Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quintinha Sao Joao 5 stars

Rua Da Levada De Sao Joao, 4, Sao Pedro, 9000-191 Funchal, Portugal

#15 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really . asked for an iron on arrival at 1930 but did not have one. Ironing can be arranged but off site daytime. Minor gripe but thought I would mention it for potential guests.

    Could not fault the service, bedroom excellent and food superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel at all - old and dated, plus they try to make money out of everything - they wouldn't even lend us an iron for 5 minutes and said we'd have to pay for the full laundry service if we wanted something ironed! Staff are quite patronising and don't seem to be used to dealing with younger people (we are in our 30s). They adamantly told us it would take 7 hours to climb the mountain and it took us 3 so we ended up having to pay more for the tour guide (who was booked through them so I assume they took a cut) as we booked him for a longer time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of anything I would change. A Kettle in the room would have been nice. Some road noise but the hotel moved our room after the first night.

    This hotel is definitely run to make your holiday special. Staff were very friendly and attentive throughout. Breakfast was generous with freshly cooked options. The rooms were kept spotless. Pool area was peaceful and relaxing and gardens were immaculately kept.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee at breakfast. No pool bar open. Limited sun loungers at pool, pool always in shade. Reception staff particularly Katerina very unfriendly.

    Location was good. Coffee was awful at breakfast. Pool bar was not open. Reception staff very unfriendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast were fabulous, the room huge, and we received a warm welcome from the reception staff, who couldn’t have been more accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was nowhere to sunbathe as the outside pool was largely in shade at this time of Year (Jan 2018)

    This is an excellent hotel in a great location for Funchal. The staff are exemplary and the facilities very good for this size of hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much! Lighting in room could be brighter for reading.

    Large and comfortable room. Good restaurant. Excellent Gala dinner on New Year's Eve. Quiet location, about 15 minutes' walk from centre of Funchal. Friendly, efficient staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would have liked tea and coffee maker in the room

    friendly helpfull staff. clean right through the hotel, every thing you would expect from a5star hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful gardens inside property, staff warming welcome especially on the restaurant, SPA treatments and amazing pre heated swimming pools. Location was fantastic in Funchal near the centre but quiet and smooth, feeling like you're outside Funchal. Perfect to relax!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little - rooms over looking outside bar area can be subject to some noise from cotton tops bevying late in evening after bar closes

    Peaceful, friendly staff, good location, breakfasts very good, clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received a really warm welcome and that set the tone for our visit. The staff were so friendly and we can't wait to meet them again. The buffet breakfast with cooked foods to order was excellent. The evening meal was equally good served by the ever smiling staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit of a steep climb from town to the hotel. Most people used the courtesy bus or taxis.

    The staff really make the difference. They cannot do enough for you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Although it would have been nice to have complimentary water in the room every day.

    Staff were professional, friendly, efficient. The room was spacious and exceptionally clean. Food in restaurant was great. Swimming pools lovely and clean. In fact - everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bed and its mattress. If you moved in bed, it was creaking aloud! Spa services - better look for a place in town. Also, I would expect to get more personal attention from the staff - the hotel isn't big to remember the faces.

    The restaurant was the best! We enjoyed having breakfast and dinner inside the hotel - the food was great. Although having a fine dining also meant waiting since you are being served individually at the table. The guests are mostly French or German - all nice and polite people just a bit more senior age.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's all wonderful

    Set in beautiful, well tended gardens, with lots of little leafy corners complete with hammocks, this is just such a beautiful place to escape from everything. The rooms are amazing - some overlook the bar but it's so peaceful, and the guests are very easy going and well behaved, that this is more of an opportunity to people watch! The pools are lovely, never busy even when the hotel is full. I used the spa which is just fabulous. The hotel is just faultless. I honestly couldn't imagine going anywhere else. It feels so luxurious, and I felt like all of the staff actually cared if I was having a good time or not. I was.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing we would suggest, is a better option for packed lunch to take along on walking trips. The "picnic" solution on offer is not quite suited to carrying in rucksacks on the trail.

    The garden is very nice. You get the feeling of a quiet countryside hotel, while in fact it is quite centrally located. It was very nice to sit outside, enjoying a pre-dinner drink. We used both swimming pools, the indoor / outdoor option is quite practical for the changeable Madeiran weather. The food was very good, delicious fruits for breakfast and different options of eggs, bacon etc. made to order. For dinner, we tried the Goan cuisine which is a speciality of the hotel kitchen and found it both interesting and very tasty. On our first night, the "battle of the chefs" menu and competition was fun. Our room was just lovely, spacious with a nice balcony. Finally, the staff are all very helpful and nice, you get the feeling of a very warm and personal touch. All in all, we had a great stay in an excellent hotel with athmosphere and character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, the garden was lovely. The lounge and bar were comfortable and we enjoyed playing table-tennis and pool. Dinner and breakfast were delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recommend that hotel offer complimentary water every day rather that just 1 bottle per stay. Also I was surprised for a 5 star that there was no iron available for use. The set course dinner at the restaurant was terrible it took 45 minutes before we even got our first course and then 30 mins between course and people who had got there after us were served and finished before us. This was the worst restaurant experience of my life. One specific guy at the reception desk had a really unapproachable manner which is a shame as the others were very friendly

    Overall had a good stay. Beautiful hotel and location. The staff were mostly really nice, especially one lovely friend lady in reception - I forgot to take her name The spa was fantastic- the masseuse was amazing and really helped after a long tiring day hiking. Breakfast had lots of options and was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was good but a bit tired. Traffic noise (but can you get away from it in Funchal?). Lovely large bed - OK for us but a bit too firm.

    Breakfast. Staff. Advice. Garden. Airport transfer. Spacious room. Cleanliness. We found walk to town was not the problem that some critics have mentioned.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa couples offer on day when only one staff member, so couldn't take treatments at same time? Older demographic than ourselves, but not a problem.

    V good breakfast choices. Availability of spa, pools (although bit small if you are a swinner), pool table and table tennis. Walking distance to restaurants in centre and hotel zone. Easy to get on to main routes with car. Sitting in sun on our balcony. Lucky to arrive at carnival time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise from the nearby road.

    Smaller hotel, away from the main hotel area. Superb breakfast to start the day. Spacious and comfortable room. Saline heated indoor pool. Within walking distance of central Funchal, and car park in basement.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi needed to be reconnected regularly.

    The hotel was excellent. We liked the location close to the centre and away from the Lido area. The staff, breakfast, bar and gardens were all top class.The room was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely view over the gardens with the sea in the background.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Location is up a steep hill but that is not the hotel's fault. Taxis are cheap and plentiful and we also made use of the local bus service.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Lovely comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    This is a very relaxing 40 room hotel. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the prices at the bar are reasonable especially during the happy hour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were conscientious,efficient and very personable.They helped make our stay that little bit special. One of the best hotels I've stayed at.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think of anything apart from the fact that our 3 day stay was too short!

    The Hotel staff were outstanding - there was areal sense of being a family with many of the staff having many years' service with the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely and the facilities were excellent - we can particularly recommend the Spa, Rosie (who booked all my tours and gave great advice) and the Restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows could be improved - pillows rather lumpy and bed creaked! Outdoor area near the swimming pool could be improved.

    Beautiful building, exceptionally clean and very friendly staff. Delicious breakfast with v good range of food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    That we had to go home

    This is a uniquely friendly and attentive hotel with exceptional staff in all areas. Food and wine in the restaurant was fabulous and breakfast excellent. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was rock hard- I actually brought my own memory foam topper and still struggled. This might put me off returning- nothing else would.

    Lovely staff and fantastic service. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the bar food was pretty varied and excellent quality. The pool and gardens were great, and I had a fantastic massage and jacuzzi. It's a bit of a hike into town, and especially back up the hill, but wasn't a problem for us. Very happy overall.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On 2 out of my 5 nights the a la carte menu was cancelled and a special meal provided (which I did not want). I was asked to pay for using the coffee in my room!

    Friendly Hotel, located in the older part of town. Excellent spa Facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    The bed was hard for me, but housekeeping immediately bought up a topper to make it softer. The staff are most welcoming, collected us from the airport. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is positioned up a steep and busy road but there are ways to walk into town avoiding this and it's best to seek advice from the staff who are very helpful. The hotel itself is an oasis of calm.

    This is a calm and elegant hotel. Lovely staff. Very good choice at breakfast. We got upgraded to a room with a balcony (which we had tried to book but were all taken originally) and the room was large, sunny, clean and tastefully decorated. The gardens are beautiful. The choice of two pools -out and indoors - is great as it means you can swim whatever the weather! The hotel attracts a mostly older crowd but we are in our 30s and enjoyed a very relaxing stay here. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a cosy hotel surrounded with garden,, great if you rented a car cause its a little off center,, Stuff is wellcoming , professional,, restaurant is very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Negatives include the hotel being right next to a busy road making it a bit noisy; no tea/coffee making, or ironing, faciilites in the room; we weren't advised that you needed to put your name down for the courtesy shuttle bus to/from town in advance; front desk/restaurant staff were hit or miss; the hot breakfast was appalling - a small spoon of baked beans, and a quarter of a tomato was a little stingey, and unattractive presentation on the plate (buffet selection was good though); we apparently got this hotel at sizeable discount... overall wouldn't say the standard was high enough for what the full price should have been.

    Positives - covered pool meant not having to worry about getting burnt but still enjoying seeing the sun and getting the breeze through the open sides. Room was a good size and clean. Bar staff were great, and flexibile happy hour was a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attached restaurant nowhere near matches the quality of the hotel. Very disappointing.

    Beautiful gardens, very quiet, lovely building. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We only ate once in the hotel on our first night as we got in late - food nice enough, but seemed expensive compared to eating out which we did the rest of the trip. Occasional temporary shortages of orange juice at breakfasts (which were otherwise very good).

    Old school family hotel which didn't feel too big and anonymous - staff all very good and helpful. Location we liked as far enough way from the town centre to be a bit quieter, yet still within easy walking access from centre of Funchal old town and Lido area. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike based on our stay at this hotel.

    Wonderful find. Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. The restaurant and all other amenities we found to be faultless.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poolside area and gardens didn't match the quality and comfort of the other areas.

    We loved the charm of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a beautiful hotel in a good location - away from the 'hotel area' of Funchal, and a short walk to the old town . The grounds are lovely, the facilities excellent and the staff superb. We had an incredibly relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little bit old fashioned, but also has a traditional charm View on the garden was little bit limited

    Super helpful staff at the reception desk Nice breakfast, lovely placements Great eye for detail Very big room Very well located, in walking distance of many places

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Beautiful property, lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    extensive breakfast, nice garden, lovely bar and play room, comfortable and huge bed2

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit dated

    Very nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent very ful breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    exemplary staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel Restaurant was very much style over substance for evening meals.

    Rooms and hotel in general had a very comfortable feel about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room provided on initial check-in was not as per the booking. We changed rooms the following day but only once Booking.com intervened on our behalf

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens. The staff are most friendly and attentive. Excellent Restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing thus the return

    We returned there for the 2nd time and every day we had lovely fresh fruit in our room....definitely a bonus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner service was a tad slow but that's being picky.

    friendly staff, great facilities, great service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel was immaculate and had great facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff are fantastic and we are always made to feel very very welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Happy staff, pleasant garden, rooms with space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff who made every effort to ensure we had an excellent stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Coffee

    A lot of choice to please all tastes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the restaurant is very good The staff is extremely diligent, personable and helpful Very nice garden

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pools disappointing. Dining room lacked atmosphere.

    Bedroom very spacious and well equipped. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location relative to the town centre Service at breakfast

    The friendly staff, especially Reception The bedroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved- mainly tastes

    Not far from the city center, excellent sfaff and service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com because The price charged by your web site was way over the track rate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Slightly out of the way for walking to centre

    Wi fI, Garage, Sraff, Breakfast, Directions provided by hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some minor maintenance needed. Eg. shelf under the bathroom sink was corroded .

    Very large rooms and firm comfy bed. The gardens were fabulous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Friendly Professional Staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    beautiful hotel, very quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, uphill from Funchal center

    Breakfast excellent!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were stuck in a room near a generator. We could hear it the whole time. No view from the balcony.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi was overloaded most of the time requiring constant re joining.

    excellent bed, wonderful view from spa treatment rooms, professional staff, not too big.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were four of us in our group, prevoious comments were on behalf of my friends who stayed for a week. We were made to feel so special from the moment we arrived until we left. Room was spacious, very clean and everything catered for. Balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. Every morning we were helped to choose somewhere to visit, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and our evening meals in the restaurant were spot on and all staff were always so friendly and attentive. After 14 days it was very sad to leave as the staff had made us feel so welcome and at home!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food a little hit and miss overall goan curry however was good Breakfast was good varied and plentiful But Coffee in resturant ughhhh

    Staff were great all round and our thanks to them all Never got my welcome drink however Spa massage and facilities good Clean pleasent rooms

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pools both very small. Outdoor pool full of leaves in the afternoon (although it was cleaned every morning). Not really 5 star.

    Friendly staff.Able to walk to centre of Funchal. Happy hour in the bar. Spacious rooms. Traditional decor - although some may see this as dated.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you don't like walking up/down hills, then this maybe isn't for you. Or you can just get a cheap 5 EU taxi to the main restaurant and bar area.

    Massive room. Lovely staff. Good facilities. Pretty hotel and gardens. Good value. 10 mins walk from town. Good access to main roads for exploring in a car.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The evening meals (we had 2) were fine but a little over-priced.

    Staff were particularly kind and helpful. The rooms were big and quiet and kept very clean. Breakfast was excellent, and very generous.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We travel often and wish to stay in high end establishments with good decor and comfort. Quintinha Sao Joao is rated 5 stars and sounded suitable for our needs. However, this hotel is need of total refurbishment. The furniture in our suite was outdated and scuffed, the bathroom poorly equipped. The evening of our arrival we had a meal in the restaurant. Again, not to be repeated. Breakfast, included, was very average with petty details such as having to pay for an extra cup of coffee, etc... Disappointing gardens with a dilapidated house which would have been a lovely property once upon a time. Sad... We were only in Madeira for a few days but decided to move somewhere else. The only redeeming feature of this establishment was its staff, very friendly and helpful. We do not understand why Quintinha Sao Joao features a 9.1 rating with 5 stars! We feel this is of an average "bed & breakfast" type of place. We would not recommend it.

    Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very thin bedroom walls! Early morning dogs andbarking for a good hour.Repetitive dining menu which was expensive when compared to.restaurants in Funchal.

    Friendly staff who went out of their way to make our holiday special.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining room not great: the young female staff inclined to have loud, giggly conversations in the serving area. Food choices poor, especially if you are vegetarian. Dining room closed one evening for the staff Christmas party: this shows that guests were not being given priority: fortunately there are many very good value restaurants nearby. Advice: when choosing a hotel in Funchal, dont forget that it is very hilly, can be tiring trekking up the hill back to hotel from town. If that would be a problem for you, choose somewhere near the seafront or be prepared to spend a lot on taxis.

    Charming building with very beautiful antique furnishings. Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Efficient airport transfers and shuttle bus between hotel and town centre.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quintinha Sao Joao traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: