Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Estalagem do Mar 3 stars

Juncos - Fajã da Areia, 9240-210 São Vicente, Portugal

#13 of 21 hotels in São Vicente

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We used additional blankets from the wardrobe and I was alergic to something in them. Seems they were laying there and catching dust and mites for who knows how long. There is also outside artificial light in the night, which was a bit disturbing and we couldn't sleep with courtains open... which would be perfect solution given stunning ocean view.

    Ocean view from most (all?) rooms is fabulous. Hotel is situated on a beach, just behind steep clif and has a view on a bay. You hear nothing but an ocean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were a bit monotous, but included very good scrumbled eggs which is fine enough. Perfect place to relax, admire the ocean, read, think and really really rest. During our stay, part of the hotel was under renovation, but it wasn't disturbing at all; on the contrary, there were not many people around due to liimted number of rooms available and we had this amazing place almost for ourselves.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As vistas .a limpeza.a decoracao.a tranquilidade

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Everything the location is breathe taking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of internet in the bedrooms.

    Indoor pool and the sea view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel was undergoing refurbishment at the time, which was just being finished

    The Location, Value for Money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tudo foi bom.

    Bom serviço e disponibilidade do staff, o pequeno almoço bom, 100% recomendado.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our 10th time there, sad to see that lack of external maintenance is hiding the true beauty of the building.

    Proximity to sea

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was just average. There was something strange with the taste of hot drinks.

    The position of the hotel was very good. We appreciated free Wi-Fi and free parking. Both indoor and outdoor swimming pool was amazing. We had great view from the room on the pool, sea and cliffs. The all staff was very kind and helpful. We enjoyed outdoor seating.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was poor, and got extremely repetitive after a couple of days. The room was extremely humid (took several days for a pair of jeans and shoes to dry) and the AC wasn't helping much. It was also quite cold in the corridors. The north side of the island is also not great for the winter, but that's not the hotel's fault. The indoors pool was a bit cold, the jacuzzi was quite poor and the sauna was off/too cold.

    The location of the hotel is great - right next to a good road leading to Funchal, with reasonably easy access to other places. Right on the coast, good view of the ocean from our room. The staff was generally very helpful, though the barman's English was not great. There is free WiFi - only available near the reception, but it is free. The outside pool looks great, though it was too cold for us to use in February

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything :)

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Browse Estalagem do Mar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: