Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta Jardins do Lago 5 stars

Rua Dr. João Lemos Gomes nº29, Sao Pedro, 9000-208 Funchal, Portugal

#5 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 311 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Up a very steep hill but this was not an issue. We are in our fifties and resaonably fit and walked down into town easily in 15 mins. We caught the local bus back usually for 1.95 euros each. Taxis are also apparently reasonable and the hotel runs a shuttle bus Mon to Fri which we also used - you need to book. Despite this I would prefer to stay here than the 'hotel strip' which is on a very busy road with lots of building work and also a bus/taxi ride for some out of town.

    Charming hotel with the most beautiful grounds and gardens. Exceptional staff who were excellent across the board. We stayed in a superior room and a suite and both were excellent. Lovely swimming pool area that was never crowded. Gym, sauna and turkish bath were also lovely - they often are not in hotels! Breakfast delicious and eaten outside with eggs cooked to order. Dinner not cheap but lovely food in a beautiful setting. Very relaxing and tranquil.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps a little to fussy with the service. Crockery, cutlery barely had chance to graze the surface of tablecloth before it was removed. For all its ambience it did seem to lack a little soul / atmosphere especially in the evenings when we, say, returned for a night cap

    Extremely helpful staff in wonderful surroundings. It is there for your enjoyment so enjoy it! Room was excellent, breakfast catered for all tastes. We can't comment on dinner as we preferred to have the evenings out. Pool and gardens superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-everything was just as it should be

    We stayed for one week. Everything was just as it should be. The gardens are absolutely wonderful, the staff extremely friendly, helpful and competent. We also had dinner three times at the Beresford restaurant-each time a delight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The team is really nice and professional! Special thanks to Joel and Victor? Helped us arrange a amazing trip in Madeira even we only had two days. And the restaurant offered great breakfast. Manager is super kind. We felt here like Home rather than hotel with a stunning view as well as a very beautiful garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bar service in the evening was a bit slow as the barman seemed to be serving the restaurant as well at times. Another member of staff would have been welcome

    Wonderful quiet location and beautiful hotel. Felt more like a grand country house than a hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be aware hotel is on a very steep hill and not in the main tourist section so you can't just stroll out to a selection of restaurants. However as a taxi to the main areas cost 6€ or so and hotel can get you one in 5 minutes don't left this put you off ! It's equally easy getting back as loads of taxis and taxi ranks in Funchal. Also a note for the British there breakfast Buffett is very good with a range of eggs cooked to order but a Full English is not an option. Also note restaurant is definitely fine dining so don't expect burgers mmeat skewers etc.

    The hotel gardens are truly beautiful and the level of service and attention to detail excellent. The restaurant produced meals of a high quality and everyone was friendly and efficient and made you very welcome. Nice clean rooms with good facilities what more could you want ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just a little disappointed with the dinner - food was a little bland.

    The room was a good size, the beds exceptionally comfortable and the service from hotel staff exceptional. The surrounding gardens make this a gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically, everything was wonderful.The location is both a positive and perhaps a slight negative. On the positive side, it is away from the hotel zone of Funchal and the tourist clutter of the Center City. It is an easy walk down to the town, but a bit stiffer coming up. Take a taxi back or the shuttle bus that they offer. On the other hand, at the end of the day you want to stay in this place and enjoy their wonderful dining, So why worry about where you are and just enjoy it.

    Highly recommend it.Extraordinary comfort and luxury.Wonderful staff. Incredible gardens. Great food. The rooms are large and extra comfortable. One of the most pleasurable lodging experiences we ever had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I didn't dislike anything about the hotel - only the weather, which made it difficult to make full use of the outside swimming pool.

    The staff and the maitre d'hotel were fantastic. Restaurant and breakfast food was good, service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble. A huge birthday surprise was the lovely cake and glasses of champagne that appeared at breakfast, which I thought was a really nice touch. Our ground floor room was large, well furnished and the patio overlooked the hotel's beautiful garden. I was also fascinated by the hotel's friendly resident giant tortoise - now aged about 58!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dining room was a little staid and overly formal. Better lighting would have helped. A separate shower rather than one over the bath would have been better.

    Very good staff, lovely gardens and a peaceful environment. The room was lovely and sunny, the food excellent and the public areas of the hotel were very relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a shame that the courtesy bus doesn't run at the weekends. We walked in and out of town but it is very steep uphill on the way back and a lot of the older guests weren't able for it. The towels were changed every day even though this was unnecessary. It just feels wasteful when they should be trying to be more environmentally friendly.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The grounds are stunning and the bathroom is lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was sometimes a little chilly in the dining room. Poached eggs on Sunday were less good than on week-days!

    The attitude of the staff who were most friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. The garden and the hotel accommodation were pleasant places to spend time in. The pool area is also most attractive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long steep walk from Fumchal and lack of alternative restaurants in the vicinity..

    Staff excellent. Food top class. Serene haven away from the bustle of town especially when cruise ships in port.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The lighting in the room was not very good. We would have liked more comfortable lounger chairs on our balcony.

    Excellent & friendly staff throughout. They catered for special diets with enthusiasm and success. All vegetables home grown. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble. The gardens were exceptional. We will return next year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little underwhelming in terms of content, e.g. coffee not to taste and croissants did not seem particularly fresh. Meal in restaurant was overall good but my starter did not match menu description. Hotel courtesy bus does not run weekends and local bus was also infrequent. Took about 25 minutes to walk into town (downhill) and longer to walk back (uphill!)

    Lovely room with balcony overlooking the garden. Beautiful gardens. Breakfast in the garden, even in January! Tea making in the room was a plus point.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So I give a poor rating because a member of the concierge he gave very bad driving directions to a place; gave directions that ended up to a road that had been closed for months which took up half the day. This staff member also took liberties to say “why are you still in the hotel” “go and explore the island” and do a hike in the mountains in the mid afternoon which is never a time to do a hike in the mountains in unfamiliar territory with a toddler on top of the fact that he gave bad directions. Just a warning to others that this member of the concierge really led us astray and ruined a chunk of our vacation due to bad information.

    Gardens were beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn't book half-board, preferring the flexibility as there are lots of choices in town. Evening dining in the hotel seemed a little formal for our tastes.

    Perfect for a relaxing break and some winter sun

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unique quality of the property being a vast tropical garden with enormous variety of flowering plants and fruits equal to a public botanical garden

    The staff, property,ambiance are all very dedicated and special.there are few hotels anywhere where one can find such a perfect accommodation of comfort, property and staff which is not overly large and noisy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. They went out of their way to be helpful - even opening up the gym at 7am for me so I could do an hour before my swim, and still leave time for a fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was further from the town than we expected along a very steep narrow road with traffic. It was at least half an hour's walk downhill to the town centre.There are many taxis available to get back but no logic to the fares i.e. 9.1 Euro on Sat Morning, 5.2 Euro on Thursday evening at 10.30 pm. Complementary hotel bus does not run at weekends or evenings and must be booked 1 hr in advance. Dropping off point is on the promenade 10 mins walk from the cable car/old town

    Beautiful building & setting Friendly, attentive staff Second Floor room with balcony and lovely view overlooking the gardens

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms start to feel a bit old and could use some renovation/upgrades (few power outlets, aging bathroom,...)

    The hotel has fantastic botanic gardens. The swimming pool area is really nice. The hotel is located close to the city center but feels secluded from the outside agitation. The staff is really welcoming and helping. The hotel itself has a nice retro style (the building itself is quite ancient) but is well maintained and has a lot of charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, polite and professional. The gardens were immaculate and peaceful. The food was first class. Overall an amazing place to stay and unwind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The set menu for half board or pre-paid dinner. Five courses available but with no choice.

    Quiet hotel. Spacious bedroom, with view worth paying the extra for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Everything was good - very comfortable - staff excellent and friendly - beautiful situation and gardens - fine dining with excellent chef - breakfast on terrace lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply nothing!

    The staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble and we loved the ambiance. The hotel - room, bar, restaurant and grounds were delightful and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Proper 5 star hotel with great, friendly, attentive staff. Loverly grounds and pool area, fantastic food. Good location just away from the main town , but a 6 euro ride in. very peaceful .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shuttle bus was available only during weekdays. Weekends too would have been welcome. Invasions of thousands of cruise ship passengers in Funchal was an unwelcome surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More choice perhaps on the A la Carte menu, but the food was excellent.

    This tranquil hotel in delightful gardens was a peaceful oasis to return to after a day of sightseeing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    We absolutely love this property. It is in our opinion a little bit of paradise. The hotel is beautiful as are the gardens which are a feature of the property. A place for rest and relaxation - I would not recommend it for families or the young. However, for the middle to late middle age it is excellent. We have stayed in the new wing and the old block and the accommodation in both are superior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having breakfast in the garden surrounded by lush tropical vegetation was just fabulous! The gardens are vast, so lovely and peaceful strolling around admiring the plants. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and the bed really comfortable. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and eggs were cooked to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    Stunningly beautiful gardens not to be missed by anyone who loves plants. I have never come across such pleasant and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble for them and because it is a small luxury hotel there was a very personal level of service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant stay. The staff is extremely helpful and very professional. The assistant manager is always looking around during breakfast time or during the day to see whether you need something. The garden and swimming pool are very nice. There is a free shuttle service to and from the city throughout the day. Overall, it was an excellent stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it's a good 5 star hotel, a bit old-fashioned, some will call it classic

    Very good facilities: bar, restaurant, swimming pool. Staff are very polite and service oriented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing.

    The staff was courteous, friendly and could not do enough for you. The grounds of the hotel were just stunning with tropical gardens. The two dinners had there were delicious. The pool was gorgeous. It was wonderful place to come home to after a day exploring Madeira. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that disappointed us was the fact that the shuttle bus doesn't run at the weekend. Why not??

    We really liked the ambiance.The gardens were beautiful and the pool was to die for!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I actually loved everything. It is a bit expensive, but in my opinion it is worth every penny.

    The garden is absolutely superb. Everything on the property is very well maintained. The services are a benchmark for any 5-star hotel and the attention to details makes all the difference in the world. I think that this is by far the best accommodation that we had (and we've visited more than 30 countries...)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to love. It is a first class more expensive hotel. You won't be disappointed.

    This is a gorgeous old style first class hotel. Funchal is a very busy city at the base of an incredible mountain, and the hotel is located a few minutes above 1.5km from downtown, so you really should have a car. They also offer free shuttle service during the day, but if you go out at night, you would need a taxi. The setting is magnificent, with beautiful landscaped gardens. The pool area is one of the most beautiful and large pools with a small snack bar. There is a small fitness center there, bar and hot tub (more like warm tub). Breakfast is top notch: pastries, custom eggs any style, fabulous fruits and VERY attentive service. Breakfast setting is gorgeous, and you can choose to sit inside in a lovely room, on a porch overlooking the gardens, or on tables set up below the porch on the patio. We were helped by the assistant manager, Adalberto, who is a real gentleman and extremely helpful. We had a junior suite room, a very large room with a nice balcony. I suspect all the rooms are very quiet, and this is a place to come and relax. The food was excellent but not inexpensive compared to the restaurants downtown which are competing for your business. I wouldn't hesitate to come back, and it is either a plus or a minus for travelers that it is located high above the bustling downtown part of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtesy bus only to marina and very limited times No free water in rooms and charged 3.50 euros for fairly small bottle.

    Location excellent,quiet,beautiful gardens with far reaching views. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot fault it in any way

    Wow! We wasted our money going to the tropical gardens in Monte. The hotel gardens were so much better. Beautiful in every way. Friendly staff, superb food, stayed in a gorgeous suite. So sad to leave. The only reason I have not scored 10/10 is that it was costly, hence we only stayed 2 nights as a treat. Very glad we did.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to the hotel from the centre of Funchal

    The best hotel I stayed in Madeira, fantastic garden and the swimming pool, tranquil breakfast right in the garden, a very nice man, a member of the staff, whi greats you for breakfast and then later at the swimming pool's bar. Liked everything, very, very nice place to relax and enjoy tranquility!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel's gardens are beautiful; we enjoyed strolling around them before breakfast and during the evening. We also enjoyed using the swimming pool, which is a good size, and also playing pool in the games room. We found the 20 minute downhill walk into town OK, but it is quite steep. It's very easy to get a taxi back to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent hotel in beautiful gardens, fantastic and personal service, an oasis of tranquility. Thanks a lot to everybody we met there. We will return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed a little firm Walk in shower would make it perfect A decent walk down to the harbour, but realistically a taxi ride back - although hotel operates a courtesy bus on weekdays. A little more variance in the bar music would be welcome!

    Excellent breakfast - lovely selection of fruit, including delicious cooked bananas, choice of freshly cooked eggs, cold meats, bacon sausages, cooked and fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, hash browns, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, cake etc. Setting of breakfast on the terrace a delightful start to the day. Lovely bistro by a beautiful pool. Garden - a peaceful oasis within the city. Columbo the tortoise. Nothing too much trouble for happy friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Very kind and helpful staff who would do everything to keep us happy, thank you! Very good restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner. Large comfortable room, nice common rooms, beautiful peaceful garden, great jacuzzi and pool. We saw the 60 year old turtle eat the bananas served to him, slowly.. Next time in Madeira there is no doubt where we would stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in their fabulous gardens in January was great. The pool and gym were very handy and the concierge very useful. With the addition of a first rate restaurant we would happily go there again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, we will go again to this hotel

    excellent hotel and a lovely garden surrounding it. Breakfast was extensive and excellent, with lots of attentive staff available. I really liked that all eggs & omelettes were cooked to order.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighter, informal options for dinner would have provided more variety over a week's stay.

    Very relaxing: excellent pool area and gardens. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Drinks were expensive and the restaurant although very good, was a little pricey which forced us to eat/drink out more than we would have liked, as it is such a lovely hotel we would have been quite happy to stay there and totally relaxed for two weeks. The pool is lovely, although it was very, very cold, it could be better designed so that the sun beds are on the opposite side of the pool in the sun rather than the bar in the sun and the sunbeds in the shade. Would have been nice to enjoy more affordable Cocktails, drinks and snacks around the pool too.

    The hotel is really beautiful, superb, spacious and decadent rooms and the gardens are absolutely stunning. The private roof terrace in our junior suite which you access through Narnia's wardrobe was amazing. The restaurant food was very nice and breakfast was very good too. Staff were excellent, cheerful, friendly, helpful and very professional. Madeira is lovely and we had a great holiday thank you We loved Colombo too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything. The hotel is fabulous, the staff attentive, polite and a credit to the hotel. Even the two taxi drivers they used were particularly polite and interesting, The food in the restaurant was excellent and the garden, including Colombo (the giant tortoise) were lovely. We couldn't fault anything.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite a walk to the centre. Downhill is fine but it is very steep walking back up. Would recommend using the hotel shuttle bus, which is free, or a taxi.

    The swimming pool area is amazing and all of the staff are really pleasant and helpful. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. It was lovely to see Columbo, the Galapagos tortoise in the garden, enjoying the sunshine. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our experience at the restaurant was nice but not extraordinary

    Excellent room (we were upgraded to a junior suite). Great atmosphere in the quinta, but note that the regular rooms are not in the original quinta but rather in an extension (where I didn't go). The gardens were, of course, beautiful and give a very relaxing atmosphere. It's easy to walk down to the city and a taxi back up costs only a couple euros. We ordered breakfast to the room which was amazing, and (because it was my girlfriend's birthday) a chocolate cake and champagne was added which was a very nice touch. Comfortable, and very large, bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from town centre restaurants.

    Superb selection of fruit and cold table available for breakfast. Hot food only lukewarm though and continental bacon / sausages not really to British taste. You certainly don't go hungry though!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Excellent and very well trained staff. Beautiful location. Great food. Good facilities. Difficulties over recent fires in Madeira were extremely well handled. We could not have been better looked after.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was generous in size but rather firm and soundproofing with rooms above was not great.

    The hotel building was superb and the surrounding gardens very beautiful. The staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was expensive and not good value for money. The food was okay and really for such a good hotel could have been better.

    This is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous setting, we had a beautiful suite which was a thoughtful upgrade for our one night stay. The staff are friendly and courteous. The breakfast provided a great selection of food to a very good standard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ( A long way from centre of Funchal) and so very hilly difficult to walk out although courtesy shuttle 4 times a day but not at weekend.

    Quality and presentation of food. Exceptional service. Beautiful gardens and pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were extremely satisfied with hotel I am not pleased with booking.com And will not use you're services again When I booked hotel you stated it was in US dollars but you lied it was euros so it cost and extra $200 Very deceitful practice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only dislike was Steep walk down and back up to Funchal but we were warned and definately worth the stay in Fantastic hotel

    Welcoming and attentive Beautiful hotel and gardens

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Everything! This is one undoubtedly one of the best hotels we ever stayed in. Great staff and service. Beautiful location: one forgets it's actually in the city. Wonderful garden (park) and swimming pool. Amazingly clean wherever you go.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service at breakfast was a little slow sometimes but fine if you weren't in a hurry. It would also be good if the courtesy bus ran a little more frequently.

    This hotel is in a wonderful location, just a 20 minute walk into town. It is set in stunning gardens and is very peaceful. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and Colombo the resident giant tortoise is a star!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle bus could have been more frequent. No late night return

    Room excellent and people very friendly and helpful gardens and setting beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff Beautiful garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful garden, excellent food, breakfast buffet as well as dinner a la carte!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric pints too low down and inaccessible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Gardens beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A BIT FAR OUT FOR WALKING TO THE CENTRE OF FUNCHAL AND AN UP HILL HIKE BACK.

    FIRST CLASS WELL TRAINED STAFF AND GENERAL AMBIENCE. A GOOD RESTAURANT.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities need updating with walk in shower

    Excellent restaurant Gardens lovely for a wander with fabulous views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were exceptionally attentive and always pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor etc all a bit staid & dated. Time for a makeover - would then be a 1st class destination

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink prices

    Food 🍲

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    The staff were particularly courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no problems, whatsoever, during our stay.

    At least five star standard, very professional operation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the evening entertainment in the bar was very amateurish

    Beautifully appointed in Portuguese colonial style. Very friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - accommodations, staff, and the beautiful gardens

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quinta Jardins do Lago traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: