Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Escola 4 stars

Travessa Dos Piornais, Sao Martinho, Sao Martinho, 9000-246 Funchal, Portugal

#38 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 451 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    This is a great value hotel with very friendly staff who were eager to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that stands out.

    Super friendly staff who were knowledgable and helpful, cleaners were excellent and very efficient. A quiet location with lovely views. Hills are very steep but this is made up for with the views to the sea. Some good eateries etc locally but get the bus into Funchal to make the most of your stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    It is a very dated hotel but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable , poor quality pillows that need to be replaced. No proper air condition system.

    It is a very dated hotel but clean. Very good customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom. Balcony furniture worn,and curtains very poor condition.. Bed was hard and not a proper double also pillows poor quality Breakfast just o k

    Quite, and served a purpose

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel was spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious; great choice at breakfast and good value meals available at lunchtime and dinner. Our room had a wonderful sea view and was clean, spacious and comfortable. The Hotel is on a very steep hill but near to regular bus routes to destinations around the island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, conveniently located to visit the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    This was our second visit to Hotel Escola and we confirm our very positive opinion. Excellent breakfast, very convenient buffet lunch, very good dinner with either a set menu, now at Euro 19,50 including wine, or a la carte. We arrived at 10 am and just asked to leave our baggage. Without our asking they checked if a room was available and immediately we got our room. This is something not very common and we highly appreciated it. The room was comfortable and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Not really 4 star accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Breakfast was the same every day. A la carte food was disappointing- very soft and fatty belly pork ( not crispy ). No menu for room service.

    Polite and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff made this holiday stay great..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were a bit lumpy and this hotel is a little way out of town

    The bed was comfy, the bathroom was large and also has a bath and the staff were some of the nicest staff I have ever encountered in any hotel I have stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no indoor pool so if you plan a vacation when its not summer, then be prepared. It is a bit of a walk away from the city so limited access to restaurants and bars.

    Breakfast was great! Lovely staff and helpful in every way. View from the room was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay at this hotel. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic, but it was comfortable and a good size. The rooms at the front had a fabulous sea view.

    Great location for getting out to explore the island. Easy access to Funchal (by car) and the main highway. Free on site parking. Restaurant was a bonus - evening menu prepared by students under the direction of the head chef - lovely three course meals plus mineral water, wine and coffees for €19.50 per head. Restaurant overlooks the sea, so you can watch the sun setting whilst dining. Supermarket within 2 minutes walk of hotel. Useful for picking up lunch for our walks. Pool area was a nice sun trap, and lovely for resting in the sun after long walks. Pool is not heated, so will be warmer in the summer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were excellent, never short of a smile and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that the wifi connection, even in reception was very poor. The hotel is very clean, but a little care and attention to little things like painting or vanishing the balcony furniture, and repairing and painting the balcony rendering. Repair swimming pool mosaic tiles. Such minor repairs would bring the hotel up to scratch. Little things which could put some people off from returning.

    The staff were excellent, never short of a smile and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast and very good restaurant food efficiently served in this good standard hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little tired, bathroom fittings need upgrading and room decor need a freshen up.

    Excellent breakfasts. Staff are very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in the beginning of our trip to Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little off but good bus connections.

    Comfortable hotel with good facilities. Good views from the room overlooking the ocean. The breakfast was good and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    We had a great time and would recommend Hotel Escola without reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Be advised that the way from the (main) street to the hotel is really steep! People with any kind of walking disability will have serious trouble reaching the hotel if not opting for a taxi every time.

    Our room was always very clean. The interior was a bit outdated (e.g. antique TV – don’t know about the programs, never turned it on), but mattresses as well as shower were fine, so overall nothing to complain about. We were told, WiFi is not yet available within the rooms, yet luckily the signal was stronger than advertised (3rd floor). While it wasn’t perfect, it was enough to surf the internet and watch some youtube. Nice balcony with ocean view. Personnel were all very friendly and always making an effort. The receptionists in particular were very helpful, starting at the first day when we got lots of useful information without even asking for it. Breakfast was great: huge selection and high quality overall (minus the bread, which was only okayish). Lots of fresh fruit (mangos, melons, water melons, grapes, bananas etc.), freshly pressed juices (mango, passion fruit, orange) and tasty dates among other things. Coffee was nice, too. Lunch and dinner are of great quality at reasonable prices. Unfortunately they feature hardly any specific Madeiran dishes, so if you’re looking for that kind of thing, you need to head out. Since our flight back was early, they went the extra mile and brought a really great breakfast to our room the evening before we had to leave. Sandwiches, muffins, yoghurts, juices – truly appreciated! Location of the hotel is basically at the end of Funchal. Surroundings are nice; rather quiet and we’ve never felt unsafe at any point. A supermarket and a big shopping center as well as lots of opportunities to eat out are all in walking distance (~2 min and ~10 min respectively). To reach the heart of Funchal around the harbor, you’re better off taking the bus, though (1 ride is ~20 min and cost 1.35€ - you could get / charge your ticket at the supermarket nearby). Bus station is ~2 minutes away from the hotel. Transfer from the airport is easy and comfortable by means of the Aerobus (5€, ~45 min).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    It is a good breakfast-for a school of hospitality they have many lessons to learn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Also: Weird lumpy old pillows, tiny pool, sauna far away from pool and have to request it switched on half hour before use plus can't use after 5pm. Attitude of many (not all) staff-very off-hand. Bar not open with no reason given, asked for a local cocktail which they didn't serve and no alternative/offer to make something different. Tiny bit of green in front of hotel-don't believe the pics (v.selective angles chosen!) and a driveway where delivery and staff activity is ongoing throughout day.(inc loud warning beeping). This feels more of a hotel front to service the school and so feels like you're staying in an experimental hotel. The weirdest place I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in allsorts from bothies/camping upwards so certainly not fussy or unable to go with some eccentricities but wow....

    I had such a bad experience I am pasting in the issues raised with Booking.com after as I received no response from the hotel despite repeated effort-in a word though-awful experience.Here goes: I'm writing following my stay at the Escola as there were real problems with this booking which not only spoilt my stay but ended up costing me much more money once there. The hotel had not taken payment before I got there which nearly caused major problems as I had understood payment had been taken (due to being non-refundable). Fortunately I had a debit card I could use though this meant it cost more as exchange rate had changed and costly banking fee. I always pay everything upfront so costs are accurate and secure and I only have to take spending money so this was not a good start. After sitting in the foyer on my mobile trying to sort this feeling very tired, I managed to get checked in then went to the room and discovered the room allocated looked nothing like that advertised as the hotel had used a sea view room picture. This not only misrepresents the view but also balcony, size of room and its position in the hotel. I was accomodated in a room overlooking the kitchens (complete with noise all day as this is a hotel school as I discovered though again not noted in info). This room was dark, noisy, odd-shaped, tiny balcony with a view over the kitchen, dustbins and local housing on a scrubby hillside. The hotel had the cheek to say it had a partial sea view though how they figured this I've no idea as I could only see it if I leaned out over the balcony on tiptoe. I raised all these issues directly with the hotel manager who I showed the advertised image and he confirmed this was the wrong image but would not move me to another and stated the only way I could get the room I thought I'd booked would be to pay 10euro supplement per night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The carpet had a number of dirt patches as well as some of the towels. We got a bed with 2 separate mattresses, but being a couple we would have preferred one big mattress.

    All staff was very, very, very kind and they were really helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was in a bright restaurant, overlooking the sea with gluten free options and great, strong coffee (we drank espressos and garottos every morning). We asked for gluten free bread as a special request a few days before arrival and they provided it every single morning (once they knew us even without asking for it). The sauna was also great, good sized and it looked like it is brand new. We liked the Christmas decoration as well :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lampshades next to the bed should be replaced as they are too big and they are in the way, if you are trying to handle things on the bedside table.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was confortable and the room had enough space. The hotel has space for parking (for about 10 cars - not much). The food was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel on a beautiful island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was located at the second flor and there was no wifi in the room, only in public areas, we had to go to the first floor to connect to wifi. The breakfast was good but it could have been more diverse. We had the same thing every morning.

    We stayed in a room with ocean view, the view from the balcony was wonderful. The room was quite big and the bed was very comfortable. It was not located in the city centre but not very far from it, it took little time to get to the centre by car. Also, the hotel is situated in a quiet area. The staff was very helpful and nice. The food was good and not expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Sepending time in nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff was extremely helpful and polite. The room was clean and tidied up every day, the breakfast was delicious...especially the local fruit. Thank you Lilliana for all your help with the map! We had a great time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Location - further from Funchal center, but thats what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - very small selelection and no changes. No vegetable options Pool not always clean. Also only 1 umbrella for whole hotel Hairdryer old and weak. Garbage bin and fridge in the room are quite small. Restaurant staff (most of them) do not speak English

    Location - further from Funchal center, but thats what we needed Free parking space Helpful reception (most of the time)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    3.8
    2 star hotel-not 4!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is simply not a 4-star hotel, more like a 2 star and not worth the cost. There is no AC! More: -there is no way to darken the room to sleep-no blackouts -the towels had holes and ripped ends- they replaced them when asked -old furniture -old floor carpets and walls stained -horrible price-cost relationship it basically felt like they cared a lot about the reception area look (nice) and about the a la carte exquisite meals (it's a teaching hotel so perhaps that's the reason) and not all about the guests comfort. the main issue is that it is rated -how???- as a 4 star but totally not worth it.

    The only positive point I can say was the breakfeast albeit normal, it had a variety of food and overall friendly environment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Food was excellent and good value, staff very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was old, air conditioning not working. Decor a little dated and tired.

    Food was excellent and good value, staff very friendly . Overall very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay - would come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no wi fi in some rooms, especially the 3rd floor ones.

    The food was amazing. It really is worth trying it at the restaurant's hotel as often as possible. The rooms can offer great view of the seaside! It was very enjoyable to stay on the balcony and watch the waves. The staff was very forthcoming and friendly. They even gave us travel cards for the bus tickets at the reception!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Small and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is on a steep hill and the Escola could do with being renovated but this wiuld not stop us staying there again

    The hotel was spotless views from the room balcony excellent and food was top notch. Staff are professional and friendly. Ample size pool with comfy beds. Bus stop 1 minute walk away so easy and cheap to get into Funchal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Silent place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast food was the same all days. It could be much more different.

    The hotel location - not in the center, but the same time little far away from noisy streets and public - silent place. 10 min walk to ocean. 3 min walk to bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Light and Shadow
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft and broken toilet seat. In general some renovation work might be necessary.

    Great hotel restaurant and very nice hotel staff. Free parking in front of the main entrance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    An excellent break when England is so dull and wet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Tidy up the tip outside the bedroom window, but I do appreciate this is an island with some very poor residents

    The Evening Meal was excellent, as was the choice of fruit at breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is supreme value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hill to the hotel is steep which is difficult if you have suitcases and are using public transport from the bottom of the hill.

    This hotel is supreme value for money. Spotlessly clean with nice common areas it also had a great view from my balcony. Being a little way out from town it made us explore more which was an unexpected bonus and the staff really helped tremendously in this regard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Lovely quiet location. Away from the main hotels but the bus service was good. Food was excellent and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Good place as a base for exploring Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    * No tea/coffee making facilities - a big disadvantage when you want to finish your day with a cup or your flight is early. I knew about it and brought my good old emmersion heater but its plug pins were too big :-( But I got hot water from the kitchen. * 4 stars is a bit of exaggeration. 3 stars would be more adequate.

    * Fruit at breakfast is excellent! * Reasonable wi-fi signal in the room. * Friendly and helpful staff - printed out my boarding pass. * Nice pool area. * Nice view at breakfast. * Packed breakfast for those leaving before breakfast time (7:30) * The parking area is rather small (10-15 cars) but you can park along the street - it's free. * Quiet residential area (next to Professional School of Hospitality and Tourism of Madeira) * Don't miss the Formosa Beach down there! - there's a beautiful promenade that can take you to Camara de Lobos (30 minutes' brisk walk). Good place for jogging, too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel great dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little hard for us but might suit others. It is a bit out of town but we already knew that and really enjoyed the location.

    The restaurant in the hotel was very good. Breakfast was simple but the dinner was really good. Lovely sweet trolley!!!. We had eaten here before when we stayed elsewhere so staying here was for the food. Great value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.9
    Cheap, but it's reflected in the standard of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location- not much around there, although taxi fares are quite reasonable. Room- the fittings are tired and the beds not too comfortable. Mattresses need changing. Bathroom- again, worn fittings, such as lots of scratches on the toilet seat. Wifi worked in reception but not at all in our room.

    The staff were helpful and efficient. Drinks in the bar were exceptionally cheap! The bar wasn't open on our second night at the hotel, but they brought drinks to a comfortable area just by the dining room. Large room and balcony. Free parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    there are only 20 ish rooms so is a small but lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bath towels could have been better

    staff so helpful and friendly. room and balcony very spacious. we like that it is slightly out of funchal but easy to bus or drive in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the exact same every day. The rooms definitely need an upgrade. The pillows were the worst I've ever experienced. However there was a fridge which was good.

    The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    great place to stay if you want to lavada walk,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    room was exactly what we expected and was great as we hardly used it we were out and about all day. just used the room to sleep. Location is good but the room was a little too near the break area for the school . 08.00 it was a littlenoisy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    A gem of a hotel fortunate to find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write here.

    I loved everything about this hotel and said so on the form I was given. The room was always kept clean the staff were friendly and the good delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.5
    - nice balcony with seaside view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - room was a bit shabby - safe in room to be payed

    - nice balcony with seaside view - good breakfast buffet also with good fruits - good restaurant - friendly personnel - calm

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.

    We liked the seaview from our room, the breakfast and value for money dinner. The location is nice on the outskirts of Funchal close to the sea. Nice small shops, bakeries and restaurants in the nearby area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    4 stars but feels like 2.5!!! Not bad, but I wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lots of ants in the room: in the bathroom, on the desc, round the fridge, in the bed, etc. - Very noisy compressor was installed outside on the wall right beside the room 210 which was pounding my ears (quite often at night). - The main doors in the hotel are locked at night, and quite often there is no one in the reception - so if you're returning from a late party or trying to leave early for your sight seeing - a big chance that you'd have to sit and wait for the staff to turn up to open the doors for you.

    The breakfast was tasty (but the same every morning. Some added variety every day would be great! ). The staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Great Location, Fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have been more variety for breakfast, it was the same every day

    Location was great for us. Staff were all very helpful and courteous, rooms were spotless

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    Tucked away and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room would be such a welcome small addition. I appreciate every "extra" erodes profit but this would make early mornings and late evenings just a little nicer.

    Breakfasts were just fine especially the lovely fresh fruit. Dinners, where the menus are chosen and prepped by the students, are exceptionally good value. The real stars of the hotel are the staff where nothing is too much trouble, a seaview upgrade was offered immediately on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff was all in all very nice (we didn`t see many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is very pretty, but rooms do not fulfill all expectations: No aircondition (Rooms got really hot, even in octobre) - in-built aircondition does not really work, mobile vent is okay, but not very effective Consider that NOT all rooms have a large balcony overlooking the park/see! Floors got REALLY hot, no fresh air at all (as in the rooms) Old TV on the rooms, carpets got many stains First room was very sinister and depressing (luckily, we could move after one night) Although the weather was great, breakfast & lunch & dinner was served inside, sometimes even with the curtains drawn

    Staff was all in all very nice (we didn`t see many hotelstudents, though - guess they are even more charming), surrounding is okay (but neither too pretty nor too lively - if you are looking for this, either go in a smaller village or directly to Funchal), hold account you have to walk up the hill a lot if you do not rent a car, pool and park and view are all really beautiful, breakfast, lunch & dinner is good to very good, depending on what you choose - but all in all, like usually in Madeira: Good value for not so much money!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent. Very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not good WiFi reception in our room. Had to go to the 1st floor to catch good signal. If you want to use safe (deposit) placed in your room, you have to pay 1.5 Euro per day. I have never seen a fee for this service before in my whole life. Have not used it, of course, so I did not mind this :)

    Very good breakfast. Excellent optional dinner for 17.5 Euro. Wonderful view to the see from our room. Superb balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Great location. Always a place to park your car. Close to a big shopping mall. 3 minute drive to a beach (black sand, stones, but with showers!) - 25 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.0
    Overnight delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of facilities. The bar wasn't open and there was a feeling of the staff going through the motions of service rather than a genuine enthusiasm for their work.

    The overall peacefulness that exudes throughout.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The air condition didn't work, the fan couldn't cool the room enough. The pillow was too hard for me.

    Good location - peaceful, good connection with the city by local bus; the staff was very friendly, we got a lot of information.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was taken poorly and the staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newer hairdryer

    Friendly staff and students. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Very nice and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The bathroom is old and in bad shape and lighs poor. Carpet is in bad condition.

    Beds quite comfortable an nice view from balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Excellent all round and real value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Air conditioning was not working well
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms with good sea. Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled egg & no croissant

    Juices & fruit & cereal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Quiet location, easy going and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold scrambled egg!(

    Quiet location, easy going and relaxed. Yielding and hotel attitude.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    In general we liked our stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not many things to choose during breakfasts, every day the same meals and lack of vegetables was w big minus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Great service and food in a quality botel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Very friendly and helpful. Service and food great. Good facilities and well maintained. Need taxis to get around. Local area is quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice view by room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    too far walk to beach and shopping or restaurants and too much hills

    Nice view by room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Fun in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massage woman was off sick with no replacement, an golf course and botanical garden was not as close as website makes out to be

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Nice hotel with a beautiful view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room was amazing. Room was spacious and very clean. Friendly and helpful service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Cooking school nhote
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is also a cooking school so it was fun eating there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    Good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many times there was nobody at the reception

    Good view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Great sea view rooms
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with better pillows, my only complaint

    They offer a good set menu including wine,3 courses, excellent choice of deserts

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful especially the receptionists.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.7
    No variation in the breakfast menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No variation in the breakfast menu

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    Avoid room 210
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Variety from day to day and better quality bacon and scrambled eggs

    Good fresh fruit

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haute cuisine for evening meals

    Superb choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much.

    Good location, nice views. Not the newest hotel but comfy room of nice size. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    A return visit is guaranteed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The swimming pool requires some attention.

    Friendliness of staff and students, restaurant food and all the facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The cheese cake and the service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Very good restaurant with superb view of the sea. Real value for money. We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent,and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    BRILLIANT FRIENDLY HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TEA MAKER IN ROOM. FURNISHINGS A BIT TIRED!

    FOOD QUALITY AND PRICE FANTASTIC VALUE. SPOTLESS ROOMS

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    9.2
    Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture on balcony could have been better. Charge for safe in room.

    Excellent food. Excellent value. Friendly, helpful staff. Room large and comfortable. Great to have balcony with sea view. Good to have fridge. Bus stop close. Buffet lunch was so good and also cheap. Gourmet evening meal fabulous and only 17.50 Euros, including wine and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    9.6
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool could be deeper - it is a very minor issue. Generally there is no reason to complain at all.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location (not very far to the centre of Funchal / good connection to Via Rapida). Excellent breakfast (a huge selection of fruits) and wonderful dinners. Big enough parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    The staff were extremely polite and the lunch and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact we had two single beds made up separately and pushed together. A double bed had been requested. However, in saying this, we were only there for one night so it wasn't a major issue.

    The staff were extremely polite and the lunch and breakfast was absolutely outstanding. There was an amazing choice of foods and service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    9.6
    Excellent service and fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Didn't like having to go home...!!!

    Excellent service and fantastic food. The hotel is in a quiet location a little out of town but within 2 minutes walk of a bus stop or one can take a leisurely walk along the promenade into town.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel friendly staff and the dinner options were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast a bit meh... Good fruit options but more pastries/ hot option (only bacon and scrambled egg) would have really improved this

    Brilliant hotel friendly staff and the dinner options were amazing! Nothing about this hotel to critise at all, it was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    - extremely helpful, polite, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - week WiFi on 3rd floor

    - extremely helpful, polite, friendly staff - delicious food in the restaurant, especially pastries - occasionally very much above standard serving in restaurant as waitresses and waiters are students in training for the highest level of gastronomic establishments

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Escola traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: