Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Parque do Rio 3 stars

Caminho Padre Manuel Sá Pereira, 4744-908 Esposende, Portugal

#13 of 28 hotels in Esposende

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 926 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was beautiful and in the National Park. However, it was not very close to any restaurants, even though according to googlemaps many existed. Perhaps they had closed recently.

    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's transitioning so it has skeleton but for the money good value. Pool has 2.5 meter diving board.

    It has a nice feel. It's going through changes but is an architectural designed place. While not 'perfect' it's a tranquil spot and is a short deviation from traditional camino coastal but it a better route through pine forest. As it's a peninsular it peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the Interior Design of the Hotel. The windows shutters can cover 100% of the daylight unlike most of the other hotels where I stayed in the past. And the Restaurant is Excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is old and tired. Staff were not very friendly and the restaurant service was abominable. I cannot recommend this hotel and was very disappointed.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet in the rooms is far from perfect. I tried to make a couple of business calls via viber from the room without a notable success. The administrator said, that it is due to a large number of visitors, buy advertising said, that internet is constantly fast and stable. And it is far from the truth. But if you really need the internet connection, you can sit in the main hall where the connection is much more fast and stable

    Nice hotel with comfortable and clean rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They solved all our questions with no delay. Really nice beaches and sceneries in close vicinity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel room a bit small and badly maintained, no eggs for breakfast. No wifi in the room (though it should work) No bar service around the pool.

    The marvellous swimming pool and the design/architecture of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more casual dining option would have been nice as there weren't many restaurants in the area. Hotel restaurant was okay, but quite formal and pricey for everyday.

    Lovely pool area and peaceful location. Very near the beach and a pleasant walk to it. Great retro style hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are tired and dated , which really let down the hotel as the common spaces are interesting and stylish. Some of the staff were a little surly.

    The building was beautiful,stylish and quirky. The bar upstairs was airy,light and stylish. The swimming pool was really big

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire Hotel including room and especially the bathrooms need a serious upgrade! Please take out that old carpet asap. "germs"

    The bed was comfortable and the receptionist was amazing. Pool is nice and the surroundings are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very poor value for money. The property has not been updated - the toilet does not flush well, the sink does not drain well. The floor tiles in the bathroom are worn. It boasts a plasma TV which in the end only has Portuguese TV - not what I expect of a 4 star hotel. In addition we were told either the pool bar or the terrace bar would be open and on two out of five evenings we tried to go to one of the bars and neither was open. Disappointing.

    Location and the pool area. Terrace bar. Easy parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great to have a swimming pool although the water was a bid cold. The beach is very close to the hotel but still a few minutes walk. The wifi was spotty.

    The staff was great and extremely helpful. The breakfast was also wonderful especially the fruit ! The location is calm and pretty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some, unavoidable, noisy kids (and parents) around the beautiful swimming pool. The building is somewhat is need of a refurbishment but still woozes its original 60's charm.

    Wonderful nature setting in a gem of 60's architecture. Being in a nature reserve close to the sea makes it the perfect place to relax, the restaurant 'Papa Amoras' is fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has not changed much over the last 40 years which is kind of nice, but an update is needed. The bathroom had no ventilation so it smelled badly. The kitchen in the room was not in function.

    Good breakfast with nice view over the river. Nice pool with few people in it. The service was good and staff was helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu at the restaurant was too fancy and didn't have all the dishes. The diversity was weak. At the end I took a kid's burger which wasn't good. Better to go eat out of the hotel!

    The room has space and the mattress is comfortable. The bathroom is great. Nice balcony as well and a great breeze.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Posh restaurant (small portions very well prepared with a hint of aristocracy) that is not my type of shoes if someone cannot explain what I am having. Portuguese clients seemed to be happy with the waitress. I was expecting more of a Premier inn style hotel and it actually reminded me Polish hotels from the late 80ies that are long gone and nonexistent.

    13-20th of June 2017 A bit dated but very quiet on the beginning of June only more busy in a Portuguese bank holiday weekend but during the week we were sometimes the only once at the pool. Close to the beach that is completely empty during the week. See was cold and refreshing how I like it. Staff very helpful although in a restaurant they did not speak any English and had no menu (even in Portuguese). I would still recommend it because of the beautiful surroundings, paths behind the hotel that are very good for cycling and jogging with the beautiful view of the river and the ocean. Piotr

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The distance mentioned is not correct. It is at least 4 km from the city centre. The accommodation is clean, but is outdated. Rooms were clean but did not smell fresh, maybe because it was early in the season. The hotel is very difficult to find.

    Breakfast was good, personnel was friendly and helpful. Only for the beach it is a good location as this is close and widely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The quite park setting was amazing, as we're the staff and their helpful manners - wanting to make your stay the best! Loved the pool area - all very relaxing and convenient walking distance to beach, restaurants and other amenities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location! You´ve got the sea on one side and the river on the other side. Located in an old pine forest in a national park it is very peaceful and perfect to relax and when you are done baking in the sun on the beach you will appreciate a spot in the shade of the pine trees. The rooms are charming with everything you will need and big balconies. Ask for the Clarinhas de Fao, a special pastry of the area. Take a stroll into town on the wooden walkways while watching the birds. I loved every minute of my stay there. A special thanks to Paula at reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to find when coming after dark.

    Great location, inside a fairy tale forest close to the ria and the beach. A little architectonic treasure completely built and equipped from the 70s and very well kept. Very friendly staff. The bar was open for us although we were the only guests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of maintenance, the fact that part of the hotel park has been sold to private houses. Degradation of the overall building and surroundings. Poor breakfast. It's really a shame I used to know the hotel when I was a kid and they could have kept it's charm if proper maintenance had been done. They still have amazing architectural and decoration details.

    Amazing location, architecture from the 70's that has once been great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is 5.5 km from the main resort town of Esposende so it was very inconvenient for us without a car. The nearest bus service is in the village of Fao but this connects to major cities like Porto and Braga. Taxi service is available to/from Esposende at a cost of 5 to 8 euros one way. The hotel and the general Ofir area are rather run down and could do with some major rejuvenation.

    Although the hotel was not busy when we visited, our evening meal in the restaurant and the service were excellent. The buffet breakfast had lots of choice though there were no hot options. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful, especially when we decided to check out one day early because of the inconvenient location. If you just want to stay on the Ofir peninsula, there are some nice Atlantic coast beach walks and a very pleasant wildlife-viewing boardwalk connecting the hotel area to the village of Fao about 2 km away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    t is a shame that everything is not maintained very well. Hotel needs massive refurbishment. Not very clean.

    Great 70s design. Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose accommodation that does not allow pets. Shame it is situated right next to residental properties. All seemed to have dogs and they pretty much barked all day long. One house was right next to the pool and the dog barked the whole time I sat by the pool. Not very relaxing

    Lovely setting in the Forrest. Great pool. Beach so close. Dinner very special with five star silver service and so reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel needs to be renovated, the rooms are used up and smelling bad. There is no comfort for a four Stars Hotel. The Hotel is very noisy, The breakfast is very poor, the room to small. Talking English is a bit difficult. It is a pitty, the place is a treasure, but not in a standard for the year 2016.

    The Place and Position - Ofir is a nice place to be!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel floors have a terrible mouldy smell and so do the rooms. The hotel is run down and badly in need of renovation. The breakfast buffet is of the worst possible quality. The only wholesome option being fruit, which was not all ripe. Every day exactly the same breakfast. Orange juice and eggs not included. Management and staff have no eye for detail nor their customer (except the lady behind the desk).

    Lady at reception was friendly. Close to beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't very nice. The hotel looked ancient and the food was overpriced. We were planing on staying 2 nights, we just stood there for one night. I don't get how they have 4 stars.

    The location. Is near the beach. Also the pool looked very nice, but we didn't try it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool table needs new cues and a re setting. But other than that, we loved everything!

    The design was outstanding! So glad this master peice has been preserved.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was available only on the ground floor, but this was to be only a temporar condition.

    Quiet facility, very close to the Atlantic, however, rechable best by car.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant; very poor breakfast. Hotel in need of refurbishment.

    Lovely large salt water swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALL GOOD

    OLD ATMOSPHERE

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Architectural style and decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants or cafes nearby

    Location is good .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesnt work

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed like concrete, i suspect its a hotel not long till it closes, so lacks investment

    Sadly nothing to recommend about it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelled like fish

    Friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    equipment very old, hotel needs to be renoveted

    place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel, beautiful vintage furniture! Quiet secluded area, pool fantastic! Beach walking distance great! Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi did not working at all.

    nice staff,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The retro feel very clean beautiful setting value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit dated.

    beautiful setting

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never been in a 4* Hotel and had to pay extra for breakfast egg

    Nice 60´s Style with friendly personal, close to the beach and big pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost empty hotel but we have got room with view on technical equipment.

    Big pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything

    It has been the worst hotel I have ever been to. Can't still believe is a 4 stars!!! disgusting and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design do Hotel e da Piscina

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice retro feel and still very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel whilst clean, is very dated and in need of some restoration and decorattion work, particularly the outside.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was difficult to find the place. However, we were on the Camino and we were on foot.

    A retro style hotel, a Scandinavian favour, we really liked the layout. Rooms were large and well kept. Gustavos was incredibly helpful in locating our lost luggage and even stayed after his shift to make sure the luggage had arrived. A good dinner but the serving staff was a bit aloof. Then again, their English was limited. Nice terrace for drinks and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly a little/inaccessible from town and not too easy to find as there are no signs to it until you are there.

    On the edge of a nature reserve. Good restaurant. Easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is poor but complete. It's ok when you stay one or two nights. If you stay longer, you get sick of eating exactly the same things each morning. You get musli, scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, melon, watermelon and two types of cake. EXACTLY the same each morning. Coffee quality should be also improved. Poor wi-fi range and speed.

    Hotel location is great. Between the ocean and the river in a pine forest. It has big swimming pool and also a small one for children. Beautiful beach is just 5 min walk from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we went to bed, load music started playing at a nearby nightclub. The music played on loudly through the night until 6am! We went there because it looked like an idyllic location in a portugese national park, thinking we would get a very nice peaceful break. Unfortunately, this isn't what it says on the tin and I would plea to anyone who is thinking of booking this hotel, to think again and not touch it with a barge pole! Luckily, we was allowed to check out the following day and a have a refund on the rest of our stay so we could go and buy another hotel for the remainder of our stay in northern portugal. Apparently, we was not the only ones! I challenge booking.com to send there chief executive there for a night/day and experience what we did. It is only worth one of its stars and nowhere near the 4 stars it is apparently rated. Never in a million years is this hotel worth 80euros a night!

    This hotel is a massive let down and I wouldn't tell my worst enemy to go there. The pictures that are shown are totally false images. The pool is not kept to a high clean standard. The room we stayed in had dodgy electrics from the 60's- we simply didn't like anything about it!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Very old building/facilities/furniture - Lack of maintenance in the building/facilities - Lack of privacy in the outside area (other people without being hosted in the hotel were able to attend the pool and garden)

    - Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast very poor, Squash for orange, very poor coffee, no facilities in room on arrival i.e. no cups. The hotel was very dated and in need of complete refurbishment.

    Friendliness of the receptionist

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area has blasting dance beats most of the day at 120 beats per minute at high volume, unavoidable even inside the hotel. Hotel guests are driven away. Pool is not maintained and hotel is poorly looked after

    Estalagem. 60s architectural gem. In pine forest by the atlantic ocean.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The traditional restaurant was terrible (probably the worst I've been to). No background music (sometimes you could hear something but most of the time it was pure silence). The menu choices were very poor and the food as well. Most of the wines were unavailable and they didn't even had a wine list at the time. There was lot's of noise during the night from the neighbouring disco.

    The rooms are great. The location is really good and the pool is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loud music every day by the pool in the Summer season gets a little wearisome if staying more than a few days. Hotel is a little unsure of its customer base as music attracts local young people in hoardes that can be a bit off putting for hotel residents who in early July were mainly families

    Loved the beautiful area, swimming pool really lovely, great friendly and helpful staff and loved the 1960's architecture.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The loud obnoxius music by the pool from 10 AM till at least 8 PM drove me crazy. There was no escaping it, because I could also hear it in my room. The staff were nice enough to find me a room on the opposite side of the hotel. I felt like a family hotel was trying to be a partyhotel as well. It just didn't work.

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very good nice and quiet place

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The kitchenette was a bit hopeless - a kettle but no cups etc

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice pool, easy walk to town and miles of beach

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great pool & Grounds.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place needs redecoration

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Group

    Undercooked poultry! Patchy Wi-Fi. Credit card machine broken. In need of TLC.

    Nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice outdoor pool. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good staff and very quiet

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi and heating weren't great.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location is very relaxing.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67