Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Literary Man Obidos Hotel 4 stars

Dom João D´Ornelas, 2510-074 Óbidos, Portugal

#11 of 15 hotels in Óbidos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1052 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast there was a lot of flies all over the food. The maid entered the room while I was in the bathroom without knocking.

    Hotel concept. Dinner was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many flies but it’s everywhere in Óbidos anyway. The window was small so the room was dark. It can be noisy when the others doors in the lobby opens and close

    Location is great. And it’s a unique Hotel! Very nice interior. The bar is also unique full of books everywhere. Hotel in general is clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by train and there were no taxis or way of calling for a taxi. A transfer service with the hotel would have been great.

    The staff very friendly. The location was fantastic, close to all the restaurants and the rooms very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very compact. No place to unpack our suitcases. The beds were two singles with a mattress on to make it appear to be a queen size bed. One was not staying there for the rooms but rather for the ambience which was excellent.

    The location was excellent. I loved the idea of the books everywhere throughout the hotel. Lighting in the room great. I had one of my best meals in Portugal at their restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small and cramped- had to ask for a second chair to sit on. Reception didn’t seem to have our booking which was uncomfortable! Dinner was quite expensive - we dined inside the wall on our second night and it was lovely and half the price!! Unable to get help with our cases down the stairs on leaving!

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was extremely helpful. The location is excellent and the room was very clean and quiet. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was professional, accommodating and very nice. However, they were obviously understaffed and this understaffing showed occasionally.

    Beautiful property in a renovated, 400-year old convent located just outside the walls, making it easy in terms of transportation for us. The bedroom was quiet even though it was street side. Loved the ambience set by the library decor. Our stay was excellent and we recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You go for this property for the experience of living in old farm house not really for comfort. But all in good order otherwise

    Charm of an old farm house - living room - nice concept; live music in evenings (at least some evenings) location; very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A very personal Boutique Hotel. Quiet, great food, absolutely kids friendly and relaxed - while keeping a high standard in interior and food!! The amounts of books is amazing and entertaining at the same time! We would have loved to stay longer... Spend your time in Obidos or the lagoon nearby. It's Great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was more expensive than expected, I think due to the taxes.

    The concept is great, and the wooden interior original and tasteful. Also loved the juicer at the breakfast buffet - we had the best juice ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved how quaint it was. The beds were super comfy. The morning breakfast was outstanding. We had a very lovely dinner there to, and the food, presentation and service was excellent. The proximity to the Old Town was easily assessable. You have to like walking though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service was slow.

    Great breakfast and interesting dinner menu. Excellent wines and the gin bar is a great plus. fabulous restaurant atmosphere enshrined in books.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom didn't have a door .( it had a curtain separating from the room). It Didn't bother us much and it is a design choice of the hotel. But if you want a bit more privacy from your partner or kids , it could be an issue.

    The common space was a wonderful place to relax and read. Perfect hotel to stay at, if you get bad weather and need to stay in. The room was really cozy and comfortable with an original design. We really enjoyed the " literary concept " of the hotel. The staff was very accommodating to our needs. The location was Perfect for sightseeing and walking through the town . There are a lot of good restaurants and bars nearby. Free street Parking close to the hotel. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely recommend it to any friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not too steady

    Perfect atmosphere! I felt like in a fairy tale! The accommodation is right outside the city walls, it's full of books and it even has a pleasant smell The breakfast was super good, especially the fresh natural yogurt. Several cakes are available and even a juice extractor! Perfect atmosphere for book lovers!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent, next to the castle walls of Óbidos. The restaurant is amazing, the ambiance is very cozy with a soft light, the fireplace to warm the room and the walls filled with book shelves, even as if we were dining in a library. The food is good, well-cooked and savory, but the wine list is short, balanced by a bar with good gins. The rooms are nice, the bed comfortable and very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Anything

    The location is very close to the Obidos center. Rooms are clean and the decoration was modern.The staff was warmful. Everwhere is full of books. Historical and interesting hotel. I recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the wi-fi needs fixing, as it was very weak in our room or not really working sometimes.

    A beautiful and comfy accommodation. Good food, though a bit pricy. Great location, easy to travel to from Lisbon, even by bus. The staff were all very polite and pleasant and were happy to accommodate any requests. Clean rooms and the whole property. Beautiful decor, library, fireplace, live music on the Saturday night. We had a restful and relaxing stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An improvement opportunity can be replacing curtains with doors in the bathrooms especially in double rooms for better privacy.

    I liked everything! Great service and food at the restaurant, lovely staff, excellent decoration, warm and quiet atmosphere in all areas of the hotel, comfortable bed, all necessary items in the room, good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Primative room, poor breakfast selection. No beacon /sausage options,

    Bed was not comfortable, very simple / basic room, no curtains but shutters,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is hard and for me very uncomfortable (although some people might be ok with this). I prefer separate shower, this was above a slippery bath. Books are a bit haphazard with Thomas Hardy sitting alongside Dan Brown?? Prices to buy quite strange with a blanket 5 euro for novels even when they show a price of 1 euro from a secondhand shop! Hotel is outside walls but town is very small so not far.

    Fabulous restoration of a historic building with original arches in the large dining room/lounge area and books everywhere which you are allowed to take to the room. Very helpful staff who I rang for help when we arrived at the train station and no taxis. Views of city walls from our room. High spacious wooden ceilings and modern bathroom. Restaurant had best pork belly but sadly let down by almost cold soggy potato chips, 'confit tomato" which was warm but uncooked and the vegetable curry was flavourless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi connection at room 4 Very old bathroom and well furnished but not well isolated or renewed room

    Lovely breakfeast and very helpful consedered staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like this property. The staff is friendly and provide good service. Love the atmosphere and the room is clean. Highly recommendbto stay here in obidos. The best of the best

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think that the restaurant/bar of the hotel is a little bit pricy

    Everything is a idyllic scenario for a romantic couple , specially if you have a book lover among you. The hotel has a literary vibe all the way with books all over the place. The staff is impeccable and the location couldnt be better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very small and the restroom had no door. It was a curtain and left little for privacy. The dinner was excellent; however, we considered it to be a bit pricey vs some of the other establishments we visited while in Portugal. I would probably book elsewhere if only to have a bathroom door.

    The hotel had a very unique feel to it with all the old books. Also the location was just outside the castle walls, very easy walk into town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel with a special theme, it is a literary hotel and books are everywhere, in the rooms, corridors and especially in the restaurant which is the nicest. I would definitely recommend to have dinner there also because it is very good. It is just outside the city walls less than 5 minutes walking from the main street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extractor in bathroom. Smell of cigarettes on smell balcony. Air conditioner efficient as heater but dripped outside all night and disturbed my sleep. Also noisey guests making noise during night,

    The croissants were rather tasteless and dry. The beds were fine but rather small and short. The pillows are awful. Too soft. I took 3 and left my husband 1 and he put a rolled up blanke under it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and hallways in our wing were all constructed with raw concrete which meant that sound echoes. In addition the doors have very loud locks. A family with young children was in the suite next to ours and they were making noise and opening and closing doors until 1am. Sound echoes through the hallway and is very noticeable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Total area of the room smaller than showed on the internet, furniture and decor in bathroom not fully fitting for the rank of the whole estate, no catalogue available for inquiring on the enormous book collections

    Great estate, very good project for hosting, relevant books concerning Africa and the ultramar Portuguese history

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    We loved the ambiance of this hotel. There are books everywhere, in every corner. The hotel itself is cozy and we loved the fire place in the main restaurant and the cozy couches. Such a great place we didn't even want to leave the hotel. Also the restaurant was great for dinner and the breakfast in the morning was filled with options and very tasty too! I would highly highly recommend this hotel for the full experience of Obidos!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A unique hotel with so so so many books! Very different, a lot of personality! The room was clean and very comfortable. Just a little walk away from the medieval wall and town's main street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very strangely designed hotel. The owner used plain strips of wood to cover everything. The original concept of books, boos, books...everywhere, didn’t carry through. It appears as though the decorating is not finished. Although we liked the gathering room with a big fireplace, we were literally displaced by a private party and couldn’t use the room at all. We ended up stuck in our room until we left for dinner. We were also displaced by our breakfast with another incoming group for lunch earlier that day. We ate in the dining room one night and it was very overpriced. The menu was very limited and the food was definitely not special. And to add pain to the experience, the staff was not friendly at all. And we were never offered a discount for our inconvience. Can’t recommend this lodging!!

    Not much.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and there was no door to the ensuite bathroom and toilet.

    This is the most wonderful hotel. It is comfortable, charming, full of books. The staff are attentive. The breakfast is varied and delicious. The evening meals are refined. We stayed a week here and I didn't want to leave. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the room was not working very well.

    Wonderful atmosphere, books are all around. Very comfortable, clean, beautifully furnished rooms. Great breakfast. Very helpful staff. Planned to stay for one night, but stayed for three - because of wonderful place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the look of the place, its selection of books to browse through, and its proximity to the Obidos walled entrance that leads to the restaurants and quaint shops! Yummy breakfast, too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms themselves are not really spectacular and soso. safes are small with keys that maybe do not even match.

    The location is wonderful and very inspiring. You need time to check all books. But if you have you can slow down here. Breakfast is good. Restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress protector - noisy and uncomfortable!

    The books - they're everywhere! The decor and originality are brilliant. Our room was also amazing - unexpectedly huge and modern (think there's only 1 or 2 rooms like this so we were extra lucky.) The staff were very helpful and made sure I had a fridge to keep my medication in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room without wardrobes, bathroom not nice, cement washbasins disgusting, lots of stairs, no staff to help with baggage, struggle with parking, room was not ready at 15:30. Have to wait.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel, Obidos itself is charming and attracts a lot of day visitors, so the streets can get very busy. Once that calms down it's fine.

    This place is a very charming boutique hotel which is much much larger than it looks. Set just outside the Obidos castle walls, it is the perfect getaway spot for anyone with a love of literature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful, unique hotel. Has a lot of character. Excellent location, great room, exquisite restaurant with very good food and service. Very helpful staff, I misplaced my bag with souvenirs and they found it very quickly. It was a wonderful experience to stay there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad coffee at breakfast; basic room; no proper wardrobe for clothes; bathroom in need of renovation (flaking walls in the shower area); while there are enough interesting books that can be called literary (in the entrance, upper floor public rooms, restaurant), the books lining the walls in the hallways to the rooms are all tacky trashy types (meters and meters of Dan Brown stuff), far from "literary." Inconsistent policy about selling books to hotel clients (I asked to buy an old paperback but was flatly refused -- this, despite the signs posted in the restaurant of prices of books). Poor restaurant service and awful food -- ordered vegetarian couscous which when it came, was a defrosted supermarket vegetable mix with overcooked couscous) -- certainly not worth the price and almost one hour of waiting.

    Excellent breakfast (except for the awful coffee which, being in Portugal, is very rare). Nice renovation of an old convent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Special design surrounded by thousands of books and very nice people. Obidos itself is a literary city (part of UNESCO Creative Cities Networks) with medieval architecture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking near the hotel can be difficult in the peak season

    This books made it special.....in the era of ipads and iPhones this place is unique and the Gin & Tonics in the big wines glasses are unforgettable and extra tasty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obidos was very full of tourists - but it was August, so understandable.

    Its a very special location great for bokklovers. You are between books everywhere and can buy the ones you like. Dinner was also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone made a choice to have an obnoxious smelling air freshener plugged into the bedroom....locate, remove, and place in common area... easy peasy...problem fixed!! But why??There is no weird plumbing odor so a BIG judgement error in thinking it would improve ambience

    Interesting concept and lovely old building! So baronial with oversized furniture and massive doors not to mention books and books and more books! Large room and bath and great breakfast.Very pleasant staff willing to assist and make your stay pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the first day, only interns were available to welcome the customers, which is unacceptable given that this is -- supposedly -- a 4-star hotel. They didn't know how to answer some of the questions (including massage services) and failed to provide a nice hotel tour. Since the house is quite old and the piping in Óbidos (a medieval village) isn't so good, there is a bit of a foul drainage system smell, which is masqueraded by artificial scents in the rooms. I happen to be allergic to such scents, so it would be nice to get a warning. I'm not sure this should be classified as a 4-star hotel, but like I said in good points, the ambiance makes up for the flaws.

    The hotel decoration is so original, it really feels like a cosy place to spend a few days in Autumn or Winter. Breakfast is quite good and varied unlike what other reviews state. The first day, only interns were available (see bad points), but the next day, Sofia gave us a tour of the hotel and told us a bit of the history of the place, which made us look at the place differently and fall in love with the setting. Definitely a place to consider for the history, adventure, ambiance and calm for reading and exploring some books... It definitely beats staying at a hotel chain without personality and there is a sensation of peace and "literary" tranquility.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and room was on a smaller side - barely enough space to open my suitcase. There were a few mosquitoes in the bathroom.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tons of character. Quiet and convenient location. Room was large and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was yummy. Highly recommend staying here when you visit Obidos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both my husband and I hay fever from dust. The restaurant was a disaster. We waited over an hour for our food and it was very poor. Breakfast didn't get topped up, so if you didn't get in early you would miss out on basics (ie. no croissants).

    The location of the hotel was great - just outside the city walls of Obidos. Great gin cocktails, but very pricey. A nice area out the front to have a drink or read a book in the sunshine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were a wee bit pricey and hotel not set up to charge for mock-cocktails. Breakfast selections weren't consistent each day (missed out on the mini custard tarts on day two which was heartbreaking!) but was always yummy and fresh.

    Loved the room and the decor of the hotel. Fantastic cocktails. The dining room/bar area is wonderful to relax in. Love, love, LOVED this hotel. A truly unique stay. Definitely worth upgrading to the larger room type.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to improve on this hotel in Obidos.

    The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was truly amazing. I never wanted to leave! Breakfast was a bit pricey but really good- lots of choices and all homemade. The ambience of both the room and the shared spaces was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no way this hotel rates four stars: 1. Room cleaning was very poor. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly - hairs and lipstick marks still blatantly visible. Lavatory cistern with dirt all around the flush button, pedestal cracked and roughly repaired with a smear of glue or dirty silicone. We asked for the bathroom to be re-cleaned and all they did was throw around a lot of bleach - the hairs and lipstick smudges we had mentioned were still there. Pillow cases smelt used or at least musty. Plus, the bathroom stank of drains throughout our stay. The shower was feeble. The free toiletries were miserable and a bizarre sludge green colour. 2. WiFi was effectively non-existent (less than 50kb!!) in the bedroom (I had to use my mobile phone as a hotspot) and feeble in the common areas. 3. Parking was woeful. OK, so it's a small historic town - I get they don't have onsite parking. But I was waved off on a circuitous route to a scruffy, unsupervised public car park outside the town, 15 minutes walk from the hotel, nothing organised or properly supported. 4. The decor, other than the flagship dining room, is shoddy. The Literary Man theme is somewhat pathetically echoed in an open meeting room/sitting room with cheap, rough block-board prefabricated shelves half full of obviously off-loaded cheap paperbacks. The paperback books "charmingly" thrown around the rooms are irritating rather than charming with their completely random rather than literary choices. The furniture is mostly second rate - a cheap but failed attempt at a rustic look. Rustic and shoddy are very different and the hotel mostly errs on the second. 5. The horrible outside "terrace" in front of the hotel ruins an otherwise very nice old building - hefty lumps of plywood stitched together in stepped benches/tables with ugly peeling paint - I can't imagine how the town council off such a beautifully preserved site lets this go. 6.

    Excellent location. The dining room has a very pleasant decor. Delicious cakes available for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking a challenge but try for any hotels near walled city so worth it!

    Gorgeous place, quiet bc so few guests, lovely bar/library and fabulous tile bathrooms, no two rooms alike, fabulous location next to walled city location, goodbreakfast included

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we didn't sleep very well since we could hear a lot of noise from the guests in the room above ours. Probably some rooms are better than others.

    Beautiful location and facilities. The decor of the place is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom a little cramped , parking very difficult , best not to take a car into the village .

    Perfect location , very "different" decor , book shelves & books everywhere , very nice breakfast & comfortable restaurant , this property has a lot of interesting history . great walks start right outside the door all around the cobbled streets and around the castle , lots of quaint "shops" & plenty of restaurants to choose from , with three great golf courses not too far away .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that mars this hotel a bit is that the private bathroom inside the room doesn't have a door, but a flimsy curtain. This was very strange and not something we're used to.

    This boutique hotel has a lot of personality; it feels both comfy and quirky at the same time. We also dined here and the food was excellent. The location is great (to be fair, Obidos is so small it would be hard to find an hotel with a terrible location). Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A group just left. We didn't find anybody to give us directions on the breakfast. I asked at the kitchen and was helped well. Delicious cakes we found, besides the 'normal' items found for breakfast.

    The overall presentation: books everywhere! The hotel is very well-located to visit Obidos.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was indifferent to the guests I imagine they are over us as a whole. There isn't any parking for the hotel but the winding streets are free parking.. be forewarned though you want a small car as the streets were tiny!

    The location was fabulous right against the castle wall. The bed was so comfortable. The town is a gem but go out early before the tour busses arrive as the tiny town gets swamped mid-day! It is a darling hotel with tons of paperback books throughout the hallways.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was not that great and lacked variety

    Books all around - literally everywhere. Hospitality of the hotel colleagues was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom décor . Dark and oldfashioned bathroom

    Very confortable double bed. Good buffet breakfast, specially the range of bread, juice and jams. Thousands of books available for relaxing readers. Gin specialized bar. Complimentary gift for my birthday (Gin!)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obidos isn't necessary to stop for a night ..in 2 hours you can see it all so just pass by.. Too touristic area inside the city wall

    Great design concept hotel Beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom has a sliding curtain door which provides no privacy, there is no shower curtain and the bathroom has a weird smell. The room is basic and small,no place for luggage. I would not recommend staying here but the ambiance of the lounge is nice for a quick visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit 'too minimalist', specially the bathroom: not even one hanger for the towels, and I didn't like the lack of privacy of not having a door between room/toilet. The blankets were not wide enough for the size of the bed, when 2 people are inside it...

    I loved the literary concept and having books everywhere! The restaurant room with fireplace is very beautiful and cozy, a true must.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not too comfortable. Our supper of steak was just ok.

    The breakfast was yummy, loved the decor and books. Especially liked the selection of gin and the bartender was very personable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible Wi-fi, rooms feel like they need a remodeling, although the hotel is less than two years old. Some rooms feel like you're staying in a bunker. Quirky doesn't always mean good. Breakfast just average with no hot options except a ham and cheese mini-croissant. No electronic key cards. TV reception, although we had cable, was full of static noise interference. Rooms looked clean but certain details in bathroom made me question overall cleanliness, such as faucet chrome was not clean and shiny, toilet brush completely disgusting with brown stains on it. Chrome trash can full of fingerprints, instead of clean and shiny. And we stayed in a suite!

    Quirky hotel full of books. But upon closer inspection a lot of the books are very old romance novels, same novels repeated over and over, or completely uninteresting books (Marxism and its socio-economic impact on catholicism). Great location. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above - we were misled into booking as website said only one room available. So I quickly booked - when we got to hotel we discovered it was empty and so no eveninf restaurant open We booked

    No breakfast on property included even though when we booked we thought it was advertised in rate They only upgraded our room after we complained because first room was sub - par No door on bathroom Otherwise property was great and room we got on upgrade was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere in the hotel and the decor are original and delighful. Sitting in the main library by the fire, enjoying a glass of wine with other guests, surrounded by thousands of books - is a delightful and unique hotel experience - highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold on arrival and it never warmed up.

    Breakfast was great....! A very special place with lovely decoration. Special mention to the restaurant bar...very original.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant. We had dinner and unfortunately the dishes arrived cold. We asked then to heat it and came back cold as before. However, they didn't charge for it.

    The decoration was amazing! We loved the atmosphere at the hotel, that matched the city's

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a real challenge at this facility. It is first come, first served, and the locals (very understandably) are not too keen on monitoring that you don't park in their space. Some advanced suggestions from the hotel would be beneficial. Second, our room was very smelly (like sewage). This was a major turn-off frm an otherwise uniquely themed hotel.

    Cozy lounging area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are decorated with palettes and you get splinters if you touch them. There are no hooks in the bathroom no bed site tables no paintings just very cold and uncomfortable. The room was dirty and the bathroom was obviously not cleaned . We were very cold at night as the AC blows some hot air to the ceiling but the room stays very cold. In the room of our kids the cable of the TVs was broken. Breakfast is very poor and the service is not kind nor greets you. All beautiful historical parts of the old convent are covered with pallets and books the painted tiles and arches are hidden behind it which is such a shame. On the pictures the hotel seemed nicer but in reality it was a big disappointment!!! The prices are much to high and this is certainly not a 4 star hotel!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic rooms

    Special place, as all our family like books, it was great to stay inside such an old library, very different. The staff was very nice and the city was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Find the parking area and we waited 10 minutes to recepcionist hang up the phone during check-in procedure

    Hotel and room design were impressive. Breakfast was very good. We had dinner and it was really so good. Well done chef...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could have a bit more fruit.

    amazing service. Diogo was an amazing host! Original concept and great vibe! amazing location. The (very) complete Gin bar is a fantastic extra touch! Will come back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our favorite hotel in all of Portugal. The staff was amazing, all the books everywhere was incredible. Our favorite part of the hotel was definitely the Gin bar! The bartender has officially converted us to gin drinkers. He convinced to try it and if you're going you should let him convince you too!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a little spartan. Wi-fi was touchy in the guest rooms, although fine in the lobby area.

    Unique, book-filled boutique hotel experience. The staff was very friendly, helping with some travel issues we had. It is located just outside the wall, so you are able to drive directly to the hotel and park nearby. Lovely breakfast buffet included.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: