Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorisol Mimosa 3 stars

Rua da Casa Branca, Sao Martinho, 9004-535 Funchal, Portugal

#63 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Friendly housekeeper
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, basic, smelly and needed updating. The so called kitchenette was disgusting, wouldn't put food near it. The so called sea view was appalling. This room should not have been sold as a sea view Building work being carried out and very noisy in room during the day Not a peaceful stay

    Friendly housekeeper Helpful reception staff, although not that welcoming Good hairdryer Free wifi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    I would not stay here again, room situation was handled poorly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given the wrong room due to overbooking. After complaining they gave me a dinner voucher without drinks. I was put in a boiling hot room the following day and after I asked to swap, the lady said “you complained the other day that you weren’t given the right room, we even gave you a dinner voucher”.... like she was doing me a favour when it was their mistake in the first place.

    Heating pool, good view, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    2.9
    Don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms seen better days. Looked tired and needed revamp. Bathroom mould. Under bed dirty. Beds uncomfortable. Staff other than Barbara on reception were indifferent

    Views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonerful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice pool and very helpful staff, and very good breakfast, but a little further from centre of Funchal than we thought. Not to mind as my wife and I are both happy to walk in new places and soak up the vibe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.4
    Stay with surprises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After arriving at the hotel with some of the things, we haven’t been happy. Especially finding cockroaches in a room after moving in and coming back in the evening. Reception staff only offered to change to another room, if it weren't an evening after a long flight we really would have reconsidered to move out and stay somewhere else. It felt that reception staff knows about this problem and haven't been genuinely sorry for it. -cockroaches in a room -low maintenance of the rooms. Need refurbishment. -low variety of salad, vegetables and fruits for breakfast. No options for gluten or lactose intolerant people. -no internet in the room.

    When booked a hotel room initially, we thought it should be pleasant stay after reading reviews from the previous guests and looking to the property phitos. But it was a bit different. There are some good things about, but also not so sweet. +View from the balcony +Cleaning staff was amicable +Outdoor swimming pool +Easy to reach by car

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.0
    Poor butvsince we only stay for One night so did not companies would not reccommend hotel to friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room Toilet would not flush Sink in bathroom was coming off the will Taps in bath were not working Would not stay their again

    Good location close to yellow bus stop

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Good all round value and Funchal is a great place to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The booking was messed up, which was disappointing as my reservation was made some months before. We arrived and were told the hotel was overbooked and we had to go to a temporary room as we needed to wait for the permanent room we booked to be vacated (about 24 hours) which meant that we couldn't completely relax until we were able to unpack bags properly etc. The staff did however compensate us with dinner on the first night.

    For a 3 star hotel it has good facilities. A nice pool area with a bar, tennis court and a spa and all of the hotel was kept immaculately clean, staff were helpful. There is on site parking in an underground garage and the hotel was within walking distance of both the old town and the lido.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.8
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't know where to start, can only really say that after a few days here I wanted to leave. We did look at moving to another hotel but reviews of alternative places were mixed, so could have ended up in similar accommodation. The room was extremely hot, the noise from the building works going on at top and bottom of hill was dreadful; we reported faults in the room but they weren't dealt with; other guests were obnoxious and inconsiderate. The walk up and down the slope or steps was tiring in the heat so we tended to walk down and then get a taxi back from town, as it dropped us right outside. Staff in the restaurant weren't particularly friendly and breakfast service was abysmal, you could never get a whole meal in one go as foil was refilled quick enough, not enough cutlery or cups/plates. One girl in particularly was surly and felt that she really didn't want to be there. We had been staying in another hotel previously but after a few days here I was ready to go home and definitely won't be coming back. We were told by booking.com that there would be no extra charge for late check out but hotel charged us and even then there was a breakdown in communication as we asked if we could have the room until 5.30pm and eventually the receptionist confirmed this, only to find on day that we had to be out of room by 4pm. We only discovered this when another receptionist rang to ask why we were still in the room and if we didn't leave immediately we would be charged for an extra night. I said that wasn't a problem as before we arrived I had tried to find out if we should book an extra night as our flight wasn't until 8pm or could we just have a late check out. The receptionist then back tracked and said we couldn't do that as someone was due in our room later that evening, which I was amazed at as repairs to toilet, bath and sink had not been carried out.

    There was very little we did like about the hotel, apart from the male receptionist, who was very helpful and made sure we got a fan that we had requested and the reception area was very spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful flowers everywhere, very nice views of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The best rating is that we selected this accommodation 3th times. The staff attentively sent a bouquet of flowers and fruit. Besides the pool is a new garden with interesting plants. Half-board is very good, and also very good kitchen on the apartman. The view from the terrace is fantastic. Under the terrace is giant mango tree. Along the road beside the banana tree. Beautiful flowers everywhere. Beautiful views of the ocean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    The staff, everyone was kind and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room.

    The staff, everyone was kind and professional. Breakfasts were good. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the spa. Good entertainment. Our room was spacious and had a nice view to the outdoor swimming pool and the sea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Winter Sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wifi not in the room but this got us off our phones for a change. Hill to the hotel was ok for us but if you have mobility issues we would not recommend it.

    Lovely spa and pool. Spacious fully equipped room, nice views from balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hill to the entrance after 10 days got me fit :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for people without young babies
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small lift it was hard to fit the push chair. The hotel was up high on the hill and it was again difficult with the push chair

    Balcony terrace seating areas kitchen

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.4
    Decent hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast - products of not so good quality, lack of tea spoons. Internet availability - despite being available in shared areas on the ground floor, the connection hardly worked. Check-in process: despite the hotel was not full (staff officially informed about that while e.g. re-directing guests to the new breakfast location), our room was not ready earlier, though we asked for it far in advance informing the hotel about our very early arrival time. Luggage storage: you can leave your luggage at the hotel after checking out but it is not stored in a secured location; you can only leave your bags next to the reception desk and it is not supervised by anyone.

    Spectacular view from the balcony on the 10th floor. Pictures did not lie. Beds were quite comfy, decent cleanliness of both room and bathroom, polite (but not 100% friendly) staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel with everithing you need to a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    They need to have a serious refurbishing and some structural work in the building.

    The sympathy from all the people working there. The hotel although old have everything you can ask to have a nice staying in Madeira: gymnasium, indoor swimming pool, outdoor swimming pool, sauna etc. Breakfast as a lot of food to choose and you also have special orders Remember Google doesn't show you land with slopes and steep slopes!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NEEDS RENOVATION

    LOCATION

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is made from ready made products and the juice is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is made from ready made products and the juice is not fresh. Overall the hotel is ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location and swimming pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior furniture is a bit tired. Lacking parking spaces, at evening is hard to find a free parking lot.

    Good location and swimming pools.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    One of the best holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was very hot and no air condition

    Easy access to the beach,public transport,shops and verynice sea view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location, perfect view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise until 18:00 p.m.

    Perfect view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    9.6
    Short but lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoy sunshine from 10th floor and the breakfast top!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.9
    Good value for wat you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill

    Location friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice clean accommodation, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con,

    Nice clean accommodation, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    10
    Anyone who loves the nice flowers and beautiful gardens who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very generous and greet. Lot of very good food on breakfast, but no ketchup, mustard, chili sauce on breakfast time.

    Anyone who loves the nice flowers and beautiful gardens who loves the ocean, the clean and fresh air, loves mountains need go one time to Madeira. We were 3nd time on Madeira and next year go again. We got glas of champagne from hotel. Fantastic view from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    The rooms although dated were spotless and the cleaners did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would have liked the receptionists to alert me to all the extras for free ie games room, sauna, inside pool. We found the gentleman receptionist friendlier but overall this is a great hotel for all ages and if you have a big age range of children like me it is ideal. They did not have many English brochures re trips etc - they were mainly in other languages.

    The rooms although dated were spotless and the cleaners did a great job. the entertainment was fabulous and they should make visitors more aware of it. The entertainment manager was very friendly and my children 22 - 12 years all participated in for example, learning to salsa,billiards, holding parrots, shooting, swimming, using the gym. It was a real bonus to have this and I think they should tell you on arrival that it is all free. Our view from the balcony was fabulous. the pool outside was cold but the indoor pool was lovely and warm. We would go back

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    Great view from balcony on 6th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Steep walk up hill to hotel. Beds not the best. Lack of bar in Piano Bar! but it was possible to order drinks.

    Great view from balcony on 6th floor. Nice indoor and outdoor swimming pool. Good value for money. Entertainment every night in Piano Bar (but no bar). Useful fridge and kitchenette in room.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.9
    Reception staff were all very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Free WiFi only works in the foyer, not in the rooms. That is an extra €5 per day.

    Reception staff were all very pleasant. We needed an iron and ironing board and cleaners brought one to the room.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    10
    good breakfast, 2 pools, gym.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good breakfast, 2 pools, gym. We had been given a room in the 3 floor (we saw just a tiny piece of the sea from the balcony) so we asked to change the floor. Next day the hotel gave us a key from the room on the highest floor, where the view was great.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    Good price/performance ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible wifi! It was droping again and again on all our devices during all our 10-days stay (several times during one single hour). Enough to check your emails but insufficient if you need to work or browse and plan your trips.

    Good price/performance ratio. Nothing exceptional but exactly what we expected. We would book again.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    The generous breakfast and especially your coffee were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had two rooms/studios for our family group, and the refrigerator was an old one in one of them. It made noice all the night and my son couldn´t sleep well. - Please renovate the kitchens in all the rooms. - Our wish for upper rooms was not fulfilled, hope it will be next time ! Thank you anyway a lot.

    The generous breakfast and especially your coffee were very good ! Nice and quiet hotel, with nice walk either to centrum or to see the sea. The personnel in reception/cleaning/breakfast were kind and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.0
    I liked the staff, very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I did not like the soundproof of the walls, flooring. I heard the neighbors from the upper floor take a shower, flush toilet, walk in their room. Last day we were visited by guests one floor down - they were very unhappy about the noise caused by us - we were taking a shower, walking in the room - normal stuff, nothing extraordinary. Thus, Mimosa hotel has the worst soundproofing I have ever experienced.

    I liked the staff, very friendly and professional.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    8.8
    Nice but basic room could do with a bit of a spruce up but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would benefit if some rooms had double beds! I can understand some people being worried about the fairly steep hill from the road to the reception area. But after a couple of days you're up and down it like a mountain goat!!

    Nice but basic room could do with a bit of a spruce up but for the price I can't really complain. Good facilities indoor and outdoor pools. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.1
    I like the breakfast and indoor swimming pool
    • Family with young children

    Elevater is to old make scary and the room too is to noisy

    I like the breakfast and indoor swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    breakfast,sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast,sauna

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    We liked the kitchenette as we travelled with a baby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lift was quite small. Our pram just fittet in, when the handle was folded up.

    We liked the kitchenette as we travelled with a baby

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    6.3
    Receptionists were not friendly, they were arrogant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receptionists were not friendly, they were arrogant.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    Nice bright room with a good sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice bright room with a good sea view. useful kitchen facilities in room. Very nice balcony for a twin room. Free and secure car parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.1
    Great view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place needs an airco.

    Great view

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.1
    Location, small kitchen in the room, good view from balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ants were in the room

    Location, small kitchen in the room, good view from balcony, shuttle bus to Funchal from hotel, animation every evening.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.2
    excellent breakfast, beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor wi-fi connection

    excellent breakfast, beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy corridors,poor bar area steep access.

    Breakfast ok.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Dorisol Mimosa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: