Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Luna Esperanca Centro Hotel 4 stars

Avenida Luísa Todi 220, 2900-452 Setúbal, Portugal

#13 of 24 hotels in Setúbal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1248 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive stay for a very average room during low season. Double bed is nothing more than two combined twins, but they made the beds as two individual beds too (separate sheets and blankets).

    Prime location, river view, probably one of the few renewed buildings within the city limits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I think the bed was a little bit too hard for my taste and there were a lot of noise from outside and the water pipes. This was probably due for staying on the first floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture dated, breakfast just ok.

    Size of room, view of park and water, , walking shower, panoramic breakfast room on 5 th floor, lots of English tv, street parking free from 1pm Saturday till Monday 9am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Everything was excellent. Room very comfortable, had sufficient space and quiet. the bathroom was very good. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of different foods available for all tastes . All the staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rusted shower head; veeery slow flow of water into the toilet reservoir; thin walls - everything could be heard (especially use of bathrooms in neighbouring rooms)

    breakfast in the panoramatic restaurant with outstanding view; good location in the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That twin beds made up separate and not as a double bed with the linen. Beds keep moving. Secondly it would be nice if coffee/tea facilities were available in the room.

    The absolute friendlyness of all hotel personnel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast was really nice, with a nice view over the Troia Peninsula. Nice restaurants in the close vicinity. The room had everything we needed however I would describe it as a 3* standard. About Setubal in general: the food seemed much nicer than in Porto and Lisbon. We visited 3 beaches – one in Troia, and the Figueirinha and Albarquel - all very nice. We travelled with a public transport. other beaches are available when you have your own transportation. Setubal was a great moment in our vacation to grasp some air, to slow down and relax – opposite to Porto and Lisbon. We wished to stay there longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleaning lady forgot to give us new toilet paper one day so that was fun...

    Amazing view, very close to the ferry that takes you to the nearest beach and the man at the reception was one of the greatest and most helpful workers I have ever met.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea & coffee selection in the room would have been fantastic. Hairdryer needs updating it wasn't powerful enough.

    The breakfast was a great selection, with croissant you could hear up your self a selection of bread & rolls. Fresh fruit melon & nectarines, banana etc. Cheeses ham. Hot food mushrooms & cheese on hot tomatoes & eggs fried boiled & scrambled etc. Hot & cold beverages. It was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a view to a back alley overlooking a roof. Not great. Also some nearby businesses were early starters (or maybe it was bin collection??), which meant that it became quite noisy in the morning, from 7am onwards. Not great if you're trying to catch up on your sleep after a late night.

    Top location right in the middle of the city close to all amenities and interesting sites. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cafe out front has late night music licence which for 3 of our 4 nights had very loud drumming, music and singing until 11.30. Our window didn't shut properly and it sounded like the band were in the room with us. Ear plugs an essential. Tea and coffee making facilities would be nice. Have to pay to use safety deposit box

    Very good selection for breakfast. Location good but half an hour walk to the beach. Which we didn't mind. Beds hard but comfy. Room clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a shame that the breakfast room with that fantastic view closes at 10am and is not also used as a restaurant or a bar. The hotel management should consider using this room during the whole day.

    Fantastic view from the rooftop breakfast room. Great location and extremely kind and attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I asked for a quite room, at the reception desk I made clear that I wanted a quite room and when I get in the bed the AC system was making a terrible noise, I complained and they said almost all of their rooms had the same issue but finally they managed to give me another room quitter. 2. The hotel seems to be from the 80`s, old fashion, crapy decoration, poor, the smell you know to those crapy hotels and you wonder, what the hell am I doing here. 3. I asked for breakfast to be served in the bedroom at 7.30h, well I had to call a couple of times because it never came. Finally I got it 1 hour late. 4. You have to pay for an omelet and for the orange juice. The only thing that includes the breakfast is coffee, bread and industrial pastry. 5. At check out they wanted to charge for 2 omelets and 2 orange juices. 6. The lady at the reception desk when checking out was very disgusting. When she asked me how was everything and I complained then she replied in bad manners calling the director of the hotel to sort the situation out. I went once, never more.

    The bed was comfortable, that's it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a couple, two single beds together do not make one double - it is way more uncomfortable. This is acceptable for a 3* hotel, not for a 4*! This was the first time I got this at a 4*. You have a huge issue on the 5th floor corridor. It STINKS! Hotel has no parking. Cleanliness was not 100% , we had hollow footprints in the bathroom when we came in (only visible against the light).

    Nice location but you don't have much to do on the streets besides walking or sit at a cafe. Bed was comfortable but two single beds for a couple... well, that does not make sense. AC was working well. Mini fridge had space for our stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room was basic for 4 star hotel - not up to same standard as hotel we spent previous 3 nights in Lisbon (also 4 star). Reception and bar equate to 3 star hotel. Breakfast selection just ok - fruit juice out of carton again not to same standard as Lisbon hotel. Duvet on bed too heavy.

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the breakfast, having to pay extra 1.5€ per day (and 15€ returnable fee) to have a safe locker key. The staff wasn't friendly. There wasn't parking for the hotel , only paid street parking . The window from the room broke down and could not open it . there's no double bed room with Street view.

    The breakfast was awesome in variety, the panoramic view upstairs was gorgeous. perfectly located near everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room on the first floor which was not sound proof whatsoever. After a late arrival the night before we were woken up at 5:15am the following morning with the sound of running water from both toilets and showers from the floor above us. We mentioned this to the staff on checkout who were already aware of the situation but not at all bothered. I don't think this is acceptable for a 4 star hotel to have this approach

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of smoke, so we opened the window which faced the avenue, so a little noisy.

    Basically it delivered what was advertised and front desk staff were helpful directing us to free parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 years)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maid kept taking our second card key which we had left in our room in the power slot. Room was too small for 2 kids and 2 adults. The hotel is more of a 3 star than 4 star hotel.

    Friendliness of the breakfast staff. Hotel was very well situated to get to bars, restaurants and to take the catamaran over to the other island.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. The staff was top notch, the continental breakfast was delicious, the location was on the centre of it all, decoration was lovely, the room was fairly big clean and gorgeous, the service is 5stars.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not great.

    Great location. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Very clean rooms. Breakfast room had fantastic view of the ocean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no water in the fridge on arrival. Only a very small point though!

    Everything! Fabulous! Beautiful spacious room with an amazing view. Very comfy beds, great bath/shower and the radio in the bathroom was a great bonus! Great air con too, wonderful breakfast (again with amazing view) and super friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not the quality what we expected in a 4 Star Hotel, coffee tasted like Instant coffee

    Well located Hotel Great view from the breakfast room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big comfortable room, great bathroom (huge) with great water pressure. Perfect location, walking distance to bars and restaurants, to historic things to do and to the water. super clean, includes free wifi and free breakfast (we left ultra early, so we didn't get to eat it)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dirty bathroom. unfortunately mirrors was every day dirty. nobody use to clean that. was dirty when we got the key to the room and was dirty execlly the same when we left on the last day. room was a bit smaller than i expected.

    bed was pretty good. confortable. nice that in the bathroom was radio. this was suprised me the most. breakfast was on the good level. beautiful views from balcony.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One television didn't work. Large tour group at breakfast.

    Design of room. Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with noisy central ventilation made it difficult to sleep. Manager that didn't care.

    Good location and nice view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    centrally located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Breakfast was nice with a great view from 5th floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much really. Tea and coffee in the room would have been a bonus

    An excellent hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not that easy but we found a spot.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is quite high.

    Hotel modern, clean, very good breakfasts, great location, helpful staff. Good for business trips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Should be double, but it was single side.g

    Very good location. Sympatic personnel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location in city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    broken closet door :( broken shower cabin door :(

    Good location, Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Restaurant

    Some paintings on the bedroom walls would not hurt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in the middel of city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access to marina to pass time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first day when we arrived our room wasn’t very clean

    The view and the food was awesome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean Damaged Price

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my window! Just a brick wall of a disused house! Not so good at all!

    Bed really comfy! Shower fantastic! Breakfast really really good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Estacionamento. Deveria ter area reservada para hospedes do hotel.

    Da cama confortavel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower room, could have been better

    Happy with the hotel and will booked again and highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location Quality of room Price Breakfast Staff (genius late checkout granted)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breafast was poor, room has now thee, coffee and watercooker.

    The Clean rooms was exellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor noise insulation, you can hear almost everything from heighbouring rooms and hallway

    Perfect location, very good breakfast, room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very comfort , clean abd good staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water is horrible, so the taste of coffee, tea or juice is not good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    normal breakfast, fruit, bread, cake etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simpatia do staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll in scarce supply

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place, very central and thr staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Nice location, good staffs, nice ambience

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No car parking.

    + Modern with all the most-wanted facilities + Quiet + Breakfast. Good selection of food with view on the waterfront

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast.

    Location perfect. Around the conner good pizza.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms and service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel made us all so welcome and were willing to answer any questions and to help where they could.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    View on the coastline. Location in the centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast The room almost felt like in an hospital, especially the bathroom...

    Great location Friendly staff Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is conveniently located, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is large and we felt like at home. However, i must say there was one member of the staff who went out of the way to cater to all our needs (even anticipating them sometimes!) This was Nuno. Thanks Nuno for making our time in Setubal worth it! Your recommendations and kindness were spot on. We hope to be back in the Luna Esperança soon!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the wifi was so slow at times

    it is an amazing hotel for the price. it has everything you expect, clean bathroom and bed, fair selection at breakfast, wifi, fair selection of TV channels.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room where we stayed was near some piping, so every time a toilet was flushed, we heard the woosh of water overhead. Mini-fridge was noisy, the constant drip drip was a tad annoying.

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was really clean. The special attention for it being Valentine's day weekend welcome at the room with chocolates, strawberries and a bottle of sparkling wine was excellent! The room temperature was set perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    This was my third visit to the hotel and I was treated very well, being lucky enough to be given a suite as there was a large tourist group in the hotel and no single rooms left. Breakfast was much improved. I will use it again.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection complicated and often not sufficient

    Room an climat control good, breakfast good, strategic location. Nice view from higher floors

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was slow.

    Location is amazing! Price/quality super! As it was said on the reception, hotel was full so we got suit instead of standard room. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast experience left a lot to be desired...zero interaction from staff...No greeting...No smile- and then they just closed the doors and left at 10:00 ...unbelievable! Swisscom WiFi was totally useless. Bathrooms very small and very outdated. For the same price you can stay at the Premium hotel nearby which has better facilities and friendly staff

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location, 5min walk to the Atlantic Ferries from where you can easily get to Troia Resort. Amazing view from the 5th floor where you can eat breakfast and admire the Atlantic. Recommend both for business and leisure :)

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was limited. Instant coffee!! Parking 300 meters away by the Finance building but it was free!!

    Location, harbor, beaches, old city center and park very close. Good view of harbor from breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bacon and sausages looked they were briefly steam rather than properly fried

    Perfect location, right in town

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of toiletries.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was excellent and the 5th floor views a great start to the day.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They don´t have any parking. At Saturday´s night - impossible to park a car closely...

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    air- con did not work. 30 degrees in our suite !!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy

    Modern place

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: