!

    Pool and breakfast by pool! Evening dinner at pool restaurant!. Nice refurbished room with balcony and partial sea View. Proximity to beach and a choice of restaurants. Nice staff. We lost some luggage and they found it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel. Lovely staff. Wonderful breakfast. Beautiful beach and facilities.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all lovely. If I had to comment on anything I would say that the bedroom needs modernising.

    The hotel was very nice and the staff excellent. The breakfast was extremely good. The main communal areas of the hotel were lovely - quite modern, spacious and light. I can obviously only comment on our bedroom which was nice but a bit dated and dark. Everywhere was really clean. The staff were really good, helpful, enthusiastic. The restaurants and bars within only minutes of the hotel were super and the beach lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not one of the refurbished ones and was very outdated, breakfast choice good but hot food was not hot and coffee awful. Spa reception not very helpful and could not accommodate my request easily.

    Staff very efficient,refurbished areas nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought room cost rather overpriced. Staff could have kept the sun deck area cleaner, ate poolside one day and our tray was still there the next day. It was quiet when we stayed and the hotels beach area was not setup yet and the pool got busy in the afternoons, could struggle in peak season.

    Excellent location and staff were great. Food at hotel was very good and not overly priced. Pool is heated and absolutely lovely. Beach is a short walk from hotel, stretches for mile and is exceptionally clean so you can always find a quiet spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel good, service a bit slow. Restaurant ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant on the last night was very poor, not what was on the menu and the wait for bad food over 2 hours , every starter we ordered they never had. The steak came out with few chips not the potato & banana gratin. The food was not “ fine dinning “ very disappointing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    I have complained so many times before about the dreadful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV. - terrible.

    I have complained so many times before about the dreadful television in the bedrooms. One channel of news and nothing else. Really sub standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location and nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was extremely dated especially the bathroom and the balcony furniture. Smell of cigarette smoke in our room on two evenings. Restaurant food was not 5 star, went to the fish buffet night and was very disappointed.

    The cleanliness and room housekeeping services were excellent. Location is superb with access from pool area to restaurant area. Proximity to beach as amazing. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Wouldn't recommend during high season. Have no experience of any other time so couldn't recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolside services poor.When commenting to Reception this was greeted with a shrug a comment that it was busy .!!!!!!! Glasses left overnight and straws and drink debris still in evidence at 10 am.

    Beds very comfortable.Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool area, quite untidy, no staff, definitely not pretty and the price of drinks very expensive and had to wait forever.

    The staff, that were there !!! were lovely and very attentive, but you had to find them first. The breakfast was good and the location good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    Only thing about this hotel that's 5 star is the beach location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are very dated and uncomfortable. We were on our honeymoon and we made staff aware of this on check in however they never made any effort to acknowledge this for us.

    The beach area was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    A visit we often make before starting a villa holiday which is always enjoyable - and Portuges .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin room with extra bed (2adults+1child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    /Removal of outside bar by pool. The outdoor stairs to street are steep and steps should be marked with tape to enable one to see the steps - especially top and bottom ones - clearly.

    Proximity to Praca restaurants and beac/h

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant and relaxing but get up early if you want a lounger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a late flight home and we requested to pay for a longer check out on 2 occasions but no one got back to us. The shower at the pool entrance is not big enough to get ready and changed so we found it a bit stressful trying to get ready to come home . There wad animal faeces on the grass near our beds which we reported to the young girl on reception but wasn't removed . There is a distinct lack of beds and some people were having to stand around which was very unfair as this hotel is not cheap. It could be fantastic if these issues were addressed.

    I really liked the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    new superior rooms lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Remembering this is a 5 star hotel in a very fancy resort, 1 the classic rooms are old and of a poor standard 2 the pool is not large enough for the number of people and children at the hotel and the decking area around the pool was not cleaned 3 there are not enough loungers for the number of guests leading to arguments 4 even in the new upgraded rooms they have not upgraded the air con which was difficult to control effectively and noisy 5 parts of the hotel are lovely, other parts look and feel really tired.

    new superior rooms lovely. staff friendly and helpful great location for the beach and praca

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    Very poor accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room , no complimentary water, had to ask tea and didn't replenish , just had chocolates with turn down for 2 nights, bedding not changed enough, really poor breakfast service, shower broken, not enough brollies, pool area like sitting in a chicken pen with cheap fencing! No way a 5 star!!!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in super resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room with Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Restaurant lunch and dinner offering not great. Guests 'reserving' places at the pool at 7am and not showing up till lunchtime - drove us crazy as it is a small pool area and we had small kids and we had to sit far from pool because certain groups of guests colonised the pool chairs yet were not there. Hotel should control this issue better.

    Front office staff were great all week - so friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Large rooms, great location, nice kids club across the road (that needs to be pre-booked daily)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice but not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Random service standards Inadequate parasol provision Very small public external area except for tennis courts Inadequate outside breakfast facility with no proper shade. Seems to be part way through upgrading.

    Good for teenagers wanting to nightclub Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could of been better food not hot enough? ? TV kept breaking down I did report it and yes it was repaired but 3 times ?

    the staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    very nice located, just 2 minutes walking from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dissapointing. not very nice reception. as we knew the configuration of the hotel, we booked a luxury room with "golf view", against extra price. In stead we got a room looking over the roof of the hotel, just above the airconditioning unit. According to reception, the hotel was "fully booked", not possible to make a change.

    very nice located, just 2 minutes walking from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Ok but no value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a better deal going direct to hotel website same price but would not have to pay for golf Construction work on going in hotel although was informed by email extent of work not indicated pool area and surrounding garden areas a building site

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about this hotel

    Room a little dated but bed extremely comfy. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Brilliant location. Will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    Dona Filipa will be even better when improvements have been completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We arrived to find the whole of the pool area had been dug up for reconstruction which we were unaware of when booking. This was a lovely sunny week and we would have enjoyed making use of the sunbeds particularly in view of my wife's ill health during the last year.

    We are regular guests at Dona Filipa Hotel and love everything about it. There was a problem this time though unfortunately.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Rest and relaxation in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cooked breakfasts could have been hotter, but this is a minor criticism, as the food on offer was exceptional.

    The food generally was excellent and worthy of the hotel's 5 star rating. The staff were very efficient and always considerate. The hotel's location 3 minutes from the sandy beach is obviously one of its best features, and in my experience, this is the premier hotel on this stretch of the Algarve.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Val de Lobo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The atmosphere and staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Noise from other rooms really travels!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms really travels!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was tasteless coffee vile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was tasteless coffee vile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Staffing levels around pool meant not kept as clean as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffing levels around pool meant not kept as clean as desirable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    fine, great for golf and lying on the beach. Some restaurants were fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the food...

    the service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    The old rooms should not still be allocated to customers who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old rooms should not still be allocated to customers who are expecting a 5* experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of atmosphere in the restaurant

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    met expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin room with extra bed (2adults+1child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good standard and good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel - my favourite in the Algarve - can’t wait...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel - my favourite in the Algarve - can’t wait to return next year

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel on a great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't feel like thre were enough staff to help around the pool or at breakfast

    Nice hotel on a great spot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con good ... But too loud I had to turn it off

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, area and local people are all excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No cockroaches would have been better !

    The courtesy of the staff and manager.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Good apart from the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rubbish. Had better at a travel inn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    View from our room as we booked garden view room but it overlooked a scrubby bit of land and the public car park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    everything

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Good value for the money and recent refurbishments have made a big difference and s great location f
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon was like shoe leather!!

    Great bread rolls and good selection of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    We love it here, beautiful hotel and always feels like a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool area bar not quite finished

    We upgraded for an extra 50E to one of their newly refurbished premier room which was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Great position, staff very friendly, good breakfast, room very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all the rooms have been renovated, room was very dated. Bathroom - stand in the bath to have a shower not ideal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Okay but not enough to take us back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Pool area too exposed & plain

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Beds and linen very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bottle opener in room

    Beds and linen very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Love the Dona Filipa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coming home! It's always disappointing to leave!

    It's a wonderful place!!! Staff amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous adult and kid friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin room with extra bed (2adults+1child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newly refurbished bedrooms are stunning. The bed was amazing and so comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea milk and sugar not replaced in the rooms each day

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast

    Location and bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Baths looking very old and tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baths looking very old and tired.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Very happy and decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just we asked for single beds but your hotel staff changed immediately, appreciate it

    Great stay, enjoyed it a lot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Access to the dining room a bit circuitous and hallway badly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the dining room a bit circuitous and hallway badly needs upgrading

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    Hotel a construction site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a construction site. Should have been a discounted rate or notification several weeks in advance so we could book somewhere ekse

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    good choice at breakfast but cooked breakfast could be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    good choice at breakfast but cooked breakfast could be improved

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Pool was closed for refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin room with extra bed (2adults+1child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was closed for refurbishment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Modernised parts excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not told major construction going on at time of booking !! Expensive restaurant.

    Modernised parts of hotel. Excellent staff. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bbc tv or itv not available in room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.8
    payed full price BUT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    payed full price BUT swimming pool closed sauna closed restaurant nearly any choice on the menu

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    The meal in the restaurant was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only coffee in room, need tea. Kettle ect. Room a bit dated , but value for money.

    The meal in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool

    Victor on reception was very kind. Gave us an upgrade for my birthday

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    4.6
    The location and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The old and smelly room. The reception desk not knowledgeable. The bed unconfortable and with a very small blanket. Room was cold.

    The location and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    how heelpful every one was,along with good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    difficult to find fault.

    how heelpful every one was,along with good service and smiles.no matter how small the request the reaction was always positive to help.restaurant & breakfast room good selections.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    7.1
    Great location, comfortable bed with great pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arriving to find all the staff having a chat, no offer to help with bags from my car was a bit disappointing.

    Great location, comfortable bed with great pillows

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.9
    Christmas Day in Dona Filipa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The junior suite we had wasn't great. Lack of sockets, a poor over-bath shower and a small balcony with old uncomfortable so was glad it was an overnight stay rather than a whole week.

    Christmas Day in Dona Filipa! I have to say that the Christmas lunch was incredibly good with a set six course meal, each dish evidently had a lot of effort put in for the flavours. The staff in the restaurant were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Really well positioned hotel, very nicely decorated, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Depending on the way the wind is blowing can be a bit noisy at night (from the Praca)

    Really well positioned hotel, very nicely decorated, lovely staff, excellent breakfast

There are also 58 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: