Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Estalagem Abrigo da Montanha 4 stars

Estrada da Foia, Corte Pereiro, 8550-257 Monchique, Portugal

#5 of 7 hotels in Monchique

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overal it looked a bit dated, but that shouldn't necessarily be a problem.

    Super friendly staff. The property brings you back to the seventies, like being in a James Bond movie. Rooms are big, spacious and clean, with cork on the ceilings. The breakfast served in the restaurant on the other side of the road is excellent! Lunch and dinner are also of good quality and you can buy the famous piri-piri spices, made by Rei do Piri Piri himself, so you can take them home!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place needs a makeover. Toilet seat!! Heavy old fashioned covers on bed.Limited choices at breakfast. Big spiders web on window next to us at breakfast,inside!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we did the booking on Booking .com, we were told to book soon because there were only 2 rooms left. The reality was that the place was nearly empty with only 4 of the 16 rooms occupied. This is a misrepresentation of the facts. Not nice !

    The breakfast was fine, across the road from the guesthouse

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is for sale, and has definitely seen better days. In some areas it looked tired and somewhat battered. Our room looked and felt more like a hostel, and the bedspreads were dingy, but the beds were clean and comfortable enough. Towels in the bathroom were large and spotlessly white, but there were large notices everywhere instructing guests not to flush toilet paper. Sale and radical refurbishment could rescue and transform this interesting old place - we hope it happens!

    The receptionist was lovely, really friendly and helpful, as was the owner. The weather was cold and wet, so it was very good to return after our evening meal to find a roaring log fire in the large comfortable lounge. In its heyday, this would have been a characterful and interesting hillside inn, and we felt (and hoped) that it could be again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge room with large outside area and a sitting room. Beds too hard for my liking and some things needed some tlc.

    Stunning location with fantastic views. In the middle of the summer would be lovely. A bit chilly in early May. We had an open log fire in the lounge area of the bedroom. Very friendly and welcoming owner. Good buffet breakfast with excellent steaming hot coffee. Really good restaurant just down the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows felt as if they were full of cotton wool balls!

    We liked the sitting room and the wood fire, the little balcony in our bedroom, the bath (as well as the shower) and the expansive views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helfpul staff. Great Breakfast. Fireplace in the common area. Restaurant was closed but the owner organised some drinks for us. It ist not a new hotel, but everything worked fine and we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Could have had a few more sunshades by the pool.

    The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The pool area was really nice and the hotel is so small and quiet that for much of the time we had the pool area to ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facilities are dated - linens, mattresses, etc could do with an upgrade (but prices are low enough to compensate). the a/c in our room was broken, but we didn't need it as it was very cool in mountain area (especially at night).

    Great views overlooking the Algarve and ocean, from high on the mountainside. This is an older property, in need of updating, but for the price is still good value for money. Would have been a 'grand dame' in her day, and the architecture is fascinating - our room was high up on the hill (the property is built into the hillside, with a lovely pool area at top), so we had a great view from our terrace. Best of all, there is a fabulous restaurant (Jardim de Oliveres) about 400m up the road (look for sign, a right turn as you go up the hill then follow signs).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a little run down, and could do with a little TLC, however, the building and facilities have great potential.

    The location is great, away from the touristy coast, and very quiet with a lovely view down across the valley to the coast. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we stayed there so short ;) Hope to return next year!

    The Hotel is located at the top of a mountain and has the most beautiful views! It is kind of authentic old style cosy hotel and is very clean and spacious. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious, have massive fridges and big balconies. The rooms constitute of bedroom and a sort of living room with extra sofa and TV. Bathrooms are quite big too. It is not a posh modern hotel, but it is an authentic place, sort of a typical Portuguese old fashioned place. It has more atmosphere and better ambiance than the modern places. I will definitely return! Furthermore, it is AMAZING value for money! The hotel has a big swimming pool and sunbathing area! It so nice to stay there rather than going to the crazily crowded Algarve beach. We enjoyed our stay so much! What is more the staff is fantastic, the service is excellent. The best hospitality I have received in Portugal. The owner - Gildo is the best host I have met. He was so polite, friendly and helpful. Made my son and I feel like at home !! The breakfast served was very tasty and we had it on a terrace with the best views! With regards to location it is only 30 min drive from beach (unless there is a closer one...) and bigger towns. I think with a car it is a great location.. it was ten times cheaper than locations by the beach so honestly i think it is a superb location! Gildo, and the lovely ladies working there - thank you so much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee wasn't the best but breakfast was still very very good.

    Very friendly owner (who speaks English and Swedish) , beautiful view, amazing place, excellent breakfast with amazing mountain view. Lovely and peaceful place. It's not located in the center but you can easily walk there (15-30 min walk). I recommend! I promise staying here is the best decision you'll make during your visit in Portugal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location, lovely views, big rooms, good facilities, helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast and food. Perfect place for people who don't want to explore the beauty of the Algarve but don't want to stay in the overcrowded coastal cities. Great value for money!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet in our room was not working very well. Carpet/Interior (of the room) has seen better times..

    We stayed here one night on our first night in Portugal and prebooked the suite (for 2). We arrived as a small family and did not have to pay any extras for our little daughter: that was cool and nice. Breakfast was good with an excellent View - but you find better coffee, hopefully (we just took the one provided). I did not expect such a great outdoor pool, stayet too long in perfect weather. So my mistake: heavily sunburned! For one night a cool place. Our little daughter really liked it. It has a great view !!! You can easily set a film prodution in the 60ties/70ties on the location. The Owner was very nice, he wants so sell the place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A keener eye should be given to safety.

    Location was perfect-20km from coast & cooler than the coast. View of coast from the property during the day & at night was beautiful. The staff were very helpful, in particular Nevsa-who was both interesting and interested in her guests. Food very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blanket and bed sheets are weak points. besides, the bathroom is old fashion.

    Location view, the pool, and friendly staff are strong points for this property, especially the outside pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is room for improvment on the breakfast...

    The view is amazing over Portimao towards the ocean. The rooms are big with nice balcony. Beds are comfortable. The owner is super nice and make you feel comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tired and needs a refurb. Hotel restaurant no longer operating but the pizzeria and snack bar immediately opppsite is owned by the same proprietor so breakfast is served there (with a beautiful view) and there are lunch specials for residents. If you want coffees or drinks at the pool during the day you have to walk down to the restaurant then back up again carrying your purchases. No staff available in the hotel during the day.

    Very pleasant, helpful staff. Location offers exceptional views, particularly from roof terrace pool. We wanted quiet and relaxing and we got it in abundance. Had the pool to ourselves for much of each day. Easy walk to nearest restaurant. 30 minute downhill walk to village of Monchique but recommend a taxi back up the hill.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, excellent value, quiet and comfortable.

    Gildo, our host, is a Rennaisance man with a perpetual smile. Hotel is dated, but clean and well kept. Breakfast was excellent. A huge fridge in the spacious room with a nice deck for viewing the entire Algarve coast and mountains, really a find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was served across the road in a restaurant the view was amazing Gilda the owner was a delight when we arrived he explained everything and was on hand again in the morning A better host you couldn't find

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows could be better.

    The view was stunning. The room was huge. The pool was immaculate. The quiet was wonderful. The staff were all helpful. The owner has loads of interesting experiences to talk about.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a real disappointment, hard stale toast,no cerials, hard boiled eggs, would not stay at hotel again due to poor breakfast.

    Hotel is up for sale, and is needing a bit of attention in some areas, but don't let this put you off.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only guest over Christmas! Restaurant and bar closed. No paper must be put down the loo, signs everywhere, presumably plumbing old. Room not cleaned or serviced during our stay. Left a day early.

    The views and location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited English (and my limited Portuguese) so couldn't communicate effectively, ask questions or tips about area. Air con didn't work so it was stuffy in the room but no alterations provided. I got the feeling the owners weren't there, people filling in didn't seem to know what they were doing. Bit of a hike/taxi ride from main town but this has pros too.

    Amazing view. Nice to be in the mountains away from hustle and bustle. The pool was stunning and well maintained! Lazed around the pool all afternoon/evening with the amazing view. Breakfast was incredibly plentiful - generous servings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should be much more clean, enough parking, but a bit tricky to get inside from the narrow road.

    Pool on the roof, wonderful view, ac in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La piscine Un plus important !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold. No restaurant. Very fadedand up for sale

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of season and the full heating not on in the hotel

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only guests that night. A little bit scary, We thought we were in the movie the Shining

    Very nice Staff, Maria and also the owner himself

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing not designed to cope with toilet paper in the toilet!

    Fantastic views. Rustic appeal. Lounge with log fire in the bedroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast.

    Fantastic rooms with open fire, firewood etc. Very nice as we booked in November. Warm days and cold nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spartan cheap somber/ chipped/ cracked furniture in room .

    The swimming pool and peaceful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea making facilities.

    The views swimming pool breakfast all good owner friendly and helpful great pizzas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good views, but hotel well worn and in need of renovation. It's for sale. The helpful owner being of retirement age. Nice pool though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager and all staff were extremely pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearly going out of business

    Great views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top - Sea view / coastline view from all rooms. Hotel front facing south.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar in hotelvery enjoyable

    Superb hotel,near restaurants,really good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hospitality was friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was not full when we arrived. The look is à bit old school.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    The location was stunning with fantastic views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need renovation

    location, best view in Monchique

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    A great location with easy access to rhe surrounding places of interest. Very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome location and view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC leaked. Had to put bucket under it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position of the hotel is really great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything can always be better.

    The freedom of use the entire space at any time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Although plenty to eat coffee was made at 8:30 and left until guests came down

    The hotel and views were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in the room.

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could do with being updated.

    Rooms were clean and comfy, service friendly. Brilliant views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing and the attached restaurant closed at 7pm on the night I stayed (it was raining and I had no transport to get elsewhere so I had no dinner)

    Great view out the window, lovely room, and the whole building has a rustic, charming atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    remember your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper because there are dogs in the valley below which bark at night!!

    staff really kind and solicitous for comfort. wonderful views. excellent location for access to the town and the mountains. lovely breakfast. beautiful pool. very far from being 'delapidated'.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are starting to look tired Not what I would call a 4* hotel, Bathroom tired Rooms cold only one air conditioner working - fire made up for it heater in bathroom effective but old. Hotel built on different levels so would not recommend it for people with difficulties with stairs.

    This trip was a Birthday trip for both my partner and I, we were upgraded to a suite free of charge. Location was good, with beautiful views Owner was very helpful and accommodating Bed comfortable Fire in January was very welcoming as was the endless wood! Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice Good local restaurants within 400 metres This would be a great place to stay if interested in walking and nice in the summer months

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee at breakfast.

    Great view from private balcony as well as from the rest of the premises. The pool is nice. Even though we were with just a few guests all breakfast tables were prepared which gave it welcome feeling.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are a few small things in the hotel in general and in the room in particular that need attention. The beds were quite hard but that is a personal preference.

    The location. The effort made by the receptionist to be of help to us.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite requesting no or few stairs as Myvwife is disabled the entire place is built into a cliff with stairs and stairs and stairs everywhere. She just cried when she saw it. Dark painted cork ceilings and paneling everywhere. The decor and furnishings don't look like they've been changed since the 1970s Bed like rock. Tiny synthetic pillows. Cracked bidet. Shower shot water across the bath onto the towels. Smell of damp and mould even in reception. Breakfast all plastic wrapped on your table in the heat. Even the ham Coffee barely warm the ham was warmer! . Hotel is up for sale and limping along. Overwhelming sense of decay and age Could be a fantastic place with a lot of money and great vision was applied. Needless to say we only lasted one night but were charged 90 euros Found a real four star beautiful hotel a couple of miles away beautiful and comfortable. Everything this hotel is not

    Location and wonderful views and the gardener. He at least was full of smiles

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We struggled to lock the door to the room (needed a demo). The hotel restaurant was closed, and the nearby one shut at 7pm. Parking was pretty tight and had little shade. A fair number of steps to climb from the car to the room.

    Spacious room with excellent views over the surrounding hills and coastal plain. The rooftop pool was lovely and I used it as much as possible.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hard to get there at night without gps

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very welcoming host and stunning mountain location

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personnel not friendly at all- not smiling - not saying hello.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, great views from everywhere.Good restaurants close by.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    chambre spartiate et triste

    abords de l’hôtel amabilité du personnel

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long wait for hot water.

    Location, ambience

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: