Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Douro Palace Hotel Resort & SPA 4 stars

Lugar do Carrapatelo, Santa Cruz do Douro, 4640-423 Baião, Portugal

#6 of 7 hotels in Baião

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1503 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not busy but to get a drink we have to wait 30min. The bar near swimming pool never works and there’s always an excuse for such (so prepare to get drinks far away and put your clothes on). SPA should be included in the service. Staff is friendly but come in groups to help you which is quite distracting when you are trying to have a conversation.

    Nice hotel in a beautiful area of the Douro Valley. Lots of potential.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived with two kids at 23:30 the receptionist asked a lot of questions, she or anyone helped with the bags. At breakfast, the service was so delayed, they run out of food and it took ages to replace. If you needed any assistance it was hard to find the waiters, on the second day for more than 10 minutes there was not one waiter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no where to eat around the hotel so you must eat dinner there as well (you won't wanna drive that roads during the night..). Considering the fact you don't really have a choice, the food was really good BUT it's expensive.

    Highly recommended! We enjoyed every moment. The view from our room was breathtaking, the staff were lovely and we did a massage that was really good. You have to use a GPS to get there, no network at some sections of the road (we inserted the address to the google map before and it was fine).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The GPS led us to a dead end where there was construction. We ended up having to back track several minutes and eventually found our way, but it was very confusing. A second couple had the same issue. The roads to drive there are not for the faint of heart, but well worth it.

    The view from the rooms was gorgeous. The food was great also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are pretty off the beaten track, so when you get there just about your only choice for dinner is their on site restaurant. The food was terrible. The water in the shower was barely warm enough to not be chilling.

    The pool area was beautiful, the room very comfortable. Very nice views from our terrace and patio areas of the bar. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Package - Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a drive to get to and not sure there is much around of you want to walk and explore but the resort is well self contained.

    Amazing views over the Douro valley, the food is great and the staff very friendly despite not having the best English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only speedier room service! Everything else was perfect

    Tranquil location on the river - very relaxing Amazing views Lovely pool area with snack bar - good selection of reasonable lunch options Excellent breakfast selection Good room service, if a little long in arriving We travelled with our 1-year old and felt very welcome. Space for kids to play around the pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was very disappointing. Better food to be food in local area

    Spa was nice, pool and room were great. Advertised as garden view but it was of another building. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although breakfast was good, dinner was not. Messy service with many mistakes and no good food.

    Great location with perfect views on the Douro!!! Rooms are nice but not very modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had one dinner in the Eça restaurant, 4 different dishes and 3 of them tasted really salty. It was almost uneatable. Pitty. Maybe we were unlucky...but we did not eat at the restaurant anymore. In stead we ordered room service and snacks at the bar, this food was delicious.... Same kitchen but maybe we had a different cook. Breakfast was served in closets, people were always standing in each others way, strange way to serve breakfast.

    Hotel is beautifully located, nice views over the Douro river. Friendly staff at the reception. WIFI was free and worked perfectly. Driveway to the hotel is gorgeous. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is nice, and the view is ok, not spectacular, compared with other Quintas in the area. Although we booked in advance a room at an upper level (for a greater view of course) the personnel didn't take this into consideration. We arrived late and tired and we were not in the mood to argue with them, especially that the man at the reception didn't speak English.

    The food was ok. The breakfast was actually pretty good, with different things to eat for every taste. We dinned at the property as well and enjoyed a nice evening on the terrace, sipping some wine and listening to live music. We didn't try the SPA so I can't comment on that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only - and I do mean only - negative was that a large number of children arrived on a Friday and played obtrusively in the pool so that swimming wasn't possible as the children were leaping in from all sides and batting a plastic ball in shallow and deep end. There is a children's pool, and if the energetic children had been limited to the shallow end, all would have been well. This was not a major problem and did little to detract from the relaxation and lovely spirit that characterize the hotel, its stellar location, and exceptional staff.

    The staff was warm and unobtrusive, extremely helpful when asked - with my diabetic requirements, for instance, and with our request for recommendations for a local restaurant when we wished to explore beyond the hotel restaurant's excellent offerings. We were charmed by the musician who played outdoors one evening; he had a lyrical, individual style and a warmth and graciousness - notable while playing and while dealing with a bug that flew into his guitar at one point! His band is called Expensive Soul, and we wish him well. We also enjoyed the movies shown outdoors and the very attentive bar staff, who happily explained just enough of the game of snooker for us to play. The pool was warm and clean and not overly chlorinated. The casual food by the pool was just right, and the restaurant's breakfast and dinner were impressively and generously served by knowledgeable wait staff. Our room was well designed and comfortable, quiet and with a terrace and wonderful view of the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gin quality at the swimming-pool bar doesn't meet the standards of the hotel. The halls and connection zones of the hotel can be a little cold, especially when you’re coming from the pool area. The curtain of my room didn’t close completely and we had a lot of light since early morning which was probably the only big remark I have to make.

    The hotel is perfectly adequate both for families or couples. Rooms are comfortable and with different styles, from the most romantic to familiar ones. The restaurant is Michelin star quality, divinely local food. I'll definitely recommend the hotel to my friends and will definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is shockingly tacky and does not respect in any way the noble and sophisticated environment of the region. Our afternoon at the pool was sheer horror: after waiting for forty-five minutes for a disgusting defrosted hamburger in a tasteless pool bar, where a McDonald's-type playlist rips your ears and invalidates any kind of relaxation, the "summer activities" start: a lousy DJ puts on the most vulgar music for almost two hours at a brain-damaging volume. Unwinding is just impossible. The interior decoration is equally depressing and anguishing: poor lighting outside and inside uncomfortably recall "The Shining", whilst the rooms are just plain ugly, except for the windows and balconies. The guests in general are of the most dodgy appearance. I have travelled several times to the Douro and this was by far the worst and most overpriced stay. Spending almost 270€ in total for a night in this hellhole is revolting.

    The location is obviously very good and the views over the river and the valley are stunning. Dinner and breakfast are ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees of Hotel very very friendly and great service. Staff remembered our wedding anniversary which was so appreciated. Restaurant especially excellent. Location very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar was locked up and closed. Other two bars had no staff on duty and Ed had to go and find someone to serve us. Guests are expected to pay extra to enter the spa.

    Room had great view of the river through big picture windiw

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The extra charge for the indoor pool area is a very unpleasant surprise. The location of the hotel is not a pleasant one - very far away from anything.

    The views are quite OK, breakfast and dinner - really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Package - Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very difficult to find. Breakfast presentation could be improved. Restaurant and bar are all brown. Would definitely improve with some re-decoration. Staff also dress in brown in these areas.

    The view from the room. Absolutely stunning. The team in the Restaurant always smiling and helpful. The food in the restaurant was mostly very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor food at the pool bar 9euros for a steak chiabata 10 euros just to get into the spa plus another 5 euros for a plastic cap to wear in the pool which was compulsory. Needless to say we never used the spa

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Package - Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters had to be tracked down for lunch or drinks during the day - no outdoor pool or cafe service - hotel almost felt too quiet at times during the day. It's a bit remote so once you get there you might not want to go out again in a hurry.

    First class menu with beautifully presented dishes. Great local wine from hotels own vinyard. Romantic package was very generous with most dishes included, complimentary wine and amazing treats in the room -champagne, chocolates, flowers etc plus the spa treatments. We were very pampered.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they have a very talented chef. There are no signs or markings to get to the hotel on the road. It's very difficult to find

    Restaurant food was superb.they have a very talented chef

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool indoor. You just rent a room. Everything else is paid. basic thermal circuit should be included

    Awesome views (River side room). + staff Quiet place Small but contortable room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The relaxation area in the SPA could be bigger (only about 8-10chairs). The service in the bar was a bit long (mid-afternoon), but nothing too annoying.

    Everything was amazing. The views were spectacular, the restaurant was great, and the service in the spa was great - awesome massages.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    power cuts/cold water the following morning/no English news channel/cold 'hot' breakfast/you would not find the hotel without GPS!! 4 star hotel???

    overall ambiance good; staff very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor point - as a 'booking.com genius member', I was told in advance we had an extended 2 hours for check-out (i.e. 2pm instead of 12pm). I requested this in advance but when we checked on the day, it was not possible to stay until 2pm. It is worth checking at reception if you are banking on an extended 'genius' check-out during your stay.

    The views over the Douro from this location are fantastic. We had a room with a river view (highly recommended) and sitting on the glass fronted balcony gazing over the Douro is quite serene! The complimentary glass of port or orange juice on arrival is a nice touch. Also, on a Sunday, access to the spa was free which was great. Normally to access the spa's indoor pool/sauna/ steam room etc is €10 - there is an outdoor pool but obviously this isn't really used in winter. Breakfast was enjoyable with a range of options on offer (lots of little Portuguese cakes to try). Thoroughly enjoyed staying here and we were sad to go.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of hot water at the night of the stay, including in the Spa. A lot of waiting time in the restaurante during the meal. No staff in the bar during the day.

    excellent breakfast. good room and view. nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to explore the Douro Valley so we decided to take a train further east to a bigger city. It was a good day trip but the train is not always on schedule. We did not have a car, even though the train station is not far, the road is steep, so bring your walking shoes and a be in shape! It would be nice if the hotel had a shuttle to take guests to the train station and back.

    Great room looking over the Douro River. My favorite room of my whole vacation. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from. Dinner was very good as well. We arrived by train and the hotel had a taxi waiting for us. The spa pool is great! we went swimming every day in the indoor pool. (it was raining of and on during our stay). It is a secluded hotel, not much to do, so if you want to relax and and have a beautiful view, this place is for you!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Staff at reception is not so spontaneous and does not offer much information with regards to sightseeing in the Duoro area. We asked e.g. for a recommendation for a winery; they recommended 2 without any further details. Upon arrival, winery we wanted to visit was closed that day. - Food in the restaurant is of poor quality and rather expensive compared to restaurants in the area. We ordered beef carpaccio as a starter and received 3 (!) misery slices of carpaccio entirely covered by lettuce (instead of the promised rucolla). After complaining, they removed this starter from the bill.

    - Great facilities - Nice environment - View to the river from the room - Variety of chooses for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is slightly small, but made good use of space. Location wise, a little far from the main Douro wine region.

    The staff. They were so helpful and amazing. The hotel is beautiful. Perfect getaway for those wishing quiet and relaxation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did not realize at the time of booking that the price of spa was not included in the price of the stay. This should be made more clear at booking.com

    beautiful hotel, great views and really peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The location is amazing, the staff is helpful and area is full of vineyards and places to explore. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunches were very poor. Dinners never lived up to their descriptions & were expensive. Female reception staff were very good but male staff were poor. The hotel shut the pool bar after the first day of our stay, so there was nowhere you could have a drink outside & enjoy the view.

    The scenery was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We don't normally write negative reviews of hotels but in this case think that it is justified. Has potential to be a really good hotel but attention to detail is lacking! Staff on reception were not very helpful. Struggled with luggage without offer of help. Had to ask where to park the car and also about meals available in hotel. We arrived at about 5pm and meal trays from breakfast were still in the corridors - not a good sign. Hotel was very clean otherwise but rather soul-less. As table wasn't available for dinner, we ordered bar snacks. After fairly long wait, we received one wrong item (out of two!). We sat at the edge of the bar area close to main reception area and there was music playing in both areas but different music!

    View from hotel room was fantastic (river and vineyards). Swimming pool location was also very attractive although we didn't have a chance to use it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repeat managmente is horrible egoistic Refuse to take complaints First eve in restaurant indivudual and bus group together And so on Waiters untrained can only do request one by one They smile seeeeeldom Means afraid of job loosing due to managment power No name to hotel on street Just.....hotel... but wich one... Without gps no chance by car from porto to find hotel After 45 years as inbound touroperator with chain of offices in europe shocked how pax are left in this pro Waiters serve more rooms Causes waiting times till 30 minutes Pax unsecure and leave bars Its enough to point out If booking com has influence blame managment for all ooking com clients to follow booking there Staff is nice aerea goody but pax must have fantasy Will go next year there to check

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so easy to get there, you need a good GPS or a detailed map as there are very few signs on the way to give you the directions to the hotel. BUt being the Douro Valley it is understandable.

    The location overlooking the Douro Valley with a wonderful view from the room and terrace. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is superb, the views from the rooms and terraces stunning and the restaurant is excellent. Everything about this hotel is good from the comfortable beds to the water aerobic session in the pool. Definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding hotel,beautiful view over the river and comfortable modern room.excellent food at pool bar and even better in restaurant.one of the best hotels I have stayed in.special thanks to Felipe for food recommendation in restaurant and his local knowledge.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It lacked any soul or ambiance. Very strange vibe.

    It was clean. Good spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic views over the Douro River. The restaurant food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Package - Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurante was amazing: staff, food, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Views of the room, breakfast, the hotel in general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not warm enough for a bath.

    Nice view from the room, clean. Fine hotel but it was lacking a portugese atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comida do Restaurante Eça excelente

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. Outstanding view! To repeat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little hard to find initially.

    Lovely view of the valley from peaceful, modern hotel. Excellent dinner and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the view is extraordinary

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area could bé better

    Amazing dinner!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All Bars could be well explored, they have potential.

    All staff during dinner were perfect, kind and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful modern hotel set in the hillside of the Duoro Valley, great restaurant to taste local cuisine and a short drive to famous Duoro wineries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No flexibility when asked for late checkout even when they had many free rooms.

    restaurant. delicious and exquisite offers. very complete breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to spend a very comfortable night. Wish I could have spent a few more days at this place. Good breakfast and the bar is well stocked!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Da tranquilidade do local.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA podia ser maior

    as vista do quarto

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very bad location,bad service in hotel resturant, room was nice,breakfest o.k.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your own bottle of wine for in your room

    The breakfast and the view were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Remote location - difficult to find somewhere to eat outside the hotel without travelling a fair few miles

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant service was a bit slow...

    The location. Close to the train station and in a beautifull evironment/landscape. The silence.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing with the Duoro

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too high prices in hotel restaurants.

    Nice view, quiet and calm area in Duoro Valley - good to relax. In my opinion better than crowded Regua.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    fridge to small and not at temperature no supermarket in the environment

    the good food and the nice view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was expensive and nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar da Eira e do restaurante Eça.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not good at all. A great lack of supervision and need of a good chef.

    The hotel was very good. Very friendly wellcome

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant not the best, but would go back regardless.

    The rooms have an amazing view - quite well furnished too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the food was of a very high standard well above 4 star rating of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelled like smoke. Could use freshener or carpet cleaning for better odour. Hotel mgmt should check this and improve

    Very friendly staff Great river view from room Quiet. Restful night. Tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    found 4 fishmoths in bath showerhead broken

    Amazing value for money! Buffet breakfast included Welcome glass of juice/port view from rooms Bar Restaurant Wifi Even though we were the only people with a baby the hotel staff made us feel welcome and even played with him during breakfast Crib in room fridge Room service prices

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mixed feeling from the very very small room that made it a bit unpleasant to stay in. We liked the hotel but hated the room.

    This hotel has an aura of golden times! The entrance decoration is lovely along with the many bar and other rooms. Free parking very convenient and staff super friendly. Location is really great, right in the middle of Santa Catarina street. Make sure you get clear indications to get there, as it might not be that easy

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is weak except at reception, but this is a remote location so that may explain it.

    A little tricky to find, but worth the drive. Nestled in their own vineyards, overlooking the Douro River and so peaceful. The food equals any five star restaurant and all of the staff goes overboard to please the guests. Special Thanks to Liliana and Joao on the front desk and our amazing, smiling housekeeper Cecilia. Thanks to all of you for a wonderful vacation.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the access to the Hotel is a little difficult, but the view reawarding

    -Unforgettable view of the Douro River -Great modern facilities -Tasty food (breakfast & dinner)

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do spa e piscina interior.

    Do pequeno-almoço. Do design do hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Magnificent view of the Douro river

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, accommodation and staff.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: