Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alentejo Star Hotel - Sao Domingos / Mertola - Duna Parque Group 4 stars

Rua Dr. Vargas, Mina de Sao Domingos, 7750-171 Minas de São Domingos, Portugal

#3 of 3 hotels in Minas de São Domingos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1040 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.5
    This hotel is a fraud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The global atmosphere is cheap and cold. This is an old fashioned and diying hotel. Walking on the corridors looks like walking in a hospital with dirty lino on the floor - The bed/matress is a nightmare, never experienced such a rigid one - The TV is a 90s TV - You take bottle of waters in the mini bar, 2 days after nobody refill it with other bottles (it was 38 degrees celsius) - The swimming pool has too much chlorine (or is dirty) as you can not see your feet when entering in it. The bar of the swimming pool is always closed - We chose this hotel for its sky observatory. But we were told that the technician could not come for personal reasons (have a look at other comments on internet, the hotel seems to always find a good reason not to give access to the observatory) - There is very little staff. You don’t feel like there is a real team available to make you enjoy your stay. We were such disappointed that we booked, in addition to the Alentejo Star (reservation not refundable), another more cosy hotel to really enjoy a couple of days. This hotel is a fraud. It’s a 1-star and definitely not a 4-star hotel, and that’s the problem. We wrote an email to a top executive of the hotel to give our feedbacks, we had no answer... I think you can find nicest hotels or agri turismo in the region with much more charm and authenticity

    The region is beautiful (Mertola, Serpa, the landscape). But nothing about the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Good, but it could be better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are decent, although there may be some improvements - for instance, the TV system needs to be urgently reviewed, with a poor channel selection and a daunting image quality. Also the wi-fi access system of the hotel is somewhat poorly implemented - a login and password for each of the devices that connect to the Internet - does not make any sense. The swimming pool is great... it has a bar too - but it's closed?!? (you have a bell to call someone to serve you a drink on the pool). The hotel has an observatory, but it only opens on saturdays - and you need at least a group of 6 persons and you have to pay a fee. For those fitness fans, the hotel as a above average gym... which is great! Dinner is overpriced, in particularly what they charge for the drinks. Check-in and checkout times, need to be reviewed - there's no option for late checkout, for instance. It also looks the hotel has some lack of staff - however existing staff is great and helpful.

    The hotel location is great, right next to the Mina de São Domingos river beach. The surrounding spaces on the hotel are great and also the inside areas are amazing. There are some surrounding areas that deserve a visit. The breakfast is good, with some variety, although some of things need to be improved. All in all, it is a good hotel to stay for a couple of nights and to enjoy some relaxing moments.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Sao Domingos hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4**** hotel In the bedroom: -could/should have a flat TV. -better lighting in the bathrooms. In the Restaurant: -when dining (included in pack), you have to lay your full table, collect general buffet and choose from 2 main courses with additional cost, it is not understandably. We knew drinks were chargeable. In the Reception/Check-in: -quite strange having to pay twice, checking-in and checking-out (due to the extras/drinks.

    The location, The hotel space. The room/bed. The swimming pool. Across the street a beautiful inland beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Excelent price/quality relation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small town. Nothing to do or see around.

    Excelent price/quality relation. The hotel is beatifull. Great amenities (swiming pool, gym). Perfect place to relax, calm and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    It's super nice hotel in quiet area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's super nice hotel in quiet area. Great pool area and comfy beds. Everything was great. We didn't use any restaurants in the area but there is few of them in addition to the one in the hotel. FinnsAway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could've had a top mattress, it was rather hard (and I normally use fairly hard mattresses).

    Accommodating staff, nice pool area, spacious room. Everything was clean. Lovely house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice for a weekend visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet dinner was awful, very disappointing. We wanted to eat in the better restaurant but it was not open. Nowhere particularly good for dinner close by, although the cafe/restaurant opposite the hotel entrance was ok. The bed was incredibly hard. Some maintenance issues in our room- sticky tape marks all over the windows and one of the wardrobes had scratched the wooden floor badly. Both so easy to fix!

    Interesting location in a disused copper mine village. Fascinating history, had no idea about it as it does not seem to be in any guide books?? Beautiful lake and gardens. Hotel had nice pool and play area for children. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Negatives - We booked a romantic package that included 1 night, double bed, half board (Dinner and Breakfast). We got - Twin bed (even after I had specifically asked for double during booking), buffet dinner (no worries but,) there was 5 pieces of pork ribs left to share between me and my partner, dinner service started at 8pm, we were there for 8:30pm. Credit to the staff, they resolved both issues (Bed and dinner) but expectations just were not met.

    Positives - The location is really good. The staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking in went very smoothly. Staff efficient and welcoming. After that it all went downhill. We asked several times for an evening meal menu and we were repeatedly told it was not ready. In the early evening we sat on the terrace near to the restaurant and after about 15 mins eventually a young man took an order for drinks. After that my husband had to search him out each time he wanted another order. The bar area was unmanned. We asked when the restaurant was opening after still being unable to get a copy of the menu. He told us 8pm. Another lady turned up to serve at a small cafe area at the back of the restaurant at 8pm and said we could not eat as we had not booked. Im not sure how one can book a meal without seeing the menu. It seemed very odd as no one ate that evening and to be honest I dont think the hotel had any intention of cooking for anyone. I complained to the manager the following day following a breakfast of cold egg and bacon and cold milk for the coffee, My husband had to switch on the heat to the coffee pot and I had to ask a waitress to turn the hot tray for the cooked food. which was cold. I have to say its the worse hotel I have ever stayed at. We had booked two days, but left after the first night so I could get something decent to eat in nearby Mertola. A bit of advice to bar and restaurant staff you should be available at the point of service not wandering around the hotel, so that guests have to constantly look for you to order drinks or food. The hotel itself is beautiful in beautiful surroundings, but unfortunately there was no one at home.

    pleasant scenery, hotel is in a lovely setting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.6
    Stressfull room with a relaxing pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the cleanliness wasnt very good because sheets from the beds werent changed like they needed, there were ants in the room... pré historic TV's, some channels dont appear everyday.

    Nice pool and temperature of the room, the staff were nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Needs more staff presence,but relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold eggs,bacon,stale bread,no staff around to help.worst service of 4 star for thus service.sad

    The pool area was relaxing,close to beach and lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing Alentejo stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I haven't seen crt tv set for years... should be replaced for lcd.

    Very good breakfast and buffet dinner (with vegetarian options). Quiet and green surroundings. Comfy bed. Absolutely best value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to take some days out of the everyday city mess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is short-staffed, while this did not actually afected our stay in a negative way, it was clear that more staff would be a positive change, as it would allow for a faster service all-around.

    The room was Big and confortable, hidro-massage tub was a big plus. The pool area was beautifull with enough pool beds to suit every guest in house. The breakfast and dinner were really good, lots of choice, and great flavour on everything. The sfaff was really helpfull and ready to help upon request. The location is great.. perfect little paradise!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    a formerly good hotel not managed well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant quality was poor, also the stuff was not attentive. I had the impression the staff was trying to hide from the guests? Also the pool bar was not open. Staff just did not make you feel welcome.

    the size of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Really nice hotel, perfect for a few days of total relaxation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The hotel is clearly understaffed - there is no one at reception between 0h00 and 8h00; 2) the swimming pool bar was closed, and guests had to get their drinks form the main bar (which was unattended 99% of the time; 3) all things breakfast: room was hot, products kept running out or were always missing (and had to actually repeatedly ask staff for more bread or cheese or lactose free milk...), and lacked variety and authenticity (in a region famous for the cheese, the ham or the jam - everything felt and tasted like "plane food"). It was very disappointing!

    Staff is really nice and everyone makes an effort to accomodate your needs. The swimming pool area is exquisite; taking breakfast out on the porch overlookng the garden was absolutely lovely; we were able to gaze at a wonderfully starred sky and watch a shower of shooting stars (they have an observatory in the hotel and on saturday nights they conduct guided star-gazing sessions); the location - there's a beach nearby which is equipped with all amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Improvement since last year, but a long way to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No service at the pool whatsoever in August with temperatures over 40C. The pool bar was permanently closed, and you had to go inside the hotel to find someone to get you water/any other drinks. There is an opportunity for better service and extra money for the hotel if they open the pool bar at least in core summer months. Previously the stargazing was every weekend and free with no minimum booking, now it's Sat only, 10Eur per room and you must have 6 people = almost impossible to get this organised... Again another lost opportunity for stellar experience. It got better, but still a long way to go to a 4 * service

    The staff and service has vastly improved since our last year's visit. River beach was great as usual.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    A must go place. All positive !! BEAUTIFUL ALENTEJO
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! Everything was great ...just gonna have a tiny grumble that there wasn't a little kettle in the room for a cuppa tea but I'm British so 😉😂😂 Anyways, nothing major. Great place! Beautiful surroundings!!!

    The property itself is in a great location if you're after peace and quiet. Little supermarket down the road for you basics. Cafe across the road for your cuppas; hot and cold beverages. Staff at hotel are very friendly and always accomodating to your needs. Mertola is about 15min drive and a great neighbour city to visit ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    We had stayed there before and loved to stay there again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had stayed there before and loved to stay there again this year and can definitely recommend it. The staff were excellent. The hotel is starting to need a "face lift" but overall it is really nice hotel in a lovely corner of Portugal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice location in nice quiet region, price-quality ratio was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were in the same hotel four years ago and the all-round quality has decreased. The rooms were not well cleaned and the beds are too hard. The pool was only accessible after 10 am and there were too few poolbeds. This hotel has a lot of potential but is outdated and lacks maintenance.

    Nice location in nice quiet region, price-quality ratio was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel and location for our mini-break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing that we didn't like!

    This hotel was perfect for our 3 night mini-break. Clean hotel. Superb location. Great pool. Very handy for the river beach. Hotel restaurant very good plus 2 or 3 local restaurants nearby. Staff are very obliging.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Fairly average, but could be really nice with a few tweaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and bed rather hard. No nice seating areas in the beautiful gardens that were in the shade. Inner courtyard looked inviting but seats covered with bird droppings.Too few staff.

    Hotel grounds and public areas were very good. Good breakfast, although no breakfast tea in amongst lots of infusions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    All is perfect beyond my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All is perfect beyond my expectations. Friendly staffs. Nice pool and balcony. Clean and spacious room. Bathroom so big! Love the design of the hotel very classy while still keep old touch of history. Old furniture are displayed on aisles and well preserved. The restaurant just outside of the hotel is a surprise. We ordered pork ribs and meat very juicy and tender, delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast was acceptable, the property and area are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and outdoors lacking updates and poorly maintained, ants everywhere, pool was not clean and ready to use, tv was outdated, staff didnt speak english, astronomy observatory closed "due to weather conditions" but all day were sunny and sky was completely clear during day and night.

    Breakfast was acceptable, the property and area are beautiful and historically interesting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Very very relaxing, just a lovely hotel and environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very uninteresting, and the bacon and eggs not very good at all. Coffee was excellent though.......... Food at dinner wasn,t the greatest, perfectly acceptable but could be improved upon.

    Just loved the whole environment. The staff at the hotel were excellent and so very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 20 year old (?) portable tv in the cupboard. I would normally expect a newer flat-screen in a 4 star hotel..... Use of the telescope wasn't possible as there was no technician available to operate it, except on weekends. It seems you have to contact them to say you'd like to use it on weekdays. However, - they did apologize, and gave us both a complimentary breakfast voucher to make up for it! :)

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful area. Big room. Nice grounds, gardens, and swimming pool. Great price!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Good relaxing break in lovely surroundings. Overall a really good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that the hotel could control, but the local facilities (restaurants, cafes, grocery facilities) were truly dire (virtually non-existent). The village of Mina de São Domingos is a bit bleak, we did not really like that. Hotel restaurant is a bit expensive. Approach road from Almodõvar/ Mértola really dreadful, definitely recommended to use alternative.

    Quiet, comfortable, beautiful surroundings (lake, woods etc) with good walking, interesting historical mining site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good accommodatie bad restaurant, very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very very bad

    Good rooms, clean and tidy. Worst restaurant ever for dinner ( worst we ever had in Portugal. Codfish swimmimng in oil ( pictured) spaghetti was made with ketchup. Kids did not even lirestaurant looks like it iz very high standard, but i prefer the Mac Donalds ( i don t like Mc Donalds) ke their hamburgers ( rare red Meat even after backing it again they did not like it) waiter was a very nice man, het felt awful. I recommended to stay, breakfast is ok. Dont have dinner!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Quiet and beautiful location. Out of the way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegan option in restaurant and food quality not good. Observatory was closed, not functioning. Outside pool water too cold to use

    Quiet. Mining history of town. Hiking trails. Price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.8
    Owners gave us a bottle of plonk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this as a Romantic break with stargazing and dinner and upgraded room. The observatory does not open til July. They do not reply to emails: when I emailed asking for confirmation that stargazing was on I received no reply after 9 days. As the offer was on Booking.com, I booked thinking you would have checked. FIRST BIG MISTAKE! They did not read booking form from Booking.com which stated I have an allergy to garlic - the set menu was chilli! Hotel owners in restaurant amended the menu - lucky they were dining there! Our "romantic" room was situated above the gym. It was dark. Huge party of young athletic men doing weightlifting etc early in morning and late at night therefore our "romantic" room was very noisy. No cushions on garden seats as too early in season. Whole stay was a huge disappointment. You should take that offer off your website as it is NOT AVAILABLE!

    Owners gave us a bottle of plonk. We were only staying one night!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had red carpet attention. The weather was very cold and to come in and see a big beautiful wood burning fire was lovely. Looking forward to a return visit

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with friendly staff, well heated room (January and only guest) and my best breakfast of cycling holiday. Restaurant personnel was on annual leave but an acceptable alternative was at 200 m.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    Quiet peaceful just for a weekend visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the observatory did not speak English, did not have much idea on how far star constellations was away

    Comfort, quiet amazing renovated manor house modern but full of character could do with indoor pool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Great swimming pool and overall facilities
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic pillows and noise produced by cleaning staff in the corridors

    Great swimming pool and overall facilities

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.0
    Good but they have to change the beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to uncomfortable for a 4 star hotel

    Staff very good, facilities were good and the place was very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally the beds were a little too firm for our taste.

    Very clean, beautiful location and great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Peaceful place near the river beach and with a good swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds instead of a twin bed.

    Peaceful place near the river beach and with a good swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Do design do hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Do design do hotel Da piscina e jardim

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities disappointed. Hotel needs renovation and more staff. No air conditioned at the reception.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Very nice and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice and quiet hotel. The staff is very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in woodland surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was perfect!

    Great Breakfast. Woodland Location. Friendly locals bar with great restaurant. Helpful staff. Beautiful Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    The buffet (dinner) deserves some improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet (dinner) deserves some improvements. Food was a bit cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    OK Hotel. Decoration must be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dated and the decoration is not the best one :)

    The view of the lake is quite interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    It was peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated TV no USB to view my photos

    Location by the lakes fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Lovely really enjoyed every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The First hotel was not as good as Hotel D Alcoutim that was excellent with better beds etc views over the river were great and the poo are fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are hard and uncomfortable

    Lovely quiet area. Great old building with a large swimming pool and a lake with beach opposite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Full relax outside Mértola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A oasis right in the middle of nowhere, 20 min away from Mértola, perfect for relaxation. Excellent dinner, complete breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff was good but bad manager
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad manager

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms, great bathrooms, kids loved the cake breakfast selection. Library and games room beutiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is the best part of its town from my perspective
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is pretty dismal

    Overall great experience - food food food loved it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Suited us for one night passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in bath Pillows Lumpy

    Quiet location. Private balcony and large

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception on check out slightly slow

    We did the mine trail from Minhas to Pomarao 17km which was a lovely stroll

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Great experience yet again, returning guest with recommends to friends who also enjoyed their stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    French Fries on the buffet could have been hotter.

    Totally relaxing, rooms great, staff brilliant, tasty food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Pillows of the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows of the bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    A hidden paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited offer in the restaurant

    Staff was very friendly , good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    A very peaceful and relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the TV in the room is really out of fashion. Should have a flat screen..

    The garden and the pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    The environment, the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    The environment, the staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Hotel helps makes Minas de Sao Domingos a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value but food (breakfast and dinner) poor

    Lovely room, position of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent helpful receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar was closed

    Excellent helpful receptionist

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    5.0
    OK for a cheap deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Neglected staff. Big construction works next to the hotel. Nothing of the promised equipement was available.

    OK for a cheap deal. Good location next to the mines which offer nice walks.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.1
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This used to be a very friendly hotel but is less so under the new owners. Within 60 seconds of arriving we were asked to pay the bill and then subjected to a speech about the company's other hotels in Milfontes. Also, while I appreciate that the hotel was very quiet the reception desk was never manned. Aside from the housekeeping staff a single individual seemed to be running the establishment. At 198 euros for 2 nights out of season it seemed expensive and was markedly more so than in previous years.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.2
    The dining room & fireplace were spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dining room & fireplace were spectacular. The rooms comfortable. The industrial heritage was fascinating & the old mining village second to none. Food on the whole very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    Most Everything, food on the whole was excellent however one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too cold in the main hotel Loby Bar and restaurant, (winter in (portugal). Room was warm with individual controls,but TV was only in German, French, and Portugese! ,

    Most Everything, food on the whole was excellent however one piece of steak was tough!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.9
    Comfortable room, clean, nice bathroom, lovely garden &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    though the mine museum is interesting, the very small village is depressing. Even 50 yrs after closure of the mine you still sense the suppression and economic abuse of the local population. Time & development stood still !

    Comfortable room, clean, nice bathroom, lovely garden & terrace to enjoy, good breakfast. A quiet location, great to relax for 1-2 days.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The half board dinner choices were very poor we were offerred fried bread and cubed pork or Bacalao. These are poor mans rustic dishes, but should not be offered on a tourist menu.

    The staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, beautiful surrondings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice looking beds, but we both collided with the bed legs and hurt our toes. Matrasses too hard for max comfort.

    Excellent location, beautiful surrondings. Interesting mining history. Helpful and smiling staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    The hotel is the former HQ of a mining company (British?)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV a bit ancient

    The hotel is the former HQ of a mining company (British?) who built the village, church etc. The old mining cottages are still there and occupied. The hotel has been modernised but many of the public rooms are original with the original beautiful furniture; the library is a treasure house of books from the beginning of the 20th century including all the mining engineering manuals. Absolutely fascinating. The village is well worth an explore and the former mining excavations now a popular beauty spot and swimming venue for the locals with a café etc and even a beach! Surrounding countryside is gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Staff is great, competent and very discrete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For me breakfast was fine, but it is only point that is not as above of it's class as everything else.

    Staff is great, competent and very discrete! If you would like to spend few calm days with your loved one this is perfect place!!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.3
    staff very pleasant and helpfull, wonderful view from room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV in keeping with the museum pieces in the hallways which where more interesting, lack of information in the room regarding the hotel and local aminities.

    staff very pleasant and helpfull, wonderful view from room of lake, clean and tidy, wi-fi good most of the time.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    A lovely hotel away from major cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit limited.

    A lovely hotel away from major cities. Beautiful surroundings, hotel staff helpful, room very comfortable. We had a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    the kindness of the staff, the hotel is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the kindness of the staff, the hotel is lovely. good and quiet swimming pool. excelent breakfast. rooms weel keeped and silent. Good hotel, and place, to stay a few days

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    location and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we asked for a double / king bed - given 2 single beds. Bed vet hard and uncomfortable. We asked for downed duvets and pillows when we booked. We got a blue blanket! Hard pillows. Pictures of hotel misrepresents the grounds.

    location and dinner Staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent hotel. Huge rooms and bathrooms and a beautiful balcony. The breakfast was exceptional and the staff very helpful and friendly.and all at a great price! Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful staff, tranquil location for restful weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi in rooms is available but poor.

    Very helpful staff, tranquil location for restful weekend. Price/quality of food/location staff is very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Gorgeous location - I wish we had better weather and could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a good experience overall. We borrowed the bikes which were poor quality and rusty. Pillows were not very soft. Bed was hard.

    Gorgeous location - I wish we had better weather and could have used the pool. The lake is lovely. Being next to the mines was also very interesting and fun day excursion. Breakfast was simple and good.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.8
    The hotel itself is spacious and airy with lots of outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the bed and pillows very hard, my husband didn't!

    The hotel itself is spacious and airy with lots of outside areas. We had a superior room with high ceilings, in the old part of the hotel. Sao Domingos is a small town with many industrial archaeological buildings to explore and the surrounding area is very appealing to a Brit - lavender growing on the hillsides, olive groves and storks nesting on the mine chimneys.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: