Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club 5 stars

Quinta Dr. Americo Durão - Sitio Da Terça, 9100-187 Santa Cruz, Portugal

#1 of 21 hotels in Santa Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely quiet hotel. Very close to the airport, but no noise. Staff exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good time. The hotel is peaceful and relaxing. The restaurant is very good - delicious food, beautifully presented and again all staff attentive and welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No indoor sauna/pool The approximity of the airport and motorway makes this hotel less romantic

    Great breakfast with champagne Spacious room with huge bed Extremly kind and helpful staff Free tennis court

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In early June the pool and the sea are very cold. Best to hire a car to get around, although the tours picked us up from the hotel and the delightful Santa Cruz is only a 10-15 min walk away.

    Very close to airport but could hardly hear the planes. Large comfortable room with stunning sea view. We have never been to a hotel where we have had such attentive service from all the staff. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything. Very friendly and supportive team, location is very good, excellent breakfast, very big rooms, beautiful view, near airport with transfer option, clean, quite, comfortable , easy to rent a car directly from the hotel, highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The variety of breakfast would be more big and would be more special.

    Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Especially Costa and Carolina did their best make our stay pleasant. Room was very clean. Breakfast was very delicious. Cleaning service working very good and cleaning room everyday. Hotel also allowed us to make early check-in free of charge. The location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Greeted by the friendliest of staff, with big smiles and helpful attitude. The hotel has lovely views over the ocean. The room was spacious, light and super comfortable. A lovely selection of fruit to enjoy. Shuttle to the airport super smooth to make an early flight easy. Extra touch of a tasty sandwich and fruit packed up for my breakfast. The best part is the service. A big thank you to Carol, who was able to locate my ipad that was left behind at the security gate of the airport and have that returned to me. Best service ever.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location directly at the highway close to the airport does not sound like a great idea, but it really was for us: Driving in Madeira isn't easy and the strategic location made it much easier to explore the island with our rental car. Ideal as a base for hikers. You cannot hear any noise from the street and the occasional plane isn't louder there than in other towns along the coast. Loved the cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Need a bit more varied menu in the restaurant in the evening. Food is super though and the open kitchen is sparklingly clean. Pool cold - but it was early March.

    Breakfasts always lovely. Fresh fruit, bread and pastels. Friendly welcoming staff. This is a superb hotel. We have stayed 4 times and will be staying again in May.. All the staff are friendly. Costa is particularly helpful as are the rest of the front desk staff. Restaurant is excellent. Aircraft noise is not a problem, even though close to the airport. I would recommend a car if you want to see other parts of the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in villa not in the main building. The room was very tiny and whole villa looked little old and there was very strange and unpleasant smell in the corridors. The balance between price and quality wasn't consistent.

    Good location near the aiport and despite of airport the room was very quiet. There were fresh and tasty fruits in our room as complimentary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 35 Euro taxi ride from Funchal The bar is virtually non existent It’s isolated unless you hire a car

    3 mins from the airport Staff are polite It’s clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    If there is a better hotel anywhere I have yet to find it. Location, Cleanliness, Friendliness of Staff, Rooms and Restaurant all first class. An Oasis on a beautiful Island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was perfect!

    The best hotel what ever I have seen. Excellent stuff, very good location(in case you rent a car), very clean, the breakfast is very good. Internet super. We spent our holiday here the second time, and we will come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors a bit noisy at night.

    Nice large rooms, well furnished. Friendly staff. Generous breakfast included. Courtesy pick up/drop off from airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel separate from nearest settlements by noisy highway. Taking a walk to Santa Cruz was not very pleasant - it's better to have a car while staying in Albatroz Hotel. Interior furniture and facilities looks a bit out-of-date but it doesn't spoils the impression much.

    Very good place to take a rest from flight and go further next day. Fast and comfortable free shuttle service from/to airport. Airport is only in hundreds meters from the property but there were no any noise. Our room was spacious and had an exiting panoramic view to the ocean. Breakfast was good. Bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent hotel with perfect service, perfect location at the sea, perfect vicinity to the airport (without airport noise!!) -- really a perfect stay for a business trip! Of course, 5 stars cannot be for free ... Nevertheless, I am sure: I will come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was close to the airport and the shuttle was included; the check in was then very easy. Harmonious atmosphere. Very clean. Very comfortable. I would like to thank the staff for their professionalism.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You need a car, the beds could be a little softer

    The breakfast was superb, staff was kind and helpful, the room was comfortable and big, many poolareas but we could not use them because of the weather, rain most of the time

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool facilities are just nottaken care of. The natural saltwater pool is disgusting and probably has not been cleaned in months. The place seams almost dead and abandoned.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is ageing a little perhaps. Some touch-ups here and there might improve it a little.

    The staff were excellent. Very welcoming, always there when needed, gave good advice and all the while without being intrusive. The location of the hotel is excellent too and the room is nice and spacious (and better in reality than on the pictures).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotels ground level freshwater pool was a bit cool for October!

    The smiley face for the beaches is for the hotels cliff bottom seawater pool which is absolutely wonderful. The restaurant is first class with some wonderful local fish dishes with first class staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was ok. The menu was basic and for the same price you could get a better meal in Funchal.

    The staff were all very friendly and approachable. The view from the bedroom was excellent. The pool area was excellent with a pool bar and had WC facilities. Two extra sea pools were on site down 71 steps.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A few more facilities at the hotel, as it is quite isolated

    Staff were excellent, every day of the stay. The sea pools are what makes the hotel into a fantastic hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can not fault the hotel or staff

    Professional staff that could not have been more helpful. Large rooms. Excellent restaurant. Fresh water and sea water pools with ample sun loungers and shaded areas. It is close to the airport but there is no noise at all at the hotel. Lovely views from the cliff top location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise echoes around corridors. No English language TV news channels.

    Great breakfasts, refreshing sea pools, excellent service, lovely gardens, easy reach of airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked gym facilities, and the Wednesday evening waiter does not belong at the establishment, he has no customer service skills or customer care.

    The staff are great, especially Carolina, Costa, Diogo and the young waiter in the morning and afternoons along with a very accommodating chef. They really do go above and beyond to make your stay pleasurable and enjoyable, something I thought reviewers put as a generic statement until we experienced it! The sea pool is amazing, and as there aren't many beaches on the island this is probably the next best that you can get. You CANT hear the planes even though you are very close to the airport. We only heard planes slightly when we were outside or at the sea pool, it really is not an issue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel, staff, food and facilities, we will be going back next year. Totally relaxing, peaceful and tranquil. A wonderful experience and totally relaxed after our stay. We didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and the air conditioning a bit weak. Would probably rent a car next time as it's a bit far from anything although Santa Cruz was walkibg distance.

    The location was nice and quiet for me, it's a small hotel so not a lot of guests, the views were fabulous and the water fantastic. Most of the staff were very nice including the woman who picked me up and the gentleman who checked me out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    They need to change their restaurant music....

    While the island is crawling with tourists, this is the one locus of complete calm and peace. The staff is not only competent and helpful, but they are also kind: very unusual experience for a frequent traveler. Also, the airport, close by, is a source of endless sport while watching planes manuever against the winds onto the shortest runway in Europe!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    An Oasis very close to the airport. Great ocean side swimming pool exposed to the surf. Only disatvantage is that there is no pedestrian access at all as the property is completely enclosed by the expressway. Great staff, very friendly and intimate atmosphere with only 18 rooms. Not much noise exposure despite the close proximity of the express way and the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The gym was pretty poorly equipped and is located in the area which is not ventilated well. But I guess we were the only ones who were using it, as people do not come to this hotel to do sports in the gym

    The hotel is really small and quiet and with the staff being so great you kind of feel like you stay with a family... and you have very little noise from the airport next-door. Breakfast is great and lunch & dinner too if you decide to not to go out. A little village Santa Cruz is 5-10min walking and has a few places to eat (can recommend Taverna do Petisco?) and a beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel definitely needs refurbishment - for the hotel of this level rooms are a way too old and look like early 2000's, you have squeeze bottles with shampoo and soap (!) in the bathrooms the way like in cheap motels. Breakfast - should be definitely improved. No varieties in buffet, buffet itself is very limited and there are just two options for hot meal - eggs any style or chopped sausage. No oatmeal, pancakes or roasts. WiFi is weak in rooms but quite normal at the reception and restaurant area.

    Although airport is just 300m it is very quiet and secluded place - no airport noises at all! Spacious rooms, pool with ocean water, very helpful stuff. Hotel is small so it is very cozy and quiet. But make sure you have a car - all the Madeira attractions and Funchal itself quite far from the hotel. Good restaurant with normal prices and a la carte menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We liked everything!

    The staff was charming, welcoming, and incredibly helpful--especially when a flight cancellation stranded us on the island for an extra night. We were treated like family. Also, the restaurant was excellent, the room spacious and quiet, the views spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loved everything, the only thing we'd suggest is perhaps adding some non-dairy milk options at breakfast. The pool bar wasn't operating when we visited but it didn't really hinder our experience as the main restaurant was only a few steps away if we needed anything and the staff would always offer to bring the orders to the pool.

    Great small hotel. We enjoyed how quiet it was, away from the hustle and bustle of Funchal. The staff were all great, extremely polite and helpful. Very good breakfast with fresh fruit and veg, the hotel restaurant served some really nice food, too. The room was large, comfy and very clean, too. Nice pool area with sun beds and the salt-water pools were quite good, too. Amazing views of the Desertas Islands and the ocean! A short walk from Santa Cruz (you can walk along the ocean) which offers a handful of very good restaurants and a few shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant offerings , Room walls are a little bit thin and not noise proof enough, however none of them were deal breakers for me

    The staff , they were all great, (specially Mr.Costa ) very friendly and extremely aware of the guests needs for every occasion , the pool below the hotel rocks.very clean and comfotable room. Overall a very pleasent stay, will definitly stay there again on my many trips to the magnificent Madeira to come.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly it is difficult to find something bad. If one wants to be picky: the variety of the breakfast was not so big. The gym consists of an elliptical, a treadmill and 3 sets of small dumbells - a little bit too few for a proper gym.

    Everything. From the courtesy of the staff to the hotel facilities. The location is amazing and the ocean view is simply great. The swimming pools are fantastic. Last but not least the restaurant: I could not find any better in the whole area during my stay. I will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight issue of privacy with the floor to ceiling window on the ground floor.

    Within 200m of the airport terminal, but with very little noise. Lovely sea view, gardens, nice pools (but v cold at the end of April). Big clean room. Breakfast was very good, and I enjoyed the food at the restaurant. I am very pleased I chose this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big spacious rooms, very comfortable bed, good and friendly service, good restaurant and very good breakfast. It's calm despite being next to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could not fault the staff and the facilities. The manager could not have been more helpful. We ate in the restaurant every day because the food is beautiful, well presented and expertly cooked, couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation between the rooms is ok but you can hear very well everything from the corridor. Especially when you need some rest and roommaids chat non-stop and you hear them as if they sit in your room, and also banging doors made me crazy... they should do something about it. Another point is that all rooms overlook the ocean and have nice panoramic windows... but there are always people walking just in front of your windows (guests or workers), it's very annoying. I had to keep curtains closed which of course downgrades the value of those nice windows and view. Bathroom is also a bit old for a hotel of this level but nothing critical.

    The level of service and staff in the hotel is excellent - professional and friendly, try to make your stay comfortable. Kitchen is very good, service also very nice. It's handy to have a teapot and tea selection in the room. Location is quite convenient to explore many nature attractions and Funchal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There honestly was nothing to dislike

    Right from our arrival at Funchal airport we were met by courtesy car which took us to the hotel. A truly warm and welcoming member of staff checked us in and made sure we had everything we could possibly want.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To have know beforehand ......workmen on site...around pool and relaxing area.....not able to choose to use the sea pools ...as they are were closed during my stay . whole purpose of my stay was to relax around pool and gardens.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Dinning room service excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. My wife and I left our keys in the hotel room after we left for the airport and the staff brought them to the airport before we left on the plane. We were very thankful to the staff for getting our stuff back to us. We couldn't imagine what would have happened if we didn't get back our keys. Staff goes above and beyond for their guests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nice, but it didn't provide that many options.

    The staff is extremely polite and helpful. We got some great insider tips for the New Year's fireworks show. At our arrival we got some complimentary Madeira wine and honey cake plus a nice platter of fresh fruits. Every day we also got complimentary still water.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    + Free shuttle service to the airport + All staffs are very friendly and helpful +The location is good to reach Santa Cruz and the airport. Though it is very close to the airport but you barely hear any noise from the airplane. + The room is very spacious and clean. + Ocean pool is really cool. Though it is closed when the ocean gets rough. + Hidden gem to spend your quiet holidays

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have been a welcome bonus to have more comfortable seating on the balcony to our room. We never sat on the balcony for very long as the iron upright seats are so uncomfortable and not the type of seats one can relax in. Even a simple deck chair would have been better and they don't take up too much space. It was such a lovely and clean, good size balcony it would have been nice to spend more time sitting on it whilst relaxing in comfortable seating to enjoy the fantastic views.

    NIce croissants very nice breakfast. Everything very good although it would have been nice to have the offer of toast, especially when ordering fried or scrambled egg... but the toast was not sorely missed!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was a cherry on the cake of our Portugal vacation. Comfortable accomodation with an ocean view frim the edge of the rock.The most spectacular is the swimming pool filled with ocean water where you can swim looking at the Atlantic ocean and Desert Islands (Ilhas Desertas). Breakfast here was good with fresh fruits, juices and different cereals. Also the location is very comfortable - 2 minutes from the airport, but it never bothers you because of the sound-proof wall. Great service, wonderful view and unforgatable impressions. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very spacious rooms. Very helpful and welcoming staff. Amazingly no noise from the nearby airport. Excellent breakfast. Dinner very good though more expensive than elsewhere. Really enjoyed the sea pool. Excellent free airport shuttle service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Location is close to airport. Small hotel but with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food in the restaurant. Clean and well maintained facilities. Ample car parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be noted that those wonderful ocean pools are closed due to safety when the sea is rough. It happens.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff in reception and restaurant. Fantastic breakfast. Nice room with magnificent ocean view. Wi-Fi fast and reliable. There are few pools with fresh water and sea water. So close to the airport that you can dip in the pool and rush for check in. Incredible experience!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was located 2 min from the airport although no noise can be heard from flights landing and taking off due the relaxing noise of the wave on the cliffs. The hotel staff was absolutely kind and very helpful. The hotel is very well maintained. Quality of the food at breakfast was excellent and we did also had a dinner there and was reasonable priced compared to other restaurants and again excellent quality. WiFi was working perfectly no trouble at all. The gym facilities a bit small, just a treadmill and a cross trainer but the two pools by the ocean were amazing. Very relaxing. Overall a place where we want to come back soon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelent choice to start your Madeira trip. Close to the airport, in walking distance, very clean and quiet (of course sometimes in outdoor you can hear landing plane, but that not disturb in the rooms. Beautiful sea view. Pools are nice, at the end of September little bit cold, with possibility to swim in the sea. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Some guests have probably no clue that when they, for reasons unclear to me, put on their shoes with high heels and walk around on ceramic floor tiles in their rooms for at least half an hour every morning, the sound inevitably wakes up their neighbours in surrounding rooms. The staff could search the luggage on arrival and confiscate such horrible footwear:). Just kidding:).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't that great (also not that expensive).

    The sea swimming pools were amazing. When we went there there was no-one else. This was a great feeling: an unobstructed 180 degree panorama of the Atlantic (and the Ilhas Desertas), the sound of crashing waves, a nice pool and yet a lot of privacy. We joked that this was probably one of the best places in the world where we've had a glass of wine but I'm not even sure if it's exaggerated. We didn't experience nuisance from the airport. If anything, it was actually enjoyable to see the airplanes circle around in front of the swimming pool as they approach the runway a kilometer behind you. Because they're almost landing the engines aren't very noisy (only a brief burst as they brake after touching down, but you don't hear that from the rooms because of the isolation or from the swimming pool because it's at the bottom of a ~5m cliff and the sound goes above you).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Coming home!

    We spent 2 weeks here in August. Breakfasts are brilliant. Lovely fresh fruit. Eggs freshly cooked anyway you like. Custard tarts and bucks fizz! The large sea water pool was great for swimming in and then going and relaxing in the hot tub afterwards. All the staff were extremely friendly which made it a fantastic place to stay and a wonderful holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the Hotel Albatroz Madeira for 5 nights with my mum at the beginning of September. We chose to book this hotel based on the positive reviews from other guests and hoped to spend some nice and quiet time there. Our experience there however was rather dissapointing. The hotel is closely located to a busy road therefore all we could hear while trying to relax at the pool area was the noise of cars (the smell of fuel was persistent). Food at the hotel was mediocre. The closest village of Santa Cruz is approximately 15mins walk along a busy road. We did not feel safe walking there, especially in the evening. The hotel held a wedding party on the Saturday 3rd September which lasted up until at least 2am. We did complain about the noise and we were offered another room on the ground floor for the night (we stayed at the top floor superior room) however the loud music could be well heard there as well. Albatroz Madeira is nowhere near a 5 star hotel. We would never stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    small hotel with personal service, tranquil and relaxing, loads of space to enjoy the sun with or without company of others, 3 pools to choose from we had one just for our self most of the time, good restaurant first class service all meals specially prepared to your own personal requirements, (including breakfast). The ocean views from all the rooms are spectacular,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some rattan furniture or comfortable seating with parasols on the grassed area at the front of the hotel might be a good idea in order to enjoy an early evening drink perhaps.

    Staff lovely & always helpful, The Hotel is near to the airport but relatively unaffected by this, the rooms are very nice and clean with excellent sea views. The food is good with an excellent choice for breakfast. We would happily return to this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just to write something here: the bed mattress was a bit too hard for us.

    The Albatroz is a charming little hotel with peaceful gardens, a huge parking, and above all : an amazing view on the ocean and the desert islands of Madeira archipel. The hotel is located very near the airport area, but I can confirm this does not cause any annoyance at all. We enjoyed a lot the breakfast, and had multiple times dinner at the hotel restaurant: the meals were nicely served and tasty. Special "kudos" to ALL the staff we met. Everyone was so kind and professional. We felt like a royal couple during this week. For sure, we will keep good memories of our stay at Hotel Albatroz. Thanks for everything, and keep it up!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so many hotel's director will come personally to pick you up at the airport! Everything was perfect! From the sympathy of the team to the room with an amazing view and from the dinner/breakfast to these amazing swimming pools along the sea. It's a pity we didn't stay longer...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    - Location, roaring ocean, magnificent views - Extremely friendly and helpful staff - Facilities, cleanliness, internet - Optional services (excursions, car rentals etc)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rooms were large and very confortable Staff were very friendly and helpful Pools were lovely and plenty of sun beds to go around Very quiet and nice walk into Santa Cruz

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An exceptional hotel. Location on the cliff top directly overlooking the sea provided spectacular views. The sea pools made the experience extra special, as did the cleanliness of the entire hotel. Restaurant and hotel staff made our visit most enjoyable!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of traffic (next to motorway) when in pool area (but not intrusive inside hotel), right below airport so planes taking off might disturb some (didn't bother us). Walk to nearby Santa Cruz has to be next to motorway (would feel very different if you were strolling along a prom or quieter lane). Few guests led to a bit of a flat atmosphere.

    Outstanding customer service, large clean rooms with sea view, excellent breakfasts, lovely pool area and dramatic sea pool, lots of birds, immaculate grounds. Good base for sightseeing plus easy drive to nearby small seaside towns for dinner as alternative to restaurant if you want greater variety after a couple of nights of same menu (which we did)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The grass cutting was frequent and noisy but this is such a minor comment.

    The staff very extremely helpful for all our requests and kept checking that we were fully satisfied. The breakfast was high quality and all we could ever want. The Chef made omelettes to prefection. The food in the restaurant was varied and always high quality and served with very helpful staff. The location on the Atlantic ocean made every morning a welcome spectacle. Every room had this 180 degree view. The gardens are quite interesting and very well kept. The two ocean swimming pools at sea level and the third near the hotel meant that we could choose between swimming in the cystal clear sea or have lunch at the hotel pool. This is not a big hotel and we always felt like we had the resort to ourselves. We met lots of friendly people and had a very restful time even though we were active for much of the time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the restaurant meals were over priced compared to the restaurants in the town, which is only a ten minute stroll away.

    Huge bed. Very pleasant staff. Great location. Definitely would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved hotel Albatroz, the staff were helpful and friendly, the food especially breakfast was wonderful. Prepared and load out with care, excellent omelet. The wifi was incredibly fast and reliable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's location and it needs up dating.

    The cleanliness superb, staff amazing, so friendly,food was delicious 😋

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant could be cosyer

    The welcom in “Oxfoetf English” The quality of the chef the breathtaking vieuw

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel arranged a free airporttransfer, even after the nightflight at 1am. Super!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view an place.. excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    extremely nice people, very good customer service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room. Restaurant. Easy to find hotel and then park your car. Welcoming atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Manor House with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceeded expectations in every way. Great food, great room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant was ok but nothing special

    Lovely breakfast, very friendly staff and very close to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    For sure it was a great choice to book this hotel for vacation on Madeira!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: