Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel do Cerro 4 stars

Rua Samora Barros, Albufeira City Centre, 8200-178 Albufeira, Portugal

#35 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 710 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location was not good as it was on the top of the hill. but the views were good

    The quirky layout and the helpful friendly staff. The view was good. The pool area and the comfy sunbeds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff be it reception, bar and cleaning were friendly and helpful. Checking in was simple and quick and we never had to wait long at reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was great and the nice touch of a takeaway continental breakfast for an early morning departure was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is just awful, non-existent even in the lobby at times. I would have given an overall higher rating if not for this issue. "Sea view" rooms should be billed as partial views. Everything costs extra, even to borrow the iron.

    Location an easy walk to center city and above the noise and congestion. Neat older buildings cobbled together in interesting ways. Healthy and unhealthy (your choice) breakfast buffet available for extra.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walk & 2 Lifts to our room on 3rd Floor. Steps down to Breakfast Room (didn't see Wheelchair access) Breakfast ok but party of noisy male guests could have been a problem for some guests. Overall a Hotel more suited to the younger fitter age group! No Non Slip Mat in Bath which was a bit slippy.

    View from room of lovely Pool area. Comfortable room. Short easy walk on way down to Old Town/Beach but a bit of a punt on the way back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Coffee was dreadful. Out of a machine. Could not drink it so had to get my fix in town. Very disappointing.

    Generally very friendly and helpful and very good about policing reserving towels etc at the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front desk staff were arogant and condesending, as soon as you mentioned a negative. Large groups of abusive and noisy people. Drinking around pool fro wine bottles concealed in bags, throwing clothes into pool The breakfast was pitiful. The evening A La Carte menu was just a mirror copy of the buffet. The buffet was two choices, very poor, no real choice. The dessrt was completly below standard. When the tray was empty that was it , you had to scrape around for a dessert. The icecream was just a pool of melted icecream

    The bar-man Manuel was the only positive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not like this property in high season...just my personal issue with being around too many people on a holiday...

    This is a very professionally run hotel...quiet location..housekeeping was fantastic! !! Breakfast had lots of healthy options...the gym is super too..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too crowded with tourists, so so breakfast.

    It's a big hotel, full of stairs everywhere (old building). It was packed with tourists from England (it's the Algarve, after all) and lines for the so so breakfast were long. A good place overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Access to the gym was an added cost (very expensive) and the indoor pool had very limited access times. The whole hotel was very dated and could do with re-decorating.

    All the staff from the front desk, the dining and the house maintenance were excellent. In fact, better than excellent! Great location within the Old Town with a local bus stop 15 metres from the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant is awful. They had only 2 dishes to choose from, yet they could not make it well and keep it hot. They have no capacity to serve when there are more than 8 people eating. Only one waitress was working supported by a barman. She is distinctly unfriendly. A big group of more than a dozen people was there and by the time they served us food, it was all cold, salty and completely devoid of any taste. Simply inedible. French fries were barely fried. Staff are nor friendly. They forced a smile when they felt they had to do it, and did not bother to respond to you until a minute or two later after you spoke to them. Only one person at the reception desk, doing everything. If there is a second person hovering there, he is useless, doing nothing to help expedite check-in or check-out process. We could not wait to leave.

    The hotel interior is quaint, lots of efforts went into decorating it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for gym, swimming caps, and gym and pool was only open 9 to 5. No music in the room, just tv, but would be nice to add a radio channel.

    Nice relaxing hotel, family run. 5 minutes walk from bars, which is nice if active, as in quite location Great shower. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a smallish room at the front with a Juliet balcony overlooking the grounds, but the two single beds were fairly hard and the room was a bit spartan. Breakfast was also spartan, don't bother!

    Wonderful extensive grounds, great for our dog. Very friendly staff, public rooms had high ceilings, great views and open fire in lounge. Built for the expo 1929 and still had sense of history. Good food in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not fond of climbing and the hotel is a little hike from the beach, but Albuferia is built on a hillside so many hotels will have the same issue.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It was lovely to have the swimming pool. With breakfast including the option of an English fry, this hotel is great value for money. Lovely quiet area for restful sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont book if you have a pet allergy!! The breakfast was really bad! Hard to find you way through the hotel.

    I did not like the hotel. I cant recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, not the quality I would expect in a four star hotel. Not enough power sockets in the room.

    Although a bit old fashioned, the hotel is very clean and well maintained. Big room with a nice view (sea view room). Staff was very friendly. Only stayed for one night so can't judge the pool and other facilities, but it looked nice. Quiet location just a bit out of the centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Pool Food is not great

    This is our second time to come back to this beautiful hotel, We really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of this place. Our Bedroom was cleaned every day and we like the nice touch of the bottle of water when you arrive into the room from your journey. Also the pool towel left in the room is very nice. We have just booked again for next year and so looking forward to our visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged for everything extra. The safe was an extra euro a night. I needed some ice for an injury and that was 2 euros for a small container. It was necessary to rent an iron! The breakfast was ok but the dinner a la Carte was nothing special. I was expecting more refined dining.

    The staff were super helpful and very friendly. They gave us excellent service and recommendations. We had a room with a view overlooking the bay below which was lovely. It was quiet because it was up a steep hill from the shops and nightlife. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is so dated. Gold paint everywhere. The smell of sewerage in our bathroom was terrible. They put a stopper in the bidet but it didn’t work. The bed and pillows were comfy.

    The same breakfast every morning. No variety. Fruit was tinned and the apple orange and banana were halved. The bread and croissants were lovely . No option for pancakes fried eggs omelette porridge or any seeds. The restaurant is so cramped and dark. Staff fine but not very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a labyrinth, need to take different lifts, go to stairs and corridors to get to room and different places in the hotel. The saunas was supposed to be heated, but were off and cold, minimal jacuzzi not really space for even one person. No person at spa to help.

    Okay breakfast and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh, just one thing: Albufeira. There are a good many places at the Algarve, weich are worth a visit. Albufeira is no longer such a place. Even in the old town, they've got too touristy by now. The city reminds me of Magaluf or even a bit of Llorret de Mar. If you're not "party folk", it's probably not the place to be for you. If you are, you might like it.

    It's a nice, clean hotel on a hill in the old town of Albufeira. If you know the shortcut, It's close to the center. If you don't, you're walking a while. (I learned about it after my arrival. Take a guess, what I did before.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit weird about having to rent fridge. Not really sure how it worked. Asked when checking in as we were going to pay as good to have one but then we were told it didn't really work so it wasn't worth it...Also felt a bit put off by signs around breakfast room saying anything taken out would be considered extra and would be charged. My partner didn't feel too well one morning and I had hoped to take something back to room. Housekeeping could have been more flexible about coming back later in day. Walk home from old town was very steep so got taxi for 5 euro.

    Quite a lot of facilities for a smallish hotel so close to town. Lovely views. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    could not get a sunbed by the pool as people were putting towels down before breakfast, not enough sunbeds for a very small pool

    Breakfast was really good, the restaurant was really well laid out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I order a room on booking they asked about kids but the room was for to so had to upgrade and it was an extra cost

    It was clean and close to everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the room service was quite late. We were back from the beach and wanted to get some rest and they were only about to start the room service, lika after 14:00

    Everything was really good. We enjoyed every second of our stay. Tiego at the reception was very nice and helping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge extra for everything! 4€ per day extra to have the fridge on in the room, 1.5 € extra PER HOUR to have iron and board in the room, and you have to pick it up youself from reception etc etc this is very dissapointing for a hotel which charges about €160 per night

    Good location, great housekeeping staff, nice swimming pool area and hotel is nice overall, beautifull interior design in common areas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor breakfast. Bad sewer smell in room (from bathroom?) Terrible/simple furniture. Chair too low to sit and work at desk. Room not soundproof at all! You could hear your neighbours talking when in the room and in the bathroom. For late night home comers it was like they were walking in your room! Had to pay if you wanted to change towels more often than every 3rd day!!!!!!

    The location is good and the bed comfortable. No outside noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff are very helpful,especially Paulo and James. Nothing was too much trouble and they always went out of there way to make us feel important.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the decor and the beds which were very hard

    The location was good but the hotel was very dated. The bedrooms were particularly dated and the reception was very tired. However, the hotel was very clean and had good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Cerro was excellent, we only on bed & breakfast rate but found the buffet food at night was superb and very reasonable ( 10% off for hotel guests ) Staff at Reception and Resturant very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toileteries supplied, we ran out of shampoo halfway through the stay and weren't given a top up. Some rules seem quite strict, but maybe that's why it is such a peaceful place.

    Hotel situated in a quirt part of Albufeira, yet only a short walk away from the beach and town centre. Small, but with all amenities needed for a relaxing stay. Our room had a small balcony and we were able to enjoy seaview.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of atmosphere was disappointing. The pool area is great for a nap, but not for a laugh! We're in our mid 20s and even though we wanted to relax, it was a bit too silent for our liking. The music being played at the pool was horrendous as well and the same playlist was used every day.

    Exceptional view from our lovely room. Location of hotel is brilliant. Nice 5min walk to the beach. Bout 7mins too the town centre. Very clean and helpful staff. Breakfast was brilliant with a load of options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few power sockets in the room so hard to charge phone. Charges to use the safe and hire a kettle. The hill is not so bad, but you can get a taxi/uber easily if you can't face it!!

    Nice hotel. Good swimming pool. Great views. Friendly staff. No major complaints

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is not to recommend, whether for breakfast or for dinner even the prices were reasonable. It was also unusual to have a 4-stars hotel and to pay 5 € per person to enter the sauna. However the star-rating was not realistic, it would be correct to give max 3 stars.

    I liked that location was outside of the main touristic streets, it was nice quiet, lift for a cosy beach was just a few minutes walk away. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was confronted by a security staff outside my room who was seeking to escalate, raising his voice with an aggressive posture borderline threatening me because I walked into my room with a friend at a late hour. There was no one at the reception desk, I was not aware of any rule that I could not have someone in my room so we simply walked up to my room after being buzzed in. Four minutes later there was a loud knock at the door and a large, overbearing night shift security person began to reprimanding me and demand the person get out of the room immediately. I said she is my friend we can show you her documents please calm down but we was unable to do so, would not stop talking and repeating himself about it being for my safety and security, my safety and security. My friend was scared, she had to get into a taxi alone to go back to her accommodation in the middle of the night. The next day the manager essentially defended this guy's actions, saying it was my fault for not knowing or adhering to policy, that I created the circumstance. I doubt I will ever use booking.com again because apparently I cannot have someone enter my hotel room under their policy which is new to me, and I would certainly NEVER stay at Hotel do Cerrdo and deal with the pompous staff again.

    Clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of reception staff too business like and austere Asked another male staff member re printing the same boarding cards and no problem

    Nice quirky hotellovely room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had view on the street where there was some noise during the night.

    Everything was on expected level, location is nice, just above the sand beach, few minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was crowded, in a tiny little confined space. We avoided it, we could not handle listening to screamings and drunk conversations.The internal pool was looking better, but was empty cause you had to pay for a cap.We had to ask for towels and toiletries every day.The wifi was not always working.

    Location was great, away from tacky albufeira town and the noise from the pubs.. The staff would help you with the booking of day trips. It was of appropriate standards for cleaning. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There aren't enough convenient power outlets to charge my phone and computer. It's a nice large place, but parts feel a little old. The bar is modern.

    The day time staff is very helpful. The late night staff wasn't very pleasant. The bar, restaurant, pool, etc are very convenient. The supermarket is just a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is its Achilles heel. Its in a nice area with great views and the walk into the Old Town is very pleasant down hill via the cliff top. just not so pleasant when you have to walk back, but a taxi would solve that little problem at a small cost.

    Mixed bag of reviews for this hotel, but our group has stayed twice on B&B basis and on both occasions have had a good stay. The staff are friendly. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is ok. Not great but ok. Coffee was decent. Nice selection of cereals, cold meats and bread. A little odd that they want to charge for fried eggs but not for scrambled or hard boiled? Mixed bag of evening entertainment, some really good, some not so. Nice bar area. Nice pool area. Complimentary pool towels. Rooms cleaned daily to good standard. For the price you pay, its a decent hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The prices for drinks at the coffee shop were very high compared to the local shop that is 2 minutes away. The entertainment in the bar was by and large poor.

    The staff were friendly and polite. The room was nice and fine for us. The pool was a decent size and never so busy that we couldn't get a lounger. The crowd in the hotel were a bit older but that didn't bother us too much as it was quieter at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - mostly englisch folks with a lot of tattoos and drinking large amounts of beer - breakfast is out of cans and packages. It's all about being able to advert with including breakfast and charging more, but the quality was very bad. - hotel is way overpriced. €108,- for a double room is far to much for the quality they serve. Keep in mind that you have to pay extra for the fitness, the safe in the room etc - walk to the beach/city is very steep For this kind of money you can find way better, even in Albufeira.

    - Quiet location - Spacious room - everyday cleaning, very kind lady - welcome receptionist and helpfull - supermarket (with lovely espressocorner) on 200 meters

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights were too dim The blue light from the card slot reflected in the mirror and I couldn't cover it, which then made it hard to fall asleep Pool was too crowded, not enough seats or shade

    Breakfast was lovely Beds were comfy Air con was very efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i can honestly say there wasn't anything I could say I didn't like.

    Hotel do cerro is a lovely hotel, the staff were very friendly and full of advice, we only had bed and breakfast which was ok, we did eat at the hotel one night and it was reasonably priced and of very good quality. Room was clean, pool area and overall hotel was clean too. This place is great for adults as there wasn't many children. So if your wanting peace and quiet this is a great place to stay. A little walk to the beach and the main centre where it's all happening but not far. We walked it twice a day and it wasn't an issue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    CHARGE OF E2 FOR ICE !!!!!---never experience such in a 4 star before!! Breakfast quality not 4 star. 20 min wait for bacon one morning -20 min wait for bread one morning-but fixed after complaint and ok for rest of holiday.

    good beds -good bathroom--good shower--good balcony--good barman--good massage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bit noisy but then are room was next to the lift and couple of yappy dogs near by... and the main old town strip was a bit to rowdy with to many stag and groups of men ? drinking to much, mainly the british and i am a brit !

    swimming pool area bar and breakfast were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    not sure about the "extras" ie beach towels. fridge. kettle charges for some types of rooms. I had fridge use and a beach towel but my friends did not.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could be better by being a little closer to town, hill was pretty steep if you aren't a good walker

    The sea view was a bonus plus the free bottle of wine from Manual the barman for my girlfriends birthday

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    provided a pretty substantial breakfast considering it was included in the room rate. Plenty of food . Rooms were roomy with access to balcony area outside which was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the top of the hill, so it might be a problem for people who have difficulties walking. You need to pay 4 euros per day if you want to use the fridge in the room. Notice as well that you need to pay for using the sauna, gym and spa.

    We booked our room only a couple of days before we arrived, so the only room available to book was a normal room with two single beds and street view. When we arrived the guy in the reception was kind and managed to give us a better room with view at the pool and a double bed. The location is great! It's a quiet and calm area and still only 400 meters away from the beach and the big street in the old town with restaurants, bars and shops. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel, from where you can take the red line bus to the city. We never had to use it though (since it isn't too far away to walk), but it's good to know it's possible to take it! All the areas of the hotel are really clean. The rooms are being well cleaned every day. The room is big and the balcony as well with two chairs. In the hotel bar there were several evenings nice live concerts with calm music. We never had the chance to try the hotel bar and restaurant, but they seemed to be nice and the prices not so expensive. The breakfast buffet was ok, and the restaurant was big enough so there was never any problems finding a table. You could as well go up to the roof to get a nice view of the ocean while eating breakfast. We did our check out really early in the morning and we were surprised that they still offered us a small breakfast with toasts, coffee, tea and juice before leaving. The hotel staff were very kind (like all the Portuguese people). All of them speak good English and some of them good French as well. They always helped us with any question. When we arrived they gave us a program of the happenings of the week, boat trips, sightseeing trips etc, with cars picking you up directly from the hotel. We never did any of them (since we only stayed for 3 days and mostly enjoyed the beach nearby) but it was convenient knowing to have that option. In general the hotel was calm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is so old, when we arrived there was only one lady checking in so we had to wait until our turn... the room was disgusting, smelled of cigarettes and was really old, something from the 1970's with an alarm installed in case of burglars (which happens) when we complained, the receptionist was very unpleasant and took half an hour (after twice making mistakes) before she moved us. The room was a little better but still had cracked floors, broken toilet, blankets on the bed (instead of duvet), really it was a hotel room from 30 years ago. We had to pay for a kettle! The pool area is awful with terrible smell from the toilets and all the sunbeds crammed in together. broken tiles everywhere, a really depressing area. Breakfast area is down in the basement - its nothing special, no fruit really so I had a yogurt and cereal. Take my advice and pay a little more and stay somewhere else, the whole hotel needs to be demolished and built again. .

    The location was good, away from the awful old town which has all the tacky shops and brits drinking in the bars. Set up high on the hillside, it has lovely views and some nice restaurants nearby within walking distance, athough the whole area has a feeling of neglect, the marina was like a ghost town. Don't go to the old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was a bit of an uphill hike from the old town, but if you want views, then you have to pay the price.

    Only had breakfast there, with plenty of choice for British and European tastes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolside Coffee shop was a disappointment

    Nice clean hotel, close to the beach and not far from the Old Town in a quiet area. Local supermarket close by-Intermarche. Helpful and friendly staff. Entertainment in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy room, great firm mattress and bed, fab view, good breakfast selection, friendly and helpful staff, great value for money, highly recommend 10/10

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wifi was available only when standing by the window, which was a bit unconvenient :) Bath was leaking water on the floor somewhere even when taking quick shower.

    Everything fine, easy parking, good breakfast, helpful staff. A bit far from the beach, but it's certainly not a problem for younger people and is compensated by the view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Our room had a good view and was nice but the bed was hard and very uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was decent enough. My wife and I were disappointed that the gym was 5 euros each to use each visit which was a surprise to us and also 4 euros a day to use the fridge.I would probably go to this hotel again if they invested in some decent beds and the gym and fridge were free to use like most hotels I've stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good,very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good, wide selection. Overall we had a wonderful stay here and would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Large 4cm cockroaches entering bathroom via air vent...Had to kill several and block vent to prevent my friend leaving the hotel.

    Service and music in lounge enjoyable..Staff helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee shop could have stocked more items i.e. No ice cream, cakes sun cream.

    The hotel upgraded us to a sea view as it was our 40th wedding anniversary .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Helpful, warm and friendly staff. Beautiful place with extra details of elegance. Located in a nice little neighborhood with friendly neighbors and walkable amenities. Gorgeous views from bar, restaurant and rooms with balconies. Incredible stay for a surprisingly affordable price!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners missed my room one day, but they apologised and room was cleaned the next day; No free water (only on the day of arrival);

    The location is super, with walking distance to the town centre and the view of the sea from the balcony is fantastic. The staff are helpful. There is a bus stop nearby, convenient for people who want to use public transport. Breakfast was ok as well. It's quiet in the evening. There is a pool and a coffee shop in the hotel. There is also a supermarket within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room with a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. It's a ten minute walk to the centre, and I enjoyed that it was in a quieter part of town, with some good cafes nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was 2 singles pushed together and very hard

    The room was huge and the view from the balcony was beautiful. The spa was great. The jacuzzi and massage were exactly what we needed. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast was varied and tasty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely authentic place just a 3 minute stroll to the old town, and ten minutes to the Marina. Perfect location, very clean and lovely relaxed vvibe. Great value and a very enjoyable experience!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room Half Board Included
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Lovely friendly Hotel and all the Staff from reception,restaurant,and bar and not forgetting the maids are very happy to help you have a great stay.Good choices at meal times and plenty of variations to suit everyone.Town centre and beach are only a 10 minute walk away or catch the local bus just round the corner from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room, rude reception staff and hotel manager does listen to a complaint and threatens with calling the police about complaint. Noisy room (hear people in the next door room plus also next floor up) corridor noise is loud with people walking past.

    Nice friendly cleaning staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find the hotel very compact as in we had to climb stairs and get a lift just to get to the pool, smell in bathroom reported and rectified but smell back again next day. Nice hotel but much better out there and no hills to climb everyday.

    Staff very polite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms not really 4*. A lot of walking both inside and outside the hotel, fine for us as we are avid walkers but if you had mobility issues you would struggle.

    Good staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was Not clean and there were bugs - cockroach and long slimy bugs in the bathtub. Staff not always friendly.

    Location is good with a short walk to the beach and city centre and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the snack bar was rotten. Instant stuff from a nescafe machine. Real coffee would have been much nicer!

    Nice room. Lovely breakfast. Nice friendly staff. Great value for money. Pool area lovely.good location. Few minutes walk to old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in bedroom coffee tea

    The hotel was good, the staff were nice ,clean nice accommodation. Not suitable for older less able holidaye makers. As it is a very hilly area.I enjoyed my stay very much Anne Yates

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill to get to hotel

    Pool area seats very comphy beds comphy. Staff fantasticly friendly and helpfull. It was my birthday and when i arrived home after dinner they had left a bottle of champain and a hand written bday card

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor , you had to keep signing in all the time to open it , pain , no small umbrellas by pool for us pale skinned people 😄

    Breakfast nice , service good , nice hotel ,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really would definitely return in the future.

    Very nice hotel, clean well maintained rooms with modern facilities. Fantastic power shower. Beautiful breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast room cluttered.Map given out very poor as location finder

    location just nice distance from town , local restaurateur and small pubs near hotel excellent, no need to join the masses at the town center.The pool and bar areas were very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel do Cerro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: