Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorisol Buganvilia 3 stars

Rua da Casa Branca, Sao Martinho, 9004-535 Funchal, Portugal

#62 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same all days..deserts was only one cake..

    Great that there was indoor pool and jazzuci,because outdoor pool was cold.Rooms were cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room. Wasn't told about all the information they had on Madeira They couldn't arrange a taxi transfer.

    We really enjoyed our stay here! Lovely pools. Great location.fab indoor pool, gym arc facilities. Breakfast was a wide selection of continental and cooked food. Rooms were a great size and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was the unfriendliest I have ever come across and at breakfast the roaster literally took 15 min to toast your bread.

    The location was within walking distance to everything you need. The room was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same everyday with not a great deal of choice and the scrambled egg was very runny. We wouldn't have paid extra for the breakfast if it hadn't been included.

    The staff were very helpful as originally we were put in a room that wasn't very good as it overlooked the car park but as soon as a nicer view was available we were able to move

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication between the hotel's central reservations and the individual reception desks need to be improved. There were several muddles, the hotel staff were doing their best. There is a building site on one side which might start to impact on guests but was ok while we were there.

    Large room and useful mini kitchen facilities. Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I've stayed there 5 tmes. Standards (and maintenance) have steadily dropped and facilities lessened. It's now a a B and B with a pool. There is a building site on one side.

    Breakfast only was taken. Food adequate, but very much the same day by day. A great lack of teaspoons rectified on the last day. The WI Fi is fast although only available downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only newer/better mattresses would be needed. Existing ones are not comfortable.

    Not so fresh anymore, but nice hotel for that price. There was everything we need (please note that we were in November) - nice view from balcony (we was on the 11th floor), little kitchen with every thing you need, pools, Jacuzzi, sauna, breakfast, car parking, near a lot of restaurants, a big shop down the street, about 500 meters form ocean, evening entertainment program...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Noisy due to building site next door needs upgrading room poorly equipped. main areas dingy need more lights . Situated at the top of steep hill. need new knees going down and lungs for going up

    PRICE AND BREAKFAST OK

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms. Although usable at the Bar and Lounge it was very low speed. The bed was very uncomfortable. There was construction close by the hotel and they started work early 6am.

    Unbeatable price. Very friendly staff. Just next to teh Ocean. Restaurants close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed -clothes are very old, badly wi-fi, one plate in kitchen doesn't work at all, no condition are

    Big room, in and outdoor pools, balcony, mini- kitchen

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed in their lost property system ,although the staff tried their best I had left my phone charger in my room when I checked out and went back a few hours later ( no one had taken the room so only cleaner had accessed it). It had gone and there was no system to locate it as housekeepers were on days off. I went back and phoned every day of my stay but they couldnt tell me if it had been found or not!. Thank goodness it was only a phone charger! There should be a proper hotel lost property system in place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nonskid stickers in the bath - they are not necessary needed and there were dirt on them and aroud them.

    Indoor and outdoor swimming pools were great, there is also well equiped gym, jacuzzi, everything for free. Hotel is quite old fashioned but clean. Breakfast is good. Every room has a balcony. I would recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The swimming pool needs a good clean especially the walls on the inside of the pool. Our accommodation was on the 3rd floor overlooking the parking lot. There was a lot of disturbance at night especially from drunken customers coming back from a night out. In the mornings, sometimes at 5.00 am the touring buses picking up clients for a day out, and hotel customers gathering at the parking lot made a lot of noise. The buses leave their engines running which is noisy and irritating and smelly and not environmental friendly. There is a sign in the bathroom stating that the towels are only changed 3x a week to save the environment, but the buses leaving their engines idling for more than 1/2 hour is even worse for the environment. Perhaps the hotel directors could have a look at that!!

    The breakfast was good, fresh and varied. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airport shuttle not provided. Only able to have one night here.

    Good location, good clean room, balcony sea view, cooking facilites, spa, jacuzzi, sauna, indoor & outdoor pools, hotel restaurants, shop, late check out for 15 euros available. Plenty of good restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, good public transport, 5 euro bus to the airport within downhill walking distance, pleasant staff. Close to a nice Lido & the ocean. Everything one requires & needs within walking distance, a beautiful good resort, plenty of things to do, sightseeing buses & tours. Plenty of taxis about. I wish that I had spent my entire holiday here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Too much cost cutting. The courtesy bus has gone. The Table Tennis table is broken and not replaced. Lightbulbs not replaced. Generally getting tatty.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy, aging, free wifi not working, poor bed quality, staff not welcoming. Should consider that everyone has a smartphone connected to wifi and have it working accordingly

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was only accessible in Small Lounge Area under Stairs and in small reading room. Even still its not very stable and disconnects regularly. Although okay for simple normal browsing but cant do heavy duty stuff. Rooms are outdated. Saw a small lizard in our room. And Floor is not neat and clean.

    Location is very good.All the rooms in the Hotel are exactly the same structure with Kitchenette with working Cooker, Microwave, Some plates,Pans,Cups,Glasses,Jug et all. Our room was on 7th Floor with Sea View. Definitely worth the Stay. As the views were amazing overlooking the open Sea. Nice outdoor pool and cosy and comfy indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Indoor pool is shared between all 3 Dorisol Hotels so at times its busy but if you go in mornings then its empty. Timing are 0830 to 8pm. Cleaning Service is good and staff is usually helpful and can do there best to accommodate your request. Overall i would recommend it to anyone without a doubt. Positives out way the negative.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi only worked in a common room area and had a bad connection, there was no wi-fi in reception or the rooms. Tables in the restaurant weren't tidied properly and always had crumbs on them and the cutlery was nowhere to be found. Breakfast was below average. We normally stay in similar hotels and we've always had good experience in hotels at a similar price. However, next time we'd rather spend more money for more comfort and better service.

    Bathroom was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had big choice of things, but the taste of lot of stuff wasn't the best. Like their "juice" is not drinkable, it's like liquid sirup sugar, the coffee also pretty bad. For me as a vegetarian I had not much of a choice of veggies, just cucumber and tomatoes chopped in huge pieces.

    For 3 star hotel more than expected, nice clean room, new towels every day. The staff was ok, some of them very helpful, some of them not at all.Also worth to mention is that average age of guests here is between 45-70 year old usually hanging out by the pool. Walking distance to centre of Funchal is about 20-25mins..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there was no wifi connection on the rooms- you have to go down to the lounge or prepay connection for 5 Euro per day

    nice, quite large room with a particular seaview, small kitchen with a basic equipment and fridge, balcony, good breakfasts, swimming pools, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very unstable Wi-Fi.

    Very nice and equipped room. External and internal pool. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    For me I was more than and happy no complaints here:)

    Excellent location, great facilities and lovely restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of people coming and going at different times of night.

    The location was ideal forgetting around the island.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi in rooms

    Close to all amenities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room, paintwork scuffed in room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    But did not work sauna.

    We like the staff,very freindly. Good staff from SPA,for my wafe really like the massage!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired,needs a freshen up

    Free parking,good size rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in the room; poor quality pillows;

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks kind like oldy hotel.

    The position was verry good. The staff was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet area needed replacing. Cleanliness of bath. Hairs in bath.

    Excellent staff. Very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too far to walk from te city centre, but there is a good bus connection from the close bus stop. No more hotel shuttle bus - we were lucky to arrive the day after they stopped the service :-/ Furnishing and indoor pools need a major update.

    Stunning views from the rooms on 11th floor, plenty of room and storage, large beds, decent bathroom, a little kitchenette was a plus, breakfast offers a lot of option. Lovely outdoor pool. Many restaurants/car rentals and supermarkets in the area.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too noisy. The fire alarm made loud sounds several times during our stay (3-4 times per day). It was awful that this sound was also at night. We've woken up because we had to hear this sound for several minutes. Too old staff in the room: old TV, old fridge. This fridge made so much noise that we had to switch it off too sleep. Rooms are not well cleaned. There were a lot of hairs everywhere: on the bed, in bathroom. Breakfast are poor and quality is not very good. wifi only in lobby. And it is poor. It reconnects every 30 seconds.

    Nice location. There are lots of restaurants nearby. There are several supermarkets also. 40 minutes walk from city center. Free parking (but too hard to find free place at the evening)

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed ok for me but my husband woke with a sore back every morning. Would have liked more information about things like the courtesy bus volunteered by reception staff - but we did arrive in the middle of the night due to flight delay. One of the hotplates on our cooker was very rusty.

    The porridge at breakfast was great but only served one day. Staff all very approachable and friendly, even with our non-existent Portuguese. Indoor pool just the right temperature

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were rather dated, but clean. Very handy for buses to town and for walking to the Lido. Small supermarkets very near, good size one 5 mins walk. Useful to have indoor and outdoor pools. Reliable wifi on ground floor. West facing rooms get best of the sun, but not quite as good views. Lots of places to eat nearby, or you have basic cooking facilities in your room.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need more help on reception, especially for booking in....left hanging around. Although I booked for a room on a high floor with a sea view.....I was given a room on the first floor with No sea view...,, However, the delightful lady in charge of housekeeping made arrangements to change our room at the earliest vacancy....so NO complaints there

    Access to a good transport system to tour the island. Although some staff had difficulty cracking a smile (but we're still very polite)..... Some very pleasant staff working there.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got the feeling the place was mainly used for very cheap package holidays.Everything sags or is showing signs of wear and tbh €45 a night is a bit much.

    Good location,4th floor pool area and adjacent restaurant adequate, rooms clean,gym and spa treatments available,staff OK.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i had anaccident involving sharp exposed nails in the sauna , the staff were unhelpful and the manager never contacted me despite repeated requests. i have a wound on my arm that is still painful. the sauna is now being refurbished.i filled out a complaint form describing how i was warned by a man who cut his hand on the nails yet still no action was taken until i cut my arm after the stepping stool fell over and my arm impaled on another nail as stopped myself from falling into the hot coals. despite promises of being contacted by the the management i have heard nothing.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet access was only in first flor.

    I would particularly like to thank Barbara, from reception. She was very friendly, helpful and kind

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic view from our balcony. Lovely Bathroom. Close to good restaurants. Good wifi in lobby.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were really helpful including the maid service and reception.The outdoor pool was great.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airconditioning

    Price was ok

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping!

    Sea view.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very helpful people in the reception ! The woman that clean the rom was very nice and helpful !

    Location is ok !

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    locality, friendly staff

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: